Skip to Content

Dropzone : Reviews

Reviews for: Skydive Dallas - (Visit this link)
Average Rating = 4.58/5 Average Rating : 4.58/5

Dropzone Summary | Reviews

> >|


Review Summary:


Average Rating : Average Rating = 4.58/5
Total Reviews: 38

> Write a Review

Show: Sort:
Display:
100% Times: 2 Times: 2 Times: 1 Times: 0 Times: 33
80%
60%
40%
20%
0%
Times  2 2 1 0 33
Rating  1 2 3 4 5



Awesome place to learn/do skydive.


Skydive Dallas Rated 5 by: sudeep on 2013-07-30

Pros: Awesome staff and Instructors.
Cons: Long drive to a gas station.

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
Don't listen to all the negative reviews about the DZ. Initially I was scared after reading them. But once I started my AFF, I gained confidence on them. Skydive Dallas has one of the best instructors! You can feel the vibe once you step the foot in there. If you need strong education and knowledge on skydiving this is the place to come. Hang out with the instructors at the DZ to learn more and more. They are willing to spend hours of time with you. Over all for me its a great experience. All other students in my AFF batch love skydive Dallas too.
(Review ID:8077)


Safety, Rides, found gear, BEER


Skydive Dallas Rated 5 by: NvyZero on 2012-12-17

Pros: Planes, staff, beer, atmosphere
Cons: None!

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
The atmosphere is full of smiles and joy! Everyone loves everyone out there. Staff, and fun jumpers alike will come up to u gear check you make sure ur safe. They will also tell u if ur being unsafe, they are looking out for you and the others in the sky with you! The staff even picks u up in a golf cart if u land sort of far away they always make sure ur gear is in good condition as well as They will find your lost canopy and free bag if u had a chop! Also they ENFORCE the beer rules, so there is always beer in the fridge and
one can buy beer 2.6miles away, also there is a bar right up the street called the "loft,"and guess who runs it? Skydivers! All in all skydive Dallas is an awesome, laid back environment, and when they see a fresh jumper they immediately want to make you feel at home! If there is a staff member around who is not currently working he will make an effort to jump with you or get you organized in a group! But the beer is the best part, the after hours debauchery is a blast every time!

(Review ID:7756)


Great drop zone


Skydive Dallas Rated 5 by: stevejones64 on 2012-06-24

Pros: No wait, big aircraft
Cons: Location

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
After reading all the great reviews I had to visit myself. Skydive Dallas has awesome facilities and aircraft. The staff were courteous, professional, and very safety conscious. I will be spending every other weekend there.
(Review ID:7370)


Full service DZ with wide open spaces and great vibes.


Skydive Dallas Rated 5 by: PirateDiver on 2012-02-24

Pros: Friendly, Wide Open, Full Service DZ
Cons: A bit of a drive from DFW.

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
I jumped at Skydive Dallas while visiting Ft. Worth last weekend. This place is amazing. The facilities are some of the best I've seen. Their plane is gorgeous and you get consistently good altitude (13.5k). The staff was helpful and friendly and I met several outgoing local fun jumpers. The landing area is wide open with plenty of outs; separate areas for hi-pro landings, great C/D area, huge student area and a "transition" area for those who want to do their own thing. I even got a super tasty ham and cheese sandwich and yummy crispy tater tots at the cafe for lunch. It is a bit of a drive from the metroplex, particularly if you're coming from the Ft. Worth side, but I thought it was well worth it.
(Review ID:7023)


everything a good DZ should be


Skydive Dallas Rated 5 by: mrfalconfixer on 2012-01-09

Pros: wide open landing areas, lots of aircraft options
Cons: drive from Ft Worth

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
Skydive Dallas is a class DZ! I was welcomed as sky-family and felt at home right away. Lots of indoor room to pack, socialize, debrief, and prep for the next jump. 2 mock ups and easy to manifest.

Will go back for sure!.

(Review ID:6987)


not open


Skydive Dallas Rated 1 by: HoldtheIce on 2011-12-28

Pros: none at all
Cons: not open then their website states they are

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Services
I flew here for my holiday vacation from Seattle. Just found out they are closed until January. The website states winter hours fri to Monday.

I just called and asked. Skydive dollar sucks!

(Review ID:6964)


Great place to fun jump, first time jump and enjoy the skydive community


Skydive Dallas Rated 5 by: Johnnyblaze161 on 2011-09-18

Pros: Facility, people, skill level, number of fun jumpers, professionalism
Cons: no beer near by,

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
I recently visited a number of DZ's of the past two weeks. After seeing how other Drop Zones are run I appreciate skydive dallas so much more. First off they foster a family environment, they care thats why they make suggestions regarding personal safety of everyone at the DZ. Every DZ let alone businesses concern is to make money but Skydive dallas provides top notch aircraft, service and gear for both fun jumpers and tandems. If they day is busy and loads are full they dedicate their otter for fun jumpers and a caravan for tandems. Most tandem factories only concern themselves with the tandems.

They have a cafe on site, showers, bunks and a trailer park. The staff lives on site so if there is a weather hold it's usually temporary and the staff is never far away.

There is no AC in the packing area but considering the amount of space they provide it would cost more than 25 per fun jump if they had AC for the packing area. So suck it up. Plenty of landing areas for all levels of canopy flight.

All and all its a great place to jump and is geared for all disciplines of skydiving. I love SKy Dive Dallas, in my mind its up there with Eloy, Perris and many other top Skydive facilities in the U.S

(Review ID:6774)


One of the most unfriendly, regimented DZ's anywhere in the world.


Skydive Dallas Rated 1 by: crazyskygirl on 2011-02-26

Pros: Huge facility, good turbine aircraft, tons of landing area on and off DZ
Cons: Everything else. Very regimented and stiff DZ. Awful for skydive tourists.

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
I've been to Skydive Dallas several times and I've yet to have a great experience like I get most anywhere else. I don't really know where to begin, so I guess I'll ramble for a bit.

I'll start with the good things...the aircraft are good, the landing areas are big (whenever you actually leave the ground), and the facilities are very nice and clean for a DZ in the middle of nowhere. Free wifi, multiple huge indoor packing areas (not climate controlled, though), pretty much the only restaurant within 15 miles in the lobby, and limited RV hookups, although I'm pretty sure they're all used by people that live on DZ.

Now, the bad...this is a very clique-ish DZ. If you didn't train with them, or you're visiting, good luck getting anyone to even acknowledge you, and I find myself to be a very outgoing person. The staff, with the exception of the packers (which are usually always the exception), don't care if you're there or not, unless you're a tandem or AFF student. They're completely inhospitable to visiting jumpers.

The weather is crappy a lot of the time. It may be clear skies, but the wind will be whipping 25+, or vice versa. I visit Dallas often, and 3/5 times I've been to Skydive Dallas, they've literally forbid me to jump because I was an outsider 'unfamiliar' with their DZ and it was 'too windy' for me, based solely on my 'unfamiliarity' with the area. News flash: it's not my first rodeo. I've got over 150 jumps and have visited at least a dozen different DZ's while on business/pleasure travel. So you drive an hour+ outside of Dallas, get geared up, ready to go, then some wiley guy comes and targets the visitor and tells you that you can't go because it's too windy. What a load of crap. It's happened to me on 3 separate visits, and I'm jumping my own gear, of course.

The location isn't very ideal for skydive tourists. It's literally out in the middle-of-nowhere, no hotels within 20 miles, no restaurants within at least 15 miles (except on the DZ), and the nearest gas station is 10 miles away. No bars or beer nearby either...so be sure and BYOB from Dallas if you plan to stay for the 'notorious nightlife'. There is a bunk room with 12 beds I think, but they tend to fill up pretty quickly on weekends.

The thing that bothers me the most about Skydive Dallas is how regimented and stiff everybody is. This isn't Eloy, DeLand, Perris, etc. Everything is so matter-of-fact and by the book, it's amazing anybody actually has fun there, unless of course you're a student forking over a pile of cash to them. I've never been to a more rigid DZ in my life. Then I found out the place is owned by a doctor...yahtzee.

I know after reading this long, primarily negative rant, you wonder why anyone would want to go here based on my review? Well, it's the only turbine DZ in the area, and closest by time. Any first timer thinks whatever DZ they jump at is the greatest DZ in the world, as is the case with many of the reviews I've read on here. Of course they'll hang the moon for the first timer...they want more of your cash. They make more money off the student then the cheap-ass licensed jumper like me. I think DZ reviews are very skewed in that aspect. So to the first timer, enjoy your jump, get licensed, have a long, prosperous career in skydiving, but PLEASE visit other DZ's and drink the Kool-Aid. Once you do, you'll know exactly why I have such disdain for this DZ, although it's the most viable option near Dallas.

(Review ID:6248)


Awesome place for first timers!


Skydive Dallas Rated 5 by: MikeLane on 2010-11-01

Pros: Very experienced friendly staff, Quality equipment
Cons: It's not Hawaii?? (Had to place something in field)

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
I just took my first skydive! VERY friendly, experienced instructors. One of them had his 1000th dive of the year just prior to going up with my crew. The facility is very large, clean and organized. This is a great place to learn. I've already prepaid for my next dive. Thanks Skydive Dallas!!!
(Review ID:6089)


Skydive Dallas is my Favorite


Skydive Dallas Rated 5 by: sschinde on 2010-09-07

Pros: World class staff, training, atmosphere
Cons: None

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
You can't beat the training program, the staff, and the atmosphere. Professional and friendly. My favorite dz.
(Review ID:5982)
> >|

Write your own Review