Skip to Content

Dropzone : Reviews

Reviews for: Skydive The Farm - (Visit this link)
Average Rating = 4.92/5 Average Rating : 4.92/5

Dropzone Summary | Reviews

Comments:  Show | Hide

|< <


Review Summary:


Average Rating : Average Rating = 4.92/5
Total Reviews: 198

> Write a Review

Show: Sort:
Display:
100% Times: 0 Times: 1 Times: 4 Times: 4 Times: 189
80%
60%
40%
20%
0%
Times  0 1 4 4 189
Rating  1 2 3 4 5



Great DZ all around


Skydive The Farm Rated 5 by: beeman on 2012-07-03

Pros: Very experienced staff, always willing to help, nice landing area, fun to hang out, great prices
Cons: none that I can think of

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
I started going out to the Farm two weeks ago to start working on my AFF through A license. I had never jumped before and despite wanting to get into the sport, I was nervous about going into AFF. My first jump course was with Mike Anderson, who answered every question I had planned on asking just in the course, kept us engaged, and made sure we were confident with the material at each step. When it came time to go jump, I was nervous but confident and ready to go.

My first jump was with Mike and Walt, both of which did a great job at everything from going over each part of the jump to just helping me relax. The instructors perform several gear checks on the ground and in the air on every jump, and teach the students to do the same, and to focus on safety which I like. When it came time to leave the plane, I was nervous, but mostly relaxed and we had a pretty good skydive. Since then, I've completed through level 5, and had an amazing time on each jump. I'm headed back in a few days for level 6 and 7 and to start solo diving.

Every instructor I've had did a great job of explaining the skydive, what to do, and then giving feedback on what to improve upon once we were back down. I've felt confident jumping with every one of them, and thanks to the instructors, I've gotten a lot more confident in the air and am loving the sport. I can't wait to get back out there and jump again.

For the DZ itself, it's a fun place to hang out. Very laid back atmosphere, and everyone is friendly and welcoming which is awesome for a shy new guy.

Anyway, friendly atmosphere, great place to hang out, pretty awesome prices, nice big landing area, very safety oriented instructors who teach really well. I'm really glad I chose the Farm to start jumping and I will absolutely continue to jump there through and after getting my A license.

(Review ID:7403)


May 9-09 - First time out for two of us (Tandem) - Had an amazing time!


Skydive The Farm Rated 5 by: underscored09 on 2009-05-11

Pros: Top Rated on this site - incredibly friendly/helpful staff - tandem instructors were a riot
Cons: NONE!

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
I had been doing research galore into finding the right place to go skydiving for the first time, and everywhere I looked Skydive the Farm kept popping up. Even though it's about 3 1/2 hours away from me - it was SO worth the drive. We had made reservations a month or two ago - and even with some crummy weather rolling in, they said we were good to go.

We got there - and of course it started raining. After a brief delay, it turned absolutely beautiful, and we were able to get out on one of the next runs up.

Chuck, Miki, Leslie, and John were all awesome! From everything I could tell - this place was like one big family hang out. Felt welcome from the get-go.

Thanks again to Hans and everyone out @ the farm who made this first experience perfect. I'm highly contemplating going back in June to start the AFF courses.

- David (&Meghan)

(Review ID:5101)


Excellent training for AFF.


Skydive The Farm Rated 5 by: stilltraining on 2009-05-12

Pros: Quality instruction. Patitent coaching. Friendly staff. Twin otter w/ jumps from 14,000 feet. Excellent pricing.
Cons: N/A

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
After much consideration I decided to try the AFF program. I spoke to a friend who is a very experienced skydiver (military and civilian) and he recommended Skydive The Farm. I am glad I followed his advice. The staff bent over backwards to accommodate my situation (I was from out of town on a work trip). The quality of instruction was excellent. Andy is a wealth of knowledge and was always willing to provide additional training and answer any questions I may have had. Sandy, Jack and Warren were excellent instructors as well. I always felt like I was in good hands when jumping with the AFF instructors at the Farm. I get pretty “keyed up” on the aircraft before I jump and they always did a good job of keeping me focused and calm.

The instructors will train you to a standard and are not afraid to make you repeat a jump if you do not accomplish the critical tasks. In my mind this shows that they really care about their students. They won’t just “throw you out of the plane”. By the time it came to solo, I was confident in my abilities because of the training I received. They emphasize quality over quantity and do not take a “meat grinder” approach to getting students through AFF if they are not prepared.

Because of this, I stayed in Atlanta after my work trip was done and burned a few vacation days to continue Skydiving. I stayed at the DZ and I’m glad I did. There are always folks hanging around who are willing to answer any questions or give tips to improve your abilities.

Hans was great to deal with and worked with me to accommodate my unique situation of being an out of town student with limited time in Georgia. He is very approachable and if you need anything or have any questions just ask. He’ll be more than willing to help.

All in all I had a great experience. My only regret is that I had to leave and go back to work…

(Review ID:5102)


Awesome place!


Skydive The Farm Rated 5 by: mamadawg on 2006-08-07

Pros: Very friendly atmosphere
Cons: NONE!

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
As a parent of a skydiver, this is the place to train. Everyone is "The Best".
(Review ID:3313)


I never had so much fun


Skydive The Farm Rated 5 by: apollard24 on 2007-04-22

Pros: Atmosphere, facilites, staff
Cons: None

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
The first impression is everlasting. I planned a trip to The Farm and I must say that I never had so much fun. The facilities are top notch and the staff are amazing. I felt like people went out of their way to make me feel welcome. I highly recommend jumping there and experience everything The Farm has to offer. Thanks again!
(Review ID:3825)


Better than I thought it would be!


Skydive The Farm Rated 5 by: hdao13 on 2008-02-03

Pros: Great Staff
Cons: I wish the experience could last longer.

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
I had the most exhilarating experience imaginable! My tandem instructor calmed my nerves and made it exciting. The people at The Farm are friendly and warm. Thank you for the greatest adventure of my life!! I will be back with my friends and family.
(Review ID:4337)


was amazing


Skydive The Farm Rated 5 by: GATORFAN on 2011-07-30

Pros: it was all I was hoping for
Cons: no cons

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
This was my first time skydiving and it was a blast! I cant wait to come back with friends. Chucky man was my instructor and he was so awesome and made it all just an amazing experience! Super Dave was our videographer and was great as well! Cant wait till next time!

Thanks to all the people there!!

Cassie

(Review ID:6641)


Its worth traveling across the country


Skydive The Farm Rated 5 by: coolmankc on 2006-12-04

Pros: great people, easy to get to, wicked good prices
Cons: food- hunt or gather

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
So up in the cold north, its cold- so my girlfriend and I migrated south for the weekend to jump. I went through a lot of websites and reviews thanks to Dropzone.com- finally settling on The Farm.

I was not let down, infact more impressed and having more fun than I could have planned.

Did all of the AFF levels on one weekend with awesome instructors, the most affordable program in the COUNTRY, and great weather (yes they control that too)! My girlfriend did her second- and favorite tandem jump. She too, absolutely loved the whole weekend.

Instructors (both AFF and tandem) are safe, thorough, and are always keeping things fun and exciting.

The DZ is easy to spot from above with many outs, though the weather was so tame you probably wont need them.

Go for a day- or stay the whole weekend like I did. Unmatched safety, hospitality, and fun.

It's easy to get to from Atlanta and the airport- no kidding all you have to do is follow ONE highway all the way there! (The road changes names and numbers but you just stay on it and you'll be there in no time.)

No cons really, but you definitely want to bring some grub just incase- no worries as just down the street there are plenty of options (Cowboys has tasty breakfast sandwiches and Zorbas has tasty everything.)

There is also a short 3 minute? bus ride which is actually a good time to meet people or catch up.

Lastly cost, real kudos to the DZ for prices that reflect a love for the sport over a love for money.

Great place!

(Review ID:3570)


My best visit to Atlanta ever!


Skydive The Farm Rated 5 by: tdao13 on 2008-02-03

Pros: Fun! Fun! Fun!
Cons: I live too far away...3000 miles away!

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
My sister convinced me to make a skydive and against my better judgment, I tagged along. It turned out to be the best part of my trip to the Atlanta area. My tandem instructor was professional and turned the most scariest moment of my life into the most unforgettable! I have the worst fear of heights thus jumping out of an airplane is unimaginable. However, once we left the plane I felt like a superhero! For those of you who think you can't do it, visit The Farm. They made me feel secure and most importantly, safe.I'm invincible now!
(Review ID:4338)


Full service turbine DZ with a small club DZ vibe


Skydive The Farm Rated 5 by: jcbfly on 2009-05-13

Pros: Friendly folks, beautiful scenery,
Cons: None that I found

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
This medium size DZ has everything that a skydiver needs. An Otter and a 182 (and a great pilot to fly them), two huge grassy landing areas for both swoopers and more conservative folks, big carpeted hangar for packing and socializing, showers, huge camping area, bunkhouse, and team rooms. Skydive The Farm is also home to Mike Gruwell's Chuting Star rigging loft/gear store where you can get everything from a reserve repack to a complete set of new gear.

As good as the facilities are, the Farm's real strength is in it's friendly, laid back vibe. The staff and jumpers are all super nice and helpful, and very welcoming to visitors.





(Review ID:5106)


Skydive the Farm will most likely be your best choice for Skydiving, period.


Skydive The Farm Rated 5 by: steelmatt6 on 2013-09-08

Pros: Good Prices, Great People, and the Perfect Place for a Skydive in General
Cons: None

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
Back in April, I wanted to plan a bachelor party for my friend, and Skydive the farm was able to accommodate us way in advance. 2 days before our jump on August 27th, we had to call and cancel because of financial reasons, but that same day, we called back to reinstate the reservation due to a financial resolve. They were happy to still fit us in Tuesday and were very nice and professional about our "mishap!". When we got there, it was a little early and a weekday. However, despite the slow day, they more than prepared for our arrival. Everything is laid back, calming, yet professional at the same time. The facilities are decent, the people are great, and the overall experience was amazing. The videographer's on staff were great. The fact that I am writing this review late, I have forgotten a lot of names. But just now, that every single person there has a great sense of humor, and they will make sure your Tandem jump (and AFF!) is as fun, and safe as possible. Skydive the Farm, thank you for an awesome day, and we look forward to jumping with you again in the future! Thanks to everyone who instructed us and helped us that day. It was a 5 star experience! Signed: The Superman Crew: Tuesday August 27th, 2013
(Review ID:8182)


STF Kicks Ass!


Skydive The Farm Rated 5 by: jtwalker on 2011-11-06

Pros: Most experienced staff around. Friendly people. Good times
Cons: It's in Rockmart, GA

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
If you like skydiving and don't want to worry about dying, then STF is the place to go. Everyone there is friendly and helpful if you need advice on anything at all. The instructors are more than willing to take you on coach jumps or give you a few pointers. The otter is not pretty but it's roomy so I can't complain. Great place for hanging out even if you aren't jumping. STF is the best DZ
(Review ID:6903)


The best "at home" feeling and family friendly atmosphere


Skydive The Farm Rated 5 by: Fallin4U on 2006-12-05

Pros: Awesome open landing area - away from airport
Cons: Small inconvenience to ride a bus to airport

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
The DZO, Hans, personally introduced himself and made me feel at home. The atmosphere is a comfortable and relaxed farm with friendly people and varying levels of experience. The landing area, a skydiver heaven- acres of open land & minimal obstacles. The main jump plane is a Cessna Grand Caravan and a little slow to get to altitude but has a big door and comfortable bench/ floor seating. The AFF instructors and coaches are top notch and very professional. The view is beautiful farm and woodland of NW Georgia. There are a few little things that make the DZ 'differant' but not really better/ worse:
No large screen TV.
Children frequently present (keeps the swearing down).
Good food nearby but no cafe onsite.
A short bus ride to the airport

Overall, an awesome dropzone.

(Review ID:3577)


Tandem Jumper. First Time. I'll be back.


Skydive The Farm Rated 5 by: ehardin4167 on 2009-05-17

Pros: Amazing! These guys are great...if ya wanna jump. Do it here!
Cons: I'm not complaining at all! Nothing to say here!

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
Mikey was a great instructor. Great sense of humor and great knowledge- kept it light and no fear as a result....and I've got to give 5 stars for the video/photographer, Warren- skilled jumper and really skilled photographer- watch out, it doesn't matter who u are, man's got an eye for a shot- you'll get the best of your memories and the artisty of shots is publish worthy. If you can request a crew, they're the best! Thanks guys! You've made the first hard to live up to!
(Review ID:5115)


Looking for cheap jumps,WOW 14.00


Skydive The Farm Rated 4 by: chute007 on 2004-05-21

Pros: Big landing area, nice packing area,good place to camp
Cons: no store on site

I had heard alot of rumors about some drop zones competing with one another,so I decided to check both out.Well business is business,when it comes to money go where you can get more for your bucks.I had a great jump and a good grass landing.If your out to jump somewhere different then this is the place.On the ride up, just keep looking and you will find the landing area.Makes good for practicing landings.Good luck guys,I"LL BE BACK.
(Review ID:1537)


Low-key friendly skydiving


Skydive The Farm Rated 4 by: Racing_James_01 on 2009-03-08

Pros: Fun-jumper friendly
Cons: Airport bus

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
Good fun day (Friday) at The Farm. Hans and the crew are great and very friendly. Excellent rigging loft and huge hangar for packing. Facilities are decent but a little run down. There is also a short bus ride to the airport if they are not taking off from the grass runway. Very sociable group and no little ego/cliques :)
(Review ID:5004)


Great first experience


Skydive The Farm Rated 4 by: brcjacks on 2007-12-09

Pros: Friendly crew, great vibe
Cons: Nothing, I survived.

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
I made my first jump this weekend and choose to do the AFF class at The Farm. I don't have a lot to compare it to since this was my first jump and only the second DZ I've been too. Everyone was very friendly and helpful. Not ego-centric attitude (with the exception of Blaine, of course, but he knows that) :-) I learned everything I needed and then some for jump 1 and plan to return in a few weeks for level 2. The whole place is relaxed and the scenery is beautiful. Nothing but farms and trees as far as you can see. 2 thumbs up!
(Review ID:4264)


I finished my A-license here


Skydive The Farm Rated 4 by: nutkenz on 2012-04-06

Pros: Plenty busy, overall friendly people
Cons: Takes a while to get from the dropzone to the aircraft

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
In general, I'd recommend this dropzone. The only unpleasant part is being crammed into a little bus before every jump since the dropzone and airfield are not in the same location.
(Review ID:7083)


Told not to wear uniform, equipment was not fully attached until on bus - the way it was swinging ot


Skydive The Farm Rated 3 by: SoulJournerOne on 2012-11-12

Pros: When I was there the staff appeared friendly and concerned.
Cons: I was not properly rigged, had terrible experience, waited a while in order to know just the right words to the owner an

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
This appears to be a great place and initially I wanted to take all the classes to become licensed in skydiving; however, when I called this location after the experience I had while skydiving the owner, rather than listen, told me I was going Blah, Blah, Blah, Blah. Note, before that the professonalism at this place would have been a five. I did not hold it against the company that I was improperly rigged and the belt was cutting against my throat making it difficult to breathe. No, I did not panic I could not see, belt was against throat, wind was killing my skin. All of the above could have been avoided. I merely called the owner to discuss what happened that day, I called him before I had to write this review just so I could tell him all of the above. When the instructor tells you it is too hot for a uniform and then puts on layers of clothing once he gets on the plane that is something that needs to be questioned. When the instructor put in his video from his handheld and people stopped to watch and started laughing he snatched it out. If it was not detrimental why did he do that.
(Review ID:7712)


Too much party for me, not enough serious.


Skydive The Farm Rated 3 by: marcantonio152 on 2011-01-31

Pros: big hangar, sleeping area, great coaching available, etc
Cons: everyone wants to freefly and swoop, landing area not good for certain winds

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
When I went here I made a couple of jumps and left. Everyone here is all about a giant party from Friday until Sunday. I'm a belly flier and I'm all about some RW so I definitely didn't fit in with these guys.

This just wasn't my atmosphere. I know that some people love this place, but I didn't like the landing area or the vibe - I'm not a huge party guy. They're very friendly but I didn't get an overview of the landing area or any instructions even after I told them that I had never been there before.

On the other hand, Chutingstar is pretty awesome and extremely helpful in not only selling you the gear you need but just giving you pointers and advice on what to buy. Even if you don't get your gear from them, I advise you give those guys a call and ask them what they think on what you're getting.

I know those guys love their dropzone but I just didn't fit in at all and I'm not going to try and force it. Like I said, they're friendly, but just not my style.

I've been asked by Hans (the DZO) to revise this review a bit, so I did.

(Review ID:6209)


Crappy Day at the Farm


Skydive The Farm Rated 3 by: spcalan on 2008-04-07

Pros: ?
Cons: Staff, Unreliable Information,

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
I went yesterday for my 2nd tandem. I was told over the phone ( at 10am ) that they were already jumping. I made the 2 hour drive, once I got there at noon, they said that it would be 4 hours until they would take the first group up. Well at 5:30pm the first group went up. I was on the 5th ( next to last ) group to go up. So much for my reservation! I was sent to the shuttle without a jumpsuit, no altimeter, or tandem harness. On the shuttle, I got my harness on and briefed. Once at the airport, I asked who was my videographer ( which I paid $80 bucks for ), and there wasn't one scheduled to go. After 20 minute wait at the airport, Someone finally showed up. Had a great dive. Once on the ground it took another 2 hours for the crappy 3 minute video since half of everything was missed.
What a waste of a day.

Update::::
I just got off the phone with Hans. He explained to me that not everyone gets a suit, and tandem students do not get an altimeter. This comes from my past experience of getting them. He also explained that I was ( moved up ) in the line of tandems. I was unaware of this. He explained that I may not have even jumped at all if that didn't happen. He did inform me though that my review dropped his overall ranking from 1st-3rd, which was his reason to call me. Also he informed me that the 15-20 minutes at the airport waiting for the videographer costed him over $1000 in fuel.
He has offered a free skydive for exchange to change my review. I will change the review but not accept the invite.

(Review ID:4445)


Super Awesome- minus the aftermath


Skydive The Farm Rated 3 by: shsimist on 2011-10-21

Pros: Experience
Cons: Dishonesty

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
I had the best experience ever the people there are extremely nice and I felt safe from the time I drove in until the time I left. I would totally do it again and lets not forget my adorable instructor Patrick.... you were the best!

Thank you for reading above let me fill you in on the rest. I bought the video package which allows you to leave with a video and stills of your jump the day of. When I left I only had my video, and the camera guy proceeded to tell me that he would mail my stills to my address, well guess what...... no contact from the camera guy and almost a month later yes... no pictures of my jump. I did not order these to hang on my wall I wanted to send them to my relatives overseas and put them in a book I am making but unfortunately and can't. I wish that after me calling several times, asking for my stills, that they would tell me the honest truth. Whether my pictures were not able to be processed or there was a mixed up in the mailing, I feel like they slapped me in the face by not informing me with the truth about my stills. Maybe the person reading this may find this uncalled for but, what is uncalled for is the dishonesty of the situation. If the camera man had kept in contact and told me the honest truth I would not be writing such a long review. If days after the camera man realized the pictures could not be processed (after he dropped his camera while landing....is what he told me)and contacted me with honesty I wouldn't even be upset about pictures , I understand things happened and such is life, but the hiding behind the bush is completely unprofessional child-like.

(Review ID:6865)


Potentially dangerous place


Skydive The Farm Rated 2 by: msgaltman on 2014-05-27

Pros: None
Cons: One arrogant instructor

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
I'm a 23 year veteran of U.S. Army Special Operations. I took my sons and his friends here several years ago. The tattooed and multiple-pierced tandem instructor got belligerent with me when asked for his certification card. He told my son behind my back that it was rude to ask someone with his experience for his credentials. Where I come from, a professional offers up his credentials with smile. To add to the experience, the owner backed up this instructor by countering my comment about his instructor's behavior by acting like a fool with the comment, "I've bet you've never even jumped before". I don't have thousands of freefalls; that's not what I got paid to do. But I've been in far more dangerous situations requiring competent people who act professionally then the owner could possible even imagine. Skydiving is extremely safe, but only if the people who teach it and maintain the equipment aren't cocky. I've seen many many situations go bad only because someone got cocky and careless. My suggestion would be to keep your family away from this place.
(Review ID:8498)
|< <

Write your own Review