Skip to Content

Dropzone : Reviews

Reviews for: UK Parachuting - (Visit this link)
Average Rating = 4.27/5 Average Rating : 4.27/5

Dropzone Summary | Reviews

> >|


Review Summary:


Average Rating : Average Rating = 4.27/5
Total Reviews: 22

> Write a Review

Show: Sort:
Display:
100% Times: 0 Times: 3 Times: 1 Times: 5 Times: 13
80%
60%
40%
20%
0%
Times  0 3 1 5 13
Rating  1 2 3 4 5



The best DZ in the country


UK Parachuting Rated 5 by: copey666 on 2017-05-13

Pros: Amazing location , great friendly atmosphere
Cons: none apart from a long way for me to travel .

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
did my AFF here in 2016 and still going back , everyone was really helpful and encouraging . the instructors and club jumpers really make this place great . i have dropzones closer to my home in the midlands but prefer UK PARACHUTING .
They have an onsite cafe and bunkhouse , loads of parking and the views are absolutely amazing ,
can`t recommend this DZ enough .

(Review ID:9267)


Just awesome over all


UK Parachuting Rated 5 by: Burim1988 on 2013-10-08

Pros: Aircraft, Landing Area, Staff, Clubies
Cons: It is far away, Toilets and Bees!

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
Where do I start... I did my AFF here at Beccles and I haven't looked back. I have other dropzones pretty much a stones throw away from my house but i decide to travel 2 hours just to get to Beccles, that's how awesome the place is.

The aircraft (C208) is kept in tip-top condition. It is cleaned everyday by the pilot (Ben) and serviced often. The clubies welcomed me from the 1st step I took at the dropzone. My instructors (Nader, Gavin, Tomo and Stu) were AWESOME and they made me feel completely safe and at ease. They told me exactly what to do, what to expect and what I would feel. I didn't have time to be scared!

The ladies that manifest you, try and get fun jumpers on every lift. The vibe around the dz is very good and clubbies will talk to you and jump with you if you.

The bunkhouse showers/toilets are in a very decent shape (it's only 5 a night to stay there so don't expect 5* accommodation for that price). Some peeps also love to pitch up a tent and camp which is free.

Now the down sides... Its quite far from where I live (which is not really the dz fault). The main toilets (Chemical toilets) are not the best but there are good toilets located at the cafe which is about 1 min walk. During hot weather, there tends to be quite a lot of bees/wasps around and seen as I'm allergic to them, it's no ideal.

Overall I would highly recommend to come and jump here whether it's for a tandem or AFF or fun jumping. UKPS Beccles is the place to jump

(Review ID:8233)


Great fun, Great people, Great Skydiving


UK Parachuting Rated 5 by: AntipodeanLad on 2013-05-15

Pros: Friendly Staff, Huge landing area, Ocean Views
Cons: Chemical toilets

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
Recently completed my AFF here. The instructors Nader, Stu and Gav were great. Very patient with me asking a lot of questions, really put me at ease with jumping out of a plane for the first time! And the other staff are very helpful and friendly as well. If it weren't for one of the Cameramen giving me a signal to relax in the plane ride up, I probably would not have completed my first jump, he obviously realized I was bloody nervous! The facilities are fine, and the club scene appears to be getting better and better from what I've gathered in my short time there.
The landing area is huge, it's just embarrassing if you miss it (Yes, I missed once, over estimated the wind speed slightly)
Fun jumpers get put on as many lifts as they can manage, and despite what other reviews have said, fun jumpers will get put on lifts all day, with clubbie only lifts going up between breaks in tandem students and continuing into the evening until everyone is either too tired to jump any more, run out of money or the sun is getting too low.
Their proximity to the coast makes for a spectacular view every time.
I'd recommend it to anyone looking to do their AFF in the UK or thinking of completing their first tandem skydive.

(Review ID:7914)


A total joke


UK Parachuting Rated 2 by: skydiver8302 on 2011-07-02

Pros: Cessna caravan
Cons: Chemical toilets, expensive coffees, bad attitudes, bad organisation

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
I am an experienced skydiver and I decided to introduce my girlfriend to this wonderful sport via AFF, and decided on Beccles as it is very close to where we live and has a cessna caravan.

I really do not understand where all these good reviews have come from. I don't really know where to start with this negative experience. My girlfriend completed AFF ground school on a Friday, and we arranged to come back on Sunday at 9am because the weather was good that day.

We turned up at 9am or shortly after and were told when we turned up that she would most likely not get jumping that day, as 11 other AFF students had turned up at 7.30. We would have turned up at that time if we were told.

On every lift, only 1 AFF student was taken up and a few tandems. Obviously generating revenue is more important to them.

On top of that, the place was far from clean. There was bugs everywhere for some reason, and there is bound to be a way that they could deal with that.

After about 2pm, the only toilets available were chemical toilets as they closed the cafe at 2pm, where they sell extremely expensive coffees and food, with extremely slow service.

This weekend, we decided to ring before going, and were told only 1 AFF instructor was available as there were 65 tandems to get through. We were told to ring tomorrow, but I am not getting my hopes up.

The ginger guy who keeps breaking the bad news to us has a really bad attitude and he makes my girlfriend feel very uneasy.

All in all, do not choose this place for anything except a tandem. For anything else, just suck it up and drive further to a decent dropzone. That is all.

(Review ID:6543)


Make sure you finalized everything with them. All details.


UK Parachuting Rated 2 by: Nima.javidi on 2011-04-30

Pros: Good instructors
Cons: tandem skydivers are preferred to AFF students. Wind did stop me jumping although it was 12.6mph at the digital wind spe

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
If you are local and you have the right connections it might be alright. If you don't have the right connections you might loose your money without jumping. I paid for AFF course and didn't finish it as them told me the weather is not good! Although the wind was within the limit. There is nothing you can do if they decide to tell you it is not.
(Review ID:6367)


Friendly DZ that welcomes everybody that wants to jump


UK Parachuting Rated 5 by: cctpud01 on 2009-10-31

Pros: Great atmosphere, friendly staff, jumps actually get off
Cons: None

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
I started going to UK Para because a buddy of mine got his AFF done there and said the DZ was very relaxed and friendly to foreign jumpers. The moment I got there Tomo and Grant took me in and put me on a lift right away. Quite nice being a foreign servicemember overseas who did mostly military jumps. Theres definitley something for everyone here, and people to do it with! People are more than open to let you jump in their group with them so if you go solo don't be worried about doing only a solo skydive. They have both USPA and BPA qualified instructors and were very helpful with helping me accomplish my B license USPA as well as for the BPA so I'll have that when I return to the states, HUGE for visiting US servicemember! Can't say enough good things about this DZ and staff. Absolutley no clique type environment and plan on coming there every weekend even after they move to Beccles at the end of this year. (Twice the drive now!)
(Review ID:5459)


Great Place to Jump


UK Parachuting Rated 5 by: SillyRabbit on 2009-10-26

Pros: Club Vibe
Cons: Small Packing Area

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
This may be one of the friendliest DZs in the country. Everything is clean, tidy, and well presented. The few times I have jumped there I have never been asked how many jumps I have by the regulars. Just "do you want to do something on this one?" There also seems to be a few Americans stationed at the nearby airbase who come out regularly to give it sort of an "international" vibe.

There is a small canteen that has everything you need to keep you going for a day out jumping. The landing area is huge with a separate area for experienced and students and only a short walk back to packing/manifest.

There does seem to be a lot of tandems and their videographers but this is countered with club jumper only loads. The packing area is quite small and crowded but that's where all the club jumpers talk about celebrity gossip and tell dirty jokes. Overall a very casual and friendly DZ.

(Review ID:5447)


Friendly DZ, something for everyone.


UK Parachuting Rated 5 by: jumpingpaws on 2008-11-06

Pros: Super friendly, got everything you'd want in a DZ
Cons: Packing area a bit small

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
I cannot praise this DZ enough, I went there for a one-off tandem, 2 years and 100 jumps later I'm still there! Everyone was super friendly from the word go and it's not at all cliquey, you really can just talk to anyone.

There's something for everyone here, free flyers, FS coaches, CP coaches, and regular FS coaching days are held for those that want to get into FS or big ways. They have a brand new Cessna Caravan that gets to 13k with a quick turnaround, and there's a nice balance between club jumpers and tandems. The rigger there is awesome, one of the best, and will often do minor repairs free of charge. The camping is free for those that want to stay overnight.

All in all this is a brilliant DZ with a good vibe and I highly recommend it!

(Review ID:4868)


Nice DZ for a fun jumper. Found friendly as a non-regular


UK Parachuting Rated 4 by: Scoop on 2008-05-26

Pros: Very friendly, good service, go the extra mile
Cons: Where the hell did that morning fog come from?

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
Well, after getting a bit disheartened with other clubs I took the advice of a few friends I met on DZ.com and went up to Old Buckenham (UK Parachuting) to jump with them and check the place out. After initially getting my bearings and figuring out who was who I was greeted and had a mini tour of the site and had a DZ briefing.
To my shock people I had never met before actually made conversation with me, there wasn't the clique feel that you get at a lot of DZs and instead was really friendly. After making a few jumps I loved the place. I was reliant on packers at the time and they were efficient with quick turn arounds. The DZO even hurrying them up to get my rig ready so I could get on another load at one point! On another occasion my rig was grounded and they allowed me use of club kit rent free. Now that's service! Despite the two and a half hour drive there and back I returned a number of times. I'm not a big fan of the UK scene but I have to say I will return to UK Parachuting in a heartbeat as their attitude was a breath of fresh air.
The riggers there are friendly too, a few times they pointed things out to me and repaired minor issues immediately for me without charge. I might not be jumping in the UK at the moment but I will still be taking my rig to UK Parachuting for reserve inspection and repacks.

(Review ID:4532)


Excellent training and a bloody good laugh.


UK Parachuting Rated 5 by: tendoshingan on 2007-05-09

Pros: Top blokes, good crack, fun time
Cons: A bit too far from where I live

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
I decided to do my AFF here after trailing through a few online places that offered it.
I had business near the area so decided upon there as a choice.
Unfortunately when I first attended the weather was not ideal so only managed to do the ground training.
But by the end of the week the weather became ideal and during the brief time that I had available to jump, I managed to complete all jumps, including the consoles, in one long weekend.
This couldn't have happened without the re-assurance of all the guys, Stu with the ground training, Tomo, Tim and Grant in the air.
These guys made me feel really welcome and as such I joined the club immediately and have continued jumping there.
The vibe here if excellent and everyone really is interested in how you are getting on.
If the weather is not ideal, the regular packers Aaron and Warren, are always willing to show newbies like me, how they pack the parachutes.
In fact this made me feel even more at ease about jumping considering how exact and methodical they were.
Whether you are in the area or not (you can camp over free of charge) make an effort to come here.
No real downside, and as for the negative review, a bit sad considering Grant and Tomo are not gods and cannot control the weather.

(Review ID:3853)
> >|

Write your own Review