Skip to Content

Dropzone : Reviews

Reviews for: Headcorn Parachute Club - (Visit this link)
Average Rating = 2.79/5 Average Rating : 2.79/5

Dropzone Summary | Reviews

> >|


Review Summary:


Average Rating : Average Rating = 2.79/5
Total Reviews: 42

> Write a Review

Show: Sort:
Display:
100% Times: 12 Times: 8 Times: 4 Times: 13 Times: 5
80%
60%
40%
20%
0%
Times  12 8 4 13 5
Rating  1 2 3 4 5



Disappointing, high prices, dull vibe, no customer services, grumpy leadership, bad organisation.


Headcorn Parachute Club Rated 3 by: Skullface1 on 2014-03-31

Pros: Good Instructors - Del, Simon, Yanis, Peter Sizer
Cons: Ridiculous prices, stupidly long waits, BAD customer services, Jane hopkins (Managing Director), the organisation day.

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
Hi,

We have just had our first mayor experience with the headcorn skydiving club. We chose the static line parachute course. We are both very disappointed with how this place is run. We are very easy going people and we don't need 5 star service, just a fair and decent service.

So where shall we begin.....

Firstly, arranging the training, booking, etc. took our money without any problems. When we tried to call to ask some questions, we got a moody lady, who was quite rude, abrupt, obnoxious and a bit patronising. It turns out this was Jane Hopkins the MD. (We've never jumped out of a plane before Jane, and spending over 500 for us to both do it, obviously we had a few simple questions. Rudeness was not needed!!)

We did our training, which we felt was very good. The next day went to do the jump. First names on the board. Arrived at 08:30 when they said to arrive. Waited til 09:30 before anyone even showed up!! Then waited all day, only to be told weather conditions where to bad to jump that day. Fair enough, british weather hey.

So we went back 2 weeks later, 1h30mins drive each way, 4 kids on board with us, my mum so that the kids could be watched while we went up and picnic food for all of us because the cafe there is completely overpriced, small meals, food isn't even decent. Just a rip off. Made it even worse that the 2 ladies behind the counter where just moody and had no customer services!!! So we finally arrived at 10:00am. Got told we were late so would have to wait for our revision training and that could be anytime in the day!!! Fair enough. Ended up waiting til around 4pm before we jumped. Funny that we couldn't do our revision training, which took all of 10 minutes, even though loads of staff where sat around chatting and doing loads of jumps thereselves!!! Staff never came over to let us know what was going on. We had to find them to ask what was going on. When we did, we felt like they were just annoyed by our questions and recieved obnoxious, patronising answers!!!

The vibe seems to be carried on from the top leaders of the centre down. Jane hopkins is not a very happy person. Didn't seem happy to help. No customer services at all!! Other staff seem to adapt the same abrupt attitude when she was around as well!! We felt that this creates and continues to create a dull vibe at the centre. We kept feeling like we where just an annoyance to the main staff.

The tannoy system that they use to let customers know what is going on, is very quiet and doesn't cover the whole of the skydiving areas. How are you meant to know what is going on if you can't hear it.

Finally the most positive things about this place are just a few of the instructors and some of the other skydivers who where there or on our course!! The four instructor that really played a positive part in our experience at headcorn where Del (good sense of humour, good bloke), Simon (new instructor, very good guy), Yanis (had a lot of good chats with him) and Peter (saw us out the plane and made us feel safe beforehand).

It's a shame that this place is run like this. It has some good potential, nice location, interesting history, but the way it is run, the prices, the attitude of the higher staff, the organisation and the moody vibe REALLY lets this place down. No need to keep people waiting this long or treating like this. A bit of politeness and patience would go a very long way at this place!!!

Finally, have to say that Del's jokes gave us a few good laughs.

(Review ID:8398)


Ruined experience


Headcorn Parachute Club Rated 2 by: PearlP on 2014-03-23

Pros: The instructors are brilliant
Cons: Lack of management

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
So we all head off in 3 cars to watch my Daughter do a tandem skydive for Help 4 Heroes. Arriving after my Daughter had been for her briefing , everyone waited in the overpriced canteen, the girls behind the counter need some customer service skills and they really need to reduce the prices. 7 hours & well over 100 ( spent in canteen on food for the children & drinks, 9 of us made the journey but only the children ate)we finally got to see the event. At no point did anyone give any information without us going to look for them. The tv boards could & should give better information & to be honest we were all ( including my Daughter) a little deflated by the time it all happened. I can honestly say that I would not recommend this venue, the management & canteen staff need to shape up & recognise that people who are doing this for charity have choices & will choose to go elsewhere. Having said that I would recommend the instructors who were marvellous & recognised how special it was for those taking part.
(Review ID:8388)


325, 4 months later and still nothing


Headcorn Parachute Club Rated 1 by: execdetailing on 2012-11-29

Pros: The Grass
Cons: Manager, Waiting, Over Priced Cafe

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
SHOCKING! RUBBISH!!Booked this in for the 6th August 2012, Waited ALL day, don't even try say first come first serve as I was the first person in your office, From my judgement the people whom purchase the 150 DVD got first priority! 4pm came and still waiting like a div. NO ONE came and spoke to us so me and the others waiting like lemons had to approach a member of staff and ask what was happening. Was told the weather was to bad to jump.Fair point as safety is paramount. So after spending a whole day with the family which included 2 kids under 5 spending money in the well over priced cafe I got the option to re book at the next available date. 24th November, Weather was bad so I called the centre at 08:00 no answer, Ok I'll wait till after 09:00 again no answer! left 3 messages for Jane the director/manager to call back. No response. Calling all this week and called numerous times today, yep you guessed it, No answer! Emailed, No answer. OK, these must be closed down? Called the Headcorn Areodrome who confirmed that they was in and that they are alive. So obviously ignoring my calls. Called Virgin who again tried to call them whilst I was on hold and yep, they to got no answer. Looks like once they have redeemed your voucher for 325.00 they don't give a.... Please don't waste your time and money on these lot. Not the first bad review either by the looks of things. Don't go down the same route guys. Stay well away!!!
(Review ID:7733)


Great time


Headcorn Parachute Club Rated 5 by: pugwash42 on 2012-09-10

Pros: Convienient and friendly
Cons: booking agents

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
Completely different experience to other review, in spite of the booking agent giving me the wrong information, and giving the skydive centre even less, the lady manager promised to sort it all out whilst we had our briefing, and she duly did and we jumped and had a great time. Thanks to all the staff and jumpers.
(Review ID:7606)


The Manager here is a disgrace!


Headcorn Parachute Club Rated 2 by: chloegoodhew on 2012-08-29

Pros: the hungarian instructor
Cons: The service

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
I brought a tandem jump for us both as a special birthday present for my husband.

After visiting the place once we were not able to jump because of the bad weather which was fair enough We were told we had 6 months to complete another one and that in the weekdays they are quiet so we would be able to phone up that day if the weather is nice to arrange to come down. All good so far.

Unfortunately ,the day after my father in law was diagnosed with cancer and later on passed away. Not being a priority of ours we didn't think to re schedule our jump until 5 months after. When we phoned up to book our preferred date (about 2 weeks later) we were told that they were full up and we would have to pay another 100 to jump after our 6 months were up.

I explain the situation to the manager, I asked her if she could be sympathetic to the situation and to imagine how someone might not prioritize arranging a sky jump just after there father had passed away, or even they would not even feel like doing a sky jump.

She replied " I did a sky dive 2 days after my father passed away, as that would have been what he wanted, you have had 5 months to re schedule". I was so shocked and hurt by this reply I didn't know what to say!

I also asked her about the misleading information that they are quiet in the weekdays and she said "yes we are in March". this was not the information we were given (she didn't care).
She was very un polite in explaining all of this and at no point did she apologise or try to understand, they way she dealt with me was unbelievable.

By reading the other reviews I don't know how the people here still have their jobs, they are losing customer and I would never go back or recommend as the MANAGER IS A DISGRACE AND EXTREMELY RUDE.

(Review ID:7580)


Thanks Headcorn


Headcorn Parachute Club Rated 4 by: Nevige on 2011-05-15

Pros: Very friendly, Nice landing area, Good Scenery, Good canteen and packing area
Cons: None

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
Went to Headcorn as its my local DZ and been going to Spain to jump the last couple of months. I did not expect the welcome I got there it was great I got four jumps in on Saturday and could have done more and that was with a lot of cloudcover delaying jumps. Thanks to Chris for the DZ brief, julie for sorting my admin and Dell for packing for me. I will def be jumping at Headcorn again very friendly jumpers. Blue Skies
(Review ID:6399)


Go anywhere else, even if it means a long drive


Headcorn Parachute Club Rated 1 by: jumper2020 on 2011-02-27

Pros: It's the only one in the South East
Cons: Loooong wait, rude staff, etc, etc

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
This is a really awful dropzone. I have been to a lot and it really is the worst.

Some of the staff are okay, but others are very unfriendly. They absolutely love being officious as well - just to show you who's boss.

One other bad aspect is the very long wait time. I commonly wait 2.5 or 3 hours for one jump. Very tedious.

Might as well drive a little while longer and go to a decent DZ.

(Review ID:6249)


Well managed friendly dropzone


Headcorn Parachute Club Rated 5 by: The-Kevster on 2011-01-16

Pros: Great staff, great jumpers, great vibe.
Cons: Controlled airspace

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
I completed my AFF at Headcorn last year and have been jumping every other weekend since. The site is well managed with great facilities including a new shower block and revamped accommodation. The regulars are friendly and always willing to help as is the staff.

I would highly recommend Headcorn to anyone who wants to learn to skydive, have fun with other experienced jumpers or visit while away from their local DZ.

(Review ID:6189)


Convienient, good kit, friendly people.


Headcorn Parachute Club Rated 5 by: rocky42 on 2010-10-28

Pros: easy to get to
Cons: can be busy

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
I went to buy an altimeter, popped into the office, had docs checked and introduced to the chief instructor, who showed me round and then found myself on a load - 'cos there was a slot'
I was about to leave when the tannoy said there was a slot on the next lift and although the rig I had hired was not packed, they let me use its identical twin - I had to go then due to family, but went back for more of the same the next day..
If you are near Kent give it a go, you may be pleasantly surprised.

(Review ID:6084)


The worlds famous "Worst DZ on the planet"


Headcorn Parachute Club Rated 1 by: gnasher70 on 2010-04-11

Pros: The only DZ in the South East . But that doesn't mean you should go there.
Cons: Exceptionally socially dysfunctional staff, bad vibe, long waits,expensive, depressing , run down, ancient staff.

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location

I did my first jump here ages ago and have been back and forth on occasion just to see if it got any better. In the 17 yrs I have known the place its just got worse as the staff get more and more ancient and grumpy every year. They have no idea of customer care and I guess they think they don't need any as they charge what they like and the one off tandems who don't know until its too late keep rolling up back and keep them in business. If another DZ opened in the South East this place would fold overnight. I tried to talk a friend out of doing a tandem here and he went ahead and jumped. What should have been one of his most exciting and memorable days of his life was ruined by obnoxious, rude and unsympathetic inefficient staff. Please don't give these guys your well earned money. There are so many better DZ's around where you will be welcomed. Its worth the extra travel. If you have a good time here and for some weird reason enjoy the non existent social scene then you are very very much the exception. This place should be avoided at all costs. Oh check out the safety record too. Enough said. STAY AWAY!

(Review ID:5656)
> >|

Write your own Review