Skip to Content

Skydiving Gear : Reviews

Reviews for Odyssey Average Rating = 4.29/5 Average Rating : 4.29 out of 5

Item Details | Reviews

> >|
Show: Sort by: Display:

Bad Customer Service?!? 5 out of 5 stars

Review by: Gerrytheczech, 2009-01-11


I am bemused by the reports on here of bad customer service from this company. I bought my rig 4 years ago and have not had a single problem with it, or the customer service that I received.

When I my wife completed her AFF course just over 3 years ago, I had no hesitation in recommending an Odyssey for her. We travelled to Z-Hills to pick it up and get a few jumps in, and although my wife found the system very comfortable, she found the chest strap was sitting very high when she was under canopy and was obstructing her ability to look downwards.

Sunpath had a look and immediately suggested that we leave the rig behind so they could sort the problem out. They worked out that the wrong sized yolk had been fitted, and they sorted the problem out by remeasuring my wife and eventually remaking the rig (at no extra cost). When the 2nd rig finally arrived, the problem (although less pronounced) had not been completely solved, and the experts at Sunpath worked out that they did not have an ideal pattern for my wife's sizing (she has a "cuddly" figure). Solution: a complete re-design of their templates and another new rig, again at no extra cost. Result: perfectly fitting rig and complete satisfaction. Poor customer service? I DON'T THINK SO.


surfbum5412

NOT FREEFLY FRIENDLY 2 out of 5 stars

Review by: surfbum5412, 2008-09-04


If you freefly, DO NOT consider a Javelin Odyssey. These are good durable rigs, but in my opinion, they are more suited for RW flyers (freefly transitios allow air to get under main flap and flip it open). On every jump, the main flap comes open, exposing my bridle and because of that, I don't feel safe jumping a Javelin Odyssey.

My next rig will be a Mirage, Micron, or ICON; simply because they are more freefly riendly due to their main flap design.


One of the market leaders, yet not on customer service 3 out of 5 stars

Review by: Dopey, 2008-09-03


This is my second Odyssey. First one, not a single problem, great fit and very durable. Second one, was basically brand new, hardly any jumps on it. Felt once more so extremely comfortable with all options, yet came with a pull-out system. Am now waiting (my rigger as well) for more than 2 months to switch over to a throw-out system, yet Sunpath has not been able to process this order (via my rigger) in that period. Needs definitely improvement in that field.

Worth your money but.....


Greate rig! 5 out of 5 stars

Review by: cefey, 2008-08-08


I bought a brand new Odyssey J3K.
Very greate and comfy rig! You dont feel it in plane or in free fall.
Only problem I had is on sit, but it was no big deal, just i could be a bit better:)
I had it only 4 month, but never had any kind of problem during that time.
Its looks really great, I got lot of support and help while I was ordering.
So I cant do anything else then recommend that rig!
However I ordered G4 now. Just wanted to try something new. But I strongly recommend Odyssey as well!


Triple Risers 2 out of 5 stars

Review by: jambrich, 2008-05-20


I just got my New Odyssey And I would have to say a very nice fit and great quality. probably one of the best rigs out there.

But the customer service is not up to par
I made the mistake of buying it with Triple Risers and now they will not take them back.I have Zero jumps on these I just wanted to trade them for some 24 inch riser no such luck. I was told "oh well that's your problem". I mean I know it's my mistake in the 1st place. I was even willing at that point to pay half the price of a new pair and still send them in but Sun Path was not willing to work with me.


Sunpath - No.1 5 out of 5 stars

Review by: Skysomething, 2008-04-01


I won't write about how good their products are. That's already well known.
I'm just going to tell you that they have an outstanding, great, quick service and a very very kind personnel. In general, the best CR out there.
Thank you Sunpath.


A new level of comfort 5 out of 5 stars

Review by: billstap, 2007-03-29


I just bought my first rig, although it is the fourth brand I have jumped. After jumping those other three rigs i figured that being uncomfortable underneath canopy, in the plane and just plain wearing them was a norm. Well now with my jav ody I feel that no more, it fits so well, nice and snug into the small of my back. I worked with J at sunpath and he was more then helpful, especially in dealing with my pain in the ass. I would suggest this rig to anyone, and as more and more information comes out about the skyhook I am glad I bought a rig that it is skyhook ready. I have only had a few jumps on it so i will update this as my season begins and I have had more jumps on it, but I am sure the only comments that will come in from me will be positive!


Jav Odyssey's my no. 1 5 out of 5 stars

Review by: taz2468, 2006-12-20


Javelin Odyssey is at the top of the price ladder, but you get what you pay for. I'm in the process of ordering my second. Wouldn't have anything else! Cheers sunpath


Great Harness 5 out of 5 stars

Review by: swoop2471, 2006-07-20


No regrets when you buy the best, great comfort and quality. Works great for all kinds of flying. Durable, 250 jumps and still looks like new. Will keep this one forever!


You get what you pay for!! 5 out of 5 stars

Review by: UKFSDude, 2006-06-01


All I can say is thank you sunpath! My rig is awesome, fits great, flies great and looks kick ass! I know the Odyssey is not the cheapest rig around but all I can say is you get what you pay for. To the rubbish about not being freefly friendly all I can say is put the right canopy in it! Choice of Champions indeed.


> >|

GoWrite your own Review