Skip to Content

Dropzone : Reviews

Reviews for: Skydive Hollister - (Visit this link)
Average Rating = 4.88/5 Average Rating : 4.88/5

Dropzone Summary | Reviews

Comments:  Show | Hide

|< < > >|


Review Summary:


Average Rating : Average Rating = 4.88/5
Total Reviews: 24

> Write a Review

Show: Sort:
Display:
100% Times: 0 Times: 0 Times: 0 Times: 3 Times: 21
80%
60%
40%
20%
0%
Times  0 0 0 3 21
Rating  1 2 3 4 5



Good people, good vibe, good landing area, good weather


Skydive Hollister Rated 4 by: SeanJuan on 2007-08-06

Pros: Cool people, nice weather all the time, HUGE landing area
Cons: Everyone knows... those Damned van rides from the landing area

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
My home DZ is skydive monterey bay, and when it is fogged out or cloudy over there, i can always bet that its clear here in hollister. the people are cool (there are ALWAYS exceptions to the rule of course), the place has a small restaurant right next door (closes at 3pm though so get there quick if you're late), and the landing area is wide open with lots of outs. there is usually just the right touch of wind for great landings. like any dz, there are cliques and such... the only thing that sucks is the van/shuttle rides from the landing area. it takes like 10-15 mins and everyone's breath stinks (mine especially, but thats because of the annual garlic festival nearby) and they/I like to breathe on people with their/my mouth open. all in all, good place to jump; good fun. if you are in the area, hit it up.
(Review ID:4060)


This is the place to jump in N Cal.


Skydive Hollister Rated 5 by: superwoman8433 on 2006-04-21

Pros: The awesome staff, view, and cheap video
Cons: can't really come up with any

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
My home dz is in Hawaii, but I had to come to Hollister to get the training I needed. I love the staff there and the fun jumpers. This is one DZ that offers equal treatment to tandems, AFF students, and fun jumpers. Adam and Kevin were the best instructors that a beginner could ask for. Both are totally laid back and PATIENT!! Ex. my first solo exit, out of the cessna, it took me two tries to let go and both of them stayed with me. AP, thanks for the awesome pictures. Will be back as soon as possible.
(Review ID:2997)


Just did my tandem there


Skydive Hollister Rated 5 by: georgerussia on 2006-03-21

Pros: Friendly people, good location, nice aircraft
Cons: Landing area is 10 miles away

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
Just did my tandem jump there. Everything went quite fast - just in 15 minutes after I signed all the papers I was in plane. People there were really friendly, the weather was pretty good, so I was very implessed. Would also note that the location is very nice to drive from Silicon Valley.
(Review ID:2933)


Great location, beautiful view and wonderful people


Skydive Hollister Rated 5 by: Ayala on 2005-09-19

Pros: Friendly People Fast airplane that goes to 15000
Cons: Landing area is far from the airport

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
If the beathtaking view, great airplane going at 15000 very fast, good facilities good equipment for rent and nice infraestructure were not enough, they have just the best people ever!!!
I got the best introduction to the DZ by Raff and the other folks and after less than 2 hours hanging around I was felling as a family member!
I definetely will be back there at the first opportunity and indicate to everyone in the world!!!
They also shown a great sense of responsability regarding security and as beeing a foreigner I would not jump if I didn't get all documentation needed and has proved have some experince to them!
Again, great people!!!

(Review ID:2606)


Great for new comers and experienced jumpers


Skydive Hollister Rated 5 by: BDashe on 2005-05-27

Pros: Excellent staff, great atmosphere, great location
Cons: cessna loads, 10-15 minute van rides from DZ

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
The staff is top notch and know what they are talking about. Very friendly to new comers and tandem students. The majority of the time it is crystal clear when other DZs are fogged in, can see halfmoon bay and the sierra nevadas while in freefall. Sunset loads here are AMAZING, i always make sure to get myself on it. The staff is always around and give great tips when just relaxing as the DZ bum. They have all been great mentors for me, and always remember who i am, even though ill be gone for 6 months at a time. Their coaches are great and have helped me tremendously. They really make me feel like they truly WANT me to be a great skydiver, and i always leave this place feeling highly motivated. I really love this DZ and the staff, I can't wait to get back to cali!!!!!
(Review ID:2131)


This is a turbine dz with a small dz flavor


Skydive Hollister Rated 4 by: D22369 on 2005-05-03

Pros: Awsome people!, great vibes
Cons: Van ride from the landing area...

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
I had way too much fun when I went, I had people go out of their way to come up and introduce themselves to me and invite me on loads. the people are extremely friendly and welcome newcomers with open arms. the bunkhouses are first come first serve and are kept clean, (the shower does have hot water, you just have to know how to turn it on) the hotels and stores are just down the street not too far away. If you dont like big DZ's but would like to jump a turbine, this is definately the place to go.
(Review ID:2249)


The best


Skydive Hollister Rated 5 by: ASullivan on 2005-04-02

Pros: Best staff and the best view.
Cons: The van ride

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
I just started doing my AFF jumps and the staff is killer. Raff, Cliff, and Adam are the best jump masters. The really work with you and give you a lot of pre jump insruction. Even if they are doing video or a tandem for the next load they never rush through your after jump briefing. They are making me into a killer skydiver.
(Review ID:2189)


Hollister is the way to go


Skydive Hollister Rated 5 by: boobs on 2005-03-01

Pros: unreal friendly staff!!
Cons: Cesna loads

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
Even though im at college I still consider Adventure Center Skydiving my home DZ. The staff is by far the friendliest and most easygoing I have ever come across. Aviva, Adam and Cliff you guys are awesome! Even if there is bad weather at other close by DZs there always seems to be clear skies above Hollister. Best people, great weather, breathtaking jumps, Hollister is the way to go!
(Review ID:2130)


Mellow nice place


Skydive Hollister Rated 5 by: bkoch on 2004-12-13

Pros: Absolute Best Bay Area Weather
Cons: 10 minute van ride from landing area

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
I started jumping again after some time away from the sport and chose Hollister to jump at for how close it is to where I live (just 45 minutes south of San Jose). What I have found is a great dropzone with really friendly people. It has some of the best scenery that Northern California offers, the Monterey Bay, the coastal range, the Sierras.
Perhaps one of the biggest selling points for me is the great weather. Nothing could ruin my mood more than an hour or two drive to a dropzone that it is too windy or foggy to jump at. At Hollister, if the weather in California is halfway decent, you can bet they are jumping in Hollister. I have never been winded out at Hollister...The weather at the landing area is in a nice little microclimate that keeps jumpers quite happy. I would bet Hollister has the most jumpable days a year of any Northern California dropzone.

There is a comfortable vibe at Hollister. Not a lot of egos or cliques as far as I can see...
It is a great place to jump. Check it out if you're ever in NorCal.

(Review ID:1979)


Hollister is what a DZ should be: friendly, fun folks with a fast plane that goes to full altitude


Skydive Hollister Rated 5 by: skyshark6 on 2004-08-22

Pros: Always go to 15,000 feet; Great, friendly vibe; FAST King Air; RWs and Freefliers; weather is ALWAYS good
Cons: Landing area is 8 miles from DZ

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
I switched to Hollister as my "home DZ" four years ago when Skydive Monterey Bay drove all the upjumpers away with tandem-factory business practices. (don't you just hate it when DZO's lock the place up once the tandems are done and then drive everone off an hour before sunset?)
Hollister is the exact opposite. They do a great job with tandems, but are also a very up-jumper friendly with a good crowd of 60+ regular jumpers who like to hang out after sunset to drink beer and BBQ. The vibe there is the best that I have ever encountered at a DZ. I've only been weathered-out at hollister one day in the five years that i have jumped there. The King Air is FAST and always goes to 15,000 ft, the highest in the area.
The only issue is that the landing area is a 10-minute van ride away (and at a different elevation). Some people view this as a detractor, but it actually is pretty cool to get a chance to hang out for 10 minutes with your fellow skydivers and get to know them. Even with the van ride, you can still get 9 jumps in a day during the summer months.

(Review ID:1760)
|< < > >|

Write your own Review