Skip to Content

Dropzone : Reviews

Reviews for: Skydive Strathallan (Scottish Parachute Club) - (Visit this link)
Average Rating = 3.25/5 Average Rating : 3.25/5

Dropzone Summary | Reviews

> >|


Review Summary:


Average Rating : Average Rating = 3.25/5
Total Reviews: 16

> Write a Review

Show: Sort:
Display:
100% Times: 5 Times: 1 Times: 1 Times: 3 Times: 6
80%
60%
40%
20%
0%
Times  5 1 1 3 6
Rating  1 2 3 4 5



Something that has real potential to get new people into the sport is soured by cliquey puerile trea


Skydive Strathallan (Scottish Parachute Club) Rated 1 by: Pbear on 2013-08-05

Pros: Stunning location
Cons: Everything else

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
The one star is awarded because I appreciate it must be difficult when all the staff are working on a voluntary basis.

The lack of any other stars is because that this alone cannot be blamed for the dismal attitude that prevails at the centre.

I and a friend have always wanted to learn to skydive and were exited about taking the first step towards that by enrolling in the static line course.

The course was detailed but was run in such a way as to remind you at all times that your presence at the centre was a total inconvenience to the instructor and everyone else already within the strathallan Clique. Most of the regulars there will either not speak to you or will do so either to mock your apparently stupid questioning or to remind you of some anal (none safety related) golden rule you have broken.

We were told during the course that something like 98% would not return to do another jump or progress on to do further training. After the experience of the static line course I can see why. This is not due (as suggested by the instructor) to students all being a waste of space but due to the fact that the way students are treated is appalling.

Despite our first experience we were determined to keep trying and hoped that this was a one off and maybe we had caught the centre on an 'off weekend'. however we have been back 4 times now and each time the experience is largely the same. The staff are ignorant and rude and totally un-interested in welcoming anyone else.

AS a result we have decided not to return and just to allow our training certificates to expire.

Its a shame because if it was run well the centre would be a real asset to scotland and would no doubt enjoy more success.

NOTE: I and my friend are not (as is suggested by other reviews) from a rival club.

(Review ID:8088)


Skydive STRATHALLAN IS MY 2ND HOME ITS THAT GOOD


Skydive Strathallan (Scottish Parachute Club) Rated 5 by: ceaser999999 on 2013-01-18

Pros: Best DZ in the UK
Cons: Scottish weather

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
Skydive Strathallan is a club its not commercial, this DZ does S/L courses to teach and let people experience skydiving in the hope it encourages people to join our sport. This DZ does tandems to allow the public to experience skydiving without having to spend time in the classroom well not as much time and if its for them they can then book on the S/L course.

This means because this club is not commercial it is a club, SAFTY is paramount and its not about trying to make money like some of the other UK DZs !! ...this Dz is amazing with the best people who aren't staff they volunteer there weekends to give someone else the experiences they have received.

The three Cessnas are a hoot with fun pilots and a craking scenery.

Everyone is friendly and awesome its is impossible not to make friends there !!

There is not a day when you don't miss this place during the week .. There is simple no other place like it ...

see uses there blue skys in that ,..............

(Review ID:7782)


Skydive Strathallan (Scottish Parachute Club)


Skydive Strathallan (Scottish Parachute Club) Rated 3 by: Mark_c888 on 2011-09-20

Pros: Friendly
Cons: Aircraft

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
All in all a good dz, I feel it has changed alot since the first few times I was their 3 years ago,
of which I had a bad experience through unfriendly staff.

It's now a helpful and friendly dz. Their always trying to get the planes up to keep people jumping. I now feel it will be a dz I will keep going back to.

(Review ID:6780)


Scottish Parachute Club (Strathallan)


Skydive Strathallan (Scottish Parachute Club) Rated 4 by: Sangi on 2009-09-04

Pros: Very friendly and helpful people
Cons: The weather

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
Since I came to study in Scotland, I needed somewhere to occasionally get a jump in, so I contacted my uni (of Dundee) skydiving club and thus made my way to Strathallan..

One of the biggest pros of this DZ is the friendliness of people, I don't know about others, but I had nothing but pleasure of spending time with these people, learning various things, they don't hesitate to answer any silly questions and it's good to have a laugh along the way.. The scenery is great here, it's fun to have a ride with the clubs buggy and many other small things that make it a great place to be in... I haven't made much jumps lately due to weather and money issues, but hopefully in the future I'll be a frequent visitor and full fledged member of the Scottish Parachute club :)

The cons... Well the biggest con is the weather (rainy, very windy and very cold winters) I guess, but that's not the clubs fault, it's just how Scotland is.. Also it would be nice if Strathallan had a full time turbo prop plane for higher altitudes, because 10k feet burn fast if you're trying to freefly.. I haven't spent much time in Strathallan as I wanted, but all in all I think it's a great place to be in the end, cause the people make it worth it :)

(Review ID:5359)


A social club for regular members


Skydive Strathallan (Scottish Parachute Club) Rated 2 by: Limone on 2009-07-08

Pros: Good location, very like a social club
Cons: Very like a social club for the people that work there

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Location
I was given a voucher for a skydive and booked a trip one Sunday. Unfortunately due to weather, I had to rebook twice after spending 2 days at the airfield waiting around. Eventually I got up mid week for the experience of a lifetime.

Though I enjoyed it, I felt dealing with the admin people at the club was turgid. The person who organises the booking, that you contact during the week, acts like you're a complete pain in the ass to her. Whilst you wait to see if you are able to jump, there is very little information coming out from the staff there. Most of them seem to hang about together in a social club environment. I and others that were there with me both days felt we were a necessary inconvenience to raise money for the club. The actual jump was incredible, though there were 2 of us jumping and I had a visiting instructor who was much more helpful than the local person.

The site and views are stunning for a jump, but the service is awful. They lost my original registration papers/doctors certificate and I bought a video of the jump, which was 'lost' in the post. When I asked if they used 'recorded delivery' I was dismissed. They had no back up so sent me a cheque, and completely misspelt my name.

Overall I loved the into to the sport, but would never recommend anyone to use this place.

(Review ID:5234)


Skydiving club near Perth, Scotland


Skydive Strathallan (Scottish Parachute Club) Rated 5 by: mcenteeg on 2008-10-07

Pros: Friendly people. easy access and approachable staff
Cons: scottish weather

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
I went to Strathallan to do a RAPS course last year, having been a bit of a Stop-Starter for the 8 years before. I found the instructors and staff very accommodating and friendly. teaching me to pack from early on, always available to instruct / coach me.

there are 3 cessna 206's and this means a pretty fast turnaround if you ever want to get on a lift.

I've jumped in many different places from loads of different aircraft but I'd recommend Strathallan over them all!

(Review ID:4815)


A great club atmosphere.


Skydive Strathallan (Scottish Parachute Club) Rated 4 by: babz on 2008-09-22

Pros: Great Scenery, Great Banter
Cons: Scottish Weather

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
I did my RAPS ground school in late 2006 and I couldn't have asked for a more professional course. The instructors were great and the training was extremely thorough.

Throughout my course I found there was always instructors around to do refreshers and briefs/debriefs. I've not felt as well looked after anywhere else!

(Review ID:4788)


More a social club for frequent flyers.


Skydive Strathallan (Scottish Parachute Club) Rated 1 by: CrunchbiteJr on 2008-09-01

Pros: Gorgeous scenery
Cons: Tough to get to, VERY cliquey, not professional, newbies not made welcome.

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
Now, my skydiving day. Turned up at 8:45 as asked and the promised "booking in" was not forthcoming, instead a bunch of people just waiting around. Eventually got in and things started to show signs of deteriorating. We were led upstairs and all our details taken and essentially told "There's ten of you, by law I can only teach a group of 5 so I'll get another instructor". 45 mins later and nobody had heeded his multiple calls over the tannoy, and this set the tone for the day. The people willing to teach were enthusiastic, patient and excellent. That was a whole 2 people. The rest made us feel unwelcome and were FAR more interested in their own jumps than anything else. It got to about 4-ish and Steff with family turned up and we only had one bit of training left to do. The cloud had risen and some newbies were going up to do it, it looked promising...for the first time we were getting pumped at going up and were RARING to go for the final bit of training. At that point NO trainers were around for an hour and a half...because they were up jumping or on cigarette breaks. Cloud came over, we didn't finish training until 7 by which point it was raining and I was tired and exhausted. Now I know the whole club shouldn't dance to the tune of people on a one day course but being made to feel very unwelcome isn't on. It was less a place to experience skydiving and more a place for them to hang out with friends and have a laugh. The president of the club lying out on the airfield having a laugh with everyone when groups of paying customers were stuck waiting for over an hour whilst those supposed to teach went up for a few jumps is just not professional. If you ever get the chance to go to the Skydiving Strathallan then just remember, no matter what anybody says it's NOT welcoming and it's NOT a place for anybody remotely new to the sport or outwith the existing members cliques.
(Review ID:4754)


A 'CLUB' with an identity crisis


Skydive Strathallan (Scottish Parachute Club) Rated 1 by: flybhoy on 2006-10-27

Pros: Scenery
Cons: Everything

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
This dz cannot make up its mind on whether it is a commercial organisation called Skydive Strathallan or a club called the Scottish Parachute Club. It is a commercial organisation when they want to take your money, but it suddenly becomes a club again when it comes to professionalism and getting its act together. Maybe it should lease a decent plane (and buying fuel would also be helpful), get some decent rental rigs - took my own but would not have liked to have used the ancient gear at this dz anyway, and get a Chief Instructor who dosn't have their head up where the sun does not shine!
(Review ID:3481)


One to give a miss


Skydive Strathallan (Scottish Parachute Club) Rated 1 by: kstewart on 2006-10-12

Pros: reasonable prices
Cons: too expensive for what it is

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
Visited this DZ over the summer and would not recommend it. Disorganised, unprofessional, and don't expect to get on a lift quickly. Doesn't seem a very progressive DZ and not many quality jumpers to fly with - saw nothing other than basic WARP on the (apparently extremely busy) day I went. This DZ is summed up perfectly by the Army (who were there for a practice CF jump prior to a demo)...
(Review ID:3461)
> >|

Write your own Review