Skip to Content

Dropzone : Reviews

Reviews for: Skydive Chatteris - (Visit this link)
Average Rating = 3.28/5 Average Rating : 3.28/5

Dropzone Summary | Reviews

> >|


Review Summary:


Average Rating : Average Rating = 3.28/5
Total Reviews: 43

> Write a Review

Show: Sort:
Display:
100% Times: 13 Times: 2 Times: 2 Times: 12 Times: 14
80%
60%
40%
20%
0%
Times  13 2 2 12 14
Rating  1 2 3 4 5



Great venue


Skydive Chatteris Rated 5 by: FJB on 2013-11-27

Pros: Staff were friendly and took great care of me
Cons: You need to get there VERY early to avoid a long wait

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
I did a tandem jump for a charity on my 50th birthday. Never done anything like this before. We arrived an hour before the place was open and there were already other people there. This meant that I was on the first plane that day. I jumped with someone called Mike who was very nice and kind and took great care of me. They are very safety conscious and do all they can to make you feel at ease. My jump was late November so it was pretty cold - wear lots of layers. Great place and MUCH cheaper than others that I considered which meant that more money went to the charity. Highly recommended. By 10am we were on our way back to London. They are fast, efficient and professional.
(Review ID:8304)


NLSC was a dream come true, first of many skydives!!!


Skydive Chatteris Rated 5 by: CC83 on 2013-10-13

Pros: Everything! Beautiful location and the greatest staff you could wish for.
Cons: No comment!

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
I had the most amazing day 8.10.13 at the North London Skydiving School set in the beautiful fenland in Cambridge...I have no complaints whatsoever, the staff were wonderful and the site was perfection to a tee for me!

No pleasing some people it seems, but I was more than pleased. Ecstatic is probably the best word to describe the whole experience and I want to jump again and again and again... Raised money with a colleague and 2 clients for the charity we work for and we were all treated fantastically. I loved the canteen, the grounds, the changing room, even the loos!! :)

Thank you to the greatest Team I was so blessed to meet, for giving me a day ill never forget... my trainer Gary and instructor Glenn were angels in disguise. To all of you, I'm so jealous of your profession and ill be returning next year. Unforgettable and perfection personified. I would highly recommend you give it a go. Best wishes to all the peeps at NLSC. CC x

(Review ID:8240)


Find another place! very few chances you can jump here


Skydive Chatteris Rated 1 by: Wings33 on 2013-08-23

Pros: instructors did seem knowledgeable
Cons: that area is not good for jumping

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
konstantinovs review was word by word my experience, I wish I had found these reviews before losing 300.... I have been there 3 times unable to jump, by now I have given up any hopes.


- "North London Parachuting Centre" is misleading, the centre is quite far from Cambridge.

- They always tell you to show up, once you are there they say its unlikely to there would be any jump but things change quickly so maybe you should wait... By leaving these small windy they keep you fooled for hours (spending money in their coffee shop). I believe they perfectly know that there are some days weather wont change but they are never bluntly honest that is just not going to happen...

- The website gives the impression that you could have a nice day while waiting because they have other activities, this is not true, there is nothing to do but wait in the car for nothing to happen.

- The accessibility of this centre is poor, to say the least. If you don't drive then you're in a pretty bad position. We had to take the first train from London as well as a taxi from the station which amounted to 50, and we arrived at 10am, solidly at the bottom of the jump queue. Of course we could've come the previous day and stayed in the centre's accommodation but that would've amassed even more costs.

- Most of the people there on the day seemed to be people returning after cancelled jumps so it seems their jump percentage is very low indeed.

I believe the business takes advantage of all those people that get tired of showing once and again. If its so unlikely that there would be a jumping conditions they should not sell so many places and they should let you know in advance what is their "success" rate. By the way, the centre is surrounded by wind turbines - so the area is obviously prone to winds

(Review ID:8136)


Im going again....


Skydive Chatteris Rated 5 by: LouiseB24 on 2013-08-14

Pros: Huge landing area, views
Cons: Waiting - for some

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
First time skydive 14/8/2013
I was unsure of going due to the negitivity of the previous reviews, but I had already booked.
States first come first serve. We left Portsmouth at 3.30am, managed to get to the airfield by 7am - due to roadworks. There was already a few people waiting before us.
Friendly staff, never used canteen as we brought our own food/drink. After training we just sat in the car till we was called... We were jumpers 10 & 11 so waited just over an hour.
Jump was amazing, my instructor knew i was very on edge - dont like heights nor planes.. But made me at ease. It was amazing to do this. But felt sorry for the people with ticket numbers 30+ - but then it dose state first come first serve.. They can only send so many people up at once. I will be going again...

(Review ID:8113)


OK and getting better


Skydive Chatteris Rated 4 by: demoknite on 2013-01-31

Pros: Huge Landing Area, Only Twin Otter in the UK
Cons: Slow

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
It's been almost a year since Ive been here, but my view from a fun jumper perspective. I believe it used to be quite the tandem factory, but with the twin otter and cheap jump tickets they are trying to attract some fun jumpers. However they are not quite there yet so they do the loads in cycles of 2 wherein they shut the plane down after the second load while the instructors pack the tandem parachutes back. So between them not having packers and not very many fun jumpers this makes for slow turn around even though they have the otter. If you come at first light leave at sunset you might get 4 jumps perhaps 5.

North London is a bit of a stretch as it's in the Fens. Almost every DZ in the UK could use the name. Fun jumpers know to bring their own food and drink so no complaints about the canteen from me. Never had it.

Landing area is massive. You can land anywhere in the fens and they will come get you.

The staff can be a bit grizzly and full of themselves depending on the day. They all take part in packing, collecting money, cleaning up, etc so they are usually very busy. The other club jumpers are some of the friendliest Ive ever met and will change suits just to jump with you.
This could be the UK's Perris Valley or Elsinore once they get a few logistical kinks worked out. If they still even have them.

(Review ID:7798)


Why I'm never going back to Chatteris...not that they will care.


Skydive Chatteris Rated 1 by: RealFood on 2012-11-23

Pros: Large plane and other fun jumpers are pretty friendly
Cons: Very discouraging and negative for recently qualified jumpers

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
Have just had an unbelievable experience at Chatteris today and not in a good way.

I did my AFF ground school and Level 1 with them back at the end of June 2012 but as the weather was so bad and because I had got the bug, decided to go to Freefall Universtity in Spain (which was amazing by the way).

Came back to UK and did another 10 jumps at Chatteris and then when their twin Otter was out of action (and I was told I wouldn't get any lifts in the other plane due to Tandems) went and did some jumping at Headcorn. Subsequently went back to Spain for a week at the end of October and then last weekend a couple of jumps at Headcorn, before returning to Chatteris today with 65 jumps completed.

On arrival was told that the rental rigs I would use were out with AFF students but they might come free later on, so I hung around for 2 hours. Eventually Gary asked to check my docs and log book and then asked what I weighed. I am 6ft 5" and weigh 16.5 stone, which he knows, as this was an issue at the time of booking my AFF level 1. Nevertheless, he put me on the scales (fully clothed with winter gear and shoes on) and said since I was slightly over 17st, I couldn't jump!
I know there are weight limits and had gone through all this as an AFF student, but I am utterly staggered that after 65 jumps (including 10 at Chatteris) and being exactly the same weight as I was back in June, that suddenly this was not OK.

I can only speculate as to what happened here - maybe they resented the fact that I went to Spain to complete my AFF; maybe the fact that I recommended Freefall University to another Level 1 student (who they had just told not to bother coming back until he spent some time in a wind tunnel) who subsequently took that advice and has now got his A licence; maybe they had just decided to get rigorous with their rules (although being explicit on what basis the weight limit is measured would be useful), but if so it would suggest negligence prior to today. Of course its possible that they just didn't like me, but this would of course be a very unprofessional way to drive out people you didn't like.

Overall, my experiences at Chatteris have been OK until today, although as far as I am concerned they are not particularly enthusiastic about progressing recently qualified jumpers. If you are still renting a rig, they always seem to make it difficult and they don't like any communication prior to coming up to try to make sure equipment will be available as they rather expect you to make the journey and take pot luck.

After today , I will never be going back, even when I have my own rig, as I feel that the treatment I got today was really shabby and at best seriously inconsistent. I don't suppose they will shed any tears, as inevitably it is the tandem factory that is their main focus, although whenever I meet other skydivers in this very small community, you can be sure I will be communicating exactly what I feel about them.

(Review ID:7724)


One large con


Skydive Chatteris Rated 1 by: konstantinovs on 2012-09-10

Pros: Friendly staff, to an extent.
Cons: Poor business practices, overpriced food, poor service in general.

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
First of all, let me just express my amusement at the fact that this place is called the "North London Parachuting Centre". Being north of the M25 (by quite a distance I might add) does not qualify as north London. I live quite near to Scotland, but I'll start telling people I live in North London from now on.

I originally booked my tandem skydive for June 2011, paying 195. We were told in the run-up to the day that we should turn up to the centre no matter what the forecast, as the weather can change for the better at any moment. Sure enough, the forecast was very windy and rainy. But we did as instructed and turned up in hope.

The accessibility of this centre is poor, to say the least. If you don't drive then you're in a pretty bad position. We had to take the first train from London as well as a taxi from the station which amounted to 50, and we arrived at 10am, solidly at the bottom of the jump queue. Of course we could've come the previous day and stayed in the centre's accommodation but that would've amassed even more costs.

Upon arrival, we were told immediately that it was almost certain that there would be no jumps that day, and we were free to stick around or go home. Good on them for telling us the truth and I appreciate that they have no control over the british weather. But they proceeded to tell us that we could've phoned the centre in the morning before setting off to see the forecast, which could've potentially saved us the journey. So why did they originally tell us to come to the centre no matter what the forecast? Very poor communication there!

Because I was not in the country for the rest of the year, the next opportunity I had to jump was June of 2012. I was told to pay an extra 25 because I had waited more than 6 months. This I find unacceptable - people who are forced to reschedule because of bad weather should not be penalised. If anything, they should be given preferential treatment at the least. There was nothing I could do about this so I had to pay the 25. However, the jump was called off AGAIN due to windy conditions, thereby putting travel costs and time to waste.

I rescheduled again for September 2012. Again, it was cancelled due to wind. I had to pay an extra 10 because I was over 15 stone. I am not conscious about my weight at all but I can imagine for some other people it would be very offending to be weighed in front of everybody else in the reception area and then told to pay the "fat-tax". I'm not sure why this "fat-tax" must be paid before the jump given that a large number of jumps seem to get cancelled. After the jump was cancelled I was not refunded the money until I was driving away and remembered to ask them myself. I can only imagine the number of people they've conned with that little trick.

Three times I have wasted an entire day travelling to this place only to find out it was cancelled. The total cost is approaching 300 now, in addition to all the time spent travelling. The fact that they are totally unaccommadating with regards to financial costs is quite insulting. Most of the people there on the day seemed to be people returning after cancelled jumps so it seems their jump percentage is very low indeed. What baffles me more is that the centre is surrounded by wind turbines - so the area is obviously prone to winds...

I will not be in the country for the next couple of months, so it looks like the next best opportunity I will have to jump is spring 2013. This will probably mean another 25 charge. I fail to understand how this makes sense, and it certainly does not encourage customers to return for another jump, or to promote the centre to friends.

On top of this, the "cafe" is extremely overpriced and seating is severely lacking indoors for those days when it is too cold to stand around outside.

On a more pleasant note, most of the instructors did seem knowledgeable and friendly. However, this did not make up for all the shortcomings of this centre.

(Review ID:7605)


Best experiance ever!!! Shame I didn't catch my instructors name.


Skydive Chatteris Rated 5 by: xxcarinaxx on 2012-07-29

Pros: Amazing experiance!
Cons: Amazing experiance!

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
Can't believe the amount of complaints. 'I had a blast!'. I did arrive first time, we got training, had to cancel and go back home due to bad weather conditions. 27th July 12 was my day :D shame I didn't catch my instructors name. He made my experiance more special and exciting. He really made me feel at ease. The staff are fun, crazy, polite and chatty. Reception friendly and helpful. Just like we had expected. I am sorry to the guys whom got a bad experiance from the centre, but I believe and my collegues that it is not as bad as people are portrait it to be. I will defiantly be going again.
(Review ID:7505)


Hope to jump here for years to come


Skydive Chatteris Rated 5 by: Tea on 2011-12-11

Pros: Large plane, v. good training, some cool people there
Cons: Staff may seem rude/intimidating to the average bloke, food prices, distance from London

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
I've only done one jump, so count this review however you wish.

First impressions of the site had me a bit worried. Superficially, it's not the prettiest of places BUT it has everything you might need: Canteen, huge bloody plane, rigs, grass runway - errm, a friendly cat.

So anyway, I was trained for my AFF L1 by a man who clearly knows his stuff. This experience brought with it a bit of an ego but I'd prefer to be trained by a supremely confident person when my life is in their hands. I left the AFF Groundschool ready for anything.

The morning of the jump came, but not before several weeks had passed. I had been ill and I live in London (This DZ is nowhere near London!). Terrified, I had my preflight briefing and morning training with the chief instructor of the DZ. He was less than impressed with how badly I had retained the information and how my nerves were interfering with what I had learned, and he made no attempt to hide this fact.

We drilled, drilled and drilled again until he was satisfied. Some might have called his demeanour rude and intimidating but you never know, his honesty and kick-up-the-backside attitude might have saved my life. I hope every beginner who can't recite every aspect of their training to the letter receives the same treatment - it really drives home the importance of everything.

I was on the first lift of the day with a bunch of tandems, a regular skydiver, a recently qualified and two other AFF (Consol 6 and L4) students. I was terrified. However, one of the instructors was chatty and pretty much said that what I was feeling was normal.

The jump went well. One of my fellow AFF student had to help me with my rig in the absence of any staff. I had to wait quite a while for my debrief as well, but this is understandable as the weather was closing in and the DZ had to do a few more loads (they are a business after all).

Debrief went well, and was very honest. I had some weaknesses, but I passed my L1. I will be back for sure in the new year.

Don't be put off by the apparent egos, attitudes, etc. These people are literally dealing with life, death and rank amateurs (like myself). What matters is the quality of the training (excellent), the facilities (good), the experience (life changing) and the feedback (honest, thorough, relevant).

(Review ID:6946)


Nice setup.


Skydive Chatteris Rated 5 by: seaweedknees on 2011-07-28

Pros: Twin Otter, relaxed atmosphere, Good facilities
Cons: nothing

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
Great DZ thats always got lifts going up when the weathers good. Open midweek too which is a bonus!

(Review ID:6633)
> >|

Write your own Review