Skip to Content

Dropzone : Reviews

Reviews for: Skydive Hawaii - (Visit this link)
Average Rating = 3.74/5 Average Rating : 3.74/5

Dropzone Summary | Reviews

Comments:  Show | Hide

> >|


Review Summary:


Average Rating : Average Rating = 3.74/5
Total Reviews: 37

> Write a Review

Show: Sort:
Display:
100% Times: 3 Times: 5 Times: 4 Times: 10 Times: 15
80%
60%
40%
20%
0%
Times  3 5 4 10 15
Rating  1 2 3 4 5



Big Operation, Family Owned and Operated DZ


Skydive Hawaii Rated 5 by: kawikadavis on 2014-01-21

Pros: You will not find a more beautiful "spot" anywhere.
Cons: The only issue I had was my vacation was too short!

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
Skydive Hawaii is a seven day a week operation. During my two week vacation, I tried to make my way to the drop zone every morning for at least one jump a day. This drop zone services a lot of tourists and a fair number of local tandem enthusiasts. As a licensed jumper, I had no problem getting “on the next load.” There are a lot of people that work at this drop zone. I found that they were extremely friendly. By the end of my two week vacation, I had spoken to a fair number of them and found them to be genuinely concerned with my having a good experience during my jumps. The winds across the landing area can frequently be high as they come across a tall row of trees, making for a tricky approach and landing. The staff members are experts at their unique location, and will share their knowledge and advice of the area and situation in a friendly professional way. My two weeks of jumping and being around Skydive Hawaii was a highlight of my vacation. I reconnected with old friends and made new ones: And the view from the “Spot,” unbelievable! I can’t wait to get back.
(Review ID:8347)


PERFECT


Skydive Hawaii Rated 5 by: SkiFreak on 2013-07-16

Pros: My first three jumps
Cons: not a for food or amenities but who cares

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
I lost my cherry here. Jumped 3 times in two days and am going back this coming weekend. Super cool people, low key, professional, kind, fun. IT WAS PERFECT.
LZ is fine. A few folks were wingsuiting out of the plane.

(Review ID:8041)


This facilitated a life changing event.


Skydive Hawaii Rated 5 by: skydive73 on 2013-07-08

Pros: Very calm, easy going, reassuring vibe from all instructors.
Cons: My own nervousness.

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
I wonder if those people who wrote negative reviews even enjoy jumping anymore? I mean, yes, the facility is a bit rustic, but who cares? It is a very relaxed atmosphere full of warm aloha from everyone. There's no pretense. No one is being disingenuous. If an instructor wants to talk to you, they will. Otherwise, it's pretty much the norm to walk around them and leave them alone so they can repack their chutes. I have spent thousands of dollars on psychotherapy to help me get over some personal issues. I have to thank Skydive Hawaii for being available to provide me some unconventional therapy in a controlled atmosphere. Did I feel safe? Yes, but that still didn't quell that feeling in my stomach before my very first jump. Was there a wait? Yes. The instructors take their time (as they well should) with each student and they focus their attention on their student. Even if I were to visit another dropzone (and I full intend to!) with pristine facilities and instructors that feed me insincere dialogue... it wouldn't change my experience with SkyDive Hawaii. What these folks do is nothing short of lifechanging and the do it in a professional and controlled manner. Thank you to my instructor Jake and my videographer Butters for helping me push past my own fears. You rock.
(Review ID:8030)


first tandem jump


Skydive Hawaii Rated 5 by: swent1 on 2013-04-23

Pros: The most beautiful dz i could have imagined
Cons: Cant think of one

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
Beautiful day to jump and the views were spectacular at dillingham airfield with the runway is centered between the beach and the mountains. I couldn't of asked for a better experience for my first jump, Jake my tandem master was great and my videographer butters gave me a memory that will last a lifetime.

Thank you Skydive Hawaii

(Review ID:7875)


Awesome place and people


Skydive Hawaii Rated 5 by: Rustylobster on 2011-09-22

Pros: Location
Cons: None

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
I had a great time and found the front office people to be awesome, charming, and totally hot! Richard was my wives TI and he was great. Don did the camera work that was a little expensive but worth every penny. The stills were high qualilty and perfectly center...no cropping needed. Everyone was friendly. Richard gave me a great pre jump DZ brief and explained all the dangerous wind issues. Best DZ I have jumped. Thanks!!!
(Review ID:6783)


Front Desk Staff Almost Ruined First Jump Experience


Skydive Hawaii Rated 2 by: cmchavez on 2011-06-30

Pros: Location and jump staff
Cons: Front Desk Staff

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
If you jump with these guys, be prepared to deal with their front desk receptionist\cashier, Blossom. She was extremely rude and unprofessional and very much took away from the great experience that the actual skydive jump was. While our intention was to tip our tandem partners after the jump, even before we got suited up in the skydiving equipment, Blossom made it a point to mention to us several times that its a standard practice to tip the staff.

The tandem jump partners were all very friendly and answered any questions we had on the ground and once we were in the air. The jump was great and the views of the various parts of the island were fantastic. All the members of our group agreed that portion of the activity was sooo much fun.

There are a few other skydive companies located at the same airport on the North Shore of Oahu; until Skydive Hawaii gets rid of Blossom, I'd recommend making your plans with someone else.

(Review ID:6541)


Horrible Staff


Skydive Hawaii Rated 1 by: dtellefsen on 2010-11-17

Pros: Great view, and great rental gear
Cons: The staff are extremely rude and not willing to work with newcomers... Unless you are a tandem

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
The staff at SkyDive Hawaii is extremely rude to non-Tandem Customers. They find every reason to bump fun jumpers off a load so they can continue their Tandem Factory. Go next door to Pacific it is a much better experience for any level skydiver! here is a good example, a camera guy ran after a tandem customer and asked him "Why didn't you tip me dude? was there a problem with the photos?" the customer said "I did give a tip to the guy I jumped with" and the camera man responded "so where is my tip?" Really? is that what skydiving is about? I am a student that started with SkyDive Hawaiii and have been "bumped" off a load for every reason you can imagine, I went to Pacific and have never been turned away! GO TO PACIFIC, TRUST ME!!
(Review ID:6116)


Dropzone at the edge of paradise


Skydive Hawaii Rated 4 by: Balu on 2009-09-27

Pros: The scenery, friendly and helpful people and a comfortable caravan
Cons: Almost no fun jumpers, somestimes very windy, no rental gear

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
This time me and my wife were travelling to Hawaii, and it was absolutely clear that we won't miss the chance to do a skydive there. We decided to go to Skydive Hawaii, because a friend of us worked there for a few months some time ago.

The day after our arrival at Honolulu we drove to Skydive Hawaii, which is a one hour ride from Waikiki. On that day it was too windy for us to jump, but the staff took the chance to do all the paperwork with us, so that we would ready when we come back. On that day we were told that they have no rental gear available. Somebody from the staff granted a exception for us, but be aware that this is normally not possible. So, if you go there, BRING YOUR OWN GEAR! And come as early in the morning as possible. The dropzone starts at 8:00 a.m. and at this time normally the wind is calm. Later at afternoon it may become too windy, even if already have a couple hundred of jumps.

One week later we came back, early in the morning this time. We checked in for the first load, which was a caravan of 11, 2 tandems, one video, three local jumpers and the two of us. So we had a very comfortable ride in a small caravan up to 13.000 feet. The caravan provides benches and buckles, and bars inside and outside the door. Thanks to the very good briefing the landing pattern was easily flown, and we were able to identify the outside landing spots from the air. There are a couple of them, so even if you got a bad spot or misjudged the wind, don't worry about the landing. Best would probably the beach, which is 40-50m wide. The landing are itself is sized as larger than a football field.

Food and drinks are provided by a food truck at reasonable prices and quality. Packing is done outside but in the shadow. Packjobs are available for six dollars. The only not so good thing is the number of fun jumpers at Skydive Hawaii. When we were there it was not enough to fill a caravan, so you have to wait fr the next group of tandems to arrive, before the next load gets ready. I don't know if that changes between seasons, maybe you should check this first if you want to do many jumps.

My overall rating is a recommendation, because there are no serious drawbacks, as long as you keep in mind to bring your own gear, and don't consider waiting times a big factor.

(Review ID:5400)


Very dissapointed!!


Skydive Hawaii Rated 2 by: vivjp on 2009-05-18

Pros: Great location
Cons: TANDEM FACTORY!!

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
I've been to Skydive Hawaii about 7 times now, have not jumped once! I'm a licensed skydiver and I called earlier this week to see if I could get a check dive on Saturday, and they told me to come up. I told a bunch of friends, and talked them into going skydiving. Turns out, even though the weather was perfect and winds were about 5 mph, I would be the only one not able to jump that day. The staff is extremely rude, and couldn't care less about the people or the wait time. One of my friends asked a tandem instructors about how long it would be before he would be jumping, and the tandem instructor told him "I'll call you when its time, if you don't like it you can leave and reschedule".

If you want an idea of what its like to be at this drop zone, imagine being an extremely fat nerd back in high school, and that's the kind of cold shoulder you'll get at this place, until of course its time to jump and there tips are on the line.

Long story short, this place is a Tandem Factory, and the customer is a high paying meat sack!!

(Review ID:5116)


Waited 5 h


Skydive Hawaii Rated 3 by: thorvick on 2009-05-12

Pros: Beautiful place
Cons: Too busy, too noisy, too industrial... You feel like cattle

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
I wish I had chosen another day or perhaps another skydive center. Although the experience was amazing (first timer) and I'm looking into skydive training now, I wouldn't recommend that place. I went there because I thought they were the only one on Oahu and this place had been suggested by a friend (who has had a great time there).

I booked online for a Saturday and when my friend and I got there it was crazy, super busy, super loud, very impersonal. We waited 2 h and finally decided to ask when we were going to jump. We had to wait another 2.5 h before getting ready. Had we known, we could have done other things in the meantime. I was supposed to get a photographer for my dive but the (unfortunate) guy had landed badly just before our turn and wasn't able to jump anymore. I finally went for my tandem and the nice guy told me that the photographer had certainly some psychological issues and had been turned down after having asked to do tandems. Very reassuring! Very professional...

Anyway, the skydive experience was great and the tandem guy very friendly, but the structure of the center is messy and not very friendly. I think they should consider their customer like people and not animals and they should tell you when there is a waiting time of 4.5 h so you can go to the beach and come back.

Last but not least, they are very expensive and when you add photos (75$) and video (100$) or both (150$), be ready to tip. They will be very pushy and remind you a great number of times that you're supposed to tip the photo and/or the video guy(s)!

Looking into Pacific for training now.

(Review ID:5104)
> >|

Write your own Review