Skip to Content

Dropzone : Reviews

Reviews for: Skydive The Farm - (Visit this link)
Average Rating = 4.92/5 Average Rating : 4.92/5

Dropzone Summary | Reviews

Comments:  Show | Hide

|< < > >|


Review Summary:


Average Rating : Average Rating = 4.92/5
Total Reviews: 198

> Write a Review

Show: Sort:
Display:
100% Times: 0 Times: 1 Times: 4 Times: 4 Times: 189
80%
60%
40%
20%
0%
Times  0 1 4 4 189
Rating  1 2 3 4 5



Great DZ


Skydive The Farm Rated 5 by: Miiiiilk on 2009-06-03

Pros: Big Hangar, Friendly Staff, Chuting Star loft,
Cons: none

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
I went to STF for my second tandem jump along with a group of friends who were all first timers. We all had a great experience. I went back the following day to start my AFF program, I graduated last week and have nothing negative to say about the experience. The staff I have met are all top notch, friendly and knowledgeable.
(Review ID:5154)


A great place to jump.


Skydive The Farm Rated 5 by: Nburnsed on 2010-04-19

Pros: Everything
Cons: Nothing

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
The best experience I've ever had in my life. A A great price for all that you get. I had Ashley as my tandem master, and Wayron as my videographer. The two of them worked very well together and couldn't have asked for a better experience, especially for my baptism into the unknown. I'm addicted and will continue to futher my training at the farm...

Much luv

(Review ID:5670)


Great People!!!


Skydive The Farm Rated 5 by: corinneflorida on 2008-03-11

Pros: Un-intimidating
Cons: Not in my back yard!

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
This place is simply great! This place is NOT clickish at at. Everyone is so nice. From the moment I walked in the door I felt welcome. Hans came right up to me and introduced himself as the owner. Sandy his wife also so nice and cheerful. The entire staff was pleasant and inviting! There was not a single person with an attitude. I got the feeling that it was not all about the money, it was about the fun and enjoyment of jumping. People were so quick to lend jumpsuits or anything that anyone needed. The packers were fast and helpful and always cheerful. The staff and all the people were just so easy to talk to and everyone was just so eager to help in any way they could. I was only there 1 day but I didnt want to leave. I could have easily stayed a month or the rest of my life! I feel like I could call these people my friends! This is a fantastic place if you want to make some real friends but are nervous about trying a new DZ. You wont feel intimidated by these people at all.
(Review ID:4394)


Good down-to-earth people all for the fun of it


Skydive The Farm Rated 5 by: bcenna on 2007-09-18

Pros: Family-like atmosphere
Cons: None

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
The people are what make this place great!! Hans, the DZO, is awesome. He'll do anything for ya and keep a smile on your face the whole day. I did my AFF course here as well as A-License and everyone treated me as part of the family. Short bus ride to the airport is fun, nice g.caravan, and huge landing area. Also has a rigging loft next door, Mike G. of Chuting Star--one of the best in the biz. Thanks Farm Crew!

Cheers, Bill Cenna

(Review ID:4144)


Great place to jump, in the countryside, cool views as you jump


Skydive The Farm Rated 5 by: Strygun on 2008-07-21

Pros: Friendly/fun people, nice open spaces, places to wait
Cons: it can be busy, but only because it's such a popular place!

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
This was my first tandem jump, and I was thrilled! Kevin and SkyDave were great! I loved the relaxed atmosphere. Nice open spaces, good food available. I wanted to go again right after my first jump (I hadn't booked a second), but unfortunately they were so busy that they couldn't squeeze me in. That's not a bad thing, though - it just means they're a great place to jump! I'll definitely be back. Be sure to check out the reviews of the other places in Georgia.. some of them are shady. The reviews for SkydiveTheFarm are great, and after having been there, they're definitely true!
(Review ID:4658)


Accelerated Free Fall Level 1


Skydive The Farm Rated 5 by: wncarmyguy on 2010-04-30

Pros: Extremely professional staff that takes the time to make you feel comfortable.
Cons: None.

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
I went out to Skydive the Farm this past Wednesday for my first jump. First off, I have to admit that I have a rather large fear of heights and was pretty hesitant to do this. Within minutes of arriving at the Farm I was greeted by our instructor Andy. I have spent six years in the US Army and have never had as good of a day training for an activity. Andy took the time to thoroughly cover the material and provided individual attention to any areas we were struggling with.

Once we were done with the training Andy joined me in the air as one of my jump masters. On the ride to the airport and the flight up he was extremely positive and made me feel right at home with the group.

I've got to say that everyone I interacted with on the farm was great, jumpers and staff alike. There was no elitist attitude or uneasiness with anyone we met. Everyone was very helpful and encouraging, taking time to sit and talk with you as you went about the day.

I would highly recommend Skydive the Farm for anyone looking to go skydiving!

(Review ID:5682)


First tandem jump for a group from Illinois.


Skydive The Farm Rated 5 by: crdungan on 2010-08-19

Pros: The Staff and the Facilities.
Cons: none.

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
In July, we had a small group of guys meeting in Atlanta for a bachelor party. Skydiving was kind of a last minute idea and a quick google search directed me to an "Atlanta Dropzone" [I won't mention their name, but if you find an Atlanta dropzone running about 8 different websites under different names ...you found them.] I attempted to email two different email addresses on their website and both emails were returned due to "invalid email address". The fact that this company had multiple website aliases combined with their inability to provide current information prompted me to do some more research. After all, I'm putting my life in these people's hands! I want them to be on top of their game!

So I did some research, found Dropzone.com and realized that Skydive the Farm seemed to be the place to go if you planned on jumping out of a plane.

I emailed Skydive the Farm and immediately received a reply from Hans with the information that I requested. I called him a few days later to confirm our jumps. We showed up to The Farm and were immediately greeted by some of the crew. These guys are really cool and they know their stuff. It was the first jump for all of us so we were each paired up with an instructor. The whole process was casual and surprisingly stress free. We efficiently received our instruction and made our way to the plane. During the accent, you can plan on hearing some CCR blasting on the radio. Once you reach 14,000 feet ...you jump! The free fall is breathtaking and the view is incredible. Once the 'chute is pulled, your instructor will advice you to just relax and enjoy the scenery.

It's a great experience and as you can see by the reviews, Skydive the Farm is the place to be if you are jumping anywhere in the South!


(Review ID:5938)


First tandem jump


Skydive The Farm Rated 5 by: lpaulkus on 2010-08-22

Pros: Great experience, Great staff, Good times
Cons: A bit of a drive to get there

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
Yesterday was my first tandem jump at the Farm and it was AWESOME. Jermey jumped with me and made it a great experience despite my nerves. Now that the deed is done, I would and am totally ready to go again! I opted to not video tape the first experience because I was too nervous but will definatley do it next time.
Thanks Jeremy!

Lisa

(Review ID:5939)


best dropzone in the country


Skydive The Farm Rated 5 by: FrankTheTank on 2005-09-22

Pros: landing area
Cons: my girlfriend lives 2 hours away

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
Skydive The Farm is the my home away from home. If you haven't been yet you need to come. Bunkhouse,a/c,BATHROOMS,gearstore,swoop pond,dog friendly,huge landing area,etc. etc. etc.
(Review ID:2612)


asolutley amazing


Skydive The Farm Rated 5 by: thrillstalker on 2009-06-14

Pros: friendly, safe, welcoming
Cons: I cant get back soon enough

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
I had been wanting to go skydiving my entire life, so when my buddy asked me to go for his 21st birthday I finally had the motivation to do it. I jumped tandem with instructor chuck. He really set me at ease with the whole jumping out of an airplane thing, and was very professional when it came to jumping instructions but was also very friendly and easy going. all the other staff was this way too. It was nice to feel as welcome on my first jump as veteran skydivers are. the environment at the farm is one I have never encountered before or after. It an amazing place. There was a large group of us that jumped so I had some time to waste waiting on everyone. I asked so many questions about skydiving and certification, I'm surprised they didn't tell me to shut up. but that's how the farm is. everyone was very helpful and since my first jump I have been saving to do the a license package jump that only the farm offers. I start the third weekend of July and cant wait to get in the air. I recommend the farm to anyone who wants a friendly and professional environment to skydive.
(Review ID:5174)


Great Vibe


Skydive The Farm Rated 5 by: tim2thatom on 2011-08-26

Pros: Great People, Great Instructors, Awesome Landing Area
Cons: None

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
Started with a tandem this year. Within 5 days I was back for AFF. The instructors have been amazing. Everyone is friendly and helpful. If you're looking for a dropzone, look no further.
(Review ID:6711)


"Soon to be an Asian invasion site"


Skydive The Farm Rated 5 by: mayanosuke on 2007-05-30

Pros: People, vibe, facility
Cons: Why so far away from KY?

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
I drive to the Farm almost every weekend or every other weekend from KY to jump. It's worth the travel. Location may be a little tricky to find out if you are coming off the Interstate from North. I go pass through Rome to Cedartown, then to Rockmart. People are awesome! It is a fun place to jump and hang out. You would definitely have a good time when you are at the Farm.
(Review ID:3900)


great dzo great landing area great facilities


Skydive The Farm Rated 5 by: nottgrounded on 2007-09-27

Pros: This dz rocks
Cons: No convicts

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
I love to jump at the farm ppl are great the vibe rockz the bus ride is always a blast , the conversations are the bomb go jump the farm

...nottgrounded

(Review ID:4156)


A smaller dropzone NW of Atlanta.


Skydive The Farm Rated 5 by: skyhooked on 2005-02-19

Pros: Friendly folks, swoop pond, huge landing area, good prices.
Cons: none.

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
Skydive the Farm has the friendliest people of any dropzone I've been to. Even after being there for just five minutes, I didn't feel like an outsider.

They have a HUGE landing area, swoop pond, and a great staff. I'm on AFF right now, and I wasn't rushed through instruction ~ Hans and Woody will give you all the time you need to get ready for your jump.

It's a bit off the beaten path, but definitely a place I'm going back to in the future. 5 stars.

(Review ID:2109)


My new home away from home!


Skydive The Farm Rated 5 by: markph on 2007-05-30

Pros: Owners, Jumpmasters, Student gear, People
Cons: I have to work and don't get to visit as often as I'd like!

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
I did my homework before heading out and checking out this DZ. I read reviews on the internet and visited this DZ before deciding to call it home.
Hans and Sandy run a great home away from home. It is my first DZ and now I am happy to call it my home DZ. I have been out three times now, and just completed my AFF graduation and a few solos!
The training went very smooth. I asked a million questions and everyone was great including the delicious food Kim makes!
I will always be more than happy to call The Farm my home DZ. Thanks guys for everything...

(Review ID:3901)


This place lives up to the hype


Skydive The Farm Rated 5 by: Dittodogg on 2008-12-30

Pros: Awesome staff.
Cons: A 4+ hour drive for me

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
After completing my AFF at Raeford. The military moved me away from FT Bragg to south Alabama. I have been to pretty much all the local Dropzones (within 4 hrs)and not one of them compares to the Farm! Hans and Sandy are awesome! Mike over at chuting star has helped me out on repacks/ inspections, and with ordering a new freebag from a line over I packed myself. Everyone at this dropzone are true professionals! Awesome huge landing area... 2 swoop ponds... room for indoor packing no matter how busy it gets. I have stayed in the bunkhouse as well as camped on site with no issues. I even brought my wife and 2yr old daughter up for a weekend and they both had a blast... Sandy put up one of those bouncy castle things for the kids. The only issue I had with the place is that the lz can be hard to spot from altitude due to no Runway to make it stand out from the rest of the Fields. But the easy fix for that is to jump there more and I plan on doing that! I love this place!
(Review ID:4926)


First jump out of a plane = success!


Skydive The Farm Rated 5 by: alicja.surzyn on 2010-05-11

Pros: Super friendly environment and great place to learn
Cons: So far away from where i live (in Montreal!)

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
I have never been skydiving but i always knew it was something i wanted to do, so when the opportunity came up i was all in, figuring i would start with a tandem jump for my first time. But, the person i was with was doing the accelerated free fall which includes a day of instruction, so i decided to do it too and i'm so happy i did! The instruction provided by Andy was very thorough and clear. Everything that was covered during the day ensured that my jump was a success. When you're freefalling through the sky it's pretty hard to actually think about what you should be doing, that's why the repetitive instruction was so great because it was easy to fall into the pattern we had been practicing all day. The other instructor who jumped with me, Rodrigo, gave me excellent feedback after the jump, with helpful tips for next time. Overall, the atmosphere at the skydive farm was super positive, Marcia was super nice to take pictures for us and other skydivers and employees chatted with us and were genuinely interested in our experience. It's a great place to go and i would highly recommend going there for your first jump or your hundredth jump!
(Review ID:5694)


Great place to jump


Skydive The Farm Rated 5 by: Awarzone on 2004-07-06

Pros: Price! Big landing area, nice packing area
Cons: Shuttle to plane slows load turning, only open on weekends

If you are looking to get 20 jumps in a day the farm is probably not the place for you but if you want to get 5-10 jumps and only pay 10-14 bucks to jump at 14k the farm is the only place you can. Great people, great landing area, and at an unbeatable price! I went to the far with my dad for fathers day. He got his first tandem and I got my 100th jump with him. It was great. Even if you have to drive a little farther in the long run you will be saving more money on jumps then you are spending on gas and its well worth the trip. Just give it a try, you will love it!
(Review ID:1601)


It's a great DZ with great people and great facilities - if you like stuff like that!


Skydive The Farm Rated 5 by: Soudej on 2005-02-22

Pros: Huge, soft, level landing area, plenty of good-condition rental gear, new facilities, good vibe, great people, and plent
Cons: They haven't figured out a way to control the weather... yet! Also, lots of new people keep showing up... what's up wit

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
OK - while the rest of North GA was whining and complaining about the weather this weekend, Skydive the Farm was up and running... as usual! I only made it out for two half days (actually less than that... 1:30 on Saturday and 2:30 on Sunday with 6:30 sunsets) and still got in 9 jumps... and some of those were to altitude! As usual, the Farm was the place to be - helpful staff and coaches (I'm a newbie), several packers, and a rigger were on site. With the big, open landing area, even a new guy with a canopy bigger than most cargo chutes felt comfortable this weekend.

I love this DZ - whenever a staffer makes you stay in the aircraft or on the groud during an AFF jump course because they don't like the current conditions, you know they're out for your safety and longevity in the sport - not just a quick buck! That's why I keep going there, learning there, and bringing friends and family there. Come join me! Ask for Woody or Hans - they were EVEN able to help ME learn to skydive!

(Review ID:2113)


The place to go an enjoy


Skydive The Farm Rated 5 by: afrolow on 2004-06-26

Pros: All
Cons: None

The Farm is what all skydivers are looking for. Where they can get on the plane when they what to. No waiting around to see if the plane is going to fly.Nice people for all groups.can get up groups with on problems. VERY freindly atmosphere.I love it . You will too if you go out there. So lets meet there an have fun.
(Review ID:1602)


Great Grassroots DZ!!


Skydive The Farm Rated 5 by: SpacemanSpiff on 2007-09-30

Pros: Just about everything.
Cons: It's hot down there if you're a Pacific NW jumper like myself.

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
I was on a biz trip in the Atlanta region along with my wife this past week and we both brought our rigs along to keep us company. We stopped in at The Farm for a day of jumping and had a great time. They were in between turbines (had recently sold the caravan and were awaiting their new twin otter), but even using the small Cessna was fun!! Nice landing area, friendly people, talking parrot (which every DZ should have), and an overall great vibe. Stop in and see Mike at Chuting Star as he is a great guy to talk to about everything rigging. I wish this was my home DZ....
(Review ID:4162)


A beautiful, friendly and fairly priced drop zone.


Skydive The Farm Rated 5 by: lanntair on 2004-07-12

Pros: Integrity, Price, New Equipment, Size.
Cons: Not as well known...yet.

I'm from the North Georgia area, and I engaged in some pretty in depth research to try to find the best dropzone to complete my AFF certification before eventually deciding on The Farm.

When I called Hans, who operates The Farm, he was very friendly and "welcoming," which is not something I felt from every place I called. I asked Hans up front why prices were so low compared to the other dropzone in that area, and he simply said he felt that some other drop zones charged too much, and that some skydivers had been taken advantage of. They founded the The Farm because they want to do business in a way that takes care of skydivers and complements the sport.

To be honest, I was a little concerned at first about the equipment available at such a new and reasonably priced drop zone. When I arrived, those concerns were immediately relieved: state of the art rigs across the board, a huge recently constructed hangar, and an immaculate Caravan aircraft, with other aircraft available as needed. An Otter is also possibly on the way. The range of their rig inventory is impressive, with the ability to legally accommodate a very wide range of jumpers of all sizes and skill levels (I'm a 230 lb. beginner). Again, this is not something all drop zones do.

The landing field is tremendous, flat, neatly mowed, and soft. It is impossible (even for me) not to pick up this drop zone immediately from the air, and there are two large natural ponds on the property that swoopers can raid. A mobile restaurant also is on site, and they're building out brand new shower and bath house facilities. Overall, the whole place is just beautiful.

Even more important for me than the equipment and facilities were the people. And from the management to the packers and the other skydivers, every single person I met acted genuinely happy to see me when I arrived, and throughout the weekend, they offered friendly tips and encouragement, which I soaked up as a first timer. There were no unexpected charges from The Farm (other than a credit card surcharge of 4%), and everything from the instructor to the aircraft to the equipment was exactly as had been represented on the phone. All of these factors made the atmosphere of this drop zone feel safe and welcoming, like you were surrounded by good people who appreciated you.

Finally, the instructors were all thorough, motivated, patient and had thousands and thousands of jumps, which was important to me. Several instructors (other than mine) pitched in to help me with technique while waiting for another jump.

I also researched another drop zone in the same vicinity. Other skydivers I've spoken with have relayed negative experiences about business practices with this drop zone, practices that have since been confirmed to me by actual former employees. Although I do not have a personal experience with this other business, given the proximity of The Farm, the integrity of its management, its state of the art equipment and facilities, superior natural assets and, of course, fairer pricing, I have no reason to give my business to any other drop zone in the immediate area.

If you're coming from Atlanta, West Georgia, or East Alabama, I'd recommend giving Skydive The Farm a try. You won't be disappointed.

(Review ID:1607)


Home away from Home


Skydive The Farm Rated 5 by: madeinukeng on 2011-09-01

Pros: Very Friendly, Great Atmosphere, Professionalism, Experienced Instructors
Cons: Wish it was closer to my house..

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
I had heard nothing but great things about STF from friends and co-workers and decided it was time to go start AFF and get my A license. From the second I pulled on to the property I was very impressed. The dropzone was huge and maintained to the standards of a country club golf course with the grass perfectly cut and the water blue and clean. The swooping pond was clear of obstacles and dyed blue/green so that it is easily identifiable from the aircraft, which made for very easy spotting every time (great for first timers/visitors/students). The hangar and packing area are very spacious and have leather couches, T.V.s, a Chutingstar pro shop, vending machines, and a "snack shack" vendor on the property who has everything from breakfast foods to tuna salads to cheeseburgers. What else could you need during a weekend stay? There is endless camping space and even a bunk room and showers inside the facility. The instructors are very experienced, professional, and friendly. I have yet to meet an instructor or experienced jumper that hasn't gone out of his/her way to help me and others become better educated skydivers. Whenever I pull through the gates and onto the Farm, I immediately feel at home. I live 2.5 hours away from STF and still find myself making the drive almost every single weekend since the first day I stepped foot on the property. I highly recommend STF. Great establishment.
(Review ID:6728)


Bucolic


Skydive The Farm Rated 5 by: housed on 2007-06-08

Pros: Amazing People, Nice plane, Lucie Lu is there, Wonderful all around dropzone.
Cons: nothing

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
After a short visit to the Farm I am hooked. People where genuine, friendly, and very helpful. Their generosity (Hans, pilot, staff) all exceeded any expectations. This is a beautiful dropzone.
(Review ID:3918)


AFF at STF


Skydive The Farm Rated 5 by: CIV on 2011-02-06

Pros: Everything
Cons: Nothing!

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
Spent a week there in January doing AFF. I did not even make it out of the parking lot before someone greeted me (Jesse) and made me feel very welcome. Finished my AFF in two days thanks to my awesome instructor Jeremy. Even on the days missed because of the weather I still had a great time and learned lots. Thanks for all the packing help and advice Andy. The place was extremely friendly to students and new jumpers. On the last jump before I left I had four separate people randomly come up to me and do gear checks on me from the time I put my rig on to before I even made it off the bus! I will be returning soon to finish my A license for sure.

(Review ID:6223)
|< < > >|

Write your own Review