Skip to Content

Dropzone : Reviews

Reviews for: Skydive Hollister - (Visit this link)
Average Rating = 4.85/5 Average Rating : 4.85/5

Dropzone Summary | Reviews

Comments:  Show | Hide

> >|


Review Summary:


Average Rating : Average Rating = 4.85/5
Total Reviews: 26

> Write a Review

Show: Sort:
Display:
100% Times: 0 Times: 0 Times: 0 Times: 4 Times: 22
80%
60%
40%
20%
0%
Times  0 0 0 4 22
Rating  1 2 3 4 5



small DZ with fast plane & high altitude exits


Skydive Hollister Rated 4 by: mbohu on 2017-11-18

Pros: dives from 18k feet, fast plane, super-nice people, limo-rides
Cons: limo rides?

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
This is the first dropzone I've jumped at, which is not in Colorado and does not have the ground coming at you at 6,000 ft AMSL, so I loved the way everything feels so much easier at 0ft AMSL (softer landings, generally feeling like more time in the air).

They do Tandems from 8k, 11k, 15k and 18k--so if you're lucky you can go up to 18k (alright: It's probably more likely to be just over 16k, most of the time.)
I rent equipment and need a pretty large canopy (230 sqft) and they had 2 of them available (a Spectre and a Sabre2). They looked decent and worked great (felt 2 sizes larger than at my dropzone at 6000ft--did I mention that already?!)
The staff, instructors, and generally everyone was absolutely great. They did neglect to mention one of their beer-rules, so I did have to buy a case for everyone at the end of the day. ;-)

Yes, it's unusual that their landing zone is about 7 miles from the airport and therefore you have to be shuttled back to the airport (they have an old limo and a van for that purpose) If you pack your own equipment, I guess that could mean less jumps, because it worked out that we got back to the packing area around the 15 minute call for the next load, each time.
For me it was perfect as their packer made sure that the next 230sqft canopy was ready for me the moment I got back. So I got on every load of the day.

Landing area is huge. I spent the last jump from about 17k just "sightseeing" (mostly on my belly, just enjoying the scenery, not "working on anything") and it was gorgeous.

They said they just got new ownership and are trying to tighten things up more, to make it easier to get more jumps in, in spite of the offsite landing area.

So while this is only the 3rd DZ I've jumped from and I loved all 3 so far, I will definitely come back to this one when next in CA.

(Review ID:9416)


Amazing dz!


Skydive Hollister Rated 5 by: cahilllka on 2016-04-19

Pros: HUGE landing area, beautiful scenery, friendly and professional staff
Cons: Little shade for repacking, watch for gli

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
The staff here is so friendly and their instructors are very professional. I took my AFF here and they taught me well! The landing area is gigantic, you can't miss it. The wind direction is very consistent and usually pretty light. Right now the field is covered with little purple flowers. The view is great too--you can see the ocean to the east and snow on top of the Sierra Nevada mountains to the west! The only negative thing I have to say is that when the indoor packing room gets crowded, you have to pack outside where there is no shade. Opportunity to work on your tan, I guess!
(Review ID:9016)


Awesome dropzone with expert instructors, who love their job. Love the vibe at Hollister!


Skydive Hollister Rated 5 by: andynax on 2013-12-20

Pros: Fantastic and professional staff, friendly atmosphere, fun all around!
Cons: Love the place, no cons :)

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
Having completed the Accelerated Freefall (AFF) course at Skydive Hollister, I highly recommend the drop zone for anybody interested in learning skydiving in a supportive, professional and fun environment. The Hollister crew is highly experienced and instructors have thousands of jumps under their belts, yet somehow they have maintained complete enthusiasm for their jobs and are out to have fun, while educating students in best practices.

I was looking for a drop zone, where I could find a team of highly motivated people, who love their profession and are willing to make me a part of their family. I felt this was essential to provide the best environment for learning skydiving basics and developing skills sets rooted in safety. Skydive Hollister delivered beyond expectations :)

I finished all seven jumps of the AFF course in one weekend, just as I had hoped. My instructor Baxter was extremely professional and made me feel very comfortable throughout the course. Mako, who runs the drop zone, also instructed/jumped with me and I enjoyed learning from experienced skydivers, who were also great teachers. The AFF course is a lot of material to absorb in one weekend and these guys helped me through it all and made it fun! Iíll be forever grateful :)

I loved Skydive Hollister so much, that I made 25 skydives within three weekends; canít wait to go back after Xmas holidays. Come and say hi, when you see me!

(Review ID:8310)


Home Away From Home


Skydive Hollister Rated 5 by: dman415 on 2011-11-05

Pros: Excellent staff, professional
Cons: Small aircraft, sometimes long waits

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
After a disastrous experience with most of the staff @ Skydance trying to obtain my AFF, I moved on to Hollister and have not regretted it since. I spent a weekend in Perris Valley and was really impressed with their attitude and professionalism, and I have to say that Hollister comes very close to that. Their staff is friendly, informative and very safety-conscious. I especially liked working with Mako and Peter (and Nick and Erica and Emilie). My only complaint is they had a Groupon deal going on and wait times were sometimes all day just to board the aircraft (most all of the customers were tandems, of course, so the rest of us were put on hold). I will continue to consider Hollister my main dropzone, despite a recent ankle injury, and will be returning there to continue jumping after it heals. Facilities are great, and the hangars are HUGE... if you get bored you can drop off on one of their MANY sofas and nap out! Wireless internet, a cafe right next door, what more can you ask for in a dropzone?
(Review ID:6902)


Skydive Hollister will always be my home DZ at heart.


Skydive Hollister Rated 4 by: deltagearinc on 2010-08-25

Pros: AMAZING staff, very cool vibe, and lots of fun.
Cons: Blocks of jumps are pricy, off-site landing area, primarily weekend jumping, and small plane.

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
Hollister Airport, 45 miles south of San Jose is home to best staff and group of fun jumpers in all of California. Skydive Hollister is notorious for their off-site landing area, "420-up" Cypress setting, and short bus ride back to the DZ for all the "special kids". Gear sales include altimeters, eye wear, apparel, and used canopies & containers. You can jump during the week with an appointment, or jump all day on the weekends. While other DZs in the area close early, Skydive Hollister lets you enjoy beautiful sunset loads.

Skydive Hollister takes customer service to the next level. Their staff is skilled, friendly, talented, safe, and fun. You'll find AMAZING cameramen with the skills of skygods, but without the ego and attitude. Frequently on weekends, after a long day of jumping, you will find BBQ and beer (courtesy of first timers = "case of beer"...only the good stuff / no canned beer). Whether you're a first time tandem, AFF student, or experienced fun jumper, there's a place for you at Skydive Hollister.

Skydive Hollister has a PAK, which will take you to 13.5k. The PAK is slower to altitude but descends quickly and can cycle loads just as fast as other planes over a course of a day. The facilities are cozy and spacious, and good music always sets a cool vibe. Wireless internet is available if you ask nicely for the password. Sleeping accommodations include a bunk house, plenty of couches, or you can camp on the lawn. Prices are average for an experience with an above average staff. If blocks of jumps weren't such a big investment, I would call Skydive Hollister home in a heartbeat... but it will always be my home DZ at heart.

(Review ID:5955)


excellent dropzone


Skydive Hollister Rated 5 by: mellow on 2009-11-20

Pros: views, staff, vibe, weather and great people
Cons: none

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
skydive hollister is awesome! i did my aff there this last july and have only missed one weekend since my first jump. my aff instructors were the best, and i would highly recommend this dropzone. nice, big, safe landing area, fantastic views all the way from the ocean to the sierras, super fun people, high standard for safety, and great weather- just to name a few things. i love this place!
(Review ID:5485)


Central California, Pac750, a hangar with carpeted packing area ... thats all you need to say


Skydive Hollister Rated 5 by: dbcdbc on 2009-11-19

Pros: The dropzone in hollister now is miles ahead of where it was
Cons: None now that Tim is gone

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
So there is a mouthy individual claiming experience and knowledge while dropping a few lines lambasting the owner of the dropzone I spend a lot of time at. I am going to go ahead and take this time to point out that, not only is this person a liar, they failed to read the disclaimer about posting claims that can substantiated. Based on the exclusive notions used in the post it is obvious that this BigBear 73 waste of oxygen is obviously either the former owner (I will refer to him by his aptly honorific title 'Worthless') or the only friend that this worthless individual has. This being the worthless individual who needed a police escort from various locations to prevent him from harassing the very people he has been ordered to stay away from. If we want to go on about lousy owners we should consider the hours Worthless spent playing WoW behind his lousy rented mobile trailer while the DZ slowly dissolved into a pool of its own rancidly inept mismanagement. The place did have a king air ... until Worthless ran that into the ground too. The man is toxic ... to himself and everything he has to do with and now he has brought his slime to the internet. So you can forget the unmitigated BS posted by hairy bigbear ... there is no one that comes to this dropzone that is disappointed with the change ... note how many single star reviews there are. I am sure I can find dozens more to add genuine 5 star reviews as well. You will find no positive reviews of Worthless ... as a person or a DZO.
but hey ... why take my word for it ... or his. Check out the DZ for yourself and you will find a well run environment that has thrown out all the trash and caters to skydivers.

(Review ID:5484)


A great group of people working towards an improved Hollister DZ


Skydive Hollister Rated 5 by: clencion on 2009-11-19

Pros: Friendly Staff, Friendly "Regulars," VERY upjumper friendly
Cons: Landing area away from take off

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
I've got around 100 jumps under my belt and have been to 8 different Dropzones. I am proud to call this my home drop zone. The staff is young and charismatic, the funjumpers are a close-nit group of people, and the weather is your best friend. The atmosphere at the dropzone is relaxed and fun and is a great way to spend a day. If you are looking to come in, get your skydive, and leave within 30minutes, this will not happen. If you want to come in, get 4 jumps in, spend 5 hours hanging out, socialize and laugh with the regulars, than this place is great. They have a brand new PAC equiped with Oxygen when Jumping to 18k. Everyone is very kick back and friendly and I continue to jump there 2 weekends out of the month.

Also, I have bought a used complete rig through the dropzone and I couldn't be happier. The staff went out of their way to get everything I needed and have it ready for me within a week.

(Review ID:5483)


Skydive Hollister gets an A+


Skydive Hollister Rated 5 by: TheAtom on 2009-11-19

Pros: Staff, facility, weather, local fun jupers
Cons: None

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
As a new member of the sport this year, I took my AFF course and have done the majority of my 150+ jumps out at the Hollister DZ.
I must say that I completely disagree with the last review from bigbear73ís.

I have learned much from the current owner and staff of Skydive Hollister regarding the principals, safety, concepts and intricacies involved in the sport of skydiving. The staff is well trained, professional, and passionate about what they do.
Over the last few months, the facility has expanded to include much more space for packing, training, lounging, etc.
There are also many talented and enthusiastic fun jumpers that would consider the Hollister DZ their second home.

If your someone who is looking forward to experiencing your first tandem skydive.
Perhaps you are interested completing the AFF program and becoming a licensed skydiver.
Or, maybe you're that experienced fun jumper looking for a great DZ to call home.

Whatever category you may fit into, the Hollister DZ facility, staff and associated jumpers are the cream of the crop.
That's why you'll see me out there every weekend!

(Review ID:5482)


Great place to learn.


Skydive Hollister Rated 5 by: jclalor on 2009-11-18

Pros: PAC, Vibes,People,Staff
Cons: Tres Pinos

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
I started jumping at Hollister while it was still under the old owner and the facilities consisted of a couple old trailers and a 206. How things have changed in 14 months: the PAC,no more trailers, several thousand feet of new packing area and tons of up-jumpers. I'm not sure about what all the legal drama with Mako and the previous owner is all about but Mako has done wonders with this place. When I went thru AFF 14 month ago their were very few up-jumpers, now this place is packed with them on the weekends and I have yet to meet anyone with anything negative to say about what Mako has done with the place.
The million FT for a thousand bucks has to be one of the best bargains anywhere, (I do beleive this is the last weekend it is being offered) and while every load may not make it to 15k I have yet to have been on a non weather related load to 12.5k, 14k to 15k is the norm.
Who ever wrote the previous negative review is someone with ulterior motives. The facts speek for themselves as Hollister is growing at a very rapid pace with very happy and content jumpers.

(Review ID:5480)
> >|

Write your own Review