Skip to Content

Dropzone : Reviews

Reviews for: Hinton Skydiving Centre - (Visit this link)
Average Rating = 4.33/5 Average Rating : 4.33/5

Dropzone Summary | Reviews

> >|


Review Summary:


Average Rating : Average Rating = 4.33/5
Total Reviews: 30

> Write a Review

Show: Sort:
Display:
100% Times: 2 Times: 0 Times: 2 Times: 8 Times: 18
80%
60%
40%
20%
0%
Times  2 0 2 8 18
Rating  1 2 3 4 5



Participated in a tandem skydive


Hinton Skydiving Centre Rated 5 by: 07bhal on 2014-04-13

Pros: Extremely friendly staff and instructors
Cons: None

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
I believe this business deserved a review from me after the fantastic day I had experienced yesterday. My instructor was very easy to get along with and made me calm (to my surprise) through the whole process. I am saving up to visit again for another jump as we speak. Hinton airfield is a clean, legit and welcoming establishment and the staff and instructors are a credit to it. You may find yourself waiting for some time to do your jump but this should be expected and there is plenty of things to do such as watching other people jump whilst waiting. Would recommend this experience to anyone.
(Review ID:8414)


Got my A-License here over the summer. The whole experience was incredible, even when the UK weather


Hinton Skydiving Centre Rated 5 by: wilmjs on 2014-02-12

Pros: Friendly, professional and high quality
Cons: None!

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
I spent a gloriously sunny July this summer obtaining my A-License.

The centre is fantastic. I had Maddie and Sandy teaching me, both superstars and incredibly professional.

The centre itself is very relaxed with a good mix of fun jumpers, tandems (with friends and families) and students. There is a large outdoor area to sit, relax and watch the jumpers come in to land.

The whole operation is run very smoothly with the highest quality. Management get all the jumpers up in the fairest possible way so its possible (with good weather) to get in 4-5-6 jumps a day.

As a student you have your own facility round the back which is great for coaching and debriefing.

The equipment provided is of the highest quality (although sometimes the jumpsuits did smell!)

This centre taught me how to skydive but more importantly it made me fall in love with it!

Couldn't recommend spending long sunny summer days jumping here

(Review ID:8370)


all good in my 'students' eyes


Hinton Skydiving Centre Rated 5 by: samparkins on 2013-04-14

Pros: Very well run manifest and ground team, Great AFF
Cons: Ever so slightly clicky, all round friendly though

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
I am about to do my level 6 AFF at hinton where I have done my previous 5. I cant say much about pro's and con's as I clearly have not got enough experience to compare.

What I can say is the AFF school has been excellent, all the examiners/instructors have been cool,calm and knowledgeable. the emphasis on what you need to do before and after the jump is not lost on these guys who must see hundreds of students pass through the doors.

Nice area away from the pro's and tandems where you do your brief/de-brief where there is hanging harnesses for canopy training and pc's for watching your jumps back with critiscim and 'what to do next' tips! (and mega important, several large beanbags!)

i read this website before I booked my aff and hope that if someone is reading this in terms of doing the course themselves I would say then this is a brilliant place to do it.

the centre itself will become my home DZ and not just because of location, the manifest people are always arranging things for the best lifts for everyone! last weekend it was rammed full of tandems but 3 and 4 way teams and solo jumpers were being placed very well on everylift! and us AFF students were on every other lift if not back to back.

Lots of pro jumpers here so the potential for friendly coaching is certain.

This weekend I have been grounded because of the lovely uk weather, my examiner and the lovely reception girl rang me a few times to say how the conditions were. they even called today to say dont bother coming in as it was too windy, amazing customer service!!!

All the services here seem very professional and all the students I have come across have travelled to hinton because of good word of mouth, says it all in my eyes!

Message me if any questions!

(Review ID:7868)


I would rather not jump than give my business to Hinton


Hinton Skydiving Centre Rated 1 by: Littlelad on 2012-07-23

Pros: Location and aircraft
Cons: Attitude of staff, Poor communication, number of tandems

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
I understand that Tandems are a great source of revenue, but to wait nearly 5 hours to get on a load as a solo fun jumper is a bit much, but this is what I experienced at Hinton two weeks ago. I can see why the wind tunnel is so popular at Milton Keynes and Bedford.
(Review ID:7490)


another one to visit...


Hinton Skydiving Centre Rated 5 by: heinzbeans on 2012-02-29

Pros: Fast aircraft, nice skydiving shop, very professional rigging services.
Cons: none

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
This drop zone has always seemed a bit on the quiet side every time Ive visited. Maybe I should give it a try when theres a boogie on. So Ive never stayed the night or done more than two jumps per visit. So I can'nt tell you about vibe of the place.

But I can tell you it has a good shop located here for all your skydiving needs. The riggers go the extra mile to make sure your kit is A1, if you put it in to get serviced. And the aircraft (G92) is so fast altituded that your jumping out the door in no time at all. And its open 7 days a week.


(Review ID:7034)


Very friendly and professional DZ


Hinton Skydiving Centre Rated 5 by: voytec on 2012-02-26

Pros: Professional and friendly staff, fast and comfortable plane, great landing area, packing area, shop and infrastucturd
Cons: Hamburger bar

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
No bunkhouse but free camping and there is a shower too, so you can set up your tent in a really beautiful place:-)
I went to Hinton today as I work temporary in London. First of all, great staff! I've been briefed and checked in no time in a very professional and friendly way. You just feel welcomed right away.
Fast, comfortable 15 jumpers airplane. 13k in about 15 min
Great, huge landing area. You could land blindfolded. Well, not literary but you know what I mean...
Big, carpeted, closed packing area.
Good shop if you need a battery or even something more serious like alti, goggles or helmet.
When I was packing my rig I had a chance to witness some ground AFF training by one of the instructors. Once again, very impressive!
The only con is a “Hamburger bar”... It’s ok to buy a tea or coffee but food is less impressive and they were out of some stuff at 12 o’clock. Including sweets It was cheap though
Overall it is a really great place to jump so see you there soon!

(Review ID:7025)


Welcoming, full service DZ with training, tandems (but not a 'tandem factory') and plenty of fun jum


Hinton Skydiving Centre Rated 5 by: gregorygottlieb on 2011-11-28

Pros: Very friendly, professional and safety conscious
Cons: A bit off the beaten track (use the postcode with a GPS to find it!)

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
Known for its friendly atmosphere, Hinton is in my view the 'Go To' DZ for visitors to the UK. The PAC750 is warm in winter, comfortable, quick to altitude and efficient. The facilities are perfectly good and the staff are patient, helpful and highly professional. Prices are comparable or even slightly lower than other DZs in their part of the UK.
(Review ID:6931)


Will come back for sure.


Hinton Skydiving Centre Rated 5 by: beach_bum on 2011-08-31

Pros: Demo kits to hire, aircraft with benches(!!!), well maintained facilities, clean dropzone and some others that I forgot
Cons: minor

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
It was my last weekend in the UK and my regular DZ was closed so I had to choose a go with a new one.

Load organizing: I was a bit apprehensive about this dropzone because of all the reviews on the site. They did have a lot of tandems, but they were a;sp able to put me up in the air 7 times over a weekend with the fussy UK weather (early Sat - 09:00 - till closing time - 18:00 - Sun). I could have gotten a couple more, but I was too lazy to get up on Sunday.

Kit hire: they have regular kits for 10GBP and demo kits for 15 GBP. The demo kits look really new both (rig and chutes). The one con of kit hire is that you have to have the kit ready and packed in order to manifest.

People: really nice and friendly. It is a business, but you could see they also do this out of passion. The social scene is really nice.

Plane: it flies and it has benches.

Facilities: clean and well maintained (same for the general dropzone area). The showers are clean with good water pressure and hot water.

(Review ID:6726)


Didn't let me jump after comming from London


Hinton Skydiving Centre Rated 3 by: GuyMan20 on 2010-06-05

Pros: Nice View
Cons: Tandem priority

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
Called few days before coming, and said I need to rent their rig but I never used a PC before, and I will need a brief; they said "no problem".
Woke up on saturday and told them I have an A license and I'm not local and will need a brief, they said "ok you can come".
After coming all the way from london and paying 50 pounds total, they told me there that they're too busy to give me a brief and I can't jump, even if I wait until afternoon.
Great welcoming.
Won't go there again.

(Review ID:5749)


Well run centre.Student friendly.Good shop.


Hinton Skydiving Centre Rated 4 by: kcm on 2010-06-02

Pros: Friendly,Good jumpship.Non-cliquey attitude.
Cons: Membership fee.

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
I've jumped at Hinton many times,the staff generally have always been helpful and polite,Some days it seems "overun" with Tamdems,So better to go midweek if you can.The jumpship (PAC)is first class,and the landing zone huge.
(Review ID:5739)
> >|

Write your own Review