Skip to Content

Dropzone : Reviews

Reviews for: Texas Skydiving Center - (Visit this link)
Average Rating = 3.59/5 Average Rating : 3.59/5

Dropzone Summary | Reviews

> >|


Review Summary:


Average Rating : Average Rating = 3.59/5
Total Reviews: 17

> Write a Review

Show: Sort:
Display:
100% Times: 3 Times: 2 Times: 1 Times: 4 Times: 7
80%
60%
40%
20%
0%
Times  3 2 1 4 7
Rating  1 2 3 4 5



CINDY is the PROBLEM


Texas Skydiving Center Rated 1 by: MaxiF on 2013-08-05

Pros: Nothing
Cons: Everything

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
So apparently this facility is by far the WORST place to do business here in central Texas. I am just wanting to voice MY OPINION of this and Ms. Cindy you are one of the RUDEST people I have EVER met. Not only will I be writing a review on here but I will continue to do so and post it all over Twitter AND Facebook so the whole world knows how awful this business is.

I bought a Groupon back in March for my mothers Birthday so she could go sky diving and knock one of the items on her bucket list off. She has always wanted to do this and I've always been for it since I am an adventure seeker like she is.

So today was the last day to use is. Prior to today my mom tried calling several times but she'd be told that they weren't jumping that day or anytime soon due to weather or various other excuses like not enough people etc. So on the Groupon it says call to make a reservation by 08/05/2013 okay so I call for her so that I can make the reservation later this year in the fall when its cooler and she doesn't lose the Groupon.

As soon as the phone is answered and I tell Cindy what it is I have (A GROUPON) her tone of voice IMMEDIATELY changes. She become rude with me and starts to tell me to read her the fine print. I ask her why and she says it has to be used TODAY and they aren't doing jumps so I am going to lose my money. I am in awe at this point confused because that's not what it says and I paid quite a chunk of money for this gift. I tell her it doesn't say it has to be used by today that it says I must make a reservation by today. She begins to raise her voice and I tell her I will call her back once I read over the Groupon again and speak to the person who needs to make this Reservation.

I tell my mom whats wrong and she calls them. Same story only this time Cindy is claiming that they have been having problems with Groupon not putting on there the fine print and its not her fault. Then my mother tells her that we will be contacting Groupon about the matter to get a refund and she quickly changes her tone and says no she doesn't want to put words in there mouth that its not exactly what they have said but nonetheless my mother insists and then Cindy gets worse raising her voice (at a customer who was planning on bringing along others myself included and paying FULL PRICE for us me, my husband and sister to jump as well which we told her and she continued to NOT CARE!)

She also says that and I quote "We wouldn't want someone like you here ANYWAYS!" I'm sorry but that sounded a little racist considering my mother has a very thick Hispanic accent...

I was NOT happy. She continued saying Groupon has been refusing to put on their Groupons that it must be used and reserved by 08/05/2013 and it was too bad so sad we just lost $ for not using it correctly. I was furious and my mother decided that she was just going to hang up and let her know that we wouldn't be arguing with her about this matter.

Cindy is the manager of this facility supposedly and I think that this place should be closed down. FYI I will be reporting you to the Better Business Bureau and also writing to local media centers to follow up with an investigation on your facility!!! In the end I spoke with Groupon who were NOT AT FAULT and they went ahead an offered me 1 of 2 things to either A. Talk to them on my behalf and make the reservation or B. Refund my $ Needless to say I Chose B. WHY? well if this woman is this way can you imagine how she would react if there was an emergency or while jumping??? AND THANK GOD I CHOSE WHAT I DID read below and you will see this isn't' the FIRST TIME MS.Cindy royally messes up. Last note PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE DO NOT BUY ANYTHING FROM THEM I promise you all you will get is a headache from having to deal with this company!!! I RATE THEM NO STARS!!!

(Review ID:8087)


Salado was great. Will never return to TSC


Texas Skydiving Center Rated 2 by: Igisuma on 2013-03-08

Pros: Great scenery, nice, safe locale
Cons: Disinterested staff and friends, dodgy owner

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
I am a former military (branch withheld) skydiver who decided to jump at TSC after a brief web search for a place near Austin. I said nothing of my military experience to the people at TSC; and, in fact, was never asked about it because I am now an older man who does not look particularly military.

The ground training was brief, rather condescending, and I was basically treated like a preparatory load of luggage. The friendliness seemed to revolve around the individuals who worked there or knew others who were regulars. Much quiet discussion was about puerile matters like hot girls, the coolest new gear, things about the boss, etc.

Whenever I had what I considered a serious question I was looked at as though I was an interloper intruding on an elite group of operators preparing to do something special for their country. Although I felt equally as condescending to these young neophites who land on soft grass I held my tongue.

The owner was also an impolite and brusque individual who didn't seem to have "The Vibe." She did not pick up on various clues I threw her that this was hardly my first jump--try several hundred.

Having read a very old commentary on this website by an Army helicopter pilot and a friend's judgement that he defended it seems as though I am fortunate to have survived my jump. I am also not surprised re. the treatment of the jumper who had to cut. Perhaps a thorough FAA and USPA investigation are in order here.

I will just be happy that my aerial time in Texas turned out to be alright after all.

As for TSC, I would watch it. You're sloppy.

(Review ID:7820)


Small Drop Zone but Great Staff


Texas Skydiving Center Rated 4 by: MariaMom on 2013-02-11

Pros: Friendly, Individual Attention, Small Town Feel
Cons: Nothing I can think of!

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
I just wanted to thank the Texas Skydiving Center for all of your help in arranging what has been one of the BEST experiences of my life! Every second of it was amazing and I'm already looking into scheduling another jump!

I also wanted to let you know that I was very impressed with the staff! Everyone was so kind and professional. I am recommending your business to everyone I know and am looking forward to returning myself.

Thank you! Thank you! Thank you!

(Review ID:7805)


Rural DZ makes me love the escape from Austin


Texas Skydiving Center Rated 5 by: Aprilia750 on 2011-11-02

Pros: Rural environment great for a day away from home
Cons: Sometimes seems disorganized, not a huge fault though

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
I am working on my AFF and when I need an escape from the city this is where I go. At any skydive center the arrival to jump times are sometimes long, sometimes short. When each plane load carries 4 max, this is expected and understood. I once waited for 5 hours at a DZ with an otter and they never seemed to fill it up. When you plan to go skydiving, plan the day for it and enjoy the peace and quiet for a while. If your in a rush, don't go that day, simple as that. Cindy is a great business owner and wonderful to work with. She is understanding and helps me make my day before appointments with ease and very friendly in doing so. I called another dropzone in the area and the woman answering was so rude and put me on hold after answering an irrelevant question so I just decided TSC was where I would keep going. The llamas and donkeys are what keep this dropzone a rural one and personally, I like it. It gives the atmosphere of a small business done for pleasure which is what this is. I have read some bad reviews and they all come down to the individual not understanding the sport they signed up for. They will charge you for lost emergency handles, because they are expensive. They will charge you for a lost main chute, because it is time consuming and a hassle to gain permission to enter private property to retrieve it. I have seen too many people blame insufficiencies on the business instead of taking the wrap for a mistake or happenstance during this extreme sport. If you understand what you are about to do, the cost, the risk, the procedures, and the thrill these people are giving you (just IMAGINE the insurance costs of something like this) then this is as good as any other DZ. If you like the friendly atmosphere, rural escape, and a day to forget about all daily stressors then I highly recommend this DZ. As for the small dinky plane, It always makes me want to jump rather than land in it .. and that's a good thing ;P
(Review ID:6899)


We had the best time !!


Texas Skydiving Center Rated 5 by: Srtgblue on 2011-09-03

Pros: Everyone was so nice and professional
Cons: No cons

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
Thank you all so much for making such a memorable experience for me and my son.
(Review ID:6737)


Unlucky if you survive


Texas Skydiving Center Rated 1 by: MeganMc on 2011-03-25

Pros: NONE
Cons: Unethical Business Practices

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
I took my boyfriend skydiving for his birthday. It was a surprise so I paid for DVDs to be made of our jumps. Since it was a 1st time jump for both of us I paid a total of $502 for two static-line jumps and two DVDs which the owner requested payment for prior to training or jumping. Once we got there, and my boyfriend realized I had paid for the DVDs, my boyfriend elected not to have the DVDs made. I spoke with the owner about this matter 3 times before we jumped. She agreed to refund my card for the amount of the DVDs that were to be made, a total of $180, but asked that we go ahead and jump and deal with the paperwork afterwards.

My boyfriend jumped first with no problems. I jumped next. When my parachute deployed it was tangled and not fully open. I used the techniques I learned in training, pull the stabilizers apart and kick, as an attempt to open my parachute fully. Unfortunately the parachute was too tangled to come apart and I had to cut the shoot. So I did what in training they called a “Look, Look, Touch, Touch, Pull, Pull.” Basically I looked for my emergency pulls, I placed my hands on the pulls, and then I pulled them straight down. The first pull is your parachute cut away which means it cuts away the tangled parachute so that you may engage your reserve. Then I pulled my reserve cord. There is about a 3 second gap from the cutaway from the old parachute and the opening of the new parachute where you are just free falling again. My new parachute engaged and I made it safely to the ground. Once on the ground the owner met me on the field to ask if I knew where the old parachute and some parts of my emergency pulls had landed. I told her I had no idea considering I was only thinking about the deployment of a working parachute while I was in the air. The owner immediately got on the phone to call someone about part pricing. When I asked her what was going on, and if she was going to give us the refund for the DVDs that were not made, she stated I had lost a part on one of the emergency pulls when I activated my new parachute and therefore she would have to charge me for the dis-engaged parachute and emergency pull. The pull was $176 and the parachute was $350. I told the owner that there is nothing in any of the paperwork that was given to us stating that I would be financially responsible for anything if broken or lost, nor had anyone said that we would be financially responsible during our 4 1/2 hour training. The owner’s response to that was that she would be generous and just charge me for the missing emergency pull part, $176, and not the tangled parachute I had cut away. At that point she refused to refund my card and proceeded to be extremely rude. My boyfriend and I had to contact the police who came out and took statements from all the staff members. Come to find out the individual who had packed my parachute had only worked there for two weeks and had never actually skydived himself. I would never recommend this place to anyone. Look for another facility that has a trained staff and who isn’t so hard up for money. You will enjoy yourself a lot more and won’t have to call the police on your boyfriend’s birthday.

(Review ID:6284)


if you wanna jump you can


Texas Skydiving Center Rated 4 by: thirteenfold on 2010-07-24

Pros: Large landing area, fast load up times
Cons: small DZ, kinda ghetto

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
i went to this DZ for my 31st jump. All of my previous jumps except 1 were at Skydive Spaceland. This DZ is super small. There are lamas, pigs, roosters, and other animals as well. My dad went for his first jump ever. I had never jumped out of a cesna before so i was kinda excited but my dad was freakn out cuz the cesna was a rust bucket. Anywho the DZ is one warehouse about 1000sqft. Really small but they have made good space for what they have. Bathrooms with showers were connected. After signing our waiver we were in the plane in 15 minutes. My dad and girlfriend didnt watch any safety video or get any instruction until 8000 ft in the cesna which was kinda whatever. My biggest concern was i had asked for rental gear and upon gear check my repack date was over a year old. This concerned me for the rest of the gear and how they may have slacked in other areas. The staff was super nice, super helpful, and understood my concerns. I understand things happen and thats why we do gear checks... ill give it a 4 out of 5 because of how helpful they were and because i and my family was able to do what we came for safely, SKYDIVE!
(Review ID:5852)


helping me get to my goal


Texas Skydiving Center Rated 4 by: dz2girl on 2010-07-06

Pros: very friendly and helpful staff
Cons: none

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
This place has the most awesome staff. I am getting proficient, with their help and patience. Finances have forced me to take a lot of breaks, but they always help me get back on track. They are patient and go the extra mile to work with their students. I just felt like everyone should know this. I especially want to say thanks to James, Josh, Gary and Cindy.
(Review ID:5814)


Great Instruction, you'll want to come back...


Texas Skydiving Center Rated 5 by: DeltaBravo on 2008-06-11

Pros: Very friendly, close-knit and professional staff, relaxed atmosphere
Cons: None worth mentioning

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
I did my first jump, a tandem, at Texas Skydiving Center, and was hooked. I've been back several times since and am working toward my A license. I even prepaid my AFF course because I was so pleased with the instruction and the overall experience, not to mention the price!

Cindy, the DZ owner, is always easy to reach by phone, and gets back to you promptly via email. She is very kind and attentive, and really makes you feel at home. The jumpmasters are easy to get along with, enthusiastic, and do a great job at gauging your readiness and ensuring your confidence. Also because the DZ is small, the instruction is very personal and one-on-one. I've already got a couple friends signed on to start AFF courses too.

The facilities are fine, and they've been improved a lot, even in the short time I've been there. The "outhouse" referred to in a previous review is actually just a separate sink and stall attached to the packing room, which also has a full bathroom and shower. There is a covered pavilion with table and chairs, nice place to hang out and eat. There's also a great little restaurant called Melissa's a couple miles away that serves a delicious home-cooking buffet. Or get out there early on Saturday and try out the absolute best barbecue in Texas at Snow's.

The best reason to skydive here is the atmosphere. It feels like a mini-vacation every time you go. Although there's a closer DZ to my place in Austin, I'd rather drive the extra 20 minutes to be in such a relaxed environment away from the city. If you're a first-timer looking for a great experience, you're definitely in the right place. And if you decide you like skydiving, I'll bet you'll be back!

(Review ID:4575)


Good Experience!


Texas Skydiving Center Rated 5 by: TAndrews on 2007-05-29

Pros: Great Staff, Nice Atmosphere!
Cons: Not many restaurants in town to choose from.

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
I went to the Texas Skydiving Center to take a static line course and wound up taking an AFF course. This wound up being a great decision! The Instructor Staff did a very good job of instructing the first jump course and James was an excellent AFF instructor. The staff was very friendly, they even took me (an older gentlemen 40 YOA) with them to the local town festival. I took a packing course with Gary and to this day I can still pack a chute. I have been packing and jumping my own chutes since jump#15. I had no problem finding the dropzone and I drove there from West Texas (approximately 8 hours) bypassing several other dropzones that were closer. I have been there a couple of times and the people and dropzone have always been great! I can't understand anyone ever having a bad experience! The DZO Cindy has always been very accomodating and willing to do what ever is necessary for everyone to have good time!!

A Great Dropzone!
TAndrews My .02

(Review ID:3894)
> >|

Write your own Review