Skip to Content

Dropzone : Reviews

Reviews for: Freefall Thailand - (Visit this link)
Average Rating = 4.30/5 Average Rating : 4.30/5

Dropzone Summary | Reviews



Review Summary:


Average Rating : Average Rating = 4.30/5
Total Reviews: 10

> Write a Review

Show: Sort:
Display:
100% Times: 1 Times: 1 Times: 0 Times: 0 Times: 8
80%
60%
40%
20%
0%
Times  1 1 0 0 8
Rating  1 2 3 4 5



Best dropzone in South East Asia !


Freefall Thailand Rated 5 by: tgauriau on 2017-12-02

Pros: Very professional place - Isolated from any distraction which gives FOCUS - 5 stars Safety standards - Brand new plane -
Cons: During a very hot sunny day, packing will make you sweat a lot :D ( can't think of any cons to be honest )

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
I'm a fun jumper mostly doing WS and FF.
The place is brand new and very well designed.
It's tandem friendly (of course) but also very fun jumper friendly ! There, everyone is safety driven. The facilities are comfortable, the space can accommodate a lot of people ... in a nut shell its really nice and they make you feel welcome !

Like everyone else I've heard a lot about the landing area size being too small etc..etc.. well its be a bit exaggerated in my opinion because its big and fine unless you are 25 jumps and fresh A license of course. Plus it's only surrounded by alternate landing zone! It is nicely maintained, green grass everywhere and no water or surprises.

There are no trees or buildings in the way, the winds are always constant coming from the same direction and with no obstacles in the way ... well NO turbulence :) Its the first landing area i've jump which feel like it's been designed for skydiving ! It's refreshing.

So far i ve been to the DZ 3 times and love it.
The town nearby is where everyone stays (10 mins drive if you chose the furthest hotels ), I ve tried 3 different hotels and they are all good AND located by the ocean with plenty of beach restaurant from local food to pizza or burgers .. anything. ( all the hotel can be found on agoda, so far no bad surprises )
It's about 2 hours drive from Bangkok airport and to be honest its a straight road all the way.

The Staff at the drop zone is amazing and very helpful. Everyone speaks English. All the instructors are top level and will coach you in any discipline you want to practice.
The plane never waits for a full load to take off, quite the contrary, there's always 2 to 3 loads ahead that are open to manifest so if you don't jump its because you don't want to.

We've had 1 major fun jumper weekend so far and its was ridiculous awesome !


(Review ID:9430)


Best DZ in SE Asia


Freefall Thailand Rated 5 by: asafonov on 2017-11-30

Pros: great infrastructure, highest altitude jumps in Asia, safety protocols
Cons: none I can think of

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
I live in Singapore and as we don't have drop-zone at home I spent three years traveling around Asia looking for perfect one. Finally my search is over as I'm more than happy to call Freefall Thailand my home DZ.

This place has it all:

- new shiny PAC P-750 XSTOL airplane which takes up to 17 skydivers to standard 14000 feet altitude at very short time - 12 minutes for half full load and about 18 minutes for full load. Dropzone management does not compromise on altitude and always delivers what is promised unless cloud situation is hopeless - which happens maybe 1% of time only - I jumped only once from lower altitude 11,000 feet in 30+ jumps I did at DZ and it still was great comparing to typical fare of dropzones in the region;

- very well planned and executed DZ layout - skydivers lounge, packing area, boarding area, cafeteria, rigging loft - all is part of integrated compact and comfortable building which minimizes time skydivers needs to spend outside which is great as it is pretty hot during day time in Thailand; also walking back from landing area to the building takes no time which is very convenient;

- amazing vibe with friendly helpful staff, nice music playing everywhere, big cool screens, electronic manifest, and overall great sense of style and identity which is far above regular fare DZs around the world provide; and of course there is always great apres-jumping time to relax with beers and share stories of the day with other jumpers;

- Safety protocols and rules. Freefall Thailand management is very safety-focused. Very well planned and executed briefings are mandatory for everyone. There is always someone watching both exits and landings and if need arises - instructors and jump directors will allays have personalized advice on improving one's and everyone safety - I found these discussions very helpful and I feel that those made me better skydiver than I was before starting jumping at Freefall Thailand. I've seen only few dropzones in my life there people not only enforce highest safety standards with "iron fist" but also spend so much time trying to help individual jumpers to fit culture better.

- they treat tandem first time jumpers as VIPs - client's time is highly valued and they try to optimize everyone's schedule and minimize waiting time. I will definitely bring my friends and colleagues in future for first time jumping experience as I'm confident that this place will deliver and make clients happy even if weather conditions will be challenging - I observed it with my own eyes on a few occasions.

- as for funjumpers - landing area at this phase is not huge - it is about 200x40 meters, this is why DZ enforces lower limit of 500 jumps at the moment. I jumped there over several weekends with big groups of people and nobody with that level of experience had any problems navigating and landing safely. I feel like limit they enforce is absolutely right for their current configuration - which may get more beginner friendly in near future.

- almost forgot - views of coastline and islands during airplane ride and freefall are stunning.

Overall - I'm incredibly happy that Thailand's skydiving scene is growing and we have this incredible place to enjoy our favorite sport.

Highly recommended for first time tandem jumpers and for experienced fun jumpers.

(Review ID:9429)


Best place to jump in Asia hands down


Freefall Thailand Rated 5 by: AntoH on 2017-11-29

Pros: 14,000ft loads all day, facilities, staff, views
Cons: None

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
I've spent 2 weekends jumping here so far, it's such a privilege to finally have a professional DZ operating out of Thailand, one that is actually all about the jumpers and not cramming as many tandem loads as possible into sub 9k loads.

The DZ is very safety oriented, with informative safety briefs for all new fun jumpers. The plane stays in the air until all jumpers are on the ground so there is no chance of 'landing next to it'. If you find the landing area too small you should stick to writing fake reviews, as I'd be perfectly happy with a landing area 50% of the current area.

Drive time for me from Bangkok to the DZ averaged at 2hrs getting there in the morning and 2.5hrs driving back on a Sunday evening through traffic.

(Review ID:9425)


Awesome place


Freefall Thailand Rated 5 by: SEAjumper on 2017-11-29

Pros: People, plane, vibe, fun level
Cons: distance from BKK, small landing area

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
New DZ just openend in OCT 2017, brand new plane, the whole place was designed from scratch by skydivers for skydivers. Some restrictions in place but these all make sense and support the professionalism and safety of the place. Awesome, very friendly people and a wonderful vibe even though they just started. Location is both a pro (beach, resorts etc) and a little con (bit of a drive from Bangkok but also not too bad - transportation is no issue). The staff are just fantastic and will help you with everything also long before you arrive. You will feel well taken care of and heaps of fun are guaranteed!
Facilities are great, all brand new, clean, well taken care of - everything's there - DZ even providing free snacks throughout the day and a nice terrace for the evening beers...
Two thumbs up!!!

(Review ID:9424)


best DZ in Thailand or Asia


Freefall Thailand Rated 5 by: asaf on 2017-11-28

Pros: PAC750XL, 14000ft, WS friendly, nice staff
Cons: for me can't find (will describe later in review)

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
Thailand best place in the world. Beautiful country, nice people, cheap, good food, etc.
and now Thailand has FREEFALL THAILAND.

Best DZ in Asia with brand new fast PAC750XL. which bring you to 14000ft every load and with so amazing seaview. All DZ is about professionalism and safety from the moment you enter it and till you land from your jump.

i don't know about previous reviewer but for person with 500+ jumps landing area is enough and i have no difficulties to land.
Safety - first jump hop&pop, very detailed briefing, a lot of advices after landing. Perfect.

biggest plus it is WS friendly!!!

to get from BKK takes around 3hours, but it's not a big problem if you come for weekend or week as difference 1 hour is very small according to all experience you can have.

shower, wi-fi, cofe, food order, etc.... everything that you want.

https://www.facebook.com/alexey.safonov.9/videos/1979346182091780/

(Review ID:9423)


Freefall Thailand great well rounded DZ the skydiving Hub of Asia.


Freefall Thailand Rated 5 by: steveblack on 2017-11-28

Pros: Location views, Aircraft, Fun jumpers, 14,000 ft. facilities, Cleanliness
Cons: Food service, no packers yet.

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
Great new DZ up and running smoothly. Great group of fun jumpers, free flyers and Wing suiters coming to jump from all over Asia and beyond. High level of attention to details and safety. Good jump ticket packages. Be ready to sweat off a few kilograms while packing.
Well worth the trip and stay for a few days and enjoy the beach in the evenings.

(Review ID:9421)


Best DZ in Asia, no discussion.


Freefall Thailand Rated 5 by: plummeteer16 on 2017-11-26

Pros: Safe, safe, safe. Oh yes and a big turbine, beautiful views, new facilities and lovely people.
Cons: Can't think of any.

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
Finally a real DZ in Asia where they are serious about safety and honest about altitude. Having lived in SE Asia for many years it's such a joy to finally have a proper DZ to call home. They go to 14,000 feet every time, with stunning views over the beach and islands, a brand new PAC that gets you up there super-fast and really impressive facilities: big clean packing area, air-con rooms, even hot showers!
Most important for me is that they are very serious about safety there, so skydivers finally have a place to jump without fearing for their life every time. The landing area could be a bit bigger but really it's not that bad. Probably about 200m x 50m? Honestly if you have the minimum 500 jumps required there then it's easy! Also the plane waits for jumpers to land so you never have to land next to it, as someone said in one of the other reviews on here.
The location is great too, really chilled rural area but right next to the beach with a good choice of hotels and resorts. Means you can have a real skydiving holiday there and even bring the wife and kids if you’re so inclined! Plus it’s only 2 hours drive from Bangkok airport, so again you should ignore these other reviews they’re simply not true. Actually anyone that has been to this DZ can see that those reviews are fake and obviously written by their competitor. That's a bit sad really, but we skydivers are not stupid and the truth will always come out in the end! Thank you Freefall Thailand for making my new home DZ. See you next weekend!

(Review ID:9418)


Landing area too small for dz


Freefall Thailand Rated 2 by: Puch on 2017-11-01

Pros: Aircraft
Cons: Small landing area

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
I'm a fun jumper with lots of exspreince, I travelled there to have fun and skydive. Wasted alot of time and money it wasn't fun. To many pointless rules and the landing area is dangerous, way to small for the aircraft, accident waiting to happen. You should have to do atleast 2 canopy course before being allowed to jump there same dubai. Did not enjoy it there no atmosphere to many rules, not fun and dangerous! Disappointed
(Review ID:9415)


If you like traffic this is the dz for you


Freefall Thailand Rated 1 by: Skygod574v on 2017-10-30

Pros: Good aircraft, nice scenery
Cons: Landing area is too small, drive is too long, safety sucks

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
Spent 4 and 1/2 hours driving there from BKK and more than 5 on the way back with traffic. When i got there the landing area was tiny, and although they have a new plane, its not worth the risk of landing next to it.
(Review ID:9414)


Best DZ in Southeast Asia


Freefall Thailand Rated 5 by: q1w2e3_89 on 2017-10-21

Pros: Brand new and fast P750XL, new facilities, service-oriented staff, 14,000 feet jumps
Cons: Landing area could be bigger

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
Every aspect of this DZ has been designed with professional skydiving in mind. You'll get more than your money's worth jumping here. The best part about it is the 14,000 feet loads all day - they don't lie about it unlike some other operators in the region.
(Review ID:9407)

Write your own Review