Skip to Content

Skydiving Gear : Reviews

Reviews for MINDWARP "Pimp Daddy" Helmet Average Rating = 4.13/5 Average Rating : 4.13 out of 5

Item Details | Reviews

|< < > >|
Show: Sort by: Display:
LouDiamond

New and improved 5 out of 5 stars

Review by: LouDiamond, 2004-02-15


The most appealing aspect is the new shape of this helmet, it has gone back to it's "pimp daddy" shape and lost the cone head apperance. The improved shape and the chin strap/buckle make this the helmet to own. Comfort is excellent even without baking the helmet. Once baked the fit is "like a glove". Craftsmanship is excellent as is the Customer Service.


Bonehead makes a good brain bucket. 4 out of 5 stars

Review by: mountainman, 2003-12-04


After using this for several years, I am still head trama-free and the helmet is holding up very well. I have hit it on all kinds of things and was very glad it wasn't my own cranium. It is very lightweight and comfortable to wear. Too bad it is that ugly carbon fiber color. It is too expensive for custom paint.


Awesome Helmet 5 out of 5 stars

Review by: adamjenner, 2003-06-20


Yeah i got my helmet and i love it! it's a perfect fit, the chin cup was easy to install and it feels great! the only thing is i had to bake it 3 times to get the fit i wanted haha. Oh well.
Real sturdy helmet.


bkdice

New Mindwarp Millennium is AWESOME! 5 out of 5 stars

Review by: bkdice, 2003-05-29


I received my new Mindwarp Millennium a few weeks ago. I baked it upon receipt to get a perfect fit. It is snug and so comfortable. I tried on 5 different helmets, and the bonehead felt the best. (It also blocks out the most noise.) The new Millennium comes with internal hard audible pockets - so there is no danger of a riser slap knocking off your AA.

I've heard that different helmets fit different shaped heads better or worse. Being able to conform an already comfortable helmet to my head, was a big plus. I love it and would definitely recommend it.


Great Helmet 5 out of 5 stars

Review by: samp76, 2003-04-22


I just bought my Mindwarp a month ago and I LOVE IT. It fits great, I love the carbon fiber finish, and when I get a PRO-Track it will go on the inside of the helmet. The only small complant is the it insulates my head and it get a little warm, but it is still worth 5 stars.


4 out of 5 stars

Review by: 992fred, 2002-03-27


I bought a Mindwarp helmet this winter, and I am very happy with it. It fits perfectly, is really light-weight and comfortable. The AA pouch is much more durable and secure but not really nice... Overall, this is an excellent choice.


Great fit, horrible AA pouch 3 out of 5 stars

Review by: Danhole, 2001-10-02


I love the fit of this helmet. I have a hugh head and the xxl fits me wonderfuly. The problem is the AA pouch. It can't be used as it is designed. 1. you'll lose your AA with one good riser strike and 2. you can't hear the AA go off. I had to cut a new hole in both the padding and the helmet (no easy task). Also I have the AA covered in 1/4 inch of tape.

The fit gets a 10! the AA pouch a 2. Average 6


Cheeeeeeezy Audible Pocket 4 out of 5 stars

Review by: benkrech, 2001-08-28


Don't get me wrong...I LOVE this helmet...but for 180 FRIGGIN BUCKS they could make a more DURABLE audible pocket...that neoprene thing just doesn't do it for me. I know a couple of people who've lost their dytters after risers hit them off at deployment.

Despite this...I love the thing. Fits like a glove.

BONEHEAD: MAKE THE AUDIBLE POCKET MORE DURABLE PLEASE!!!!!!!!


SkymonkeyONE

Definitely the nicest of the "freefly" helmets. I love it. 5 out of 5 stars

Review by: SkymonkeyONE, 2001-06-19


I was kind of wanting a new open-faced helmet for swooping competitions and working with students, so I had a friend hook me up with Bonehead. I made a coast-to-coast phone call and got Jeanie on the phone in the middle of the night. Intrigued, she said to come by when I got to Perris. I took a tour of the factory and was duly impressed. I scored myself a new metalic blue Mindwarp (pimped out, of course) and we baked it on the spot! After reading some of the complaints about people having their audibles get ripped off their helmet or having them fly out of the pocket, I was impressed to find that the new design is MUCH more secure.

This helmet fits like a glove; not too tight though. It has provided me great service and I am very happy that I chose it. For those of you that do not like the exterior audible, the HOT ticket is the waterski version. It is setup so that you have more room for your ears. It also has a goggle-keeper on the back for those people that jump them (I jump in sunglasses).

I give this company my highest rating.

Chuck Blue
D-12501


lewmonst

so close to perfect 3 out of 5 stars

Review by: lewmonst, 2001-06-14


i like the helmet, it fits pretty well, i haven't baked it yet. but i got a dbox for the pc5 and have seen a few issues. I guy in Pahokee in March lost his camera in the same set-up as mine. the dbox is closed with just one strap and a plastic buckle. i've been paranoid so i add rubber bands. And i doubt this is bonehead's fault, I ordered it from pier ltd., but the mount was such that the camera was angled too far down. i had to pretty much brake my neck trying to get anything but the ground in the shot, that's beely flying, or flying camera over a 4 way, i had to have them behind me about through my legs. And this is probably pier ltd's fault as well, but the velcro for the padding wouldn't stay in place, i pretty uch held it in place till i put me head in. and the audible is horrible... it doesn't align with my ear or the hole in the padding. Cmon bonehead, that's easy. so i took the d-box off, drilled new holes in the helmet, reglued my velcro in place, and cut a hole close to hear my altimeter, which i still have a hard time hearing sometimes... but i figure that would still have been easier than trying to send it back for modifications...
other than that, it's a sweet helmet, and i still like it better than any others i've tried.


|< < > >|

GoWrite your own Review