Skip to Content

Dropzone : Reviews

Reviews for: UK Parachuting - (Visit this link)
Average Rating = 4.27/5 Average Rating : 4.27/5

Dropzone Summary | Reviews

|< < > >|


Review Summary:


Average Rating : Average Rating = 4.27/5
Total Reviews: 22

> Write a Review

Show: Sort:
Display:
100% Times: 0 Times: 3 Times: 1 Times: 5 Times: 13
80%
60%
40%
20%
0%
Times  0 3 1 5 13
Rating  1 2 3 4 5



You won't be anonymous here.


UK Parachuting Rated 4 by: AlRedler on 2007-04-25

Pros: Friendly, efficient, fun. Great views
Cons: None for me

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
Impressed with the reception I have had here. Before 2nd visit I called to check no problems for the weekend and mentioned I may want coaching for FF1. On arrival 4 people said they remembered I wanted coaching and I qualified FF1 on the 2nd jump. The enthusiasm is infectious.

Like the best bits of the army, a very organised but friendly fun place. Would benefit from a bigger core of experienced jumpers, which they are bound to develop.

(Review ID:3834)


Full time DZ open 7 days.


UK Parachuting Rated 5 by: Razzamattaz on 2006-11-15

Pros: Turbine aircraft, navigators for students, short wait for a lift.
Cons: A bit busy on the weekends.

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
I transfered over to uk para from Errol. When I got there everybody was friendly and made me feel right at home. They have navigators for students and as somebody who's only flown mantas before, WOW! The ride to altitude in the nomad was a LOT shorter than in a 182 and I could feel my legs :)

The only down side was the first weekend I went there there were loads of aff students so it took a while to get my docs sorted/refreshers/briefs etc. So if you are a raps student who wants to change DZ's I'd get everything sorted on a weekday when it's quieter.

All in all an awesome DZ.

(Review ID:3529)


A friendly, active DZ


UK Parachuting Rated 5 by: JohnGraham on 2006-11-14

Pros: Very friendly, fantastic gear shop & rigging facility
Cons: Can't think of any...

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
One of the best things about this DZ is the friendly nature of everyone who works and jumps there, regardless of how many jumps you have. There's a great fun-jumper vibe if you just want to jump your ass off, and coaches if you want coaching, too.

Although it's a fairly small DZ, the gear shop and rigging facility is great - it would not be at all out of place at a DZ many times the size it is! The rental gear is also top-notch and well maintained if you need to hire it.

I would definitely head back there more regularly myself if it weren't at the other end of the country!

(Review ID:3524)


Waste of time and money.


UK Parachuting Rated 2 by: andyhIC on 2006-08-08

Pros: Probably great once you get there
Cons: owner 'nil' customer service

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
This was to be a special present. After call upon call to check the jump would take place, reassurance was given. Then 24hrs before it was cancelled. New part. NO offer of an alternative which would fit the days we had planned despite hotels being booked. Owner would not refund, just kept quoting T&Cs (which are poorly worded) and would not refund when they were unable to offer a suitable date.
Waste time and money.

(Review ID:3316)


A friendly DZ with a great atmosphere


UK Parachuting Rated 5 by: Andy_Copland on 2006-06-11

Pros: If you have kit ready you go up.
Cons: Even if you find any you'll ignore them...

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
This was the first dropzone i've visited apart from my home DZ and it was absolutely great.

Tommo the CCI was quick to welcome us and from there it was straight down to business, jumping.

If you did find anything wrong with the place it just didnt matter because of all the positives. Everyone was quick to make you feel welcome with smiles and handshakes.

As for the landing area...i could of got out in Iraq and made it back. Very big but with lots of air traffic you had to keep a watch around.

All in all this place is ran with one thing in mind, to look after the guys and girls who are going to be coming back week after week.

Highly recommended.




(Review ID:3154)


Friendly DZ in Norfolk, UK


UK Parachuting Rated 3 by: IsleOfAvalon on 2006-05-01

Pros: Friendly DZ, nice facilities
Cons: Small DZ, not always open mid-week

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Location
I've only been to this DZ twice. The first time I was on student status and turned up to do a static-line jump. They were very friendly and welcoming, despite the fact that I usually jumped elsewhere and had swung by for a one-off visit. It is a small DZ with a cosy vibe...I think you'd be made very welcome if you turned up to jump.

All I can say is phone them the day before you turn up. I drove 45 miles to this DZ to do some fun-jumping a few weeks ago & was told they'd lent the plane to another dropzone at the last minute (so I couldn't jump). This happened despite the fact I had emailed them earlier in the week to arrange a good day to turn up (and they had reccommended this date to me as they had work booked in) :-(

I would definately consider going back to this DZ in the future because it's in a convenient location when I'm visiting family & my previous experience there was so positive. However, I learnt the lesson the hard way about how different the operation of small DZs is to that of larger DZs...I have been spoilt!


(Review ID:3023)


Excellent up-and-coming drop zone!


UK Parachuting Rated 4 by: chrishines on 2006-02-27

Pros: Friendly, Nice chilled vibe, Convenient layout, Unrestricted altitude, Great aircraft coming!
Cons: Trek to Cafe and Toilets.

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
UK Parachuting at Old Buckenham is an excellent up-and-coming drop zone! It is a genuinely friendly DZ for both experienced and first timers. The new owners, Grant and Tomo, are working really hard to grow the club and doing a great job. There are Tandems but plenty of AFF too, which is nice to see because they really are the future of the sport. I saw almost an entire Turbolet load of AFF consoles last summer, all of whom appeared very motivated by the training they received.

There are riggers and there are r-i-g-g-e-r-s, personally I choose mine very carefully these days. Youíll find it hard to beat anybody more conscientious and technically knowledgeable than the resident rigger Andy.

The airport is well suited for running Skydiving operations. The boarding area is literally just outside the packing hanger and the landing area is only about one minute walk. The concrete runway ensures no water-logging problems in the winter and the altitude is unrestricted. The cafť located in the main airport building is really good but a bit of a walk from the packing hanger. The toilets are also in the main building, so also a bit of a trek, unless you have no dignity and opt for the hedge (Iíll let you decide whether this applies to you).

I had a couple of excellent Turbine weekends in 2005, really packing in the jumps. Iíd give them a 5/5 rating but I know they are still working on improvements. The Nomad arrives in March and Iím looking forward to a kick ass summer at Old Buckenham!

www.chrishines.com

(Review ID:2894)


Fully Recommend it, even if you live in Fiji!


UK Parachuting Rated 5 by: Mike111 on 2006-01-30

Pros: Really friendly People, Great Training, Good Vibe
Cons: UK weather

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
Have to reweite review.

Previous one said it was excellent, but now I need a new word better than that!!!

Grant + Tomo work extremely hard, and run the DZ exceptionally well. Even with it being winter one can still can bang out 4 consols in one day!!! the gear and training is excellent, as shown by the continous wave of new students pouring in to start jumping.

Their friendliness is unmatched, this place is easily 100/10, and I cannot think of a better place where I would have rather learned or continue to jump.

With a 15 seater coming in march... it can only get better (which seems impossible as its alreayd perfect), and fulyl recommend anyone , regardless of where they live, to come and check it out.

youre guaranteed a fab time!

on a personal note - a very big thankyou to everyone there who helpd me get through AFF.

Mike

(Review ID:2119)


The people are laid back and cool. Their professionalism and the way they make everyone feel like fa


UK Parachuting Rated 5 by: 2ells on 2006-01-12

Pros: Very friendly and actively help with progression.
Cons: Need to Smile alot more..........

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
This is where i done my AFF course and if you are a student wishing to progress this is the place for you,they will take the time to help you to progress. Tomo and Grant (Instructors) very helpful and this place is getting BIGGER and BETTER every weekend.....
(Review ID:2811)


Great place to jump


UK Parachuting Rated 5 by: mikeonsea on 2005-07-04

Pros: Friendly,Helpfull,& All with a smile.
Cons: None

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
Nice Tidy DZ, Everybody there makes you feel welcolm, The new owners realy know what they are doing, with safety & having fun
And best of all its in Norfolk, Gods own country !!!

(Review ID:2396)
|< < > >|

Write your own Review