Skip to Content

Dropzone : Reviews

Reviews for: Skydive Hawaii - (Visit this link)
Average Rating = 3.71/5 Average Rating : 3.71/5

Dropzone Summary | Reviews

|< < > >|


Review Summary:


Average Rating : Average Rating = 3.71/5
Total Reviews: 38

> Write a Review

Show: Sort:
Display:
100% Times: 4 Times: 5 Times: 4 Times: 10 Times: 15
80%
60%
40%
20%
0%
Times  4 5 4 10 15
Rating  1 2 3 4 5



Waited 5 h


Skydive Hawaii Rated 3 by: thorvick on 2009-05-12

Pros: Beautiful place
Cons: Too busy, too noisy, too industrial... You feel like cattle

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
I wish I had chosen another day or perhaps another skydive center. Although the experience was amazing (first timer) and I'm looking into skydive training now, I wouldn't recommend that place. I went there because I thought they were the only one on Oahu and this place had been suggested by a friend (who has had a great time there).

I booked online for a Saturday and when my friend and I got there it was crazy, super busy, super loud, very impersonal. We waited 2 h and finally decided to ask when we were going to jump. We had to wait another 2.5 h before getting ready. Had we known, we could have done other things in the meantime. I was supposed to get a photographer for my dive but the (unfortunate) guy had landed badly just before our turn and wasn't able to jump anymore. I finally went for my tandem and the nice guy told me that the photographer had certainly some psychological issues and had been turned down after having asked to do tandems. Very reassuring! Very professional...

Anyway, the skydive experience was great and the tandem guy very friendly, but the structure of the center is messy and not very friendly. I think they should consider their customer like people and not animals and they should tell you when there is a waiting time of 4.5 h so you can go to the beach and come back.

Last but not least, they are very expensive and when you add photos (75$) and video (100$) or both (150$), be ready to tip. They will be very pushy and remind you a great number of times that you're supposed to tip the photo and/or the video guy(s)!

Looking into Pacific for training now.

(Review ID:5104)


fun jump in a tropical paradise


Skydive Hawaii Rated 5 by: nicekitty on 2009-02-15

Pros: Great people, fun personalities, great views
Cons: none

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
Tom my TI and Danny my photographer were awesome. Great jump and great organization. Nicely laid out, fun things to buy and can't beat the location.
(Review ID:4976)


Why the turbulence with Pacific??? there is enough fun to go around.


Skydive Hawaii Rated 2 by: imbasen321 on 2009-01-29

Pros: Location, facilities
Cons: Most people there have horrible attitudes

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
I went to Hawaii last year in Jan, took my rig with me in hopes of making 20 or 30 jumps. Went into Skydive Hawaii ( I had 9500+ jumps then ) and was met with alot of scarcasm because someone had seen me at Pacific the day before jumping. I was pretty much told that if I started jumping at Pacific that I should stay there. I was also hassled the day before from Skydive Hawaii regulars about my landings ( which are pretty fast ) Anyway, enough drama. If you are a fun jumper or an instructor from the mainland, keep it to yourself and go to Pacific. Guy and his people are friendly and professional, granted, sometimes they are too busy to sit and talk but they don't treat you like an outsider.
(Review ID:4959)


MAD CRAZY MIND BLOWING!!


Skydive Hawaii Rated 5 by: zappdog on 2008-08-25

Pros: scenery
Cons: ride out

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
I've finally got to do it after years of talking about it. My wife and I finally did it and what can I say!! MAD CRAZY MIND BLOWING!!! she was soo scared we jumped. Knots in the stomach, butterflies feeling sick you name it we had it. We spent 2 hours before the jump and then I was sure the flight was going to be cancelled as the skies were grey over an rain over the dropzone (I was relieved and disappointed) then all of sudden the sky clear up I my heart dropped. I have to say that during all of this my wife was strangely calm and relaxed. We met Tom and Jake who our instructors and they instantly put us at ease. I wasnít sure what to expect but I have to give the guys high credits on their presentation of not only themselves but the thorough schooling we got befor the jump.
then it was time to get in the aircraft on the tarmac. We turned a few heads at the airport and we strolde by the school. Our aircraft was much smaller than any aircraft my wife has bin on. we taxied out for take off. We took off and circled the island dropzone and the views from the air were awesome. after a few minutes we were at 4000ft and over the water. In no time we were over land again and gazing out at some of the most incredible scenery I have ever seen. 8 thousands feet below the land skape was like a photo. Before I got too comfortable it was time for the door to open! If you have ever been in an aircraft with the door open before you will understand my alarm! The wind came rushing in and everything changed. Tom was telling me to do things but I simply wasnít listening. I felt myself move but looking back wife she had no idea how I felt. I was hanging out of the aircraft at 11000ft! More commands from Tom but I was listening now then we were out! I have no idea how to explain how freefall feels. YES I DO!!!! Itís like floating but at high speed with noise, like you putting your head out a car window at 80 mph. I saw Tom give me the thumbs up. It was without a doubt the most amazing thing I had ever done. The parachute opened and once again everything changed. We were floating over ocean and green fields and life was good. Tom was videoing me the the whole time shook my hand and assured me I'd done a great job and then he came in for an easy landing with both feet firmly on the ground. I have to say a huge thanks to all the team at Skydive Hawaii for helping us fulfill what was for me one of the most amazing time of my life.
my wife Jen is still in awh.

(Review ID:4735)


If you get a chance to go to Hawaii BRING YOUR RIG!!!


Skydive Hawaii Rated 5 by: ASTKU on 2008-07-02

Pros: View is unbelievable, Very Friendly Staff
Cons: Winds can get a bit scary for the unexperienced

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
I am relatively new to the sport (about 70 jumps currently) started jumping in 2-07. But, I have jumped at 8 different drop zones. Four in Texas, one in Missouri, Skydive SanDiego, Mile Hi Skydiving in Colorado, and Skydive Hawaii... So far Skydive Hawaii was definitely the funnest experience I have had jumping. The view was unbelievable! I jumped in Hawaii in 8-07 and I am writing this review because some people bad mouthed this dropzone and I wanted to express my opinion....

I got a total of four jumps in at SD Hawaii and wish I could have done more. Before I made it out there I called and talked to both dropzones out there. I ended up picking SDH because they were much more friendly on the phone and I also believe the Caravan to be a better jump plane. The staff at this dropzone is very friendly and it was very easy to get on a load and get packed. Just like every other dropzone they do make money by doing tandems so I expected to be out there a long time waiting. This was not the case at all. I seriously can see no issues jumping there as long as you jump in the morning. The reason I say that is because the winds get a little bit crazier in the afternoon and at this time having only 40 or so jumps I took there advice and got out there early to avoid any potential danger...

At one point I did walk the 50 feet down to the other dropzone and was definitely not welcomed there like I was at SDH. There facility was not near as nice and I just got a bad vibe from it. I am not saying that they don't have a good staff and all that stuff I just wanted to explain the experience from my point of view. Nobody even gave me a "HELLO". They both jump from the same airport and share the same landing zone but the two days I jumped there the Caravan took about 5 times as many loads up as the KingAir. I couldn't figure out why they weren't jumping as much.....

So if you have a chance to go to Hawaii bring your rig cause it will be the best jumping experience of your life. I have the pictures to prove it. I can't wait to get the chance to go back...

Feel free to send me a message if you have questions or if you want to see some amazing pictures!!

(Review ID:4620)


Another great skydiving experience....


Skydive Hawaii Rated 5 by: jsmedley on 2007-06-06

Pros: Great Plane, Great People, Amazing Location
Cons: Packing Area

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
I travel to Hawaii from Texas about once a year, and I have brought my rig the last two trips. My first time to Skydive Hawaii, I was well received, and I got a great brief from Jason. The experience was great.
My recent trip (5/07) was even better. After a good re-brief/gear check, I quickly manifested and was on a caravan load within 25 minutes of arriving. I went up on the first load with Ben (a resident videoguy), and the pilot quickly noticed that I was a fun jumper, and offered me the right seat. What a view, and the climb to altitude was almost over to fast (that is a first). The jump was awesome, and I had time for another jump before I had to head to a meeting in Honolulu. Ben is awesome, and I would recommend this DZ to everyone.

(Review ID:3914)


For tandems, Non-USPA, Caravan.. over Hawaii


Skydive Hawaii Rated 2 by: flytrybe on 2007-05-01

Pros: It's Hawaii... nuf said
Cons: Tandem factory

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
Gorgeous scenery... other than that, skydivers are not so easy to find, this business is really mostly for tandems.
Also, the vibe is kinda messed up due to the fact that this place has a ridiculous vendetta thing going on with the other place across the lawn. The Caravan has a familiar size door, and has to be the most awful paint job ever.

(Review ID:3847)


Great Dropzone for all


Skydive Hawaii Rated 5 by: codyvance on 2007-03-29

Pros: Beautiful Jump over the North Shore of Oahu, Very friendly Guys
Cons: None

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
Made a reservation for noon, arrived an hour early they were mroe than happy to take me early. Told them it was my third jump and my jump master (name was Jim) said we were going to do something different. Got on the plane, went to 13000 AGL and as were about to exit i was told to lean back and watch the plane. As we exited, the plane did a dive in front of us!! Totally awesome. Also, he had us spining on the freefall. Once we were coming down he toke the time to teach me about braking, turning, and so on. I would recommend this dropzone to anyone. If you wanna see the video www.codyskydive.com
(Review ID:3770)


Great DZ if you're a reasonably experienced jumper


Skydive Hawaii Rated 4 by: DSE on 2007-01-06

Pros: Water, mountains, air, location, location, location
Cons: Kind of a tandem mill, but they readily admit same

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
Over the Xmas holidays, I spent 5 days at Skydive Hawaii. I went next door first, as it's regionally known as the "upjumper place." Not one person said "hello" or any other form of greeting, even though it was clear I was an upjumper.
So, went to Skydive Hawaii even though I didn't really want to go there. I had barely set foot in the door before Mary had said "Hello" and then introduced me to manifest and to a couple of others on the DZ. Manifest hooked me up with another upjumper.
With only one exception, everyone there was very friendly and welcoming, both staff and upjumpers. On the weekdays, there were only a couple upjumpers and lots of tandems, but that made it easy to get onto loads.
The one exception is a local upjumper that was overly filled with her own sense of self-importance and skill, and when she had an issue with me pulling in place (I was flying camera slot) she made sure everyone on the DZ knew it on landing. A couple of other jumpers and a staff member all loudly commented that she should go home. After she left, and during the following week, others were quite open about "That's not how we do things around here, she's just a nasty person."
I was told straight up that it was possible that a tandem could potentially take my slot. It never happened.
Packers are out of this world good and fast by comparison to my experiences at several other DZs around the world.
Prices are right.
I wish they had food there at the DZ, but Haleiwa is very close and you can't beat the Kua 'iina Burger joint there.
Thanks to Mary, Frank, Jonny, Noel, Jake, Ben, and others at Skydive Hawaii for a great time over the holidays.

(Review ID:3617)


Can't beat a jump in paradise


Skydive Hawaii Rated 4 by: SOTB32 on 2006-07-15

Pros: Scenery, People
Cons: Weather

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
Sure it's a little touristy. What do expect in Hawaii? I spent a couple weeks in Hawaii and only made a couple jumps. Was lucky enough to get there on a weekend with quite a few other fun jumpers so we actually made a few jumps together. Generally, you don't find a lot fun jumpers on the Islands. If you do, they come out for the sunset loads during the week. My kudos goes out to Clarence. He is a great coach. I learned A LOT. If you get on his good side, he'll teach you everything! Didn't really get a "vibe" one way or the other. One day it was great, high energy, "let's jump!" The next..."eh, big deal. No one wants to jump?" The landing area is a little intimidating, with a mountain on one side and the surf on the other. But you'd be surprised how much room there really is to land. Can't say the same for the packing areas. All the space is taken up by the rigger's and packers. I found myself packing in the restroom's!

On the negative side, the Tandem instructors certainly like to showboat. "Hooking-in" a student seems to be their trademark. And "swooping" the buildings is another dangerous trick they excel in. Almost everytime I visit another student gets hurt. Watched a girl break her ankle on a tandem the day I was there. Really takes the thrill out of the dive when sitting in hospital bed.

I'll still bring my parachute the next time I'm in paradise. Although, my time would be better spent wind-surfing.

(Review ID:3258)
|< < > >|

Write your own Review