Skip to Content

Skydiving Gear : Reviews

Reviews for Dolphin Average Rating = 4.47/5 Average Rating : 4.47 out of 5

Item Details | Reviews

> >|
Show: Sort by: Display:

1996 Dolphin D4 Harness/Container System 5 out of 5 stars

Review by: Lunduna, 2013-02-04


(PRE UPDATING BY MANUFACTURER) First rig after obtaining my A-license. Purchased my 96 DOLPHIN D4 used just over a year ago. My first 50 jumps were all made on "adjustable" rental equipment (mainly Javelins). This last 50 jumps were all made on the DOLPHIN. I'm 5' 9" 190lbs and my XL sized harness fits better than any of the rental rigs I flew. The DOLPHIN is not as "solid/stiff/rigid" as the Javelin, but that suits my body shape better (long body - short legs). The DOLPHIN seems to flex a lot better because it doesn't have so much material built into the containers.

It is way more comfortable on the ground and on the ride to altitude it comforms nicely, even in a jam-packed caravan. In freefall the harness allows me to move freely and the containers have enough flexibility to make it seem like I'm not wearing a rig at all.

The lack of buckles and rolled-up/excess webbing (that was always present on the rental rigs) just makes my DOLPHIN fit way more snugly, but not too tight. All handles are easily reached, and because the harness fits so nicely and the containers are less "bulky", I can actually reach round a "feel" my own closing pin under the main closing flap before departing the aircraft.

Under canopy my D4 feels non-existent. Don't get me wrong. I feel totally secure in the harness, but at the same time I "don't" because it is so darn comfortable!!! It literally feels like I'm not wearing a rig.

The only negative thing I can say about my DOLPHIN (mine had the "snaps" on the riser keepers) was that before I sent it in for modifications, the main risers would fall over the side of my shoulders "occasionally" (on the ride to altitude) if I didn't stow the risers tight enough in the container when packing. I would get numerous comments from fellow divers that my rig was definitely "NOT" freefly friendly. Also, a small amount of pilot chute bridle would be exposed to the relative wind.

Because of these issue (the exposed risers and bridle) I never flew anything but belly, and decided to look for a way of rectifying the limiting factors of my harness/container

(POST Manufacturer updates):

I have a new rig. Not literally, but darn close to it!

I contacted ALTICO to see if there was anything to be done about my "concerns". I received an email back, from the Company Owner himself, Mike Furry, detailing the numerous updates that could be made and some other modifications that would be made at no charge to me. Simply put - my updated DOLPHIN is absolutely beautiful. It is even more comfortable than before AND is now completely freefly friendly. And I don't know how this is possible, but it feels even more secure than before ... it's wonderful.

New velcro-less tuck-tab reserve pin cover.
New over-the-shoulder tuck-tab main riser covers.
New main closing loop anchor point (with no grommet exposed).
New longer/sleeker BOC pouch.
Updates to stiffeners/grommets in main container closing flaps.
New bottom flap on main container which incorporates a channel that conceals main PC bridle.
New wrap-around laterals.
New Cypres closing loop/washer for reserve.
New/extra stitching in leg straps, chest strap junctions.
New RSL.

$360 Shipping Included.

Am I happy with my DOLPHIN? I LOVE IT!!!


captain1976

Great Customer Service 5 out of 5 stars

Review by: captain1976, 2011-02-03


They make a great rig. Love the velcro riser covers. Tuck tabs are a real problem as they age. Got 500 jumps on mine and have no complaints. Tore up a panel on a crash and burn, sent it in and they fixed it in 1 day. Great company, great support.


jasonbalog

dolphin 4 out of 5 stars

Review by: jasonbalog, 2008-09-07


I bought mine used. Its the 1996 Dolphin. All black with a grey dolphin on reserve flap. Very comfortable. Lots of padding for the thighs. Its my first rig and its a big improvement over student gear. Plan on keeping it for many years. One thing, I wish the riser covers were not velcroed. Tuck tabs would have been much nicer.


The Dolphin has evolved into a strong contender. 5 out of 5 stars

Review by: krabberkris, 2008-01-09


Everyone at my home DZ knew I had ordered a Dolphin from Altico last summer , and when I arrived at the DZ with my new rig for the first time early that Saturday morning along with a case of Bass Ale , people gathered around to give my new rig a look over. It was immediately compared to a couple of older Dolphin containers that were on the for sale rack in the hangar , and the changes made to the design versus the earlier models were clearly visible .In particular were the tuck tab riser covers and the routing of the bridle leaving none of it exposed and securely stowed. The leg straps have significantly more padding and are very comfortable.

The Dolphin made it's debut at the time head down flying was rapidly gaining popularity , and the container received it's fair share of criticism in this discipline. That was then , this is now. There is no comparing the earlier design to the modern one. The Dolphin is now all grown up !

In addition , Altico has added many more color options to the container and Mike Furry goes out of his way to ensure your satisfaction with his product.

I may also add that I own another container / harness from a national leader in container / harness manufacturing , and can honestly say that my new Dolphin is just as comfortable and reliable.

If you are looking for a very good rig at a fair and reasonable price made by a company that will not stop short in ensuring your satisfaction , then don't hesitate to look at the all new Dolphin. It delivers !

I now have close to 70 jumps on it and LOVE it.


coldsteel

Best all-round value on the market 5 out of 5 stars

Review by: coldsteel, 2007-07-05


The Dolphin does it's job well in a simple unobtrusive fashion. It packs up easily, fits most bodies comfortably and holds up against abuse. The rig comes in one basic color... black... goes with everything. What more do you need?

Other reviewers have mentioned that Altico updated the Dolphin to modern standards including: full bridle coverage and the reserve and main flaps are securely closed so freeflyers can keep everything securely stowed in vertical flight. No-velcro brake keepers, and no-velcro risor covers are pretty much standard as well. Those qualities make it a very solid choice for those transitioning from AFF/student gear into their own rig.

True, you can't get hip and chest rings but my Dolphin fits just fine without them. The Dolphin is just comfortable as the Javelin(s), Wings and Icon rigs I've owned over the past several years. I would say the quality of the Altico product is similar those other rigs...very good.

I talked to Mike Furry on the phone before I bought the rig, he build my rig
specifically for me, it fit great, and he got the rig to my door in less than 2 weeks!

I don't think there is a better value on the market!


You get what you pay for 2 out of 5 stars

Review by: 2shay, 2007-05-29


Its a javelin knock off, and have seen quite a few premature openings on this system. There are plenty of better rigs out there to start with. The company needs to really improve quality and fuctionality of rig.


An excellent rig 5 out of 5 stars

Review by: CptRanger, 2007-04-11


This rig might not have all the bells and whistles that other more popular containers, but it is a comfortable rig, reliable and compared to other rigs, a real bargain (at least when I bought my two containers).

If you don't mind the black container with a minimum of color (I chose a simple blue dolphin and the rest black) I really don't think you can beat it.


Jeth

A wonderful starter rig 4 out of 5 stars

Review by: Jeth, 2006-10-12


A great beginners rig! This was my first rig and it served me well for 2 seasons. The Dolphin is a safe, functional, affordable rig. Also, the service you get from Altico is absolutely outstanding! When I wanted it updated, I called and talked to Mike Fury personally. A super nice guy who really wants to keep his customers happy. He had my rig completely updated and back to me within a week and he even shipped it for free! If you ever have something that's not working for you, even if it's something trivial, don't hesitate to call Mike about it. He will do whatever it takes to keep you happy and flying in your Dolphin.

When I got the rig, it had never been jumped, but it was from 1996. In the beginning I had some issues with the riser covers and reserve flap coming open in a sit (the new Dolphins don't have this problem). I called up Mike and he told me there were many updates that could be done to it. He put full riser covers on, all around tuck-tabs on the reserve flap, and I also got a bridle cover and velcro-less toggles. The updates were a major improvement and made the rig much more secure! (Again, newer Dolphins already have all these features.) The costs were very afforable to have all these updates, and he had it back to me in no time.

Even though it is a simple rig, the Dolphin is very comfortable. I could do 6 jumps in a day in my Dolphin and it never bothered me. Nobody believed me that it was so comfy, but it was. (Mike even put in extra legs pad for me for free!) I demoed a Mirage and borrowed a friend's Javelin and I definitely was more comfy in my Dolphin.

This is not a flashy rig, but it is comfortable, safe, and gets the job done. It's great for someone starting out in the sport, or anyone who is on a budget. My only complaint is that with the velcroed main flap, it makes pin checks in a crowded plane a little harder. (Especially for people not familiar with the Dolphin.) But I think thats a minor concession because the flap does stay closed very securely!
All in all my Dolphin was solid, comfy and dependable. A great rig.


would like to have the reserve flap tucked 4 out of 5 stars

Review by: cherokee, 2006-09-05


I really like my D-4, although I'm wondering if Mike has thought about modifying the reserve flap so it could tuck into the bottom reserve flap like the majority of the other rigs, so the corners don't show. Although I like the container so much for it's dependability and reliability I'm going to purchase another one with more colors soon. Cheers to the pioneers like Mike who kept our sport rockin, with containers like this.


ScottyE

Dont confuse the new Dolphin with the old Dolphin 5 out of 5 stars

Review by: ScottyE, 2006-08-05


Just recieved my Dolphin . It is a great container Ignore the reviews of the old Dolphins There is no comparison, The new tuck tabs are very secure and go all the way over the shoulders the velcro is gone from the reserve pin cover and it's now secured on all three wind exposed sides very secure.

The bridle has no exposure to the wind and is hidden all the way to the mouth of the main pilot chute pouch .

The only velcro left is the small bit for the bridle over the main pin and where thw main pin cover flap tucks under and velcro's in I dont see how it could come open in free fall as it tucks under and velcro's very nice!

There is padding everywhere the backpad the shoulder straps, leg pads all comfy and Altico will size to fit just give them your measurments and you have a custom rig at a fraction of the price of some of the other containers out there.

Then theres delivery time I had my Dolphin delivered to my door in SIX DAYS top that!


> >|

GoWrite your own Review