Skip to Content

Skydiving Gear : Reviews

Reviews for Gath Hat Average Rating = 2.80/5 Average Rating : 2.80 out of 5

Item Details | Reviews

> >|
Show: Sort by: Display:

All you need until you go Camera man. 5 out of 5 stars

Review by: luccarodolfo, 2010-10-29


The new breed, with the foam forehead, fits quite snug and is very slick, offering very low wind resistance... I thought it was going to be a problem, since it shows more area to the wind than the older model. But nope... if you measure your head and buy the proper size... snug fit!

Offers good protection and doesn't try to fly off your head once you leave the door! Specially while on a fast track or sit fly.

The only cons is the chin strap. On the new models (at least on mine), it tends to slack. However, fix it to your desired fit, add couple of stitches on the strap and WALA!

It will fly no problem with a Go Pro on top.

Enjoy


8 years and still going 5 out of 5 stars

Review by: Titanium_Gecko, 2009-11-01


I bought my Gath on the day I got my A License and have never looked back. Admittedly, it was the best fit for my head at the dropzone shop but would recommend anyone to try a Gath on.
This year alone it has proved reliable and secure/snug at 200mph head down, 140mph+ stand through to 50mph-ish wingsuiting. It also protected me from worse head injuries in 2004 after a low turn, which took me out of the sport for 2 years. I love its look in photos and videos.


Gath RV and Gedi 5 out of 5 stars

Review by: dhracer33, 2009-06-06


I purchased my first Gath two years ago and am very pleased with its performance. If you are looking for a helmet that is not over-built, is lightweight and comfortable, go with a Gath. I wear a helmet to avoid bumps from the plane, air to air contact during wingsuit flocking, and falling while landing and my Gedi and RV do a great job. I use my Gath not only for skydiving, but for BASE jumping and speedflying as well. Not to mention GoPro cameras strap onto the top perfectly.


Save up and buy better 1 out of 5 stars

Review by: rakkers, 2008-09-22


Not comfortable. Won't keep your head warm. Won't protect much. Irritates your ears. Save up and buy a better one.


west33freefall

Decent hood for the price. 4 out of 5 stars

Review by: west33freefall, 2008-06-28


Just got the helmet in the mail. It doesn't look like much but it fit rather well and the padding is easy to cut down in places and you get extra strips of padding to customize the fit. Very light weight hardly feels like you have a helmet on but has plenty of padding and a hard enough shell to protect against bumps in or just out side the plane. I don't think I would recommend for someone who uses and audible. But all said and done it is a nice looking helmet and fits and feels pretty nice. For a cheaper helmet it isn't too bad.


Gath Helmet 2 out of 5 stars

Review by: Jumpsat14k, 2007-12-03


Helmet felt really cheap, padding was very hard, can only imagine in cold weather. Also, the chin strap WOULD not stay in adjustment, I had to put a stitch in the webbing to keep it put. A poor helmet for skydiving. Sold it after 4 jumps.


Gath helmet 1 out of 5 stars

Review by: freakflyer62, 2007-03-11


This is my first helmet, I bought it mail order after looking at pictures, and of course, prices. (new jumper just off student status). What can I say, you get what you pay for. The shell is thin & lightweight. The padding is not the greatest. It does however fit very well, and the optional ear closure devices are pretty cool, I will be buying the attachment avalable from gath to put my dytter in. Visibility is great.As soon as it either wears out or cracks I'll by a hurricane or a z1. If your on a tight budget & a better helmets will cost you jumps. buy a gath & jump. Blue skies


Decent first helmet for hard up jumpers. 3 out of 5 stars

Review by: pincheck, 2005-04-09


This is not the best in the world but for people on tight budgets or who are looking for a open face hard shell this could be for them. The cost and good peripheral vision are the best points going for the gath. The lack off a soft padding makes it hard to wear on the ground but in freefall you have other considerations.

The gath constuction is not the best as the helmet can be flexed by hand, in saying this my gath has had a few hard knocks and is still in good shape.

In conclusion it offers more protection than a frap or no helmet but not as good as other brands.


Nice to protect your ears from wind 2 out of 5 stars

Review by: Winznut, 2005-01-20


Bought it right after I finished AFF because i got a discount on it.
As sad before it's designed to protect your head from getting hit by your (surf)board which on weights a few lbs but I think it's also good enough for some easy RW stuff.
Until today I wrote four emails to GathSports to find out, where to obtain a SkyPack for it, without a reply...
I think, I'll sell it on Ebay's surfing-section when the season starts.


Better than nothing, but not good head protection for skydiving 2 out of 5 stars

Review by: 377, 2004-02-19


The Gath helmet was designed for surfing, not skydiving. It is cheap, good looking, but not very strong or durable. It has very little frontal protection and leaves your forhead almost competely exposed. It is a lot better than no helmet, but not nearly as good as most any made-for- skydiving helmet. I don't think a Gath will absorb much energy in a collision as there is no crushable foam, just some thin resilient padding. Still, its a lot better than no helmet. I use my Gath for surfing and bought an INVERTIGO for skydiving.


> >|

GoWrite your own Review