Forums: Skydiving: General Skydiving Discussions:
New FAI Medal


ltdiver  (D 20506)

Nov 7, 2002, 10:02 PM
Post #1 of 1 (1350 views)
New FAI Medal Can't Post

Who should our first nomination be?

Adopting a proposal from the Turkish Aeronautical Association (THK), the
95th FAI General Conference 2002 held in October approved the creation
of a new FAI Medal, the “Sabiha Gökçen Medal”, which will be awarded to
women performing the most outstanding achievements in any air sport.

Full texts and Internet links available below.
Original text in English available in MS-Word format at :; in French
HTML text, links and pictures available at :

Jean-Marc BADAN
Promotional Manager

Fédération Aéronautique Internationale
Avenue Mon-Repos 24

FAI - The World Air Sports Federation
Tel: +41 21 345 1070
Fax: +41 21 345 1077
Website :


By approving the creation of a new FAI General Award, the 95th FAI
General Conference held in October in Dubrovnik not only recognised a
life dedicated to aviation, but also gave FAI its first medal reserved
for women performing the most outstanding achievements in any air sport,
the Sabiha Gökçen Medal.

The purpose of FAI Medals and Diplomas is to give public recognition to
those who have made outstanding contributions to aeronautics and
astronautics, especially in the field of sporting aviation. Including
the new Sabiha Gökçen Medal, ten general FAI Medals and Diplomas may be
awarded at the discretion of the FAI Vice Presidents. The oldest and
most prestigious medals are :

The FAI Gold Air Medal : established in 1924, this medal is reserved for
those who have contributed greatly to the development of aeronautics.
Among other celebrities, Capt Charles “Chuck” Yeager (USA/1947), Sir
Geoffrey de Havilland (GBR/1961) and Mrs Sabiha Gökçen (TUR/1990)
received the FAI Gold Air Medal.

The De La Vaulx Medal : created in 1933, this Medal is awarded to all
holders of recognised absolute World Records. J. Steven Fossett
(USA/1995-1997-1998) is the fifth aviator to enter the exclusive group
of people who received three De La Vaulx Medals.

The Louis Bleriot Medal : established in 1936, this Medal is awarded to
holders of the highest records for speed, altitude and distance in a
straight line by light aircraft. In 2000, the Medal was awarded to Hans
Georg Schmid (SUI) for the Around the World flight he completed with his

Apart from these General Awards, 28 other FAI Medals and Diplomas for
Individual Disciplines are at the disposal of Air Sport or Technical
Commissions to be awarded in recognition of particular sporting
performances or achievements.

Interesting links : FAI Awards at /
Biographies of recipients named above at

Lausanne, 7 November 2002

Forums : Skydiving : General Skydiving Discussions


Search for (options)