Skip to Content

Dropzone : Reviews

Reviews for: Skydive San Marcos - (Visit this link)
Average Rating = 3.95/5 Average Rating : 3.95/5

Dropzone Summary | Reviews

Comments:  Show | Hide

> >|


Review Summary:


Average Rating : Average Rating = 3.95/5
Total Reviews: 61

> Write a Review

Show: Sort:
Display:
100% Times: 9 Times: 5 Times: 3 Times: 7 Times: 37
80%
60%
40%
20%
0%
Times  9 5 3 7 37
Rating  1 2 3 4 5



My home away from home. I feel safe here.


Skydive San Marcos Rated 5 by: CanopyConductor on 2013-07-24

Pros: PEOPLE, great pilot, new gear, extraordinarily safety oriented
Cons: I can't be there every day?

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
I started AFF here and, at first, I didn't think I was cut out for skydiving. I didn't realize how difficult it could be to fall... I just couldn't get stable. The instructors gave me great advice that has never failed me, I finally got the hang of things, and finished AFF without a scratch ;). I must say that Hank(Henry Prewitt) is an amazing person. He really went out of his way to make sure I felt comfortable and safe from the moment I arrived. No matter what stupid shit I pulled out of ignorance, he and/or the other instructors helped me through it without tearing my head off or making me feel like an idiot. The staff really goes the extra mile to ensure customers are having a friggin' great time. The world would be a better place if there were more people like these guys. I only have 31 jumps and I learn something new or actually grasp a concept I had previously been taught every time I go out there. Not to mention, whether you're doing AFF or Tandem, you'll feel surprisingly safe because the vast plethora of knowledge & sheer amount of experience these guys(&gals) have is astonishing and they'll readily share it with you. I'm out there almost every weekend & I've never seen a Tandem/AFF student that wasn't smiling ear to ear after their jump. Aside from all the fun, jokes, and drinking(after hours of course), SAFETY is put first and everybody looks out for one another. Oh, and if you're a fun jumper, the packers & pilot are awesome. I haven't been to any other DZ, but I've heard numerous stories from fun jumpers that this is the place to be because the atmosphere, packers, and people are their favorites. I've been going out there for ~4 months & I've never been maltreated or given bad information. I guess you could say I've become a bit obsessed with going out to SSM and skydiving :P
(Review ID:8062)


Just a great DZ!


Skydive San Marcos Rated 5 by: puppystomper on 2013-06-30

Pros: Staff, Facilities, Cost, Gear
Cons: None

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
The first day I was here for ground school/AFF 1 training, I was a bit apprehensive. That lasted about eight minutes. I spent over a month researching different DZs in the area before deciding on SSM and am so glad I did. The training was great, the staff a great mix of fun and professional, the location beautiful and my first square canopy jump was incredible. I stayed in the bunkhouse for ten dollars(!) a night, but before I could settle in after operations were over for the day a staff member put a beer in my hand and made me feel like I'd known these folks for years. They had no problems taking in a newbie and answering all my questions, even though I know they'd answered the same ones hundred of times before. After grilling, beers, stories, mini lessons, jokes and swimming I knew I'd made the right decision in choosing SSM.
The next few days were much the same. I already knew I was hooked and the riggers there were great in checking out a rig I was looking at, explained why it was wrong for me and then proceeding to find gear more appropriate to my needs for less money than I was ready to spend! Professionalism at it's finest.
Fast forward two weeks and I'm one jump away from my A license (damn rain) and I now have a new family. I brought a friend out for his first jump and he ended up staying for three days and echos my thoughts exactly. Tandem jumpers leave smiling, fun jumpers the same. I totally understand now what they said to me the first day of AFF... "We don't train skydivers here. We train instructors".

(Review ID:8013)


Amazing DZ, good people, plenty of lift power


Skydive San Marcos Rated 5 by: JimmyO on 2013-04-29

Pros: Peeps
Cons: Its hot already

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
I visited San Marcos while in Austin on a business trip. Not knowing anyone at the time, several sport jumpers introduced me around. The loads are split, with the tandems getting out on the first pass at 10,500 which makes canopy traffic no problem at all, in either aircraft. The view is amazing, lots of outs and good people. I suggest stopping for a visit.
(Review ID:7885)


Girlfriend and I went for first time tandems


Skydive San Marcos Rated 5 by: BigRageDave on 2012-08-08

Pros: Awesome instructors, very friendly and welcoming
Cons: Receptionists

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
Girlfriend and I got the itch and chose to go to this DZ to scratch it. The entire staff is extremely friendly and seemed very knowledgeable excluding one set of exceptions. I signed up for my AFF Ground school the same day and my girlfriend for her second Tandem. The women working behind the counter were the only downside. Very negative and blah seeming. One exception behind the counter was an older lady who was very friendly and helpful. (To avoid the bad ones, I'll only say stay away from pockmarks or glasses behind the counter). Overall I'm thoroughly satisfied with the experience, after all I was more worried about the Instructors being on-point than the receptionists. lol
(Review ID:7535)


Vacation Jumping


Skydive San Marcos Rated 5 by: townewahl on 2012-01-15

Pros: Open year round, wide open packing areas, friendly and professional staff.
Cons: Limited winter hours.

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
I was on vacation in San Antonio and wanted to jump. I was told about Skydive San Marcos so I checked them out. The staff was friendly and worked with me. Their winter hours were not posted on their website. I went on a thursday during winter hours and found out they don't fly Tues thru Thurs during the winter. Although they weren't flying they did give me a tour of the facilities and the DZ. Showed up Friday to jump on a very tight schedule (only two hours to jump) had to do an emergency review class (took an hour to start the class) which took 30 minutes to complete and then asked to get on the next lift due to my tight schedule. They made sure I was on the next lift and had a coach but I ran out of time. Asked for a refund and was told that they will give jump credit. I came back on Saturday and jumped all day. I started to pack after my second jump and was asked who needed the water portion for their B license. Finished my B license with their staff. Thank you I will be back again.
(Review ID:6990)


Overall I was really impressed with this DZ


Skydive San Marcos Rated 3 by: gnore on 2011-11-24

Pros: Beautiful facilities and helpfull staff
Cons: tandem factory, refused to refund jump tickets

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
While visiting my wife's family in San Antonio, I decided to visit San Marcos. I was really impressed with their staff and facilities. After the Otter had mechanical issues and had to be shut down, it obviously slowed things up a bit. After being bumped for 2 1/2 hours, my wife and kids got tired of waiting around. When I tried to get my tickets refunded, I was refused. I explained that I live over 1000 miles away and didn't know when I would be back down that way again. I pulled low, packed fast, and got the hell out of there.
(Review ID:6928)


Attended GS, not able to jump b/c of winds, definitely going back


Skydive San Marcos Rated 5 by: hokierower on 2011-02-20

Pros: Very Nice Facility, Great Instructors, Friendly Staff
Cons: Can't think of any

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
GF and I decided to try skydiving out and we opted to try the AFF Level 1. Showed up in the morning and were helped out by the very friendly staff. Class came together and there was 1 main instructor and 2 helpers for 6 students. Our instructor was Aaron and Tara & John helped out, all of whom were extremely professional. They made sure you were completely confident before moving on. Wrapped up the class around 3ish and then manifested to jump. Unfortunately winds picked up and we weren't able to go, but I will definitely be going back.
(Review ID:6240)


Fun, Inviting, Relaxed, Exciting


Skydive San Marcos Rated 5 by: melnjohn on 2011-02-18

Pros: Everything
Cons: The dang sun goes down.

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
One Feb 11th, 2011, I flew from Denver to Austin to attend the Skydive San Marcos (SSM) Speed Star Scramble. Upon my arrival to the Drop Zone, a staff member, Stacy Velasquez, immediately greeted me with a smile and above average professional demeanor. The staff and fellow jumpers made me feel welcome. As a new jumper to SSM, there was an immediate friendly vibe about the organization; I was ready to jump.

Another staff member, Kailea Schirmer, arrived to the reception area give me a thorough and knowledgeable tour of the facility. The tour of the facility revealed an awesome reception area for jumpers to manifest and get questions answered, a large foyer for jumpers and spectators to mingle, and a café with pretty darn good food. Adjacent to the foyer was the Rental Rig (with a big selection) and Tandem prep room. Beyond the prep room, was another staff area where packers were busy repacking Rental and Tandem Rigs.

Across for the main area was the Instructor and Staff area. An Instructor and Student were planning the next Accelerated Freefall Level. As I watched this, the Instructor was very attentive to the needs of the student to allow the student to gain the most amount of experience from the skydive.

Through a covered corridor, where at least 5 people said ‘hello’, was the USPA lounge for Licensed Skydivers to come together and talk, hang out, plan, or review a last jump on SSM’s big screen TV. Beyond the lounge is a pool; yes, a pool for cooling off from the Texas heat.

Adjacent to the pool was the packing area. The packing area is a covered building with plenty of room for jumpers to pack and hang out as well as for teams or ad hoc groups can plan dives.
The landing area was as familiar from the air as it was on the ground. Past the white fence, is a shaded area for jumpers to congregate prior to getting on a lift and for spectators to view what’s happening in the air without the sun in their eyes.

The loading area allowed for waiting jumpers to dirt dive next to the loading area with SSM’s two mockup’s. As I waited on the aircraft, I met Henry Prewitt, aka “Hank” who provided me with more information on the Drop Zone such as Landing Pattern, Direction of Flight, and other information about SSM that makes it an awesome Drop Zone.

Saturday (Feb 12th) – I arrived to find event organizers, Christie Staffa and Jerilyn Cordova, making easy work of organizing the teams for the Scramble. Jumpers came from Houston, Corpus Christi, San Antonio, Baytown, and (of course) Denver. There were quick turns of aircraft and non-muffled manifest calls that kept the Speed Star Scramble going as well as getting fun jumpers, tandems, and students up in the air. The day ended with an awards ceremony, Chili dinner by Doc D, and stories from the Speed Star Participants.

Skydive San Marcos is a top notch organization that made my trip worth the travel. I had an incredible amount of fun, certainly learned a lot, and left feeling like I was part of the family.

Blue Skies

(Review ID:6237)


In my limited experience of dropzones San Marcos is one of the best I have visited.


Skydive San Marcos Rated 5 by: BombDog on 2010-11-14

Pros: Great staff, awesome planes, private airstrip, large grassy landing area, very safety conscience.
Cons: Very addicting, Did not want to leave.

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
The staff at San Marcos was very helpful and friendly while at the same time they excluded a very professional and safety oriented demeanor. The private landing strip, well maintained aircraft and large grassy landing area made each jump a hassle free and enjoyable experience.
The facilities are clean, large and modern, plenty of room for packing and even a snack bar and and indoor seating for eating. And if that wasn't enough there is even a pool located right next to the landing area. I will definitely be heading back there sometime in the near future.

(Review ID:6109)


Safe, fun DZ


Skydive San Marcos Rated 5 by: elgeeko on 2010-11-14

Pros: safety-oriented, excellent facilities, good organizing, reliable planes
Cons: lots of tandems

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
Great place to jump, plenty of fun jumpers most of the time, pleasant manifest, pulled in a great organizer, lots of events (CRW, freefly, RW, carnivals).
(Review ID:6107)
> >|

Write your own Review