Skip to Content

Dropzone : Reviews

Reviews for: Sin City Skydiving - (Visit this link)
Average Rating = 4.39/5 Average Rating : 4.39/5

Dropzone Summary | Reviews

> >|


Review Summary:


Average Rating : Average Rating = 4.39/5
Total Reviews: 38

> Write a Review

Show: Sort:
Display:
100% Times: 1 Times: 2 Times: 4 Times: 5 Times: 26
80%
60%
40%
20%
0%
Times  1 2 4 5 26
Rating  1 2 3 4 5



By far the best place to jump in Vegas!


Sin City Skydiving Rated 5 by: Vertflyer1989 on 2012-08-12

Pros: Cool Instructors and great staff!
Cons: nothing to complain about : )

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
I have made several Tandem skydives in the past in Vegas . I have jumped at every skydiving company in town and I have found that Sin City Skydiving is by far the best place to do a jump! The instructors are all down to earth really cool people to jump with. They are REAL with you. They treat you as if you were a good friend rather than a paying customer. I recommend Sin City Skydiving to anyone out there looking to make there 1st skydive . I will be back to jump every year ! Thanks again Sin City Skydiving for making this experience by far the best it can be!
(Review ID:7547)


skydiving was the funnest thing i have ever done.


Sin City Skydiving Rated 5 by: supersteve on 2012-08-10

Pros: friendly, fun, great people, two aircraft
Cons: other skydiving business in same building is very rude and unfriendly

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
let me start by saying this company is awsome, after reading the waiver i will say i was a little scared, but after dawn asigned us our instructors we got suited up and we went over every thing that was going to happen, that made me feel a little better. we took off and rick talked to me on the flight up and really took my mind off of what we are doing, that was relaxing. we got to 15,000 ft and it was my turn so we opened the door of the plane and sat in the door and watched my two friends jump out of the plane next to us (That was The Collest thing i have ever seen) after my friends went we waited for a what seemed for ever in that door then we went, O'man Alive what a feeling. the free fall took what seemed like forever and the parachute ride was to short. that was the best thing i have ever done and will do again. After the jump we talked to our instructors about the jump and rick told us that we did a formation load with two airplanes (man that was cool) the staff invited us to hang out after jumping was done and get dinner with them. that was nice. Thank you Sin City Skydiving for taking me to the next level. I got the video and pictures and they turned out perfect. I will never forget that jump ever. Thank you Rick and Sin City Skydiving, you really give a great experience i will tell all my people to go with you and ask for the formation plane skydive. I cant say it enough that was amazing thank you
(Review ID:7538)


Lied to about the jump altitude. Shabby aircraft and an inexperienced instructor.


Sin City Skydiving Rated 2 by: Swift_Bold on 2012-08-09

Pros: Great desert scenery.
Cons: The Lies about altitude! The vintage looking equipment! A plane that has less performance than a hair dryer.

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
You've got to be kidding right? I initially thought this company was a joke when I arrived at the facility based at Jean Airport some 15 miles south of Las Vegas. Reading some of the reviews here I can understand how it's possible to have had an average experience at best. The main thing I found offensive was the promise of 45 seconds of free fall. On the way up I was interested to speak to the instructor about how high we were and what altitude we would jump from. Well the truth of the matter is that the plane was unable to go higher than 8,500 ft. The reality of the situation is that we got about 15 seconds of free fall time as opposed to the 45 that was promised. The next issue I had was the conditions that we were jumping in. The desert gets quite windy with the extreme heat and the instructor seemed concerned with this after he opened the chute up. Well it just so happened that even when the parachute opened we were still going up higher! Is that suppossed to happen? Or does that mean the conditions are just too strong for parachute related activities? Well after some weeks I signed up for my USPA AFF course at Perris Ca. It seems to me with the knowledge I have now acquired since my tandem it would appear such conditions are not safe for taking tandems up! People have got hurt jumping with such conditions. If I would have known about this risk before hand I would never have jumped at that time. What is more disappointing is that this operation thought it was ok to push the limits and take the risks which would indicate that they are only interested about the money and not the safety or welfare of the people who go and do tandems there.
(Review ID:7537)


Fun little dropzone, that went out of their way to make our vacation awesome!!!


Sin City Skydiving Rated 5 by: l43psr on 2012-08-08

Pros: Went out of their way to cater to fun jumpers
Cons: limited amount of jumps in a day, tandem oriented

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
You guys rocked thank you for going out of your way to hook up some fun jumpers with some awesome jumps. Very classy!!! ONLY drop zone in the Vegas area worth contacting. It is true this is not a fun jumper dropzone that being said they are making a very heartfelt attempt at catering towards everyone including fun jumpers. They split the tandems so we could get on two loads on a very busy day. Again thanks a ton guys!!!
(Review ID:7536)


Vegas Desert Diving at it's best


Sin City Skydiving Rated 4 by: coldsteel on 2011-12-11

Pros: Great staff, close to Vegas, sexy clients
Cons: They cater to Tandems, not fun jumpers

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
I checked out this DZ when I was in Vegas earlier this year. Given that it is your standard Tandem oriented paracenter, the staff was remarkably friendly to the two of us. I enjoyed rubbing elbows with some of their clients on board the aircraft- I think they were some sexy Vegas showgirls with fantastic anatomy- and the skydiving was just great as well. I was not pleased with their paracenter business competitors on the same DZ...stay away from those guys! I stayed at Gold Strike hotel/casino right next door @ $45/night, had a great time in the casino and at the bar/dining room. They gave me coupons for a room and meal discount. Well worth the 30 min drive from Vegas.
(Review ID:6947)


Friendly Staff, Good Airplane, wonderful people and a unique scenery.


Sin City Skydiving Rated 5 by: Ayala on 2011-09-10

Pros: Friendly people, great environment I LOVED IT
Cons: Too far from my home area

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
I went to Vegas in a business trip with my GF and this is a dropzone where I will come back as many times as I possibly can.

The owner (Brad) treated us well since the phone call when we asked if they would take fun jumpers.
I had to work during the week so my GF went there solo first and she had a great reception. She mention that after a couple hours felt like it was her home DZ.

I went there the following day and was treated the same way and they made everything you can possibly think to make us feel comfortable.

The staff was joking and playing all day long keeping the best possible mood during all times its contagious!

They take safety very serious, and beyond the traditional waiver signature they ask us to listen to all safety briefings and as soon as they felt we would not be dangerous we were good to go. Not saying they are anal about procedures, but clearly they want to warn people about all the risks.

The staff went beyond and above everything we would expect, staying there late, inviting us to join them for dinner and much more.

Brad even arranged some night jumps in that very same week when he heard my girlfriend was having a hard time to get it done for her ratings.

That is something even in home DZ, Crosskeys she was having a hard time to get it done.
He just called a couple of his buddies and we were up the next day for those jumps.
After all that we defer some sightseeing in Vegas, just to spend more time with these guys!

Unbelievable....

Friendly Staff, Good Airplane, wonderful people and a unique scenery.

It is a must go!

(Review ID:6756)


Sweet


Sin City Skydiving Rated 5 by: Trigger01 on 2011-07-27

Pros: Frendly
Cons: None

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
Had a great time. Everyone was so cool
(Review ID:6625)


tandem factory... more about money than the sport...


Sin City Skydiving Rated 3 by: illwreckyourbox on 2011-04-18

Pros: closest to vegas...
Cons: about everything other than the instructors

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
Here is the most honest review up here. I have worked for 3 of the 5 neighboring drop zones in the area. The furthest 2 are the best vibe and truly fun jumper friendly. This one is the worst when it comes to equipment and upkeep. If were recommending anyone it would be to mesquite or wasted talent... and if you are more worried about just getting a jump done and over with, and you MUST just jump and go. Then Vegas extreme skydiving is in the same airport and they have great equipment.
(Review ID:6350)


this is the only dropzone close to LV that welcomes funjumpers


Sin City Skydiving Rated 5 by: hdonald on 2011-04-11

Pros: great place to jump close to Las Vegas and funjumper friendly
Cons: some experienced jumpers with bad attitudes

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
I come from california to jump here and I bring tandems also because this is the only drop zone that will allow fun jumpers in vegas and the Tandem gear they use are brand New Sigma's and I like that for my friends, and I rent their student gear and there is nothing unairworthy about it, the cotainers are older and certified by a FAA Master parachute rigger and the Main parachutes are new DOM 2010 and the AAD's are vigils that are almost new to the skydiving community. the tandem instructors are great with my friends that I bring and they always thank me for bringing them and welcome me back when they see me. I am new to the sport but I can tell you this place is alot of fun. The only bad thing about this place is that there are a few experienced jumpers with bad attitudes because the DZO has a zero tolerance for people breaking the safety rules set by USPA and he is not afraid to remove them from the drop zone. After all that is what keeps us all safe. I look forward to and I can't wait to jump here again thanks for all the help see you guys soon.
(Review ID:6324)


Small DZ close to Vegas, unprofessional DZO, very limited facilities/services


Sin City Skydiving Rated 2 by: PirateDiver on 2011-04-11

Pros: Close to Las Vegas, wide-open area around the LZ
Cons: DZOís attitude, tandem-oriented, disorganized, extremely limited facilities/services

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
My husband and I learned to skydive at Sin City. It took two tries to get an instructor there for the first jump course: driving an hour (twice) to have the staff no-show was an enormous waste of my time. The instruction we finally received from Jace and Brince was outstanding! The student/rental gear there is ancient. On my 8th jump two of the center cells on my rental gear tore open. I bought my own gear in order to have something safe and consistent to use and the DZO called me stupid for doing so. He made this judgment without ever asking what kind of gear I bought, my wing-loading or any other pertinent questions. There has been a caravan at Sin City since last fall, which has been nice. It is scheduled to leave soon which leaves a C-206: last summer it was extremely difficult to secure a fun-jumper slot on the 206. Lift tickets are $25 and in my experience that generally only gets to you 10k on the 206. I have witnessed the DZO yell/curse at staff and jumpers. He often treats fun jumpers as he would employees. He does not promote a culture of safety and the rules that are enforced often change. It is very difficult to get coaching as the instructors are fully booked with tandems. Fun jumpers usually have to pack outside; this becomes problematic when itís windy or 100+ degrees. Sin City does not have the facilities it indicates on Dropzone.com: bar, restaurant, camping. On a positive note the majority of the non-administrative staff is friendly and the views of the desert from altitude are very nice.
(Review ID:6322)
> >|

Write your own Review