Skip to Content

Dropzone : Reviews

Reviews for: Skydive The Farm - (Visit this link) popular
Average Rating = 4.92/5 Average Rating : 4.92/5

Dropzone Summary | Reviews

Comments:  Show | Hide

> >|


Review Summary:


Average Rating : Average Rating = 4.92/5
Total Reviews: 198

> Write a Review

Show: Sort:
Display:
100% Times: 0 Times: 1 Times: 4 Times: 4 Times: 189
80%
60%
40%
20%
0%
Times  0 1 4 4 189
Rating  1 2 3 4 5



An amazing DZ that has something for everyone


Skydive The Farm Rated 5 by: Seebs112 on 2009-05-18

Pros: Lots of jumpers from different disciplines, great staff, great plane
Cons: nothing that is significant

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
Having only jumped at 4 different DZ's my knowledge is a little bit limited but I am absolutely in love with the farm.

At first I was weary to jump there as my home DZ WAS a different one in GA. After making my second visit to the farm I can assuredly say that I have found a skydiving family I hope is willing to keep me.

I am a belly flier and although there are a ton of free fliers there, the belly fliers are in no shortage. I met up with the people around and did some very fun and interesting jumps. The people there made me feel welcome and at home. Ultimately it was they who made me want to go back more than anything.

Hans is amazing and loves the sport which makes him easy to deal with and also a lot of fun. The after hours vibe is a ton of fun and one that made a lasting impression on not only me but my whuffo friend who came out one night just to hang out.

Overall, this place has everything one could ever need in a skydiving home. Chuting Star is located on premise, the packing area is huge, the landing area is nice and big, and the people are phenomenal.

I can happily say that The Farm will be my new skydiving home and I have found everything I was looking for.

(Review ID:5121)


Great place to do AFF


Skydive The Farm Rated 5 by: Storyteller on 2010-04-01

Pros: Great vibe, good price, nice location
Cons: None

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
Just finished my AFF course at Skydive The Farm.
The place is great. Nice people, good airplanes, good student rigs and a nice location.
Had my initial training and first jump with Andy. Levels 2-6 with Kevin and Jack. Level 7 again with Andy. They are all great instructors who took the time to explain everything in detail with an emphasis on security.
I will keep going there to finish my A licence requirements and to do all the fun jumping I can.
If you want to do AFF, don't think twice, STF is a really good place to do it and the price is better than most.

Blue skies and mild winds,


Luis

(Review ID:5633)


Great DZ


Skydive The Farm Rated 5 by: crture22 on 2007-08-21

Pros: Large landing area, PAK-750, very nice people
Cons: 2 hours from me

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
Grew up around the sport and DZs. This one is near the top of my list. Finally decided to go for a license and everyone here is very friendly and helpful. I only wish it wasn't a two hour drive for me.
(Review ID:4098)


Best experience of my life


Skydive The Farm Rated 5 by: shadylady on 2007-08-22

Pros: Excellent customer service, Professional Staff
Cons: None

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
I brought my son and daughter to the farm to do tandems. We were treated like family the moment we walked in the door. I will recommend them to all my friends. I think I will try an Aff jump.
(Review ID:4101)


Outstanding Dropzone!


Skydive The Farm Rated 5 by: bqmassey on 2011-05-16

Pros: Large landing area, awesome place to hang out, nice plane, cool people, etc
Cons: ....

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
What a great dropzone! It's truly a dropzone for everybody: tandem jumpers, AFF students, fun jumpers, teams, family and friends who just want to watch, etc. They make sure everyone is welcome! There's plenty of room to come out and watch. Sit on the large deck, or bring out your own chairs.

The landing area is plenty big, and there is a separate area for HP landings (with a swoop pond). There are a lot of outs around the DZ if for some reason you have to land off. Feel free to land at the far end of the LZ, a truck and trailer drives through and picks everyone up.

If you're a fun-jumper and you're new to the dropzone, make sure to get a good briefing on the landing area and the traffic patterns. It can be hard to find from the air if you don't have someone point out the landmarks. The scenery is really nice, though!

They jump a Twin Otter. It's a great jump plane with lots of room, and a big door.

If you're looking to make a tandem jump, you definitely can't go wrong with STF. The tandem instructors are GREAT with students, the camera flyers put a good effort into making the video worthwhile, and the price is great.

It's overall just a fun place to be, regardless of your experience (or inexperience) in the sport. In my opinion, Skydive The Farm sets a benchmark that all other dropzones should strive for, AND THE VIBE IS GREAT!!

(Review ID:6406)


A fine taste of southern hospitality


Skydive The Farm Rated 5 by: Saleen_Shadow on 2009-05-24

Pros: Knowledgeable and friendly staff
Cons: Limited number of aircraft

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
I was amazed from my first AFF jump to now how laid back and casual the staff and regular jumpers are. If you're looking for a more lax and calm approach to skydiving as opposed to knocking out as many jumps as possible Skydive the Farm is definitely the place for you. The instructors are extremely knowledgeable and everyone is more than eager to help you. You feel like a part of the family early on as opposed to a walking dollar sign to the staff. Other than the lack of aircraft that can make time between jumps a bit of a lag, Skydive the Farm is the place to jump and is certainly a place I plan on jumping now and down the road.
(Review ID:5127)


Get your butt to the Farm


Skydive The Farm Rated 5 by: millerk141 on 2008-06-30

Pros: Great enthusiasm, Very helpful, and fun!
Cons: None that come to mind.

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
Hans and Sandy are first class and run a first class operation. I started out with a Tandem to get my feet wet. Big mistake, I was hooked. I then went through the aff in two weekends. Great dropzone with great people to back it up. Big thanks to R G, Andy, Jesse, and Jack. Safety was never a concern to me. Top notch.
(Review ID:4616)


scenic private farm


Skydive The Farm Rated 5 by: proswooper on 2007-08-24

Pros: Private, beautiful, huge landing area.
Cons: Hard to leave

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
Hans runs a very professional outfit. Rigging loft is huge and will do anything while you wait. Nice atmosphere and just a great get away.


(Review ID:4105)


7 day a week drop zone best iave ever beenn to


Skydive The Farm Rated 5 by: section8 on 2010-04-04

Pros: the vibe and staff and the equip.
Cons: first time not jumping back on the runway.no biggie

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
I drove 12 hours to jump the farm ..would have driven further well worth it. It is so hard to explain the vibe you get just being there ...I would think of moving 12 hours closer to be able to go whenever I wanted. When they say top ten ...right on the nose. If the other ten in the count would probably give you free jumps to keep up..
(Review ID:5641)


great place


Skydive The Farm Rated 5 by: Ken922 on 2010-12-25

Pros: funnest thing ive ever done
Cons: none

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
Got a good vibe from every one there .
Andy .the ground school teacher' he loves to teach. And like any good teacher he want`s you to really learn and know your stuff.The AFF coaches all of them are on point and professional.They know there job well and make surn your are learning as well as haveing the time of your life while being safe.All the gear is top of the line and well maintained by there riggers at chuteing star .
I will remimber this place and the people the rest of my life and Cant wait to get back to the farm to do some more skydiving

(Review ID:6153)


This what skydiving should be.


Skydive The Farm Rated 5 by: DuckDodger on 2007-05-07

Pros: Facilites, People
Cons: Some extra turnaround time due to bus ride.

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
I jump here pretty regularly, but still enjoy visiting other dropzones. Can only describe the Farm as very cool.

The DZO will make every effort to make sure everybody has someone to jump with and have a great time. Everybody tries to follow that lead. Just one of the great things about this place.

The facilites and folks are great, so even going to the DZ and hanging out on a weather day is fun.

The rigging services are excellent.

The natural setting, cleared woods and ponds is good for the soul. Great place to pull up an RV or a pitch a tent.

The landing area is also excellent, but on a wind day, be careful near the hanger. Land out in the open instead. There are now seperate Hi Performance and normal landing zones, which I really like too.

The bus ride to the airport, about 5 miles, does add a bit of time, but who gets tired hanging with friends?

After hours at the Farm is always a good time. Everybody but the bus driver gets to go out and party.

I have noted a very real effort to educate and establish safe procedures on the DZ.

Th Farm is all about the Georgia I grew up in and love. If you have never been to Georgia, come check it out. Like I said, this is what skydiving should be.

My thanks the whole skydiving family at the Farm.

I been jumping here since I wrote the previous review about 4 years ago, and all I can say about the Farm is it just keeps getting better and better.

If you are a fun jumper you will love this place. I recently brought several tandems out and they all loved the place too. The boogies are great. There is plenty of free fly, swoop, and RW action going on. Camping here is not bad either.

Keep on getting better and better !

(Review ID:3850)


Missing The Farm


Skydive The Farm Rated 5 by: FlyingJ on 2005-06-03

Pros: Just a plain 'ole good place to be
Cons: none

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
Can't even begin to tell you how much I miss The Farm! I moved a little over 6 hours away back in December and the new job doesn't afford me the money to jump nor the money to pay for gas to get up there very often, but I have made a couple trips up to The Farm just to hang out. I shouldn't have been surprised, but I had just as much fun just spending the weekend with friends as I did when I was actually able to jump. Every time I go back it feels like I've never been gone, and it's always good to meet some of the pile of new people that have showed up since I've been gone.

Can't wait until I can make it back up to The Farm again!

(Review ID:2315)


My First DZ


Skydive The Farm Rated 5 by: thrashtweedy on 2012-10-31

Pros: Great place to learn, hang out, ride 4-wheelers, bring your dog, drink a beer (or two) and camp.
Cons: none

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
One of my friends heard about this place and recommended it. Glad she did! I spent every weekend from the end of Aug thru Sept here getting my AFF and A-license. Solid coaching and instruction! Can't wait to fly back from Japan and go to the next boogie.


(Review ID:7693)


When good skydivers die, God lets them go to the Farm


Skydive The Farm Rated 5 by: recondaddy on 2008-11-11

Pros: Too many to list
Cons: None to list

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
Been out of the sport for 10 years, and chose Skydive the Farm as the DZ to get back in the groove. Was pretty nervous about it and felt like a total noob. However, EVERYONE at STF made me feel like a member of the family.

Andy gave me a GREAT refresher course. Very laid back and informal but very thorough.

Warren and Sandy took me up for my recurrency dive and could not have been more encouraging and safety conscious. Sandy must've checked my gear three times before I left the aircraft.

Hans, the DZO, though bombarded with tandems and the hectic business of the day, was never too busy to talk.

STF is also the most beautiful drop zone I've ever seen. 55 acres of gorgeous, North Georgia land. Huge landing area. Reminded me of LZ Falcon at Camp Lejeune.

Had such an awesome time, I jumped twice more after completing my recurrency jump. The vibe at STF is the coolest I've ever seen. Everyone just seems like one big family.

It's a two hour drive for me, but Skydive the Farm IS my new home drop zone.

(Review ID:4878)


I'm a very happy first timer


Skydive The Farm Rated 5 by: cayers001 on 2011-05-20

Pros: Everything!
Cons: None!

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
My daughter and I both jumped tandem for the first time today. I could not be happier with our experience. I was tandemed to Dave, who was amazing. She to Ryan who was wonderful. Will did an incredible job on the video & numerous pictures. The staff is very friendly & helpful & so are the 'regulars.' Thank you all for a wonderful time, we will be back!

Cindy & Lauren

(Review ID:6416)


Cant wait to go back! SkyFest, here I come.


Skydive The Farm Rated 5 by: sdkd1995 on 2010-04-07

Pros: Huge, clean packing area, no runway under you to have to negotiate air traffic. great plane. friendly folks.
Cons: That i dont live closer :(

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
What can I say? Showed up without any advance notice on a Wednesday. Got there around noon and got to jump every load (6) they had for the rest of the day. These people reallty know how to run a DZ. And for you fellow freeflyers, there is plenty of it here, including some FF coaching if your just getting started in it. This will be the first year that SkyFest is held at this DZ and I can only hope that people will not miss out on such a great place. 2 ponds. plenty of camping area. onsite food shack. chuting star rigging and apparel onsite. If anyone is wondering, NO I do not work there. I do take a helicopter to various DZs in the midwest as a jumpcraft for special events though, and always appreciate when people give us props for the business we do. Just wanted to pay it forward to an outstanding DZ like Skydive The Farm.
(Review ID:5649)


Same as below


Skydive The Farm Rated 5 by: skydivebb on 2010-04-09

Pros: Same as below
Cons: Same as below

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
Awesome, same as below
(Review ID:5652)


kick ass dz


Skydive The Farm Rated 5 by: skygod7777 on 2006-08-25

Pros: gret people
Cons: have to bus to get on plane

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
i went down the the farm from ohio for a 139 dollar all you can jump boogie...the weather was kind of shitty, but it worked out that i had a really good time. people down there are really cool, i had a cut-away on my first jump and some locals went and found all my stuff, i walked in the woods for and hour and a half and came up with nothing, locals found it in notime and didn't even ask for anything, i offered beer, jumps, anything and they wouldn't take it. great place. i will be returing soon for sure.
(Review ID:3358)


Awesome DZ!


Skydive The Farm Rated 5 by: turtlespeed on 2007-01-05

Pros: Great People - Great Vibe - Great Landing Area
Cons: Much to much fun

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
I showed up, and the DZO already knew who I was. The landing area is really flat and smooth, swooping and surfing is very fun there. There are so many outs and alternate landing areas that it really makes it a safe environment. The pond on the other hand . . . it's just too long. (I kid) at 410FT - ( I think ) it is a formidable challenge - again - with outs and options.

Go there! Although nothing ever happens at The Farm, stories of nignoggery seem to happen anyway . . .

Just Go - You won't be sorry.

(Review ID:3614)


A Dropzone for Fun Jumpers


Skydive The Farm Rated 5 by: Andy_Copland on 2007-05-20

Pros: Its a 2nd Home
Cons: Too Close To ASC (Ha!)

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
I decided to visit the farm about 10,000 miles away from home just as an impulse decision based on another British skydiver who convinced me to go.
I arrived and was made to feel very welcome instantly. Manifest is quick and infact its hard not to get on a load if you're ready.
Lots of facilities and simply an amazing club atmosphere.

This place showed me what skydiving is really about, I would suggest giving this place a visit in the future to anyone.

(Review ID:3870)


A ranch with swoop pond, lake and banter


Skydive The Farm Rated 5 by: stonelowe on 2008-11-24

Pros: Great place to stay
Cons: Short bus ride to the airfield

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
I stayed for 3days last summer. The Farm had great facilities as long as the bunkhouse wasn't too full. Mike Mullins King Air was visiting for the weekend and I was made very welcome by all the staff. There was even free coaching. I had a great time and would recommend it to anyone.
(Review ID:4895)


Excellent


Skydive The Farm Rated 5 by: M3Rob95 on 2009-06-02

Pros: Excellent staff, new equipment, I made it
Cons: Need a college student discount

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
Ashley and Jesse are both awesome. Jesse shot my video and county Ashley was one of my instructors. Really cool people but dead serious about safety which is extremely valued to me. I did my first AFF and I am going again for my second this Saturday. I will continue to dive the farm!
(Review ID:5151)


Great first experience


Skydive The Farm Rated 5 by: Sibleys on 2014-05-22

Pros: Very relaxed, Calm atmosphere, Helpful Instructors
Cons: Probably need to go again, didn't find a con

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
My middle son skydived at the farm a couple years ago. Today my other two son's and I took our turn, with Mom on the ground to watch. This was a Father's day treat and the whole experience was better than expected. We all recommend "The Farm". I'm sure we will be back. Thanks, to Wesley, Rom and Cody, and Big John and the whole staff.
(Review ID:8480)


Skydiver's Heaven


Skydive The Farm Rated 5 by: npknapt on 2008-11-25

Pros: Skydiver's Paradise
Cons: Long drive for me but worth it

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
I love this place, I've jumped quite a few other places in my one year of skydiving, but every time I jump somewhere I wish I was jumping at STF. I did my first jump AFF level 1 at ASC and was instantly addicted to altitude but certainly not ASC. I moved to STF for the rest of my AFF and A License, they were so helpful and everything I couldn't believe it, and great pricing on A license Package, Hans was nice enough to give me some free jumps because I had already done AFF Level 1.

Coach jumps were always available, most of the time people wouldn't charge me for them or anything they'd just be like "Hey wanna jump? What do you need to work on I'll help you out with no problem” Everyone there made me feel like home. Mike G. on site there with Chutting Star makes it a true one stop shop, I got all of my gear there and Hans the DZO was never to busy to help me with any questions and help me find a cheap very nice main and reserve because I was still very new at the time, and still am.

I couldn't ask for a better dropzone although I with they'd move to Augusta or I could move to Rockmart. Please swing by STF and give them a try, it'll be your new home!

-Nick Knapton

(Review ID:4897)


The most amazing dropzone ever


Skydive The Farm Rated 5 by: Josh1130 on 2011-12-10

Pros: Everything
Cons: None

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
I've been with my friends to different dropzones throughout the state of GA,but my first drop was at SKYDIVE THE FARM.Their very friendly down to earth and professional all at the same time. I was not nervous or scared at all. I Felt safe and secure and my Instructor Chuck made me feel like we had been friends for years. AMAZING VIDEO And picture Quality. Definitely the best dropzone you could go to. Will Keep going back again and again
(Review ID:6945)
> >|

Write your own Review