Skip to Content

Skydiving Gear : Reviews

Reviews for MINDWARP "Pimp Daddy" Helmet Average Rating = 4.13/5 Average Rating : 4.13 out of 5

Item Details | Reviews

|< <
Show: Sort by: Display:

Great helmet but crap finishing. 4 out of 5 stars

Review by: skreamer, 2001-05-07


I would like to add to what somebody said earlier about the misplaced hole in the bonehead for your audible. I resorted to cutting some of the padding, because when you line the original hole up with the hole in the hard shell, the padding protrudes from the helmet. At the price you pay for a bonehead, you would expect better attention to detail. Also, why not keep the audible on the inside? One guy at my DZ lost his pro-track because a riser slapped it off. I would much rather have the bulge on the helmet and know my pro-track was safe.

Other than that I really like the helmet and it is really comfortable. Also for a beginner like myself it is great because I can use it for RW as well (no frap hat for me thank you very much!)

I would've given it 9 out of 10 if I didn't have to hack the inner padding with a pair of scissors and my pro-track was better protected.

Will


Tough as Hell! 5 out of 5 stars

Review by: FallRate, 2001-04-16


A jumper at Aerodrome Skysports forgot to buckle her chinstrap and lost her Mindwarp on exit at about 14 grand. It hit the hangar (nice spot) and the sum of the damage was a small smear on the back. I'm buying one!

FallRate


Almost great but not quite 2 out of 5 stars

Review by: edid, 2001-03-13


My Mindwarp is definitely a lovely, light and comfortable helmet but why did they give up there? Given that it is designed primarily for freeflyers, and most freeflyers wear cameras, why is the camera fitting support so bad and expensive.
I looked at the D-box for the Sony PC-5 and got a fibreglassing friend to make and fitting for me instead. For a start, they could have squared a little patch on the side of the helmet at least to facilitate bolting and camera box on to.
There's just so much fiddling to be done. And with the supplied D-boxes, you'd have to fibreglass around it yourself afterwards to avoid lines snagging in the sharp clefts between D-box and helmet.
Also, the audible pocket, while a nice idea, is in the wrong place for most people (unless you have ears towards the back and base of your head). I had to do a lot of re-positioning and cutting of the inner foam around the ear so I could actually hear my dytter in freefall.
It's all a bit of a shame for the price. It would definately be the best helmet if they would only follow through with the great design of the helmet and put a bit more thought and support into the add ons and options.


There isn't a helmet that is as comfortable 0 out of 5 stars

Review by: Otie McKinley, 2000-07-24


Being relatively new to the sport, I wasn't sure if I wanted a frap hat or a helmet. Unfortunately, I bought a frap hat. Very shortly afterwards, I tried on a few different helmets, and chose the Mindwarp. To me, there isn't a helmet that is as comfortable, or fits as well as the Mindwarp. The Thermo-fit molds the helmet to your head perfectly. I won't ever buy another helmet. The size, the low profile, and the look of the Mindwarp is unsurpassed!


It fits very snug and it is really light-weight 0 out of 5 stars

Review by: Nathan Ruggles, 2000-05-21


I recently bought a Mindwarp helmet and I am very happy with it. It fits very snug and it is really light-weight; it feels like it is not on your head at all. Overall, this is an excellent helmet.


Absolutely love it 0 out of 5 stars

Review by: Mike Rapoport, 2000-05-16


I have owned a Mindwarp now for two years, and absolutely love it. It works great with a time out, and I have just recently mounted a camera mount on it, and it works great. Although it may not look as good as the Invertigo, it holds up better to everyday jumping. I know a few people with the Invertigo and both have developed stress cracks. Great helmet. The only improvement would be to make it easier for the higher end audible to work on it.


The Mindwarp is a good video platform 0 out of 5 stars

Review by: Jason Hitchcock, 1999-11-05


After countless recomendations I picked up a Bonehead with the L bracket for digital video camera. This helmet replaced my Gath as my primary brain bucket, and I am very happy with it.

The helmet and L bracket make a sturdy platform for my video camera (don't have to worry about loosing it in freefall). The helmet provides a perfect fit since you have the option to mold it to your head (requires you to bake it for 10 minutes first). Another nice feature is the protected audible compartment. I have a Pro Track and didn't really like mounting it on the outside of my Gath, but it fits nicely inside the Bonehead (does not affect the comfort of the helmet either). The Mindwarp is a good video platform, provides good protection for both your head and audibles, and fits great.

With the temeratures dropping here in Michigan, I am glad I have by Bonehead to wear. The foam inserts act as great insulators and keep my ears warm in the winter. Much warmer than frap hats, Gath, and Pro Tec I have worn in the winter.


Overall, I'd recommend the Mindwarp highly. 0 out of 5 stars

Review by: Andrew Harper, 1999-11-02


I test jumped several freefly style helmets including: the Nvertigo, Bonehead, Velocity and Gath. The Bonehead Mindwarp appeared to provide the best fit, head coverage and protection. To further improve the fit, Bonehead Composites suggests you bake (post cure) the helmet to custom mold the shell and interior foam.

I followed the simple instructions, which involved:
a. Preheating your oven to 150 degrees b. Turn the oven off, then place the helmet on a cookie sheet for 10 minutes in the oven.
c. Remove the helmet and place on your head
d. Tension the chin and circumference strap snug and apply pressure to the lower edge of helmet below the ears for close fit.

On jump run it's easy to slip the helmet on, cinch the straps and go. In the air you will appreciate the snug secure fit, particulaly on stand up freefly jumps which can inflate or even blow off some loose fitting helmets. During a close proxminity two way freefly, I was kicked so hard in head during my partner's transition that it blew off my goggles, but didn't feel the impact at all. (Thanks Suzy)


I recommend the helmet to anyone 0 out of 5 stars

Review by: Matthew Skinner, 1999-10-18


I bought the helmet direct from the surplier which caused the cost to be lower than I thought. On recieving the helmet I had to mould it to fit my head. This ment the helmet gave the closet of fits which when in freefall is useful. I recommend the helmet to any one however at 170 pounds it is an expensive part of jumping. Blue Skies Matthew


|< <

GoWrite your own Review