Skip to Content

Dropzone : Reviews

Reviews for: Vegas Extreme Skydiving - (Visit this link)
Average Rating = 2.90/5 Average Rating : 2.90/5

Dropzone Summary | Reviews

|< < > >|


Review Summary:


Average Rating : Average Rating = 2.90/5
Total Reviews: 29

> Write a Review

Show: Sort:
Display:
100% Times: 12 Times: 3 Times: 1 Times: 2 Times: 11
80%
60%
40%
20%
0%
Times  12 3 1 2 11
Rating  1 2 3 4 5



do not care about there customers did not call us to cancel


Vegas Extreme Skydiving Rated 1 by: lylemichael on 2011-02-26

Pros: none
Cons: very poor customer skills

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
We were supposed to go skydiving with this company and the weather for the jump was questionable, so I called a day in advance and they said show up early the next day before weather got bad. The next day came and we showed up early and this company never showed up and never called us to cancel so I called them and the person on the line said they weren't jumping that day. They never called to cancel and they would have wasted our time except there is another company called sin city skydiving at this airport that was jumping so we went with them and had a blast. We will never go or recommend Las Vegas extreme skydiving to any of our friends.
(Review ID:6246)


Incredible first experience


Vegas Extreme Skydiving Rated 5 by: npng on 2011-01-18

Pros: Everything seemed fine to me
Cons: none, except that i should've gone for a second jump!

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
I don't know why people are bitchin' about this place, but I loved it. It was my first time and everything seemed fine to me. They picked us up at mgm grand main entrance. The staff was great and I can tell you that everyone of us that jumped that same day liked it. So I don't know what may have changed since 2008 ( most of the comments are from 08) but it was great and I'm planning on doing it again. Thank you to all the staff of Vegas Extreme Skydiving!
(Review ID:6193)


Worst DZ in Nevada - Stay away from this place!


Vegas Extreme Skydiving Rated 1 by: TitaniumFox on 2009-07-02

Pros: My tandem instructor was friendly and it's the closest to Vegas; otherwise, I have nothing nice to say about this place.
Cons: Owner is NOT friendly; tandem factory; did not deliver on altitude

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
Be warned: This DZ preys off of tourists who do not have the time to travel to a much better DZ outside of the valley. Their free shuttle service is an excellent ploy to overcharge for tandem and not deliver on altitude promises. They basically throw a lot of marketing in front of you and expect people to bite. They do, and that was my mistake (should have checked dropzone.com first), but it will not happen again, not to me, my friends and anybody who reads this review.

The review:

When I called the DZ to ask about AFF classes, Eddy answered, whom I've determined to be the owner. Rudest man I have ever dealt with. My question was about pricing and the amount of time required to complete my AFF program (I wanted to dedicate 4 days to classes and guided jumps in order to jump unsupervised). He arrogantly responded that it's dangerous to jump alone and that I was crazy for thinking I could complete my coursework in 4 days. He said no way it could be done, and when I politely challenged him, he hung up. Easily the most impolite man I have ever dealt with in the business world.

With that question answered, my friends and I decided to do our tandems here anyway since it had been years since any of us had jumped and the location was convenient. We figured to apply the tandem jumps towards our coursework at another location.

The facilities were acceptable and my tandem instructor was polite. We were promised 15,000 MLS and we got about 12,000 MLS. I don't know if the owner is naive, but some people do actually know that Jean, NV is nearly 3,000 feet above sea level. When I asked him about this upon returning, he acted like a prick once again, solidifying him as one of the shortest, angry men in the world. His exact words were 'we don't charge for different altitudes and what you get is what you get.'

Yes, indeed.. what you get is what you get. And at VegasExtremeSkydiving, what you get is one of the worst experiences imaginable in the world of skydiving.

Found on their website:

"Unfortunately some skydiving operations are only interested in the easy money of tandems and disregard or make experienced jumpers feel unwelcome. At Vegas Extreme Skydiving we encourage experienced jumpers to come and join the fun and share their enthusiasm with our student jumpers."

Nothing but lies. Stay away from this place at all costs. My recommendation for residents and tourists alike is a trip to Mesquite's DZ, about 90 miles outside of the valley. They are a 5-star operation that proves places like VegasExtremeSkydiving can operate on nothing but false promises and false advertising.

(Review ID:5216)


Ok tandem, but have heard horror stories from others who have jumped there


Vegas Extreme Skydiving Rated 2 by: aly359 on 2009-06-22

Pros: Location in Vegas
Cons: Poor aircraft and LZ

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
I'm licensed and have jumped there once, that's right once and never again. If you are looking for a great tandem jump try boulder city or mesquite. I know both the owners and they operate a nice facility with up to date aircrafts and a helpful staff. If you want the best try Perris,CA or Eloy,AZ in my own opinion.
(Review ID:5191)


My experience with VE was amazing


Vegas Extreme Skydiving Rated 5 by: TaraB123 on 2009-05-04

Pros: Friendly, knowledgable staff
Cons: None

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
I researched this company before my trip and I have to say I was a little skeptical with some of the negative reviews I saw. But I decided that positive reviews outweighed the negative and I went for it. From the moment we got picked up at the Tropicana Hotel until the moment with left VE all the staff was extremely friendly and helpful. This by far was a great experience and if I am ever back in Vegas I will use VE again!!
(Review ID:5084)


I highly recommend Vegas Extreme!


Vegas Extreme Skydiving Rated 5 by: AJ_Lecter on 2009-02-03

Pros: the staff, the experience
Cons: none whatsoever

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
I am bewildered by the negative reviews VE has received on this site; the period of time I spent with the company couldn't have been better. The staff I interacted with (Brian, Eddy, Joe, Andre, and Jason) were gregarious, knowledgeable, and confidence-inspiring. As for some of the noted complaints by other jumpers: in my opinion, the prices were fair, Eddy (the co-owner) was generous with his time and very congenial, the plane appeared well-kept and ran smoothly, the training program was thorough, all levels of jumpers were catered to and treated respectfully, and, before the jump, the altimeter read 15,000 feet. I was beyond satisfied with the entire experience.
(Review ID:4968)


Most of these reviews are accurate


Vegas Extreme Skydiving Rated 1 by: peru on 2008-08-16

Pros: i
Cons: The bussiness owners attitude

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
Most of these reviews are accurate, most of he people are friendly. But the owners arrogant, rude attitude is a turn off.
(Review ID:4711)


STAY AWAY from Vegas Extreme Skydiving!


Vegas Extreme Skydiving Rated 1 by: kylexedge on 2008-08-03

Pros: none
Cons: Deceiving, rude, expensive

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
After doing my first tandem jump a few months ago I knew right away this was something I wanted to get into. The DZ I jumped at didn't offer training so I searched the web for other DZ's in my area that did and found two: Vegas Extreme Skydiving in Jean and Skydive Mesquite. Jean is a half hour closer to me so I gave Vegas Extreme a call. (I wish I would have known about this website earlier because with all the bad reviews for Vegas Extreme I wouldn't have even bothered with them in the first place). The guy I talked to on the phone (Alex) was really friendly and told me that they did offer training and to come down and meet with the owner.

When I met the owner (Eddy) he was very short (both in his communication with me and his physical height), but he looked a little busy so I didn't take it personally. Alex told me that he was cool with me enrolling in the program and that I could get started that day.

I was told I needed two tandem jumps to start off so I decided to get one out of the way. Back on the ground, Eddy pressured me into buying another tandem. When I told him I didn't have the money he said "You have a credit card right, do another jump." I really couldn't afford it but wanted to get certified so I decided to do one more.

The next week I called and spoke with Alex and asked if I could come down on Sunday (today) to continue my training and he said "Ya sure we're all about it."

I drove an hour out to Jean this morning and arrived right as they were opening. I sat and waited about 15 minutes and then Eddy approached me and said, "What do you need?" I thought maybe he meant what do I need to do to get ready to jump so I told him I just needed to empty my pockets and he said "No, what are you trying to do here because the training program is full." I was pretty shocked as I was just there a week earlier and started my training. I just said "I don't understand? How long until its not full?" and he said "I don't know, How long is a piece of string? Go somewhere else." It was obvious to me then that I had been deceived into buying a couple tandems and that there was no training program.

I'm really not even mad. Every time I have an experience like this I just wonder if people like this really think their business is going to last the way they're running it.

I called Skydive Mesquite and they told me about this site. After reading all of the great reviews about them and talking to them on the phone for a while I'll be giving them a try.

So skydivers beware, Vegas Extreme is NOT the only DZ in Vegas! (and if it were, I still wouldn't go there)

(Review ID:4681)


Two jumps back to back


Vegas Extreme Skydiving Rated 5 by: jbiskit82 on 2008-04-22

Pros: People were great. great teachers!!
Cons: none

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
When I called to make a reservation I talked to Joe who ended up talking to me for 20min. helped me out with getting a log book and getting started. this was going to be my 4th jump and I wanted to learn more. Called the day before and they told me to come out earlier because it would be windy. met Brian helped me a lot with the basics. got an altimeter. went up to about 11,000 ft. which tech was about 14,000 ft above sea level. I have yet to go up to 15,000 ft. Very few places actually go that high. did 50 seconds of free fall. learn the basics checking the altitude and pulling the ripcord. did a 2nd jump for $50 off. did more training on the ground. did are free fall and did some controlled spins. Brian was very informative and helped me fill out my log book.
(Review ID:4473)


This place ripped us off on how high we went.


Vegas Extreme Skydiving Rated 1 by: tan07 on 2008-01-05

Pros: 20 minutes from Las Vegas
Cons: Didn't take us to 15,000 ft like they advertise

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
We went skydiving with Las Vegas Extreme Skydiving because they said they are the only skydiving school in las vegas that takes us all the way up to 15,000ft to get max freefall time of 60 seconds. After waiting for 4 hours before our skydive. This was not the case. I paid $199 for 1 skydive and (the sky was Blue) and we never went to 15,000ft. I saw how high we got out of there tiny airplane on my skydive masters altitude meter and it said 7000ft. I fell for maybe 15 seconds. We will never go back or tell anyone to go to this place.
(Review ID:4295)
|< < > >|

Write your own Review