Skip to Content

Dropzone : Reviews

Reviews for: Chambersburg Skydiving Center - (Visit this link)
Average Rating = 4.48/5 Average Rating : 4.48/5

Dropzone Summary | Reviews

> >|


Review Summary:


Average Rating : Average Rating = 4.48/5
Total Reviews: 25

> Write a Review

Show: Sort:
Display:
100% Times: 1 Times: 0 Times: 3 Times: 3 Times: 18
80%
60%
40%
20%
0%
Times  1 0 3 3 18
Rating  1 2 3 4 5



all in all: Winning!


Chambersburg Skydiving Center Rated 5 by: timski on 2017-12-09

Pros: location!
Cons: small birds

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
Looks like we needed an UPDATE!
182/206 are the only options here now. JR and Kathy run a nice operation with very competent instructors. I'm a local and the 25 min drive with heated/AC in door packing being a HUGE turn on for people who pack there own... MANY food options close by. Friendly staff and fun jumpers, don't forget to bring the wingsuits ;)

~DANGER

(Review ID:9434)


BEWARE OF THIS PLACE


Chambersburg Skydiving Center Rated 1 by: Bfrench on 2012-07-22

Pros: None
Cons: Unprofessional and misleading

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
BEWARE of this place. They are only interested in collecting your money and will give no refunds. We got there on July 22, 2012 after making a 12pm reservation for 4 people several weeks earlier. The weather was just starting to clear and they gave COMPLETELY misleading information as to the wait times. 3 hours in they said that it was because of lack of tandem instructors. An hour later they said it would be another 4-5 hrs before we jumped. At this point we asked for our money back and the owner refused. I COMPLETELY understand the weather is a factor and that you are short of instructors. But there is NO LEGITIMATE reason not to be upfront and flat out misleading. This is by far one of the most unprofessional establishments I have EVER seen!
(Review ID:7481)


Fantastic DZ, Even Better atmosphere!!


Chambersburg Skydiving Center Rated 5 by: Cbermeo75 on 2012-04-24

Pros: Nice open landing area, very friendly staff and funjumpers, feel very welcome
Cons: None

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
My girlfriend and I visited Chambersburg Skydiving Center just last week after spending a day/night in nearby Gettysburg. Right away it was apparent what a cool and layed back atmosphere it was at the dropzone. The staff were extremely friendly and very helpful in explaining the ins and outs of the DZ/Landing area and the funjumpers there were equally welcoming. Only managed to get in a few jumps that day because of the long trip back to NY but despite it being a bit hazy it was nice to see the Appalachian Mountains and surrounding historical areas from FULL ALTITUDE. The only bummer of the day was not having been able to stay longer. My girlfriend who is not a skydiver was made to feel totally at home as again the folks there are downright awesome. If you're visiting historical Gettysburg bring your rig with you and take the 35 min. or so drive afterwards to this DZ. Even if you're not visiting Gettysburg and just happen to be in the area I highly recommend visiting the DZ. It was a great capper to a memorable weekend.

Christian Bermeo
C-39145

(Review ID:7123)


Chambersburg PA -- nice place


Chambersburg Skydiving Center Rated 4 by: fencebuster on 2011-11-20

Pros: Friendly staff and jumpers.
Cons: None noted.

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
I went with a couple of experienced jumper friends to see a different DZ. We were welcomed and invited to participate in several large RW jumps, with varying degrees of success, but we had a great time. I would definitely recommend Chambersburg for fun jumpers to jump. Everyone was very welcoming and it was a low key fun place to spend a Sunday afternoon.
(Review ID:6924)


Nice but...


Chambersburg Skydiving Center Rated 3 by: Deyver007 on 2011-11-02

Pros: King Air
Cons: Prices, Too many cliques

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
It is a nice DZ but the prices to get to altitude are a little steep. The packing area is a little cramped but is indoors. Most of the people are pleasant, especially Jamie and Grant. You guys rock!!
(Review ID:6898)


Overall Great Dropzone


Chambersburg Skydiving Center Rated 5 by: peedeepalmer on 2011-10-01

Pros: Great Atitude, Small and Friendly, willingness to help
Cons: weather

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
My visist to Chambersburg was great. JR and his crew really made the time spent there worth it. Although the weather was bad and there was only one load, the staff made it worth sticking around.

I showed up early and they immediately welcomed me in. Even though it was apparent that JR was busy, he made time to look over my gear, check my logbook and after a quick orientation I was ready to go. Having both a King Air and C-182, they were flexible and put me and three other experienced jumpers on a load. Those that called Chambersburg home really brought me in and made me feel welcomed.

The hanger was extremely organized and gave an awesome first impression. The mats were extremely clean and all the gear was stowed. Overall the facilities were great.

The attitude was amazing. JR, Rocky, Paul, Grant and everyone else were extremely friendly. From an outsider point of view, Grant (AFF instructor) was extremely detailed with the first jump course going and really showed a high level of professionalism.

Bottom Line: I will go back!!! This small DZ was ran well and had their arms wide open. I highly recommend this place. If you are planning to jump in PA, this is the place to go.

Phil Palmer

(Review ID:6813)


One of my favorite DZ's to date


Chambersburg Skydiving Center Rated 5 by: mikeblu109 on 2010-10-05

Pros: King Air, AC packing area, good vibe
Cons: price, limited packing area

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
I have an A lic with a 100+ jumps and I was welcomed, even by the D lic small canopy fliers that I've seen turn their noses up at other DZ's. I had a blast jumping here, the people were nice, the King Air they had rocks. I would go back any day, and recommend it to anyone wanting to jump. I learned in Eloy and have traveled to many different DZ's from the smallest to the largest. This was one of my favorite.
(Review ID:6041)


Fun Time in PA


Chambersburg Skydiving Center Rated 5 by: freestyle7457 on 2010-05-30

Pros: Friendly, considerate people
Cons: AAD required...not like thats a bad thing

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
Stopped by on my way to Florida and met a lot of friendly and experienced jumpers. My rig didn't have the required AAD, but JR was very understanding to the point where he gave me a rig to use free of charge. They even let me camp there even though the DZ wasn't open the next day. Make the stop here...its more than worth it.
(Review ID:5733)


Very friendly DZ


Chambersburg Skydiving Center Rated 5 by: camgon on 2009-07-05

Pros: Great group of people!
Cons: No food on site

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
I visited Chambersburg during their CASA boogie and had a great experience. I showed up to the boogie not knowing anyone, but had no problem meeting new people.

The fun jumpers were very friendly and welcoming, and the Instructors were professional. I noticed the Tandem Instructors were actually instructing their students (image that!) and not simply taking their students on a wild carnival ride.

The facilities were decent, and indoor packing a plus.

Right now their King Air is down, so on a normal weekend they are running only 182s. However, don't let that deter you, they are still well worth the visit.

Next time I'm in the area I will be sure to visit them again.

Blue Skies!

(Review ID:5227)


experienced jumpers -> you'll be lucky if you get one jump in here


Chambersburg Skydiving Center Rated 3 by: ranger28 on 2009-06-14

Pros: air conditioned packing; convenient location
Cons: manifest; experienced jumpers wait long time between loads

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
I recently tried Chambersburg since it is convenient to Northern Virginia, and had a great experience. However, my second trip was very disappointing. I manifested as soon as I arrived at the dropzone, and almost 3.5 hours later I finally boarded the aircraft. Unfortunately, the load was overbooked, and there was no room for the tandem's videographer. Bottom line - I was asked to bump to the next load, although no one was manifested and the fuel truck was dry, therefore requiring the plane to fly to a distant airport to take on fuel. I did the math, figured it would be at least another hour, and I wasn't willing to wait after already being 'manifested' for nearly 4 hours. I also knew that I was the first person to manifest for that load - but no one was willing to put a two-way with me (solo) on another aircraft so everyone could jump - the two-way wanted to be on the same load as the tandem and videographer, so they could ride to altitude together. So, I drove 4 hours roundtrip to sit at a dz for 4 hours. At least nobody got hurt.
(Review ID:5176)
> >|

Write your own Review