Skip to Content

Dropzone : Reviews

Reviews for: A Skydive Andes - paracaidismo en Chile - (Visit this link)
Average Rating = 4.43/5 Average Rating : 4.43/5

Dropzone Summary | Reviews

> >|


Review Summary:


Average Rating : Average Rating = 4.43/5
Total Reviews: 14

> Write a Review

Show: Sort:
Display:
100% Times: 2 Times: 0 Times: 0 Times: 0 Times: 12
80%
60%
40%
20%
0%
Times  2 0 0 0 12
Rating  1 2 3 4 5



Totally recommendable DZ


A Skydive Andes - paracaidismo en Chile Rated 5 by: Tianmei on 2016-05-07

Pros: Super friendly staff, professionalism, great facilities
Cons: Couldn't stay longer....

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
I spent 3 days in this DZ. The staff is very helpful and friendly. This is mainly due to the DT of the zone Bubba, super fun, and professional guy.
Landing zone is super large, so no big issue. Facilities are great. Pool, cafeteria, we had asado at night. Packing is very quick.
Note that this is a very windy DZ. Was several times on hold for students.

(Review ID:9032)


Prepare to be ignored and deal with people in bad mood


A Skydive Andes - paracaidismo en Chile Rated 1 by: robertobado on 2016-03-27

Pros: The view is beautiful
Cons: Unprofessional staff, lack of infrastrucutre

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
When visiting their website, I noticed there is no decent information about this zone, services or how to get there. This is the general feeling of the whole experience.
After trying to call their phone a couple times - with no response - I decided to try a secondary mobile number, where I talked to Fabian, very briefly as he would tell me to text him instead.
When texting, I was completely ignored most of the time, I would send several messages, he would read them (as I received confirmed read check on my side) but totally ignore them or sometimes answer partially one out of five questions I would pose. Repeating the question or trying to kindly ask for someone else's contact did not result in any response either.

To get there you must go to Estacion Central, and get a bus called Rutabus 78 and ask the driver to help you jump out in a side road restaurant in the middle of nowhere called Barbarella. There is no sign or instructions from there. You gotta trust your location skills to figure out where the zone is by google map (if you are lucky enough to get some signal there), cross the highway at road level and walk yourself through some crop fields (it is as bad as it reads...) to get there.

Once there, forget about feeling welcome. Even there nobody knows nothing and keep pushing you to each other like you are a burden and they are doing you a huge favor when assisting you.

After facing all the weird faces I could get when they realized I was a foreigner, they insisted I would not be allowed to jump solo unless I would take a coaching/checking jump with another instructor, but when I agreed to that, they said they couldn't help me because there were no instructors available and blamed me for not getting in touch with them before (which I tried to do for one week of no responses and being ignored).

The only actual decent help I could get was from the brazilian pilot Bruna Ploner, which was very kind to try to convince one instructor to help me and also explained me all the technical details about the zone.

Their equipment is good but there is only one skydiving company there (Skydive Andes itself), and the monopoly won't let them face it as a business so they really lack the willing to help others.
There is only one airplane and depending on the day, very few athletes. If there is not enough people to fill a plane, the area shuts down. The day I went there were merely 3 launches all day and then they announced it would be shutdown due to lack of athletes for the day.

Unless you really must for some greater force jump here, I would advice you to don't. Skydiving should be a fun and happy activity but that's not what you will find here. If you insist, get ready to deal with bad mood and bring an extra supply of patience.

(Review ID:9005)


Quite nice dropzone which is reachable by bus within 60 minutes from Santiago


A Skydive Andes - paracaidismo en Chile Rated 5 by: xerofun on 2012-12-04

Pros: Very nice dropzone and great view
Cons: No insurance available for rental equipment in case of a cut away, not really easy to get to and almost no feedback on e

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
I'm a solo jumper. This drop zone is a charm once you are there and sky diving is going on. It's just hard to find, if you are not from around there and there's no information about which days there is sky diving going on. In case you are going to jump there: Friday the manifest is there from around 2pm and once enough sky divers are there, the first load is going, which was around 4pm when I was there. Saturday and Sundays are quite croweded, the rest of the week there's no sky diving.

Before getting there, I tried to reach these guys via email and even tried a spanish translation via google translate, which should be understandable, even if it's not perfect. I only got one mail back not even answering a single of my questions just saying something like "we looking forward to meeting you" and that's it. When I got to Chile I send another few emails to ask these questions, but none of them ever got responded.

So I just took the chance and drove there with my rental car on a Thursday. The Canadian Pilot was the only one there showing me around and telling me everything I needed to know.

Be careful when renting equipment. It's quite solid and they have AADs. On my fourth jump I had a cut away, because of what seemed to be a packing mistake (line throwover). I didn't pack the parachute my self, but let it handle an experienced packer. There's no insurance, so anything lost when you have a cut away, you will have to pay in full. Luckily with some help we found the missing free bag on the second day in the crop field next to the drop zone, so I had to pay nothing.

The staff is very nice and helpful. Some do speak english, like Macarena at the manifest.

The plane is an experimental one, built out of a kit. You will have to sign a 5 page liability waiver, which also has information about the plane, so you know what you are up to.

(Review ID:7739)


A must do DZ!!


A Skydive Andes - paracaidismo en Chile Rated 5 by: johngrant on 2012-01-08

Pros: Quick plane, well run, plenty of kit to hire, amazing views
Cons: little hard to get to

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
Nice little dz set around the mountains. They were very good with information when I emailed, and when I turned up were very professional and friendly. Good DZ orientation and brief. Plenty of kit to hire, in various sizes. Canteen and bunk house. They even tried to move me up the manifest as I was only there for one day (which they did) plenty of free flyers more than happy for you to jump with them too. Perfect
(Review ID:6984)


NOT RECCOMENT


A Skydive Andes - paracaidismo en Chile Rated 1 by: stellino74 on 2011-03-24

Pros: BAD
Cons: BAD

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
Very unpolite person, so cold..And if you jump one day time it's ok, but if you wanna jump again you have to pay 250.000 pesos for a club card where you don't no about that more 150.000 pesos for year...It's not a true jump club like every part of world. IT'S NOT A GOLF CLUB...
(Review ID:6281)


Just a Perfect Drop Zone


A Skydive Andes - paracaidismo en Chile Rated 5 by: Kucri on 2010-12-01

Pros: Great People, Fast Plane, the best pilot ever, Lot of fun, really pro instructors.
Cons: Nothing really important.

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
This is a great drop zone, with 7,5 hectares of green grass and a good packing area. You can jump waching the pacifico and andes at the same time. close to the Capital, Santiago, have a good weather during almost all year round. the people is friendly and the instructors have a ton of experience.

if you are in Chile this is the dropzone you must be.


(Review ID:6132)


One amazing DZ, good facilities, great people, nice jumpship.


A Skydive Andes - paracaidismo en Chile Rated 5 by: Navarrete7 on 2010-05-19

Pros: Great People. Beautiful DZ. Amazing Sunset Jumps! Excellent Weather.
Cons: None.

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
"Los Cuatro Diablos" airfield in Chiñihue, Chile, better known as Skydive Andes is one awesome DZ. The people are very friendly and accommodating. It has a beautiful grass strip runway with no other traffic around. Close to Santiago and the beaches it provides for some amazing sunset jumps, with the sun setting on the Pacific and the Andean Mountain ranges seemingly lit on fire towards the east. They've got plenty of gear to rent if need be. Their jump ship has got one of the coolest paint jobs around too... If you are ever in Chile you've got to hit these guys up! They've got a great thing going down there.
(Review ID:5717)


Great place to go


A Skydive Andes - paracaidismo en Chile Rated 5 by: sguzmana on 2009-03-18

Pros: Incredible place
Cons: not many people yet

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
Well the best dropzone in south america.
Good vibes, incredible view, excellent plane (very good pilot), very close to Santiago....what else can I say.
Fairly new facilities, good food!!!!
I think very soon we will hear about this place more often . Locals are very friendly and dropzone management will help you in knowing the place and with any safety question you might have. It is not very crowded yet. It is more like a small well manage operation, than a big industrial dropzone, so you might feel like in the old times, with a manifest writen on a white board, and that kid of staff.
If you come to south america, you have to stop by this place.

(Review ID:5033)


Amazing!!!!!!


A Skydive Andes - paracaidismo en Chile Rated 5 by: Skylais on 2008-12-03

Pros: People is super friendly
Cons: Can’t think of one

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
The drop zone is amazing!!! The scenery is breath taking, and while you’re on the plane you can see the Andes, the city and the coast, that’s just priceless.
Plus Chile has so much to offer, that this destination should be a must in your travel list!

(Review ID:4908)


El mejor DZ que conozco


A Skydive Andes - paracaidismo en Chile Rated 5 by: Seba2 on 2008-09-22

Pros: Cuando comienzas a saltar, ya no puedes parar.
Cons: todo bien

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
Es un DZ increíble, gente muy simpática y el nivel es muy bueno. Puedes hacer freefly o lo que quieras y siempre hay gente para saltar contigo. El manifest maneja todo muy bien y muy rápido, puedes saltar todo lo que quieras, además es muy buena onda. el avión es una bala y más encima tiene puerta, te vas conversando tranquilamente y en 10 minutos ya estas saltando. Mucha comida, saltos. Todo perfecto.
(Review ID:4790)
> >|

Write your own Review