Skip to Content

Dropzone : Reviews

Reviews for: Skydive Miami - (Visit this link)
Average Rating = 4.12/5 Average Rating : 4.12/5

Dropzone Summary | Reviews

> >|


Review Summary:


Average Rating : Average Rating = 4.12/5
Total Reviews: 43

> Write a Review

Show: Sort:
Display:
100% Times: 1 Times: 7 Times: 3 Times: 7 Times: 25
80%
60%
40%
20%
0%
Times  1 7 3 7 25
Rating  1 2 3 4 5



Small Cessna dropzone.


Skydive Miami Rated 2 by: flyngrudy18 on 2013-05-21

Pros: Short distance from Miami.
Cons: Small dropzone operation, no facilities.

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
I' have been there because of the short distance (45 min) from Miami, Doral, it was a sunny Sunday, full of tandems, considering the fact is a small operation dz with a single plane, the turn around was very slow.

The approach with manifest was nice and friendly, but it took me about 1.5 hour before getting on a load, the second one was a full hour waiting.
The dz does not have any facilities ( food, gear shop , etc.) other than a couple of vending machine.

If you looking for some big activities,such as FS or FF organizing, is not the place to go.

(Review ID:7924)


Small, professional, friendly dropzone


Skydive Miami Rated 5 by: L_Settlemires on 2013-04-14

Pros: People, equipment, facilities
Cons: Not always enough fun jumpers during the week

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
From the first time I walked in the door, the professional staff and fun jumpers made me feel at home. They took the time to fully brief me on all the aspects of the landing area, the obstacles, and orient me to the DZ. I was included in all the jumps from a 3 way up to an 8 way. The other fun jumpers shared their techniques and experiences. The senior staff gave me pointers on improving my skills and finishing my ratings. I had a great weekend and will be back as many times as I can. The folks here are authentic.
(Review ID:7869)


South Floridas best


Skydive Miami Rated 5 by: jan-huje on 2013-01-24

Pros: Excellent skydiving
Cons: Resturant

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
I have been jumping since the 80`s. This place is magic..... You have even women Sky-Gods.....

Do I need to say more......

Check it out please!

Greetings from Norway.
Jan-Hugo

(Review ID:7787)


Great for fun jumpers


Skydive Miami Rated 5 by: Johnaler on 2011-04-06

Pros: Everything
Cons: Nothing

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
I have no idea what some people are talking about in terms of this place being a tandem factory. The operation is very small, so the plane can only go up when there are tandems available. That's why they are not 100% sure what their hours will be. This is the case at many drop zones I've been to though. However, the scenery was spectacular, the staff was awesome, and the people there were just generally nice. I didn't have a jumpsuit so some random guy sitting on a bench who was waiting for someone to show up with his rig let me use his. I didn't even ask. He just offered it. One of the instructors who very experienced in four way jumped with my friend and I and helped coached us, just to be nice.

The only semblance of a "con" is the fact that when they run out of tandems or don't have enough fun jumpers, they have to shut down for the day... but you are in MIAMI. If you can't find something else fun to do until tomorrow, you suck.

I will DEFINITELY come back here as I can.

(Review ID:6309)


A great dropzone


Skydive Miami Rated 5 by: pjmosterd on 2010-11-18

Pros: Staff, landing area, cleanliness
Cons: None

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
I just spent a couple days at Skydive Miami. The staff was helpful and polite. The ride up was quick. The landing area was safe and totally clear of any obstacles. For myself the 30 second bus ride back from the landing area is definitely worth it as it gives you a lot more room for error(it is a huge open grassy field). There was room on every load for fun jumpers even with a lot of tandems in cue. Overall it was great place and I would not hesitate booking a return trip.
(Review ID:6117)


Friendly, enthusiastic and fun!


Skydive Miami Rated 4 by: jsdLawnJockey on 2010-11-11

Pros: Great staff.
Cons: Lower volume DZ

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
I jumped at Z-Hills for three years. I did my AFF there and got my A license there. Great DZ, we all know it, enough said.

I found out I was moving to Key Largo and started researching DZ's. I found SkyDive Miami on this site and got a little concerned based on some of the negative reviews. I decided to go visit the DZ for myself and check it out.

Those negative reviews (in my opinion) could not be more wrong!! I walked in the door and was greeted by Fred (head honcho). Told him I had my A and just moved nearby. He dropped what he was doing and gave me the grand tour of the place. He got my paperwork squared away and was very disappointed that I wasn jumping that day. I told him I was just checking things out and he understood.

I've been jumping there for about 6 months now. Everyone is great. It's a very enthusiastic enviornment that focuses on instruction, safety and fun. They do little events and contests all the time for all skill levels.

Yes, you have to take a shuttle back from the LZ to the main building; but it takes all of 30 seconds. If that's what's going to throw you off then I'd suggest that you'd probably find something else to get upset about anyway. And because it's not a high volume DZ you can't alway just show up and get on a load. So I plan better now than I had to at Z-Hills. It's good for me!!!

SkyDive Miami is my new home DZ and I'm looking forward to meeting any of you who decide to join us.

(Review ID:6099)


DO NOT RECOMMEND!!!


Skydive Miami Rated 2 by: halojumper on 2010-10-30

Pros: Great scenery
Cons: Unorganized, unprofessional, not fun jumper friendly

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
I have been in the sport four years and have nearly 200 jumps.

On my quest to locate and jump at new drop zones, I ran across Skydive Miami. I contacted them several times via telephone and every time I spoke to them, they were very disorganized, had no idea when the lifts would be going up, and how long they would be jumping for. Almost immediately after I told them that we were fun jumpers who already had our USPA licenses, they wanted nothing to do with us. This drop zone seems to only be concerned with tandem jumpers who bring in easy money. Instead they should be concerned with jumpers who are in the sport for the long haul and not just wanted to try skydiving, over time we (fun jumpers) are the ones keeping the sport alive and bringing in the higher revenue.

Bottom line, I would not recommend this DZ to anyone based on my experience with them. Maybe I'm being bias to the larger, more efficient DZ's of the West Coast, but then again first impressions are everything and this is my impression of Skydive Miami.

Stay Safe

(Review ID:6085)


Small, cozy place where you feel at home, good plane, NICE weather


Skydive Miami Rated 5 by: hadesgue on 2010-03-07

Pros: 110% professional, 110% safety, very friendly
Cons: A place to eat (nothing fancy) would be nice!

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
I'm a German skydiving student and spent a week at Skydive Miami in Feb 2010 to continue my training. There weren't any problems for application. The staff was very friendly and helpful. My instructors (Randy, Greg, Trevor) were great! I learned lots of new things, was treated friendly and with respect. Couldn't have had better instructors. Fred, the manager had always time for some advice and personal chats. I had the luxury of having my rig packed for the first time! Safety and careful instruction had top priority! Skydive Miami is definitely the place where I will return skydiving!
(Review ID:5609)


Skydive Miami is a huge tandem factory, and licensed jumpers should go somewhere else.


Skydive Miami Rated 2 by: GatorNation on 2009-12-28

Pros: Good plane and safe.
Cons: Unfriendly staff, no packig area, no where to just relax, LZ away from DZ.

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
Like others that have already posted, I got my A license at Skydive Miami, and eventually decided to jump somewhere else. Even when I was in student status, I felt the staff to be rude and didn't feel welcomed half of the time. A hand-full of staff are helpful and friendly, but the others will ignore you, curse you out, and act like complete jerks when around you. It amazes me that the DZO allows some of the staff to act the way they do. No wonder jumpers go somewhere else. It's amazing home many south Florida jumpers I have met that jump at other DZs just because they can't stand jumping at Skydive Miami. License jumpers should probably stay away.

Besides the staff, there isn't a packing area, or a place where you can just sit and chill out. The landing zone is away from the DZ and you need to take a bus from the LZ to DZ.

The DZ is very safely run, and there is emphasize on safety, and that's a plus to this DZ. Besides its high safety precautions, I don't see a reason to jump at Miami.

If you decide to jump at SD Miami, be prepared to be 1 of at most 4 jump jumpers at the DZ. Most south Florida skydivers stay away from this DZ, and I would recommend all fun jumpers to do the same.

(Review ID:5522)


Friendly DP near Miami Beach


Skydive Miami Rated 4 by: truzzo on 2009-12-27

Pros: Professional, close to Miami Beach
Cons: A lot of paper work to sign, slow packing job

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
What to say, I am from Italy and I enjoyed to jump here, the owner Fred is really friendly, nice plane, good facilities, very organized, good scenery, one hour from Miami Beach; but if you have to rent gear, as I do, you have to, as in many other DZ, struggle with the packers and the manifest to have a chute ready to use in the load you wanna jump. Thanks to Fred this hasn't been a problem the first day I jumped, not in the second, but this is really common when there's no many gear avaible and you can't book gear; that would be great, i know i am asking too much. Do not forget to take a look at the chicks around there: they are really cute, from the manifest to the packing room.

(Review ID:5521)
> >|

Write your own Review