Skip to Content

Skydiving Gear : Reviews

Reviews for The Havok Helmet Average Rating = 4.40/5 Average Rating : 4.40 out of 5

Item Details | Reviews

> >|
Show: Sort by: Display:

Love mine...but it's pretty ugly 4 out of 5 stars

Review by: adrenalized, 2010-04-21


I bought this helmet last year after reading numerous reviews by users who wear glasses. I tried on an oxygen A3 but my glasses didn't fit very well under the flip up lens. My first jump with it sucked pretty bad, the face shield fogged up instantly, pulled early because I couldn't see the altimeter. Inside the face shield is a removable pad that fits around your chin and lower cheeks, I removed this and cut a nice big hole where the main vent is in the front. I then drilled about 11 1/8 inch holes through the plastic face shield along the lower edge just above the chin bar. This seemed to solve the problem. I have put about 25 jumps on it and have had some minor fogging but it is minor. My only issue with this helmet is that once I'm under canopy and flip the shield up it does limit your peripheral vision, just means you have to be more careful and really twist your head around checking for traffic. All in all, a great helmet, I love being able to put it on and leave the shield up until I'm in the door, and can close it quickly and securely before stepping out. I took a kick to the head the other day and other than the noise didn't really notice it. Apparently it was a hard kick the other diver complained about his foot hurting :-)


Great helmet... however a misting concern 5 out of 5 stars

Review by: Renegade001us, 2008-01-02


I wear glasses and the Havok works out wonderfully. it is very comfortable and it is great to not have to "work around" to get my glasses on.

I do have a misting problem. Have heard the new visors come with small holes drilled in them.

Has anyone tried to do this in an older visor and if so does it work well

Thanks


denete

My Havok works for me 5 out of 5 stars

Review by: denete, 2007-07-30


I bought the Havok due to having an awful time with over-the-glasses goggles. Everything that I tried was inadequate, and caused problems with depth perception on landings. The Havok fits well over my glasses (mine are a bit wider than most), and has been easy to deal with under canopy as well (opening, closing, etc.). I have not yet baked the liner, so mine is pretty tightly fitted. I will be baking it this week and can post an update after jumping it again. The photo shown in the review for this helmet isn't what the current iteration looks like. Take a look at boneheadcomposites.com . - David


Awesome full face helmet 5 out of 5 stars

Review by: KNewman, 2006-06-01


This is a very good helmet. I like being able to leave it on my head on the way to altitude and just flip the visor down when the door opens. The ski boot style visor retainer is very secure and easy to operate, even with gloves on. The only downside to this helmet is that your upward view is restricted when you open it up. I just leave it closed until I land. Great helmet, try it you will love it!!!


MooseHunter

Not the best choice 2 out of 5 stars

Review by: MooseHunter, 2006-05-30


After using this helmet, it was not my best choice. I love the open face while under canopy. But the helmet has far to many snag points, especially around the face shield pivot points. This factor increases under canopy when the face piece is open and you are moving you head around. I am looking for something else. May try a full face with the shield removed.


havok 5 out of 5 stars

Review by: citabriatom, 2005-03-23


Great helmet!Nice to be able to leave it on and talk freely as I hate to fumble with the strap while wearing gloves.It fogs unless I use the antifog frequently,but then againI sweat like a hooker in church. Haven't tried Rain X yet,but have had very good results with it riding dirt and mountain bikes.


Get this helmet!! 5 out of 5 stars

Review by: F16Driver, 2005-01-26


I have tried several brands and this is by far the most comfortable and secure helmet that I have tried. I ordered the XL and it fit like a glove (23 5/8" cranium). The ratchet locking system for the visor is very sturdy and works unbelievably well.

My Havoc came with the pre-drilled holes in the visor and the anti-fog solvent. Earlier posts listed a misting problem and I have not had this happen on any of my jumps. Looks like Bonehead listened to its consumers and fixed the problem.

I do, however, wish it had internal audible ports. The external ports seem secure, but I like knowing there is no way for my Pro Track to fall out. The instructions do say, however, that you can cut the lining inside the helmet to make an internal port. They don't recommend doing this on the XL helmet (comfort reasons).

So, basically, if you want a secure, comfortable, well built, cool looking helmet, then look no further. It is also kind of nice to be able to talk to people without having to take your helmet on and off.

See Ya!!!!


Bonehead Havok 4 out of 5 stars

Review by: ACMESkydiver, 2005-01-24


I like the full-face to avoid wind burn, especially in colder temps. Fogging can be taken care of pretty much with anti-fog. I have had an issue where the sun is behind & to my right or left, belly flying...made it difficult to read my alti due to sun glare off the visor. No real issue, just turned to avoid glare. The screws do need to be checked/tightened periodically.


finaly a full face made with glasses in mind 4 out of 5 stars

Review by: bunge, 2004-11-06


The Havok was a wish come true for me - I could never find a fullface to fit my big head with my glasses on.

The only thing I find a pain is the small piece that is ment to act as a nose cup. seems like its just a little short to catch the velcro where I want to place it.


Havok 4 out of 5 stars

Review by: EDYDO, 2004-08-14


I like my Havok, but it is not a perfect solution. The open face is great, but the pro track is moved up with the shield, away from the ears. I have to remember to put it down before 1000 feet to hear the test signal. Fogging is still a problem in high humidity areas. (the south)

Edit August '04: I purchased and installed a new face shield. The factory has placed several holes in it near the nose and the fogging problem is much improved. Actually, those could be drilled on the older models by the owner.


> >|

GoWrite your own Review