Skip to Content

Dropzone : Reviews

Reviews for: Skydive Monterey Bay - (Visit this link)
Average Rating = 3.88/5 Average Rating : 3.88/5

Dropzone Summary | Reviews

> >|


Review Summary:


Average Rating : Average Rating = 3.88/5
Total Reviews: 26

> Write a Review

Show: Sort:
Display:
100% Times: 2 Times: 4 Times: 2 Times: 5 Times: 13
80%
60%
40%
20%
0%
Times  2 4 2 5 13
Rating  1 2 3 4 5



Best experience


Skydive Monterey Bay Rated 5 by: nakshatra04 on 2018-07-01

Pros: Friendly staff and and you are in safe hands
Cons: No

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
The best part is the team, they will make you feel very comfortable will train you well and will make this a memorable experience.
I really liked the 18000 jump, the video editing is amazing.
Would Like to personally extend my thanks to "Mikhail", he is the BEST. Thank you again for making it a wonderful experience.

(Review ID:9516)


Horrible for experienced jumpers. STAY AWAY.


Skydive Monterey Bay Rated 2 by: zephyrzone on 2014-07-05

Pros: Fast Aircraft, Good Tandem Masters
Cons: AWFUL towards fun jumpers, TERRIBLE Manifest Manager

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
Given my experience, I want to rate this DZ a 0. However, I want to be completely objective in my review. 2 stars is an honest rating.

The Good: The aircraft is fast and the tandem masters/camera flyers are very good. Of course there are many other DZs in northern California with the same attributes.

The Bad: The DZ claims to accept experienced/fun jumpers, and technically they do. In reality THEY DO NOT. Let me be absolutely clear on this, if you are a licensed skydiver, this dz will not treat you well and doesn't want you there. In fact, this review will probably help them because it will keep fun jumpers away (which is what they want).

I took my friend down to a tandem jump because of the high altitude, nice scenery and I got comped a jump ticket. His jump went well and he enjoyed it. I was 1 of 3 fun jumpers there all day on a Saturday. None of us were able to get on a load, even though we were manifested. As I was walking to the plane I was pulled from the line and told I couldn't board because of weight issues. This also happened to the one other fun jumper who actually volunteers at the DZ. Apparently our weight cost too much in gas (I'm 165lbs). My friend, who was on the plane, overheard the tandem instructors mocking me for coming to a "tandem only DZ" and that I "should know better". Awesome.

I was offered an IOU to come back and jump again, instead of a refund. Of course I'm not going to do this since I'll never get up on a load. I asked for a real refund (very nicely) and was refused. Then I offered to return the hoodie that I had bought a few hours ago to at least recoup some money. Nope. I was told I wore it and "excreted fluids into it" so it was not returnable.

Skydive Monterey Bay HATES fun jumpers and it shows. Why they even promote the DZ as a place where experienced jumpers are welcomed is a complete mystery. This DZ is an adequate tandem factory and nothing more. If you want to do a tandem skydive, this place is OK, but I wouldn't give them a single dime. The have no interest in customer service because they get more tandem jumpers than they can even handle as it is.

(Review ID:8563)


Don't waste your time if you are a fun-jumper


Skydive Monterey Bay Rated 1 by: ce2010 on 2013-12-29

Pros: Very scenic jump run next to the ocean
Cons: Bad customer service, incompetent manager

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
I walked in, asked a few questions, and got short/rude answers. I took the initiative to find the shuttle to the landing area a mile away, and was not impressed.

I never saw another fun jumper the whole weekend which makes perfect sense now! They do not want your business and make that very clear.

It's a shame really that more people can't enjoy 18,000ft jumps and warm weather because of the horrible vibe at Skydive Monterey Bay. Only the tandems can who wouldn't notice the altitude difference anyway.

I will not be back!

(Review ID:8313)


Great place to jump


Skydive Monterey Bay Rated 4 by: Mamoore399 on 2012-02-25

Pros: Fast plane, excellent vibe, great staff, professional
Cons: Fun jump altitude determined by tandems

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
Excellent place to jump during week. 18k with a very conservative opening altitude was 81 seconds. Their King Air is a rocket, 4 turns and you are on jump run! Attentive office staff, great vibe, friendly locals. Got a coach and he made me work in the air, exactly what I asked for. The turns are fast so if you have the means bring two rigs. Landing area is clear, safe, with plenty of bailouts albeit small. I'll go back. Tandems determine load altitude- just get over it. Very happy with the crew there.
(Review ID:7024)


Tandem factory


Skydive Monterey Bay Rated 2 by: fastguy on 2011-02-16

Pros: The place to be if you are looking for a beautiful tandem jump
Cons: Not fun-jumper friendly

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Location
I was on a road trip from San Diego to San Francisco and thought I would hit Skydive Santa Barbara and Skydive Monterey on the way north. After getting stumped at SSB with fog and low clouds, I arrived at Skydive Monterey the next morning with beautiful blue skies.

When I walked into the terminal, I noticed lots of tandem folks waiting around; that should have been my first clue. I asked around but no one knew if there was a local instructor or coach around to get me oriented (clue 2), so being an instructor myself observed how they did things for a little while, noticed the boarding and landing areas were on the far side of the airfield (you have to take vans to and from), and the nice packing and training areas.

Walked into the office and stood in line while watching the staff lose their minds trying to deal with the five tandems that where in there. After nearly 30 minutes of waiting and repeated questions that went ignored, I asked again to get started with the waiver, etc. After finishing with that I tried to manifest and was told that there would be a 2.5 hour wait. No apology or anything.

I am an instructor at a busy DZ myself, and I know how easy it is to get focused on taking care of the clients and forget that there are fun jumpers running around that are looking for a good time, often at a new and different DZ than their home. But making these folks welcome can pay dividends for your business over the long haul, and they might even bring in a tandem or two the next time they are in town.

(Review ID:6236)


Fantastic DZ to experience but not a place to call home.


Skydive Monterey Bay Rated 3 by: deltagearinc on 2010-08-25

Pros: Great views, and a very professional and experienced staff.
Cons: A business only vibe.

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
Marina Airport, 50 miles south of San Jose and just north of Monterey provides amazing views from the air. Gear sales range from some basics (i.e. goggles, glasses, log books, etc.) to some apparel. Jumps are mainly geared towards tandems and AFF students may feel like they are second priority. Great instructors, riggers, and videographers. The office staff can make your experience fun or stressful, depending on who you talk to. Prices are reasonable for the extra altitude and views.

Skydive Monterey Bay has a King Air that will take you to 18k in under 20min... a big plus! The facilities are fair, and the gear and plane are well maintained. Wireless internet is not provided, but is obtainable. Unfortunately, there is no bunk house, couch to crash on, or place to camp at the DZ. Overall, it is a fantastic DZ to experience but not a place to call home.

(Review ID:5954)


Experienced Jumpers NOT Welcome!


Skydive Monterey Bay Rated 2 by: cdcollura on 2008-11-28

Pros: Fast Plane, Awesome View, Altitude!
Cons: Tandem Factory

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
I wrote a review on this place in the good old days (around 2007 to 2009), when you can show up and they tried their best to get you in the air ... With 18k to 19k jump altitudes and a King Air rocket ship that got you up to that FL in 6 mins!

Now it's the dark days of 2014 ... I went there twice and was told there was no rental gear available for out of town (unless you are AFF or tandem), and was simply turned away on a busy Saturday under flawless blue skies.

In 2014 I made the smart decision of calling this time ahead and was told NO GEAR RENTALS to any visiting jumpers, regardless of experience. So if you are experienced, BRING your OWN gear!! I was told this was a "policy" they did since 2011.

What a way to ruin something that was so good and a must everytime I visited N California.

(Review ID:4900)


Horrible time: long wait, unfriendly staff, canceled jump and NO refunds


Skydive Monterey Bay Rated 1 by: monterey on 2008-03-02

Pros: Nice plane
Cons: The hours+ of waiting, the unknowledgable office staff

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
On my friend's birthday we went to Skydive Monterey Bay for a first jump. Early in the morning, my friend called to make reservations, and he was told that he did not need any, just to show up at noon, which we did. After signing in, he was told to just "wait" by some tables - four and a half hours later, we were told the jump would be canceled due to winds.

Somewhere around hour 3 of waiting, I asked the office is they could give us a general time line of waiting. They said that even after 17 years of experience, they had NO idea when he would jump as timing was impossible in this business. When I asked if they could tell me whether it would be one hour or five, they said it they could not say.

So we continued to wait in the FREEZING hanger...and I am guessing the uncomfortable temperature is a common thing as the staff had a tiny spaceheater. So once the jump was canceled due to winds, we were told that the Company does NOT give refunds. After haggling with the owner, and getting unprofessionally yelled at by her, my friend finally received a partial refund - the Company kept a $50 nonrefundable fee. Though there is no argument that the office's policy is no refunds, and my friend signed the contract, there was a question of customer service.

As absolutely NO services had been rendered, (my friend never even got to leave the hanger), it seemed not to much to ask for a refund. No such luck. Though the Company did not LEGALLY have to give a refund (as it is stipulated in their jump contract) it would seem that customer service, or human decency, would dictate that one should. Instead, my friend basically paid $50 to wait all day in a freezing hanger - on his birthday.

I would NEVER EVER recommend Skydive Monterey. The wait time is ridiculous (and the owner reassured me several time that on any given day, they can NEVER offer time predictions), the waiting area is freezing cold and uncomfortable (and this all happened in spring - I could not imagine winter!), and the staff was unfriendly and had no concept of customer service skills or what is right.

Save your money and go to the Hollister skydiving place.

(Review ID:4377)


Friendly DZ with a FAST plane


Skydive Monterey Bay Rated 4 by: Larhsw on 2008-02-02

Pros: Great scenery, fast plane, friendly people
Cons: Facilities need upgrade...

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
Just stopped by on a short trip to CA on business. Super friendly people, super fast plane, great scenery and easy access. Facilities do need an upgrade. though.

A positive experience, and I'd recommend it to anyone!

(Review ID:4334)


Excellent DZ!


Skydive Monterey Bay Rated 5 by: Kiki32 on 2007-10-22

Pros: Awesome View, Great Vibe, Fast Plane
Cons: None based on my visit

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
I did a jump here and was treated like a regular. This dz has an awesome vibe, the people are very nice and despite their reputation of being a tandem factory, they catered to us fun jumpers without any problems. The king air 200 series they have is the fastest plane Ive ever been on, and the heater inside the plane isnt too bad either!

Landing area is a bit far from the packing area but there were plenty of vans to come pick us up. The view is gorgeous too. I cant think of anything bad about this dropzone, if I lived closer Id make it my home dz.

I highly recommend this place.

(Review ID:4206)
> >|

Write your own Review