zeldag
Technical Support
Jul 15, 2010, 10:48 PM
Post #1 of 4
(509 views)
Shortcut
Username: mrjimmy -- Classified Buyer Scam
Can't Post
Hi,
On 15-Jul-2010 someone submitted their contact information in response to your ad in the Dropzone.com Classifieds. Please reply to this email to contact the person directly.
Username => mrjimmy
Name => JIMMY
FromEmail => mrjim2008@live.com
City => new york
Country => United Kindom
Comments => Hello i just wanted to let you know am interested in your(Bonehead FTP - NEW! ) that goes for $ 550.00 i was actually browsing threw your profile and saw it on there and decided to contact you to know if its still available and in good condition.
Am from UK, and i will love to know how much you are actually giving it out for. Its so cheap for that price but i will love to know whats your best offer for it and more details about it..
I will love to know what your form of payment will be? so i can make the funds available for you. I hope to hear from you soon.
Jimmy
Remember:
DO NOT do business with anyone who offers to send you payment for a higher amount than your selling price with the understanding that you'll send back the balance.
Be suspicious of anyone claiming to be acting on behalf of a "client" or another "customer".
Be suspicious of anyone claiming to be from Nigeria or West Africa
If you agree to accept a check payment, then do not send anything, gear or "change" before the check cleared. And be careful, if you manage to clear a fraudulent check then you may be liable for the damages if the bank finds out later. Make sure your bank authenticates the check.
If it sounds to good to be true, then it probably is.
This username has been disabled.
(This post was edited by zeldag on Sep 29, 2010, 5:55 AM)
Just tried the same scam with me in regards to my Cookie Atomic Helmet. I also sent him additional pictures without watermarks of my helmet. Be aware if these surface again in the classifieds.
This guy is e-mailing me right now about my camera helmet. I've told him that I need his address so I can quote him shipping. He keeps coming back wanting my full name, home address and phone number. I have a feeling this guy is fishing for bank info.
Guys also emailing me after I told him I would only accept PayPal from an overseas buyer. Just sent a pm to coreyangel to see if it's the same email. Responded to my classified ad about my camera helmet also, sellers beware he's phishing for personal information.