Skip to Content

Dropzone : Reviews

Reviews for: Mile-Hi Skydiving Center - (Visit this link)
Average Rating = 3.95/5 Average Rating : 3.95/5

Dropzone Summary | Reviews

> >|


Review Summary:


Average Rating : Average Rating = 3.95/5
Total Reviews: 42

> Write a Review

Show: Sort:
Display:
100% Times: 2 Times: 5 Times: 4 Times: 13 Times: 18
80%
60%
40%
20%
0%
Times  2 5 4 13 18
Rating  1 2 3 4 5



Overpriced supported by bad overall culture


Mile-Hi Skydiving Center Rated 2 by: adwilson07 on 2018-01-23

Pros: Scenic
Cons: People, prices, vibe

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location

You are literally nickled and dimed over every single thing. Jumps are $28 if you have cash extra for card. Rigging and coaching are also way over priced. You are a second rate citizen if you are not a tandem, for example if there is are no chairs left and tandems are standing skydivers will be forced to give up there seats. Just ridicules!

It has the nickname Mile High School for a reason. The people who are regulars are clicky and shallow. If you owe beer they only accept expensive craft beer. Constant gossip and who slept with who bs is everywhere. There are good people there I think they just don't know better but they are about 10% of the people.

(Review ID:9450)


Consistent Dz


Mile-Hi Skydiving Center Rated 4 by: manuatea on 2016-10-08

Pros: Aircraft.
Cons: Trailer ride

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
I have jumped at Mile Hi many times over the past 20 years. Any drop zone is what you make of it. Great if you want it to be, but if you're a wallflower you will be ignored. Best aircraft around and I'm grateful they are there when other DZ s have come and gone





available

(Review ID:9182)


Fast planes but too many cliques


Mile-Hi Skydiving Center Rated 3 by: Feetupfreeflier on 2015-07-07

Pros: Great staff very nice
Cons: Lots of cliques, must be a tunnel flier

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
I have been jumping at this DZ for a little while now and barely know anyone. People only jump with people they know are good. If you are a fun jumper good luck getting on a load there are typically 2 hour waits to get on a load. They do have fast planes and the staff is very friendly... well most of them. There is a new rule every weekend you must follow. It is a great place to jump during the week but on the weekend if you want to hang out and get to know the jumpers or if you want to be appreciated as a fun jumper then go south. You will feel much more welcome at other DZs.
(Review ID:8819)


Great welcoming DZ, very professional, and good planes


Mile-Hi Skydiving Center Rated 5 by: pcbluesky on 2012-06-16

Pros: Great safety culture, welcoming, 2-3 fast planes, big landing area, starts early
Cons: High altitude (take care!), trips to/from planes (minor)

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Location
I just popped in to Mile-Hi today for 3 jumps whilst travelling through Denver. Warmly welcomed with a quick gear check, brief and a reasonably sized waiver (!). Friendly bunch of jumpers with a strong wingsuit group (big BASE community).

Jumped on a hop'n'pop load and was pleased to see everyone doing a pin check in the plane. I was also stopped later in the day when I went to manifest for a wingsuit jump and they have a great system of helmet stickers to make sure that an instructor has checked someone out before they jump camera/wingsuit. Something we could do with more of I think - and it's not red tape it's focussed on making sure that you have the skills to do the jump safely. One of the best safety culture I have seen in the US DZs I have visited.

Huge landing area but you need to be careful - it's at 5,000 feet and the landings are FAST. A few practice flares on your first jump there a good idea.

They have a twin otter and (up to) 2 Super King Airs. The tandems tend to be on the King Air which gives nice separation between fun jumpers and tandems. Particularly good for the wingsuit groups.

About 40 minutes from Denver airport - but a bit out of town. Jump tickets are around $25 but package deals available. Definitely recommended.

(Review ID:7321)


nice first impression, then comes the buisness


Mile-Hi Skydiving Center Rated 2 by: helzer on 2011-11-16

Pros: nice air crafts
Cons: trailer ride, staff, enviroment, long waits

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
Aircraft are super nice after you pay the exobanate lift price, ride a trailer all the way around the airport on a dry dirt road then stand under the limited shade. This DZ is very much about business, the vibe really is flat. If you are not a local or with your own group, hope you like to jump alone and get ignored at every step, from manifest to landing. (and oh ya the trailer ride back to the small packing area). Will not go back to this DZ.
(Review ID:6916)


Nice place


Mile-Hi Skydiving Center Rated 4 by: jumpher10 on 2011-10-14

Pros: Nice, professional facilities
Cons: trailer ride to the plane and back after your jump

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
I visited Mile-Hi recently and had a nice day of jumping. They had excellent facilities, very clean and neat. Lots of technology. Tv's everywhere for manifest, and for tandems waiting to jump who get to enjoy some television. Lots of room to pack. Friendly people, hott girls and lots of fun jumpers! My only complaints would be the trailer ride to the plane and back to the hangar after your jump. Especially the ride back, everybody stepping and falling all over your canopy. Due to the set up there, I understand its neccessary right now. I was also shocked at the amount of inexperienced jumpers doing bigger ways. Seemed very dangerous. I really enjoyed the scenery. Awesome rocky mountain backdrop! Overall, it was a fun time! I'd go back if I'm ever in the area again.
(Review ID:6851)


Great dropzone, get there early!


Mile-Hi Skydiving Center Rated 4 by: guitar_nut on 2011-08-23

Pros: Beautiful views, great instructors, nice aircraft, and friendly staff.
Cons: Gets busy, sometimes takes several hours between loads. Rental rigs can be scarce.

  Professionalism
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
I'm currently working on my A license at Mile-Hi. The AFF instructors were great and the coaches have been fantastic. The canopy course is especially helpful. The experienced jumpers I've met will take time to help or answer questions. It gets VERY busy on the weekends, so I recommend getting there as soon as they open if you want to get in more than one jump. During peak hours, it can be tough to get a rental rig. I would guess owning your own chute makes more jumps possible.

The view during free fall can't be beat!

(Review ID:6700)


Friendly professional environment.


Mile-Hi Skydiving Center Rated 4 by: TSmith on 2011-06-30

Pros: Professional staff, Large packing area. AC lobby...
Cons: Left and Right landing pattern.

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
My son and I visited Mile-Hi in June. He had just returned from military and needed to get back in the air/recurrent. We first went on Sunday. The otter was flying and the vibe seemed positive. We were welcomed by staff and given all of the necessary briefings after completing all of the required paperwork. One staffer was slightly in error on reserve repack requirements but was quickly brought up to speed by another staffer saving us a dispute over dates. This was NOT a negative. We are all human and make mistakes. The fact that it was quickly and professionally addressed/resolved is good stuff.

The winds that day had gotten pretty rough so we never did get to make a jump. We returned with a couple of guys from another drop zone the next day. They didn't have their paperwork in order and were held from jumping until verified. I felt bad for them but I wasn't upset with the DZ for maintaining a standard. It may seem to be picky but they have a program and they stick to it. I respect that.

The instructors that I met were very professional and experienced. Nobody spoke down to us (me a D/TI and my son an A). The primary concerns were safety and having fun. Isn't that what's important?

We met other skydivers, local and out of townies visiting. Managed to make some jumps with another visitor and all had a great time.

I felt that this was a very good environment for both the new and experienced skydiver.

The building/hanger was well equipped with space and items as well as TV, snacks and games to occupy the non jumpers. The King Air was awesome.

The things that only slightly bothered me were that the flight pattern is both left and right depending on where you are on the load. I am use to having things one way... Since there were only a few of us it didn't matter much but if the groups were larger I think it would have gotten confusing. But I have an open mind so maybe it works. The trailer ride was interesting. I'd never had to be transported to the loading/landing areas. Again, open minds... All in all these were not issues.

This is a great drop zone. Like most bigger operations, they have established rules. Be prepared to show your paperwork and gear to confirm you are current. I will definitely jump there again if I return to Colorado.

(Review ID:6538)


Mile-Hi was recommended to me by my neighbor and I am glad I went there.


Mile-Hi Skydiving Center Rated 5 by: TresChic30 on 2010-10-04

Pros: The staff at Mile-Hi were very up beat and friendly. They made you feel safe and they made the experience one to rememb
Cons: There wasn't anything that I didn't like about my experience.

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
I went there to Mile-Hi to skydive for my 30th birthday. I felt the need to do something young and exciting. I wasn't nervous because my neighbor had been there twice and said that the staff were amazing and the center itself made you feel safe. The excitement grew sitting waiting for our names to be called and everything happened so fast that there wasn't a lot of time to get nervous. My tandem person was great and made me feel like there wasn't anything to be afraid of. All in all I loved the entire experience and will definitely be going back!!!
(Review ID:6038)


Tandem factory.


Mile-Hi Skydiving Center Rated 3 by: ltlt on 2010-09-23

Pros: Good coaches, fast planes, big landing zone
Cons: Always try to charge more than you owe, expensive as hell, Ride trailer back and forth, dirty/very little carpeted packi

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
Sure, Mile-Hi has a monopoly for an otter in Colorado. That is the reason most fun jumpers continue to go to this dropzone. Honestly, the packing area sucks. Its thin carpet over concrete. The staff is sometimes friendly, but seem to always overcharge me somehow. Complete tandem factory and takes months to even get AFF done. They only allow you to get one AFF jump a day unless everyone else has had more than one. Most of the fun jumpers are very nice and are a great crowd...
(Review ID:6016)
> >|

Write your own Review