Skip to Content

Dropzone : Reviews

Reviews for: Skydive Toronto Inc. - (Visit this link)
Average Rating = 3.17/5 Average Rating : 3.17/5

Dropzone Summary | Reviews

> >|


Review Summary:


Average Rating : Average Rating = 3.17/5
Total Reviews: 18

> Write a Review

Show: Sort:
Display:
100% Times: 2 Times: 5 Times: 2 Times: 6 Times: 3
80%
60%
40%
20%
0%
Times  2 5 2 6 3
Rating  1 2 3 4 5



I wouldn't bother past a tandem..


Skydive Toronto Inc. Rated 2 by: bigjdropzone on 2013-10-27

Pros: great for sleeping and wasting time
Cons: not many pros

All my reviews are being filtered on other sites so I figured I'd post here. The reviews on this site are more accurate then Google or Yelp anyway.

I wouldn't bother past a tandem, as you'll be waiting forever for your jump (be a first time static line, courses, etc). They tend to forget you exist after you swipe your credit card, and any appointments are worthless. They seem to forget not everyone enjoys staring at the sun for 6 hours.

Joe posted in 2007 and the same complaints are still being made so that basically says everything. Scooter1812 summed it up with "tandem factory".

I've since moved on to a different drop zone and Skydive Toronto has lost thousands of dollars of my money.

Sypnopsis: focus on tandem students as they are the cash cow.

(Review ID:8260)


review for aug 25 tandeem jump


Skydive Toronto Inc. Rated 2 by: Dalibor on 2013-08-25

Pros: no pros
Cons: unorganized; unprofessional; no intrgrity

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
A total waste of a day, booked for 2pm but so were 20 other people... Waited the whole day without a guaranteed skydive and no refund. Cannot understand the point of booking an appointment when you have no guarantee for anything, once they take the money game changes. Better take your money and donate it...a total waste of time.
(Review ID:8142)


waisted potential


Skydive Toronto Inc. Rated 2 by: skydivehr on 2013-07-07

Pros: close to Toronto, big hangar
Cons: mostly west wind, landing behing obsticles&uphill, very muddy when raining

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
I went there for some fun jumps and brought some friends for tandem jumps. Here is my observation:

USPA Skydivers still NOT Welcome. That creates very tight/closed skydiving community full of Sky Goods. Not catered for experienced jumpers who are willing to work on their skills. Not fun jumpers friendly for sure. Low attitude toward new experienced skydivers. No sport attitude. Just business. You pay for everything.
Low attitude between team members and instructors. You can hear them talking bad about each other all the time. Bad attitude toward pilots. Pilots are very professional, quiet and nice. Many of them highly skilled.

Extremely long wait times for fun jumpers and tandems. Few hours. Tandem jumps- oriented. Cessna 182 DZ. Facility is very clean.
Management problems.
Camping&accommodation problems: No outdoor washrooms, hydro, water. No bunkhouse or trailer to rent.

Little restaurant on the sight. You can relay on it. No DZ safety officer.
Nice packing aria. Large packing team.

Mostly west winds. Hangar is on the west side so landings are in mechanic rotors and uphill.
Bad relationship to neighbors. There are important rules where NOT to land if off DZ.
Rental rigs new or in good condition.
Tandem students asked to check on their instructors! Did they hook you up?
Nice colors on the wall inside the hangar.

There are few other DZs close to Toronto I would rather recommend for fun and tandem jumps for sure.

(Review ID:8028)


great 1st tandem


Skydive Toronto Inc. Rated 4 by: garciaanna21 on 2013-01-22

Pros: Staff was very helpful and welcoming
Cons: long wait times

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
It was my first tandem jump, I had a great teacher and enjoyed his personality. Also, the facility is very clean and professional.
I look forward to them opening back up to jump again.

(Review ID:7783)


Tandem factory


Skydive Toronto Inc. Rated 2 by: kakoru on 2012-07-28

Pros: Nice facilities
Cons: USPA not really welcomed

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
Came here in late-May and early June for my 175th jumps. It has a nice hangar, but seems a little-off when it comes to fun-jumpers. That's OK because I understand tandems makes them money and I respect the decisions from management.

But can I recommend people to come jump here for fun? Unfortunately not. In addition,
they have a few weird policies that feels like to milk $$ out of regular jumpers.

Otherwise, it has a nice couch for sleeping and zzz haha :)

(Review ID:7503)


Great dropzone


Skydive Toronto Inc. Rated 4 by: Rayy on 2011-09-14

Pros: Exciting atmosphere, professional, great team.
Cons: Nothing major.

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
Did my first tandem here, and it was great. Great staff, services, professionalism. Price was alright.

However my video is taking 2 weeks (and counting) to be made, and I find that a minor con.

(Review ID:6766)


Go there,


Skydive Toronto Inc. Rated 5 by: Canuck90 on 2011-08-12

Pros: Big Facility, Friendly Staff, and a Cafe
Cons: PFF Takes priority

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
I had heard bad reviews about trying to progress through the student program but after completing it I was impressed that they would push students through. I didn't have to wait very long, unless a FJC was done that day and there was always a lot of JM's ready to work. The only thing is after your certified is that there are not a lot of Coach 2s available. Its a great place and I would recommend it.
(Review ID:6676)


focused on tandem jumps


Skydive Toronto Inc. Rated 2 by: adam1 on 2010-06-28

Pros: big facility
Cons: tandem jumps- oriented

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
Good for tandem jumps. If you want to be certified in skydiving, expect to wait long time for a single jump. I would not recommend it for students wishing to be skydivers
(Review ID:5801)


Closed to new/visiting USPA certified jumpers


Skydive Toronto Inc. Rated 1 by: AirPilot on 2009-07-05

Pros: CSPA only
Cons: USPA Skydivers NOT Welcome

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
This drop zone does NOT recognize regulations for USPA certified, current skydivers.
Made a visit with my certification and currency (previous weekend) management would not allow me to jump with my own rig and jump solo.
Management required I retrain, use student gear, and jump with an instructor.
This is complete disregard of CSPA and USPA regulations regarding certification and currency privileges.
Great Management Problems.
USPA NOT Welcome!

(Review ID:5228)


I'm hooked!


Skydive Toronto Inc. Rated 4 by: twistedcables on 2008-04-29

Pros: Safety-conscious, training-centred approach
Cons: need bigger/more planes

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
I called around several places and the vibe off the phone sold me. Actually experiencing the energy gets you hooked!

I wish there were more/larger aircraft so I could get more jumps in one day! Jump-withdrawal makes me wanna cry!

Very serious training, adamant on safety and responsibility. Good coaching, approachable experienced jumpers who put up with my incessant questioning!

Probably one of the few places where ego has been checked at the door.

(Review ID:4483)
> >|

Write your own Review