Skip to Content

Dropzone : Reviews

Reviews for: Virginia Skydiving Center - (Visit this link)
Average Rating = 5.00/5 Average Rating : 5.00/5

Dropzone Summary | Reviews

> >|


Review Summary:


Average Rating : Average Rating = 5.00/5
Total Reviews: 11

> Write a Review

Show: Sort:
Display:
100% Times: 0 Times: 0 Times: 0 Times: 0 Times: 11
80%
60%
40%
20%
0%
Times  0 0 0 0 11
Rating  1 2 3 4 5



Very nice DZ for everybody


Virginia Skydiving Center Rated 5 by: Flo1704 on 2013-05-19

Pros: Nice Staff, great plane, good facilities
Cons: -

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
Arrived in Virginia in the beginning of November 12 for an extended business trip (6 months) from Germany. Found this location and made nearly 100 jumps. Really nice Drop Zone with a fast King Air, C-182s and a big landing area. Vibe was great due to the fact that all are really nice. Everybody was integrated very fast and I liked the way how they teach and treat students and outside licensed skydivers. You can jump with larger RW formations as well as FF guys of every experience level. They asked all the time if I want to join groups. Learned a lot from these guys. DZ Owner Jim Crouch is one of USPA´s safety directors. He ensures with his experienced team that everything´s running smooth. DZ organization by Sherry is awesome - she organizes lunch from a nearby Italian restaurant every day and controls the manifest. All year weekend operated DZ. On Fridays they start at 1400. Just next to the DZ is a big campground. 6 miles north of VSC is Petersburg with Hotels and Motels. Jump Tickets are 26$ for full altitude and 19$ for Hop&Pops. Overall great DZ!
(Review ID:7919)


Very welcoming and knowledgable.


Virginia Skydiving Center Rated 5 by: Gunner138 on 2012-12-05

Pros: Staff
Cons: None

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
VSC is hands down the best DZ in VA! Between the staff and the atmosphere there is no reason to go anyplace else. I made my first jump with them at West Point and it was life changing. All that knowledge and good vibes moved right along to Petersburg. Their main goal is pretty evident from the moment you arrive: To give you a safe and fun experience, every time. Highly recommended. Blue Skies!
(Review ID:7742)


Clean large indoor packing area. Friendly staff


Virginia Skydiving Center Rated 5 by: Amyr on 2012-12-03

Pros: Very safe enviroment. Super friendly staff
Cons: porta john bathroom

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
Other then my home drop zone this is the only other drop zone I have visited where they actually inspect and check your rig and license both. The manifest was friendly and thorough. I immediately felt better about the quality and safety of myself and the facilities and equipment of the drop zone. I was taking a 2 day canopy class while visiting this drop zone and was made to feel welcomed and as part of the crowd right off the bat. The packing area was clean and the packers very friendly and helpful the area around well maintained. This drop zone is owned by Jim Crouch who was training Aff jumpers. I was amazed that not only does he work his butt off the entire time he packs his own rig as well. I was invited with the group to eat at a near by restaurant after jumping for the day. And welcomed back. Although this is not the closest drop zone to me. If something was to happen to my own drop zone I would make VSC my new home drop zone.
(Review ID:7736)


Great small DZ


Virginia Skydiving Center Rated 5 by: Nealeod on 2012-03-31

Pros: Great staff attitude
Cons: Manifest/load organizers slightly disorganized

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
Started off slow due to weather, but got a few lifts on the caravan. Great plane and well maintained. The pilot was super cool and competent. No resturaunt on site however, the staff ordered food from local resturaunts. No skygods just fun jumpers and tandems. Come to VSC and jump.
(Review ID:7079)


Excellent overall DZ


Virginia Skydiving Center Rated 5 by: Ericbabcock on 2012-01-11

Pros: Vibe, landing area, aircraft
Cons: No restaurant on dz, but some close by.

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
Great vibes, get to jump with Carol Clay, manifest is friendly, no skygod mentality, nice landing area, Grand Caravan is roomy and quite, nice campground close by.
(Review ID:6989)


Great place, great people, excellent skydivers


Virginia Skydiving Center Rated 5 by: jumperterry on 2012-01-06

Pros: Extremely friendly, fun-loving people and great skydivers
Cons: No onsite clubhouse or camping

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
I moved to VA in 2001 after many years of jumping in Pa and Ohio. When I finally made it down to West Point I knew I was home. I feel the same about VSC. You have no problem hooking up with fun jumpers immediately. Can't beat the fact that USPA's Safety and Training Advisor runs the VSC school. The instructors are top notch! The landing area is HUGE. The plane is beautiful. I worked there as an AFF instructor and loved it. I would highly recommend VSC to any jumper.
(Review ID:6981)


Whether you are looking to make your first jump as a tandem or AFF or to jump with experienced jumpe


Virginia Skydiving Center Rated 5 by: ptrcmrnd on 2012-01-05

Pros: Aircraft (Cessna Caravan), big landing area, big packing area, great people, great restaurant nearby, camping ground, sa
Cons: No shower on site

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
Whether you are looking to make your first jump as a tandem or AFF, or to jump with experienced jumpers, this is the DZ to go to in VA.

VSC is a brand new DZ in VA with promising expansion when the season starts in 2012. It began operating in October 2011 when the season was starting to wind down. Now it has been building up to prepare for its grand opening on Memorial Day 2012. Even as it settles down in the new location, the DZ is amazing: fantastic aircraft (Cessna Caravan), big landing area, big packing area, great restaurant nearby (Giuseppe's!), camping ground, and, most importantly, an amazing group of instructors, coaches and experienced jumpers to jump with. The DZ is more than welcoming to jumpers no matter the experience level. Students will find experienced instructors and coaches at VSC with dedication and passion second to none. Can't miss VSC in VA!

(Review ID:6980)


New location of a famous and large drop zone


Virginia Skydiving Center Rated 5 by: CLWDDNCR on 2012-01-05

Pros: Beautiful drop zone with very experienced instructors.
Cons: This drop zone can become very addictive.

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
Virginia Skydiving Center is actually the new location of a large and famous drop zone, Skydive The Point that has been in existence for many years. All of the instructors and jumpers have migrated here, most with many thousands of jumps. Just one of our women alone has made over 16,000 jumps, Carol Clay who we call "The Queen", and our primary load organizer among others, for experienced jumpers. The drop zone is operated in person by the National Director of Safety and Training for the United States Parachute Association which all drop zones belong to. Needless to say, you can't find a safer place to jump. The instructors all have many thousands of jumps with students and have one of the highest rates of return students who go on to become experienced skydivers. The drop zone also has what is considerd the perfect aircraft for jumping, an almost new 14 passenger twin turboprop Caravan. One jump here and you are considered "family". You won't find a more friendly and caring bunch of experienced skydivers anywhere ready to help you anytime. They make this adventure something to enjoy the rest of your life with many friends.
(Review ID:6978)


The only place I plan on jumping in Va!


Virginia Skydiving Center Rated 5 by: woppyvac on 2012-01-05

Pros: Great Folks, Great Airport, Great Time!
Cons: Really can't think of any.

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
This is the newest / oldest DZ in Va. The school and club moved from West Point to Dinwiddie near the end of last year and, true to form, have again established themselves as the safest and best run drop zone out there! I'm a fun jumper who started jumping when they were at West Point and now gladly trek the extra distance to jump with them at Dinwiddie -- It's worth it!!! I've done roughly 25 jumps at VSC out of either the Caravan (this thing is clean with a Large Door) or the 182 Cessna. The landing area is very large and would take a bit of doing to land off, the packing area is rubber matted, music is normally on, and they keep making new additions to the building every time I journey out to keep their students and jumpers comfortable and happy. I'm proud to claim it as my home DZ and encourage jumpers - new and old - to make it theirs as well! Blue Skies!
(Review ID:6977)


Great people great location


Virginia Skydiving Center Rated 5 by: time2jmp on 2012-01-05

Pros: Close to Richmond, swoop pond, big landing area
Cons: none that i could see

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
from the second you arrive to the time you leave the people make this place the best! The landing area is big, the plane is in new condition, you can even land and swoop a pond!! Picture Lake Campground is just a mile away and they allow you to swoop their pond and it is a great place to have a bon fire and stay for the night.


(Review ID:6976)
> >|

Write your own Review