Skip to Content

Dropzone : Reviews

Reviews for: The Freefall University - (Visit this link)
Average Rating = 4.68/5 Average Rating : 4.68/5

Dropzone Summary | Reviews

Comments:  Show | Hide

> >|


Review Summary:


Average Rating : Average Rating = 4.68/5
Total Reviews: 50

> Write a Review

Show: Sort:
Display:
100% Times: 1 Times: 2 Times: 0 Times: 6 Times: 41
80%
60%
40%
20%
0%
Times  1 2 0 6 41
Rating  1 2 3 4 5



Awesome place - amazing people - lots of fun!


The Freefall University Rated 5 by: K83 on 2013-10-01

Pros: instructors!, focus on safety, student friendly landing area, location
Cons: None....absolutely none

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
I admit I have been a bit nervous when I arrived at the Freefall University on the first day of my AFF course. After all, I didn't know anything about them except that they had a nice homepage and the booking procedure went smoothly. And then you have to trust people you've never met before to bring you down safely after jumping out of an airplane from 13.000 ft.....scary thought!

However, the nervousness was gone after 5 minutes, as the atmosphere at FFU is very relaxed and welcoming.
The instructor performing the ground school explained all the basics - especially everything that is safety relevant - with a great deal of patience. It was no problem to ask the same questions over and over again...they don't stop before you feel comfortable with your newly acquired knowledge. Even for me as non-native English speaker, it was no problem at all to follow the explanations.

Once you're ready to do your first jump, you have two instructors with you which make sure that you're okay in freefall. Landings are assisted via radio, but even without it would be very difficult not to land on the landing area....it is really huge! While I have been nervous before some jumps, I've always knew that I'll be safe, which is a big plus in my book.

All AFF jumps are recorded on video and discussed with the instructor afterwards. This is a great tool to understand what needs to be improved. With constructive feedback and encouragement from the instructors, it's relatively easy to progress through the AFF program.

After finishinig the AFF levels, the fun goes on doing consolidation jumps. Also here, it has never been a problem to find an instructor giving advice and explanations.

On top, the place just has a nice vibe...all staff ranging from instructors over packers to manifestors is very open minded, competent and enthusiastic about skydiving. The place is nice, the weather very stable, and being in Spain is a definite plus since it gives you the option to relax in the sun between jumps.

I could continue telling about the good organization, the interesting and funny people one can meet there, the evenings out.....

My recommendation is: GO THERE, learn, jump, enjoy....you won't regret!
I will certainly go back there, it's the perfect place.

(Review ID:8226)


Awesome place for a holiday!


The Freefall University Rated 5 by: red-sky on 2013-08-12

Pros: Staff, weather, landing area
Cons: lack of changing/shower facillities

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
I've been to the Freefall University twice now, once in March and once in July and had a great time both times.
Jumping is the only thing you need to think about when you’re there, as everything else is taken care off by the FFU. Accommodation is arranged in apartments in the nearby town Aranjuez. Most, if not all of the students and funjumpers stay there so there's always people to have a drink with after jumping. Transportation to and from the dz was arranged every day as well.
The dropzone itself has a massive landing area, one or two Porters flying depending on how busy it is, a big hangar for packing and a cafe that servers a variety of snacks and sandwiches.
There’s a steady stream of AFF students there and of course there’s the local freeflyers, wingsuiters and bellyflyers to jump with. The staff are great with everyone, regardless of the experience level.
I went for freefly coaching on both my trips, which was great for pointing out/getting rid of some bad habits and got a lot of things to keep working on.
All in all I had a great time on both trips and would recommend this dropzone to anyone, be it student or experienced skydiver!

(Review ID:8104)


The AFF has just been the beginning...


The Freefall University Rated 4 by: 21JumpSuit on 2013-05-06

Pros: Skilled & helpful instructors(!), big landing area with few obstacles, vibe at dropzone
Cons: Lack of showers, bad weather options could be organized centrally

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
Generally doing an AFF has been one of the best choices I've ever made. It didn't feel that way in the beginning of the AFF-course as my body didn't consider jumping out of an airplane as a natural thing. This has changed rapidly during the first levels of the AFF due to several factors:

My instructor was not only very good in explaining skydiving itself but in finding solutions and excercises for my improvement. He somehow managed to create a professional but very relaxed atmophere that made it more like jumping with a friend than being in "a class".

There was a great spirit on the dropzone which helped a lot to chill out between the jumps. Everybody was friendly and open minded - I met a lot of interesting people I'm still in contact with. The dropzone had everything from a bar where you could buy soft drinks, coffee and sandwiches to a full restaurant with a great three course meal for just 10 €.

Beside jumping and having fun there was nothing to really think of as everything else from transport (daily and airport) to accomodation was perfectly organized by the FFU for a fair price.

For all this reasons I'm only strongly recommending the FFU but going back there in a couple of days to do my consolidation jumps.

(Review ID:7898)


Great Place to learn and master the art of skydiving


The Freefall University Rated 5 by: JamesGroves on 2013-03-10

Pros: Serious Skiydivers, Family environment, 2 planes weekends, Free WiFi
Cons: Lack of Changing and Shower facilities

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
I did my AFF here in the summer everything went smoothly. Great coaching before and after each jump. Plenty of experience people to ask at the drop zone who are always willing to help.

During the summer access to a decent size swimming pool.

There is a few complaints about the food but I feel there are enough options to satisfy peoples needs. There is another restaurant close and a garage with a shop 10-15 minutes walking. There price is the average price for these kind of places chips 3 euros but you get a shit load of them, bacon sandwiches 4 euros, again of good size. Also there is no problem if you want to bring your own food plenty of places to sit and watch the students and professionals land.

I have met many great people and friends there and it will be guaranteed you will too.

I have a discount code to use if you come by my recognition (dcowman). use this with what ever you book. tandem or courses.

Many people talk about doing this vary fey actually grab the bull by the horns and ride the beast to the finish line.

Will you live the dream?....

(Review ID:7822)


Awesome DZ run by great people


The Freefall University Rated 5 by: jockbauer on 2013-01-28

Pros: Staff, friendliness
Cons: Lack of bad weather options

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
I did my AFF here last year and don't have a bad word to say about the place. The instructors are second to none (I did an AFF elsewhere a few years ago and the standard of instruction was immeasurably better at FFU), as dilligent as you could ever wish for and they really do their best to get you through the course as quickly as you are capable of - but never sacrificing safety for a quick pass.

I've been back since and my next trip is booked, I've jumped a few other DZ's but I'll always keep coming back here.

The only negative is the lack of options for bad weather days, and the fairly quiet nightlife, though if like me, you've come to jump as much as possible, this isn't a huge deal. However the accomodation has recently been relocated to a larger town so maybe this will have a positive impact on the nights?

Can't recommend highly enough.

(Review ID:7794)


Possibly one of the best places to do your AFF


The Freefall University Rated 5 by: RealFood on 2012-08-26

Pros: Professional, knowledgable and friendly instructors who inspire confidence, great weather, large landing zone, great pac
Cons: 2,500 ft above sea level, so some hard landings for the inexperienced, Ocana is a bit of a dump and the food is s***e

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
I did my level 2 to 8 here after losing patience with British weather after level 1, completed levels in 2 days and consoles in 4 plus 1 additional fun jump, a total of 21 jumps in 6 days and in the ensuing 5 weeks back in the UK have only managed another 8 jumps. As someone a bit older (went with my 18 year old son who also qualified) and heavier (16.5 stone and 6ft 5), it was terrific to be welcomed so warmly. Instructor was Darren, who was truly brilliant and who also had to work very hard on a couple of levels where control was severely lacking to say the least, but was always very positive (at least to my face, who knows how the instructors laughed at my videos in my absence!) Packers and manifest were also extremely good, friendly and effecient and its really hard to find any fault with this centre. FFU was an amazing experience, I will be back there on a regular basis and would seriously recommend it to anyone considering AFF.
(Review ID:7571)


Fab


The Freefall University Rated 5 by: TopcaTim on 2012-08-23

Pros: Everything
Cons: Bar needs better food

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
I can't recommend these guys enough! For the price of AFF in the UK they arranged my flights, accommodation, transfers to and from the airport and DZ. Really good instructors; I had the same guy for three days allowing him to coach me very effectively. Everyone is sound as. Your best choice for a speedy AFF course no nonsense.
(Review ID:7567)


Epic.... :)


The Freefall University Rated 5 by: muffninja on 2012-08-15

Pros: Great for AFF, fun jumpers and Tandem. Very skilled and friendly instructors, HUGE landing area, hangar with WIFI, pool
Cons: better selection on the snack bar..

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
Not long back from my skydiving in FFU and i have to say FFU is by far the better jump zone and one that i will be making a lot more visits to and will be recommending strongly to other people.
Their professional approach to how they train their AFF students is second to none, and even after u've passed they are always talking to you to see if ur getting on well and offering any help then can.. And for fun jumpers you will have no problem getting jumps as the put an extra plane up if its a busy day.. And unlike some places ur not a second choice to tandem

Darren was one of my instructors along with stevo and showed me a very high standard of instruction, helped as much as possible making me feel welcome and at ease every step of the way.
In a nutshell, i would strongly reccomend The Freefall Univercity to anyone who is/wants to become a skydiver, have a great time and enjoy the skies!

Please give my thanks to all instructors at the drop zone, much respect and i hope to see them soon.

(Review ID:7552)


A good sport to start it seems, fun and friendly- AFF & jumps like easy


The Freefall University Rated 5 by: garlic on 2011-10-28

Pros: La Mancha, the 'Juez, Wine & Tapas, DZ-BBQs
Cons: Some tandems prioz'

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
This DZ is in Spain, which helps in many ways: it's warm there, usually sunny, people are fun and like to party..

The spot itself- nice, with its snackeria, chill terasse, 2 Pilatus for the ride, some expert accro pilot showing off in the WE (like, really expert) and whatever you need to jump looks in good shape. The Instructors too.

Did some epic BBqs there, loads of burgers and sausages, packs of cold beer sun, rodeo driving and karaoke.

(Review ID:6883)


Friendly and professional DZ. AFF, coaching, good manifest system, great vibe!


The Freefall University Rated 5 by: HenrikNOR on 2011-10-27

Pros: Good for AFF(safety focus) Very skilled and friendly instructors, HUGE landing area, big hangar with WIFI, great vibe!
Cons: the snack bar doesn't have viking size meals, I cant go live in Spain right now and jump every day

  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Location
I first called FFU in MAY 2011 too book a USPA-A license course in July for me and two friends. The staff are very easy to talk to and they can fix everything for you, book hotel, airport pickup etc. For accommodation Infantas Hostel is a good choice, if you want to be social with other skydivers. Most students stay there and its very easy to meet a lot of interesting and fun people. Close by is Cheers Pub which is always a good time!

Their ground school is very focused on safety and they make sure you feel comfortable before you proceed. Sam, one of the packers gives a great step by step packing course which is easy to follow. The landing zone is probably the biggest one out there, you cant miss it! For the pros there is a spot with grass for them to land on.
We were a bit unlucky with wind, but with help from the staff we still managed to finish everything in 8 days.

Last weekend I came back from my second trip to FFU and I already cant wait to go back. 30 jumps in 5 days is no problem if you are eager to jump, there are plenty of loads!

I reccomend The Freefall Univercity to anyone who is/wants to become a skydiver!

And thank you to everyone at the dz, see you soon!



(Review ID:6881)
> >|

Write your own Review