Skip to Content

Skydiving Gear : Reviews

Reviews for Sabre2 popular Average Rating = 4.58/5 Average Rating : 4.58 out of 5

Item Details | Reviews

> >|
Show: Sort by: Display:

Sabre II 170, Wing loading 1.3 5 out of 5 stars

Review by: Grayson68, 2014-09-23


I am a new jumper, (58 jumps) and I have jumped many different student canopies, along with a pilot 188 and a triathlon (about 190).

I just started jumping my Sabre II last weekend. After two jumps I got a very different landing experience. First, I landed in about 8 kts of wind, it got very good penetration and did not have an elevator effect. It felt just like a landing on my pilot. It was a little twitchy with my input during my flare, but the tapering is likely the cause. It landed great.

My second landing was a no wind landing, I came in very fast (compared to the other parachutes I jumped) and I ran it out. A little more flare might have prevented it. It was awesome.

I am not a good packer, but my two openings were awesome. A little turn each way, but it was a lot nicer to me.


Excellent canopy 4 out of 5 stars

Review by: ComicJules, 2012-06-07


The sabre 2 is easy to fly and great for beginners. It's my first canopy and I love it.the only problem is the frequent off heading openings. I guess that's not really a problem though ad long as you're not BASE jumping.


Good for beginners and advancing canopy pilots 4 out of 5 stars

Review by: ruanjjoubert, 2012-05-09


I have 50 jumps on my Sabre2 (170) now and it really is a very fun and easy canopy to fly. It flares well, lands well and handles well in strong wind. I have a wing loading of 1.16. It's a great canopy for beginners and if you're becoming a more advanced canopy pilot it is possible to build up that extra speed to put your skills to the test. I do have a problem with off heading openings usually 90 degrees and in both directions. It might also be the way I pack but I see some others are having the same problem. Also my end cells take a long time to inflate if left alone, but pump those brakes once or twice and they open without a problem. All round a very nice canopy with the pros outweighing the cons by far.


Willi91

Sabre2 135 5 out of 5 stars

Review by: Willi91, 2011-09-07


Okay, I'm editing an old review, since I have put more jumps on it now (60+).

Let me start with the openings. Generally, they're okay. If you want a canopy with on-heading openings everytime and no end-cell closures, you won't get it from a Sabre2, but personally I don't really mind. Mine has a tendency to turn 90 degrees and sometimes up to 180, but I never really have linetwists. End-cell closures are always there, but they're easily dealt with. Pull lightly on your rears of pump once with your toggles, and they're gone.

The flight of the canopy is awesome. The first times I flew it, I couldn't stop laughing. The turns are fast and precise. The canopy does exactly what you tell it. I also love how responsive it is on harness input.

The landings are very, very fun. I have advanced to 270 HP landings, and I love doing them on the Sabre2. I start out with double fronts, but the last part of the turn is all harness. Before doing 270's, I didn't use front at all, only harness on 90's and 180's. This gives you a very comfortable slow turn, but still lots of speed.
Landing on the rears is no problem either. Lots of distance and a nice shutdown at the end. I noticed on the first jumps on it, that flaring all the way to the bottom of the range wouldn't give you the best shutdown, but instead you have to find the right spot for maximal flare.

All in all, a very nice canopy. I really love flying it and would recommend it to anyone. It's very versatile and it can offer you easy flying but it can also be agressive, if you want it to.


ksjumper

Another good product from PD 4 out of 5 stars

Review by: ksjumper, 2011-09-04


I love my sabre 2 but it when it enters turbulent air it acordians badly and nearly collapses. I only wingload 1.13 however. Please be aware of this characteristic. I also experience endcell closure but that is never a concern.


Amazing all around canopy 5 out of 5 stars

Review by: freefallfrom10k, 2011-08-25


I got to demo a 120 Sabre2 and all I can say is well done PD. Its fast, fun to land (compaired to what else I've landed), and responsive. Openings at a 1.25 wing loading are about 600 to 700 ft, so its a soft opening. Landing is gentle with a alright amount of surf. This is a great all around canopy.


Great all-round canopy 5 out of 5 stars

Review by: Kaos666, 2011-06-22


I've put about 65 jumps on a Sabre2 190 with a WL of 1.15 and can say without a doubt that it's a great canopy and fun to fly. Openings are super soft taking anywhere from 600'-800' to open and are usually on heading but you do get the occasional 90 deg. off heading opening. End cell closures seams to a be consistent occurrence on most jumps which isn't really a big deal, a little pressure on the rear risers and they're inflated.

Toggle turns are quick, stalls are smooth and recovery is pretty gentle provided you don't release the brakes too quickly. You can float around for ages in breaks and flying back from a long spot is a breeze on rear risers. Front riser pressure is fairly light but you do get the occasional buffeting on deep front riser turns. Landings are simple even in nil wind and the flare is powerful. I'd definitely recommend this canopy to anyone wanting a good all round canopy that's also great fun to fly.


woppyvac

Great Overall 5 out of 5 stars

Review by: woppyvac, 2011-05-26


My DZ has an abundance of Sabre 2's for students and rentals and I've given most of them a try. I'm only posting this because I wanted to focus on their slow openings at lower weight ratios. I'm 190 out the door and taking a 210+ for a spin can get interesting once the pilot chute is out. I know a lot of beginners like jumping lower wing loads but at a .9 wing load I found the sabre 2 will snivel 1,000 -1,400 feet. Granted it's soft - but when pulling at 3,000 feet it can get concerning quick.


Sabre2 - A Perfect Beginners Canopy 5 out of 5 stars

Review by: fluidflyer, 2010-02-15


This canopy is absolutely awesome. I have approximately 60 jumps on it now and it has been a great first canopy.

The openings are like a pillow, nice and soft. Takes about 600-1000 feet to actually open depending upon packing technique.

Because of the super slow and soft openings, you will experience end cell closure on nearly every opening. This is nothing to worry about. I simply pull down on the rear risers for a few seconds and they open right up. This is due to the slow opening.

The landings are so easy a caveman could do it. Seriously, I couldn't stand up a student rig to save my life, but with the Sabre2, there are very few landings that I don't stand up.

The control is very responsive and I have a lot of fun doing high performance turns. I really enjoy doing high hop & pops just to play around under canopy and I can usually put myself very close to the target when its time to end the ride.

I fly a Sabre2 170 loaded at 1.12:1 and it will be a while before I give up this canopy and that moment won't come easy.

I highly recommend the Sabre2.


Sabre 2 -170 4 out of 5 stars

Review by: Megatron, 2009-03-10


This is my first canopy off rental gear. I was flying a Silhouette-190 prior. I put about 30 jumps on my Sabre 2-170 which I bought new. I jump it at a 1.4WL.

The Good:
From the very first jump it was clear that this was a SPORT canopy. Its agile, very responsive to toggle pressure compared to the Silhouette & student canopies Ive flown. Its generally quicker all around and a hell of a lot more fun to fly. This is what I expected canopy flight to be like before I made my first solo jump! The amount of flare you're able get out of this thing is HUGE! I remember coming in hot on the first no wind day on my Sabre 2 and flaring a bit too low. All of the other canopies Ive flow would've had me picking grass out of my teeth but the Sabre 2 allowed for a pretty decent slide in. Aside from that, all of my other landing Ive stood up and it didnt take much over raw intuition to pull off. I dont swoop but Im slowly learning to bring a 90 turn closer to the ground and from what little experience I have in the matter, I can tell you this thing will level out if and when you need it to (within reason of course).

The Bad:
The openings. Although nice and gentle (so far), they often off heading, always accompanied by end-cell closure, and the slider gets stuck about 1/4 way up the lines on most jumps. Ive tried different packing techniques and even had it packed several times by someone I consider to be a highly proficient packer. The results were generally the same. Granted, pumping the rear risers fixes all these things rather quickly. Ive even tried giving no input at all to see if they would correct themselves. They did. But should you have to deal with it in the first place? It seems this is the rule rather then the exception with the Sabre 2.

Overall, I would recommend this canopy. Its very user-friendly and forgiving in flight and while the opening are a bit quirky, they are nonetheless predictable and too benign to be much of a concern.


> >|

GoWrite your own Review