Skip to Content

Dropzone : Reviews

Reviews for: Texas Skydiving - (Visit this link)
Average Rating = 3.81/5 Average Rating : 3.81/5

Dropzone Summary | Reviews

> >|


Review Summary:


Average Rating : Average Rating = 3.81/5
Total Reviews: 27

> Write a Review

Show: Sort:
Display:
100% Times: 5 Times: 2 Times: 1 Times: 4 Times: 15
80%
60%
40%
20%
0%
Times  5 2 1 4 15
Rating  1 2 3 4 5



Great learning environment! Beautiful views.


Texas Skydiving Rated 5 by: kb2017 on 2017-06-24

Pros: Friendly Staff, wonderful views, plenty of learning opportunities
Cons: none

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
This small drop zone has a friendly atmosphere. My Tandem experience with David was great. Sarah took excellent video. During the AFF course all staff was very helpful and always willing to answer questions and ensure all jumpers are prepared for jumps. Cecily and Nathan are excellent coaches. I am very glad I chose this drop zone to learn how to jump out of perfectly good airplanes.
(Review ID:9307)


Texas Skydiving is an awesome place to jump!


Texas Skydiving Rated 5 by: curtedge on 2016-10-31

Pros: attentive and friendly staff
Cons: couldn't find any

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
Texas Skydiving is a smaller drop zone offering a very personable experience. By my understanding it's under reasonable new management. Clean facilities, nice packing area housing well maintained gear for both tandems, and fun jumpers requiring rentals.
A chill relaxed scene, good pilots, and an easy to spot drop. Nice showers and restrooms, camping area for events, over all an awesome drop zone.

(Review ID:9192)


Great place to learn, relax and most important, jump.


Texas Skydiving Rated 5 by: NateLikesToFly on 2016-10-07

Pros: Location, people and atmosphere.
Cons: Not enough time in the day.

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
Went through my AFF course here and I am currently getting my A licence here. I have learned a lot from David, Sarah and Cecily. Beginners are totally welcome, they have had great patience with me and my shenanigans so far...
(Review ID:9181)


Destination drop zone!


Texas Skydiving Rated 5 by: gtrmtx on 2016-03-21

Pros: Professional friendly experienced
Cons: none

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
I actually drive 360 miles round trip to specifically go to this drop zone. Their professionalism and love for the sport is reflected in their knowledge of how to jump safely again and again! David and Sarah are awesome instructors and awesome people. 12 jumps down, and many more to come!
(Review ID:9002)


Awesome Cessna DZ!


Texas Skydiving Rated 5 by: fourstarmarcos on 2016-03-12

Pros: One on One training, fun jumpers & staff
Cons: Couldn't find the $5 that flew out my pocket during freefall...

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
Well... Tipped God $5 for the awesome air time.

Completed AFF, earned A-License and B-License ALL at Texas Skydiving Center.

Training: AWESOME. It's a mentally challenging sport and they designed their techniques to equip you. They're very direct with instructions to make sure you understand what you're doing.

Staff: AWESOME. They actually love their jobs! They always do their best to pump up a 1st time jumper even if it's "been a long day." The packers are freakin legit and honestly the softest openings I've had at any DZ in Texas! Student rigs maintained and always current.

Location: It's partially a farm... Fresh air... It screams true Texas location!

Fun Jumpers: Get confused as staff sometimes because they also greet you! Also cool group of steady regulars that aren't afraid to chat it up with a 1st timer(persuade into getting an "A" to have more cool air friends.)

Overall: Great for AFF and getting licensed! Great camera flyer and editing! Tandem Instructors beast the jumps! Awesome DZ!

(Review ID:8996)


Great vibe for every skill level


Texas Skydiving Rated 5 by: Sarahfarmer82 on 2016-02-22

Pros: Caring, knowledgeable instructors and staff
Cons: None

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
I did a tandem here almost 4 years ago, and I felt at home even on that first jump. Since then I have had great jumps at other dzs, but Texas Skydiving is still where my heart is. The staff here now is a great group that really cares about every jumper that comes in, whether tandem, AFF, or fun jumper. Being a smaller dz allows for personal training tailored for each student's individual needs. Big landing area, super nice packing area, riggers always available for assistance, t.v. available to check out footage right after each jump, and great tunes blasting (most of the time). I feel lucky to call this my home dz.
(Review ID:8988)


I can't say enough about the instructors


Texas Skydiving Rated 5 by: chouston on 2016-02-16

Pros: Amazing instructors, very personal/professional, friendly, fun environment
Cons: n/a

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
After moving to Texas I decided to go for it and get my AFF, after some shopping around I decided on Texas Skydiving Center. I emailed back and forth with the owner, Cindy, who was very responsive and friendly in answering my many questions prior to booking my jumps. As I was driving down from Mansfield I needed a place to stay, not only were they kind enough to let me sleep on a couch at the DZ, but the whole staff were amazingly friendly during my stay. David and Sarah were fantastic teachers super fun to hang out with. The entire staff were great to be around and super supportive. I cannot say enough about how positive my experience was, I would highly recommend making the drive to Lexington. I can't wait to fly with you guys again!
(Review ID:8987)


Got my license at this DZ


Texas Skydiving Rated 5 by: Zach_77069 on 2016-02-10

Pros: everything
Cons: N/A

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
Like the short description says above, I got my license at this DZ, and have learned a lot by coming here. One thing that most the people comment on coming out here, skydivers and tandems alike, is the unique rustic atmosphere. That has been cultivated out here with the small town feel and southern friendliness that is sure to make anyone feel welcome and relaxed. The DZ has a large landing area with many safe outs in case you find yourself in a situation, since it sits on a 100+ acre piece of flat open land. You won't feel like another number coming out here with the heads up, one on one instruction you will receive from instructors here, as well as a welcoming community of fun jumpers. I highly recommend it!


(Review ID:8980)


The Worse Dropzone Ever


Texas Skydiving Rated 1 by: MAD1210 on 2015-04-28

Pros: Can't think of any
Cons: CINDY (the owner), terrible vibe, uninterested instructors, they only want your money, don't care about your safety.

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
Wow! Never seen a DZ with such terrible reviews! I so agree with every negative review I have read. I only take the time to write this review so that hopefully other people can learn from my mistake.

I booked my entire AFF through Texas Skydiving Center, upon arrival the owner (Cindy) requested "fuel fees" so that added "$12 per jump, I agreed to the fees since I wanted to get my AFF and continue on with my A-License.

First of all, their ground school is a joke, I think we spent at the most 2 hrs and most of it was watching videos. Good luck if you get any adequate training before a jump. The instructors are too busy smoking cigarettes and joking with each other. For my second AFF jump Cindy made me practice touching my cut away handle and silver handle, she instructed me to do that during free fall 3 times and pull, I did as instructed and passed. I had ZERO instruction for my 3rd AFF jump, I kept asking the instructors and they kept telling me to just relax and that we would discuss things on the plane! Again they were just minding their own business.... We walked to the plane close to sunset, the winds were about 13mph, we got on the Cessna and exited at 9,500 ft because it was getting dark. No pre-jump briefing, other than "relax, arch" We exit the plane right over our landing area, the winds were so strong that I kept getting pushed back in my huge student canopy, at this time I thought that I had lost my radio because nobody was talking to me. I kept flying away from the DZ, flew over roads, there were trees, ponds, as I got closer I saw a lot of power lines and started freaking out, luckily I was able to get out of there, and had spotted a small green area in between the trees I was planning to land on, that's when Cindy gets on the radio and tells me "I cannot longer see you, but watch out for power lines" It was already pretty dark, luckily I landed on that grassy area that I had mentioned. Then Cindy got on the radio again and said "Make sure you don't drag the canopy" She didn't even say I hope you landed safely, none of that, her main concern was her canopy - My two instructors came looking for me on a golf cart. When I arrived to the DZ my friend who is an experienced skydiver told me that it was already too dark to take a student, it was too windy, we exited in the wrong place, and Cindy was not talking to me on the radio because she never saw me exit the plane... She forgot that I was up there and was too busy chasing her donkeys back into the barn instead.

Went back the next day asking for an explanation, I gave her an opportunity to apologize, instead she gave me an excuse; she said "Skydiving is not an accurate sport"- I told her that I was not jumping at her DZ again, she immediately CHARGED me the fuel fee for the remaining jumps that I did not get to make PLUS cancellation fees for each jump that I did not make. I told her she could keep all my money, at that moment I didn't care, I just wanted to get away from that place.

That place is HORRIBLE!! Their aircraft was so ghetto, it had no lining inside, no seat belts, no need to be a skydiver to happily jump out of that plane!

The facility has lots of animals running around wherever, my daughter was 3 at the time and saw donkeys mating right in front of us, it was a bit disturbing...

They advertise this place to be conveniently close to Austin, it is still a 45-1 hr drive away, there are no hotels near by and no camping facilities. I think I am required to give this place 1 star, it should be shut down.

(Review ID:8762)


Worst Customer Service on the planet


Texas Skydiving Rated 1 by: jmcanally on 2014-08-05

Pros: Did not experience any
Cons: Owner

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Services
We wish we could give you a full review, but my daughter was not able to jump on the day scheduled. Their plane had an oil leak. Understandable- things happen.

But then the madness began: no refund for cancellations! What!! We didn't cancel! They weren't able to deliver, but still wanted to keep our entire $295 for the jump and the photo package. After several phone calls they agreed to "go against their policy" and refund the money. They only refunded $260. The "owner" said they kept out the portion for "training." If you've ever done a tandem jump, you know the training to which I refer: It's less than 10 minutes of "Put your feet here; lean like this; spread out your arms and feet; let's go!" And that's adequate, but it's not $35 worth of anything.

In any case, I wish she had the ability to learn how to run a customer-friendly business. It should have been something like this: "We are SO sorry to have wasted your time and money driving so far out here. Our equipment should have been ready. I appreciate your business so much I'll refund the total price and when you reschedule I'll credit the amount for the training and take $35 off."

But, nope, these people obviously don't get it. They have our $35, but that's all they'll get from me and I'll try to keep as many others from going there as possible.

(Review ID:8614)
> >|

Write your own Review