Skip to Content

Dropzone : Reviews

Reviews for: Kapowsin Air Sports - (Visit this link)
Average Rating = 4.60/5 Average Rating : 4.60/5

Dropzone Summary | Reviews

> >|


Review Summary:


Average Rating : Average Rating = 4.60/5
Total Reviews: 20

> Write a Review

Show: Sort:
Display:
100% Times: 1 Times: 0 Times: 1 Times: 2 Times: 16
80%
60%
40%
20%
0%
Times  1 0 1 2 16
Rating  1 2 3 4 5



THE dropzone to go to in the Seattle area


Kapowsin Air Sports Rated 5 by: agaace on 2015-06-29

Pros: Friendly vibe, chill, world class jumpers, wingsuit friendly
Cons: Could be closer to Seattle

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
This is THE DZ most Seattle area jumpers choose, for a few reasons:
+ good balance between tandems & sport jumpers
+ the best fleet in area (caravan + otter + 182)
+ huge LZ, so you can land a bit further if you don't like the traffic or you're not comfortable cross wind landing
+ nice indoor packing area
+ very inclusive, all disciplines welcome, including wingsuits
+ no canopy size restrictions
+ some of the best skydivers/ws pilots in the sport
+ chill atmosphere, no unnecessary, overly-restrictive rules
+ jumpers of all levels welcome
+ excellent AFF program
+ lots of real talent there (majority of the experienced Seattle jumpers jump there)
+ friendly to novice jumpers - regular belly coaching/load organizing for those fresh off AFF (big kudos for that!)
+ excellent canopy classes with some of the world's best skydivers
+ annual boogie (or two)
+ nice big screen for video debrief of your jumps
+ food onsite
+ nice gear store with everything you need

(Review ID:8806)


A top class DZ.


Kapowsin Air Sports Rated 5 by: DrRead on 2015-06-07

Pros: Aircraft, Organization, Possibilities.
Cons: Weather and a bit of a drive from Seattle.

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
I came here on vacation and did 4 jumps. I didn't stay long enough to get to know many people but everyone seemed very nice. I can see potential to progress should one utilize this facility as their home DZ. Lots of wingsuiters which was good to see. World class talent here also. Well organized so lots of loads in a day is possible as long as the weather holds up. A bit of a drive from Seattle but worth it!
(Review ID:8789)


Awesome place. Friendly, knowledgeable staff. The view!!! Wow.


Kapowsin Air Sports Rated 5 by: rheacock on 2012-11-26

Pros: VERY experienced staff. Family run business, very cool place.
Cons: They could move closer to my home!

I have nothing to compare them to, this is the only DZ I've been to, but here is our experience:

My wife has MS and spends the day in a power chair, but when she was able, she was a bit of a daredevil. For her birthday, I called Kapowsin and asked if they could take her on a tandem. I explained her abilities and requirements, they said "No Problem! We'll take care of her!" They did just that. She went with one of the Red Bull Seattle Skydiver's! Since then, my son and I have been working on our AFF. We attended their recent Halloween party, quite the shindig! Now it's wet Washington winter, but whenever it's clear, we make the trek to Shelton!

(Review ID:7732)


Very lax atmosphere, good peeps, highly recommend


Kapowsin Air Sports Rated 4 by: airathanas on 2012-05-14

Pros: Turbine aircraft, spectacular views, big packing area, big landing area, great vibe, onsite food
Cons: No mainfest calls, no 2 min, hardly any outs, slow pace

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
I jumped at Skydive Kapowsin while in on a business trip. The people are super friendly and the vibe is great overall. People were helpful from my arrival and I immediately got on some 10 ways. The views from up top are beautiful and scenic! They are based out of a huge hanger. Lots of packing space and a huge landing area. There is an onsite ATM and a snack bar (cash only). Cheeto was organizing and I was welcomed to jump on some 10 ways. They have a huge, fully stocked beer fridge. I was a little surprised at how lax they were though. No calls for the loads, no 2 min warning. Manifesting was signing up on a piece of paper on a clipboard. No red light; just cut and go without checking the spot. Still, I would jump there again in heart beat and I really recommend it.
(Review ID:7186)


Spectacular views of Mt Rainier and St Helens at this very visitor-friendly dropzone.


Kapowsin Air Sports Rated 5 by: 198rock on 2010-07-29

Pros: Multiple jump aircraft available, shuttle to/from huge landing and loading area, food on site, lots of space in the plan
Cons: Washing State clouds in the morning; lots of jumping in the afternoons and evenings

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
While visiting Washington State, I had the opportunity to jump at Kapowsin. Wow, once the clouds burned off, the skies were very clear all afternoon and evening making for fast turn-around between loads in their Caravan and Twin Otters. A very friendly staff, restaurant at the DZ, on-site massage therapist, huge indoor carpeted packing area, gargantuan landing area, riggers and packers available... I even got to do water training at the end of a jumping day on short notice. Oh, and $23 for 13.5 kicks butt. Thanks, Skydive Kapowsin, I'll jump again if I'm ever in the area. Highly recommended if you're in the Seattle/Olympia area.
(Review ID:5865)


pissed off


Kapowsin Air Sports Rated 1 by: armlessassasin on 2010-04-19

Pros: scenery
Cons: policies

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
I purchased a tandem dive online. I drove down from seattle but the dive was canceled due to clouds rolling in. I rescheduled. The second time I got the harness on and the wind picked up too high for me to jump.

Frustrated and down 50 bucks worth of gas I asked for my money back only to find THEY DON'T GIVE REFUNDS, for any reason, under any situation. I'd recommend somewhere with more reliable weather and management willing to indulge exceptions. My 2 cents.

(Review ID:5671)


must go when you are in the area


Kapowsin Air Sports Rated 5 by: re2007 on 2010-03-12

Pros: Great staff ,lots of talent, very friendly
Cons: western Washington weather

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
I made two AFF jumps there when I was a student.The staff were very friendly,and extremely thorough.It was a great learning expierience.I have since gone elsewere,but I have returned several times.The DZ is a great place,and the people are very tallented.I would probably go there all the time, but I've made some good friends at another dropzone.You can't beet the facility,planes at Kapowsin. I hope to jump there again soon.
(Review ID:5617)


Rain or Shine it's great all the time!


Kapowsin Air Sports Rated 5 by: tasmanianjumper on 2009-06-29

Pros: Great Staff, Gear, and Facilities
Cons: Rain Rain Go Away!

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
Over at Sanderson Airfield in Shelton, WA Kapowsin Air Sports / Skydive Kapowsin delivers! There are great facilities and outstanding staff! The only somewhat of a Bummer is the rain (but being a Native Washingtonian we are used to these things) and even so there a PLENTY of knowledgeable folks there and plenty of good times to be had in the Hanger (in case of rain delay). Family owned and operated. If you are not from their family they will welcome you like family anyways.

1-800-SKY-DIVE

(Review ID:5206)


Great place to jump! Lots of Fun!


Kapowsin Air Sports Rated 5 by: PuyallupChick on 2008-07-18

Pros: Great instructors, beautiful view!
Cons: None really!

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
I did my first tandem jump here and it was a great experience! It seemed like there were a ton of people there, but the people at Kapowsin really kept it flowing. There was always an airplane zipping up to the hanger and loading up so people could jump pretty quickly without a long wait. It seemed like there were people spread out all over the packing area, but again, it seemed to work well and everyone had enough space so no complaints. Everyone there seemed really friendly and happy. The "class" before my tandem jump was REALLY quick and simple yet informative. The instructor and my videographer were really nice and seemed like they really wanted me to have fun, which I did! My only negative comment is when I e-mailed Kapowsin before I made reservations there, I got very short, bare minimum responses back. I do understand that they are busy, but I have also e-mailed 2 other drop zones and they have been much more helpful and friendly in their responses. My thought is, if I *had* been on the fence about jumping at Kapowsin, had I received their short responses I would not have been influenced to jump there because I felt like they didn't really care if I choose to jump there or not. Regardless, the experience of jumping there rocked and I would absolutely recommend Kapowsin Air Sports to all my friends. They were professional and fun and the view was great! I will jump again there for sure!
(Review ID:4653)


Beautiful


Kapowsin Air Sports Rated 5 by: lro93p on 2007-07-18

Pros: Clean, organized, great service, waaaay fun
Cons: Kinda far away from everything

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
Everything is new and wonderful at this location the scenery is wonderful and all the people are wonderful. Great facility! The view is awesome and the people are knowledgeable.
(Review ID:4002)
> >|

Write your own Review