Skip to Content

Dropzone : Reviews

Reviews for: Skydive Spaceland Clewiston - (Visit this link)
Average Rating = 4.67/5 Average Rating : 4.67/5

Dropzone Summary | Reviews

> >|


Review Summary:


Average Rating : Average Rating = 4.67/5
Total Reviews: 21

> Write a Review

Show: Sort:
Display:
100% Times: 1 Times: 0 Times: 1 Times: 1 Times: 18
80%
60%
40%
20%
0%
Times  1 0 1 1 18
Rating  1 2 3 4 5



Great place to socialize and make new friends


Skydive Spaceland Clewiston Rated 5 by: Sidetraak on 2012-12-26

Pros: Extremely friendly and like an extended family
Cons: None that come to mind

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
I received a tandom jump for my birthday, oh boy.
I'm hooked. One of the most interesting things that I never expected was the atmosphere that is presented there, everyone and I mean everyone was very excited to see you have a great time.
I have now enrolled in the aff courses and up to jump #5 and every time I arrive and check in I get the same welcoming feeling as I did the first time we jumped. Very experienced instructors with a couple main goals: to make sure you stay safe and to relax and have fun. This is my drop zone!

(Review ID:7759)


Highly recommended


Skydive Spaceland Clewiston Rated 5 by: nutkenz on 2012-04-15

Pros: Big open landing zones, friendly people, clear and organized
Cons: In the middle of nowhere, paying with credit card is more expensive

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
A few corrections for what they wrote in the DZ description: altitude is no higher than 13,000 feet, prices are higher if not paying in cash and by e-mail they told me they're not open on Tuesdays and Wednesdays. Also, it would be nice if they offered smaller canopies for rent. Overall, very cool dropzone though
(Review ID:7102)


For fun jumpers


Skydive Spaceland Clewiston Rated 5 by: danielcarleial on 2012-02-19

Pros: Friendly staff, great landing area.
Cons: Didn't see

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
I was away from the sport for 5 years and needed a recurency jump so a took the chance to go there. Let me tell you, from the entrance door to the aircraft everybody is friendly and helpfull. The instructor who folow my jump, Carl Smith, was the best. Nice packing area and very organazied manifest. A+
(Review ID:7019)


great dropzone - very safety conscious


Skydive Spaceland Clewiston Rated 5 by: accur8shot on 2011-10-12

Pros: Safety conscious DZ, professional staff, nice facilities
Cons: none (except a comment by some random douchebag)

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
I recently finished AFF at a DZ up North and wanted to make a couple of fun jumps while visiting South Florida.

After reading the reviews here, I decided to make the longer trip to Clewiston even though I was staying in Miami...and I am glad I did. As a student, I am trying to get as much safe, solid instruction as possible. I made a few coached jumps over a couple of visits, and the instructors assigned to me (Smitty and Shiva) gave me great feedback. Some of the things they showed me have really helped me under canopy. Only negative is that after making a landing away from my assigned LZ (unplanned), some douche asked me why I landed on 'his' LZ (the swoop LZ), and while I resisted the urge to get all NYC on him, it still sticks in my memory. Try instructing instead of bitching next time, Superman - we are all newbs at one point. Not sure if he worked at the DZ or not, so I am not holding it against the place - great time, great staff, the DZ is good to go.

Another huge plus is that they have Freak'n Suits on site, which makes great suits for a bargain, so if you want a custom-made jumpsuit, you can get measured right there.

(Review ID:6842)


Great DZ - Great People - Lots of Experienced Jumpers to Learn From


Skydive Spaceland Clewiston Rated 5 by: Dash-o on 2011-01-12

Pros: Friendly people, Lots of couches
Cons: Have to go into town to grab food -- Bring snacks

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
I completed my AFF course this summer up north in Pennsylvania and I took about 2 months off because of the winter. You can't jump as a student with high winds every day.

I extended a trip I had already planned in Florida hoping to get a couple jumps in and get back in the sky. This DZ was GREAT. All of the staff are extremely experienced and excited to teach. This was the best place I could have imagined to learn. I ended up completing my A-license requirements!

All the other jumpers I've met have been nice and have shared a ton of information. Just hanging around the DZ and asking questions has really increased my knowledge of the sport.

From the airplane you can see the massiveness of Lake Okeechobee. Its pretty cool. The DZ is surrounded by sugar can fields and its CRAZY FLAT. There's a real nice landing area and plenty of space.

I was also impressed with the tandem skydives they do. I didn't do any personally, but I witnessed a lot of people come in for them. I have to say that the staff provides a hell of a lot of customer service- including pre-tandem training and a logbook for the customers after the jump - I saw a lot of people become really interested in the sport. It was not just a rush tandem job to grab some money. I even saw some people go up for their 2nd and 3rd tandem in the same day.

I'm real glad I found this DZ. I know I have a long future ahead of me in this sport. I'm definitely gonna grab a flight from new york to come back down soon. JUMP HERE

(Review ID:6183)


Friendly DZ, large landing area


Skydive Spaceland Clewiston Rated 5 by: Racing_James_01 on 2009-10-21

Pros: Welcoming of fun-jumpers
Cons: none

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
I visited this DZ whilst on a trip down to Miami for the weekend and after reading the reviews of Skydive Miami (more focused on Tandems) it sounded like this DZ in Clewiston would be better for me as a fun-jumper (B-Lic, 100+ jumps). It was worth the 90min drive :)

I had a great time jumping here despite poor weather (low clouds and a bit of rain) and their Otter being away that day at nationals (used the C206 instead).

I stuck around and waited out the weather till it cleared in the later afternoon. This actually worked out very well for me, because the DZO, Rick, ended up putting the C206 up a few times for those that had stayed and we got 3 jumps in :) It actually was pretty cool and felt like my own private skydiving experience!

FACILITIES:
The hanger/packing area is large, carpeted and everyone was very friendly and said hi. There is a very experienced camera guy there (Ronny I think was his name) if you are interested in getting some advice. The food/grill is simple but great...fresh homemade burgers at a DZ!

LANDING AREA:
This is huge and is divided into three sections. As&Bs, Cs&Ds and high-performance. There's a beer-line separating the ABCD and the high-perf area - be warned! ;-)

RENTAL GEAR:
They have about 4 larger Student rigs and a intermediate sized PD190. They also had a PD176 sports rig + 2 other smaller rigs for rent. Rental included the pack job too.

OVERALL:
I had a lot of fun and I'll be back when I'm next down in the area for sure.

(Review ID:5437)


Started the AFF class recently


Skydive Spaceland Clewiston Rated 5 by: themike on 2009-02-24

Pros: Scheduled class on short notice, knowledgable staff
Cons: none yet

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
I had never been skydiving, but had wanted to for a long time. I called on a Friday and got signed-up for an AFF class on Sunday.

The classroom was very thorough and prepared me to jump- which I did, successfully by the end of the day. It was a soft landing, and I'm excited to pursue my A license.

The staff was friendly and supportive, the equipment seemed to be well maintained, and the location was ideal for jumping. I'd highly recommend making the drive to Clewiston to visit Air Adventures, even if this isn't the closest dropzone to your house.

(Review ID:4987)


Great place to get started!


Skydive Spaceland Clewiston Rated 5 by: TOWGunner0369 on 2008-08-05

Pros: Friendly, Professional, and just plain fun!
Cons: Addiction is inevitable.

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
I first went to Clewiston for my first tandem 10 years ago and had a great time. Three weeks ago I made my second tandem and I was hooked. Not just by the jump, but the people there are very friendly and welcoming. From the moment we arrived received first class service. Thank you all for the great AFF training and hospitality!

I look forward to becoming a major pain in the ass!!

JD

(Review ID:4690)


Nice facility with great people


Skydive Spaceland Clewiston Rated 5 by: little_sky on 2008-07-21

Pros: Courteous, welcoming staff
Cons: too far from home

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
A couple friends of mine were down in February to escape the winter weather and find some adventure in skydiving. We had a BLAST! All staff were friendly, welcoming and informative right from manifest (thank you Theresa) to the jumpers themselves (thanks goes out to John, Mikey, Smitty, Troy and T.J.). What began as one jump turned into more than a few between us. The weather was co-operative and the views were great! Jumpers were eager to share their skydiving experiences with us and make us feel welcome. I am now a student jumper working towards being a solo jumper and would greatly recommend this dropzone to anyone, newbs and experienced jumpers alike. Kudos and blue skies to everyone at Air Adventures!

Maria

(Review ID:4659)


Great Place To Jump!


Skydive Spaceland Clewiston Rated 4 by: cdcollura on 2008-03-12

Pros: Great Aircraft, Great Staff, First Time Jumpers AND Experienced all have fun!
Cons: Far From Most Populations

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
If you are a first-time jumper or experienced fun-jumper, this place is for you. Constant flux of aircraft, such as a new and fast super-otter (winter 2008) with a great staff and crowd each weekend.

Events, especially the everglades boogie (Jan 2008) were awesome. New Flight Briefing Office and skydiving center with internet access. Low prices. Go fast, be safe, and have fun!

(Review ID:4397)
> >|

Write your own Review