Skip to Content

Dropzone : Reviews

Reviews for: Thai Sky Adventures - (Visit this link)
Average Rating = 3.60/5 Average Rating : 3.60/5

Dropzone Summary | Reviews

> >|


Review Summary:


Average Rating : Average Rating = 3.60/5
Total Reviews: 18

> Write a Review

Show: Sort:
Display:
100% Times: 3 Times: 2 Times: 2 Times: 3 Times: 8
80%
60%
40%
20%
0%
Times  3 2 2 3 8
Rating  1 2 3 4 5



Let down by the low jump heights and winds


Thai Sky Adventures Rated 3 by: AntoH on 2017-11-29

Pros: Fast airplane, good scenery
Cons: 9,000ft jump loads, lacking facilities

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
The DZ is located right beside a reservoir and on the backside of a low mountain range, this leads to a lot of turbulence in certain wind directions.

The airplane climbs fast but is very old approx. 1970's and doesn't have room for many jumpers so if you want to get a fun jumper load up you need to wait for a break in the tandems.

There are 3 times periods in the day where you can go to 13k and that depends on if ATC gives permission or not, other times loads are to 9k, if you do a tracking jump and exit after the tandems the plane is usually at 8k leaving very little freefall time.

The landing area is very large but is also public so at times there are pickup trucks freely driving around which can make landing quite treacherous. Until you have an A license you need to wear a flotation device as if you land out there is a good chance you are landing in the reservoir measuring 3.5km x 1km depending on the time of year.

(Review ID:9428)


Fast growing Dropzone. Great place for a few jumps


Thai Sky Adventures Rated 5 by: Manudiver on 2016-07-27

Pros: Friendlyness, experience
Cons: jumps don't get cheaper as you buy many

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
As already said in another review, if you manage to get the high altitude loads, very nice place to get a couple of good jumps in. Lots of tandems so loads go up every 20 minutes, apparently they are getting a new aircraft in October 2016 which would be great as they seem to be busy enough to fill it. Weather holds can happen in between June and December.

As a beginner I felt really welcomed from the beginning and even got invited to jump with other more experience fun jumpers which for my level of experience was just ideal.

They have a fairly good shop to buy gear, they stock helmets, suits,altos, googles and even some new and second hand rigs.

It would be great if they start offering deals for blocks of tickets, like most of the big DZ's, specially for jumpers like me,that want to become regular customers and get lots of jumps in.

In my opinion, with the great location, weather, atmosphere and amount of tourists, and mostly for being the only real drop zone in the area, this place will grow and become a world class drop zone very soon.

(Review ID:9112)


Tourist tandems great, otherwise...blah


Thai Sky Adventures Rated 3 by: BKK_Mark on 2016-06-12

Pros: Location, knowledgeable staff
Cons: Alt restrictions on some loads

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
It's difficult for me to write a review due to my unique situation. I was trying to get licensed but not actually through TSA but with independent instructors while using this DZ. The TSA instructors that I did meet there were very cool but there was some problem with the DZ owner and my independent instructors that caused me to have to cancel after 2 jumps. It left me feeling sour as I left the place. I really like my independent instructors a lot and was appreciative of the DZ for accommodating us at first. I saw a lot of tourist tandems and the customers seemed pretty happy. The AFF students that I saw appeared to be doing a lot of ground practice alone while instructors were jumping tourists. But I wasn't one of them and didn't talk to them much so I cant give a fair review. I really don't know what else to say other than I was really upset when the owner's only offer was for me to join the DZ's AFF my program was canceled. I really wanted to finish with the instructors that I sought out for 1 on 1 independent instruction. If anyone is on vacation in Thailand I would say go for a tandem jump. If you're a fun jumper and in Thailand then just do it, because there's nowhere else to go. If you want to be a student... well I'm just going to continue the endeavor when I get back to the United States. Overall I decided to recommend because I can only non-recommend for students, however I wasn't officially one of their students so my perception is skewed. I want to be fair but tell my story. By the way, there is a nice pro shop there if you need gear, rigging services or clothing.
(Review ID:9060)


Nice place for doing some fun jumps


Thai Sky Adventures Rated 4 by: dirk72 on 2015-02-09

Pros: friendly and professional
Cons: three time slots for 13.000 ft, other times 9.000 ft

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
I was there at 2015/02/02 only for one day. Aircraft arrived at noon, so I had to wait two hours. But there is a nice coffee shop.

After checking my documents and a briefing on the landing area, I could buy a ticket (incl. rent for rig) and was manifested for the next free load.

There are three time slots for 13.000 ft: 11-12, 13-14 and 15-16. Other times are 9.000 ft.

I did 3 jumps, including the sunset load. After my last landing, I get a can of cold LEO beer, nice gesture.

I you know about the time slots, I can recommend this drop zone without any limitations.

Sorry for my bad english... :-)

Dirk

(Review ID:8732)


Fairly easily accessed DZ, but not many options in Asia.


Thai Sky Adventures Rated 5 by: wstcstcmtr on 2014-04-05

Pros: Knowlegable, kind, and supportive instructors
Cons: I don't live in Thailand

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
People have complained about tandems and sure they do as many tandems as they can... that is what is going to pay for the place to stay open. I get that. They can take 8 jumpers, that mean 2 tandems and video, which means to fun jumpers can get on every load, minimum. But you have to speak up! The atmosphere was comfortable and was very inclusive from the beginning. I think where the complainers go wrong is they are not proactive at the DZ, they are not ready for loads and do not speak up to get on the board... they want everything to be done for them. All the instructors know what's going on and are super experienced, Jonny, Troy and Slava are good guys, but huge respect for Jonny Guru, the place wouldn't be what it is if he wasn't there.
(Review ID:8403)


My first tandem!


Thai Sky Adventures Rated 5 by: Ajhjak1990 on 2014-02-06

Pros: Excellent customer service, amazing attitude! Great tandem experience!
Cons: No cons, super!

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
I did my first tandem at Thai sky adventures last august! The staff are so friendly and professional, making my first sky dive an amazing experience! Amazing view on the way down.. Perfect location!! Could not fault it! Also close to pattaya, near many other amazing tourist locations! I would definately recommend jumping with Thai sky! The video and photos were excellent so can relive my jump!! Can't wait to to jump again!!!! Amazing
(Review ID:8364)


Love it


Thai Sky Adventures Rated 4 by: Jumpbird on 2014-01-21

Pros: The people
Cons: ...

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
I went to TSA to get my A license and I got it!
I had the best instructor but they are all awesome with heaps of experience.
Wind can be a bit annoying with waiting around, but it is what it is. One of the owners was really good at making sure I got on loads to get the jumps needed for the license. Also the fun jumpers there are super friendly.
You should pay them a visit.

(Review ID:8344)


Good for Tandem


Thai Sky Adventures Rated 2 by: Higher on 2014-01-18

Pros: Excellent instructors
Cons: Priority for Tandems

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
I went here for AFF and I recommend that you do not come here as a student.

It is a tandem business only. If there is a space the manager might put one of the AFF, A license students or fun jumpers on but they con the students to pay already so it makes no difference to leave them on the ground. They close early and start late dependent on when the tandems arrive, even with full loads of students and fun jumpers waiting.

Organization is poor from the start, paid deposit and spoke to DZ a few times and they still were not expecting me. They don't give any information before, only what's on the website which is all wrong.

Instructors are great, professional, experienced and friendly and they will try to get you put on a load but the manager has his focus and it's for tandem business. Hope this works to make money, maybe in a few years it will be a good DZ to fun jump.

Also it's only 9,000 not 13,000 as on website...Big difference when learning free fall skills.

(Review ID:8334)


absolutely love this place!


Thai Sky Adventures Rated 5 by: skydude255y on 2013-08-25

Pros: amazing dz, great staff, great atmosphere, great people, weathers a bonus too
Cons: i cant be there more often

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
Spent a lot of time here recently and after visiting many dropzones, I can honestly say Thailand is the place to jump!
(Review ID:8140)


Great Place, Good fun, Nice people


Thai Sky Adventures Rated 5 by: piratepara on 2013-06-26

Pros: Has it all
Cons: Hard to find by taxi

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
Did the AFF course here after reading the reviews on here and trip advisor. All I can say is this is a totally professional setup with good Instructors, top quality equipment and a fun atmosphere. Sure, like any setup there are a few problems, the video editing is horribly slow but just about everything else is top class. Thanks to all the guys and gals for a great 2 weeks in Thailand
(Review ID:8003)
> >|

Write your own Review