Skip to Content

Dropzone : Reviews

Reviews for: Air Capital Drop Zone - (Visit this link)
Average Rating = 4.91/5 Average Rating : 4.91/5

Dropzone Summary | Reviews

Comments:  Show | Hide



Review Summary:


Average Rating : Average Rating = 4.91/5
Total Reviews: 10

> Write a Review

Show: Sort:
Display:
100% Times: 0 Times: 0 Times: 0 Times: 1 Times: 9
80%
60%
40%
20%
0%
Times  0 0 0 1 9
Rating  1 2 3 4 5



A friendly dropzone where everyone knows your name ;)


Air Capital Drop Zone Rated 5 by: dreaming13000 on 2010-06-09

Pros: Safety concious and awesome friendly vibe
Cons: it is a short freefalll from 10k :)

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
This is the closest dropzone to where I am living at this time. I have jumped in 4 different states at 4 entirely different drop zones. Everything from a huge (rich) tandem factory dz to the small parachuting club. This is by far the friendliest dropzone I have jumped at. The jumpers here are not cliquey and I was invited to jump with other more experienced jumpers repeatedly. They treated their beginning students as equals and everyone made it a point to introduce themselves.

This summer there will be two c-182's in operation during their weekends and both aircraft were the nicest 182's (and even nicer then the otters and caravans ) i have ridden in, clean and by all appearances very well maintained. The packing is indoors and there are "packers" if you are looking for that sort of thing. The landing area is great for all experience levels and there are lots of great outs. The rental/student gear was well maintained and in good condition.

The amount of energy and training given to the tandems while I was there was superb! The video about the waiver was very informational and captivating (unlike the reallllllly boring ones I've seen) The tandems all left with huge smiles on their faces.

I would recommend this dz to anyone who wants to extend their skyiving family!

(Review ID:5764)


excellent small DZ with experienced staff, friendly atmosphere, easy access, covered packing, good v


Air Capital Drop Zone Rated 5 by: evolirol on 2007-02-25

Pros: friendly staff and jumpers, great atmosphere
Cons: Kansas weather

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
I've been jumping for 30 years and have been to many, if not most, of the DZs in the country. I've worked at a number of them. I moved to Wichita a couple years ago and started flying for Air Capitol. I have never felt more welcome or appreciated than I do there, nor have I ever had more faith in the maintenance of an aircraft. Martin is very picky when it comes to maintaining things, both the airplane and the gear, and the place has a terrific safety record. It also has great vibes, excellent student training and coaching, and a good base of up-jumpers. How many big DZs can you find with covered, climate controlled packing areas big enough for everyone all year round? Students and experienced loads are worked in between the tandems and anyone who wants on a load can easily get on one with very little wait, and be accepted by other up-jumpers without question. This doesn't often occur at the larger DZs either. So, if you're passing through the midwest, stop and make a jump at the friendliest litte DZ anywhere around!
Lori Love
D-7663

(Review ID:3710)


A great little DZ where they make you feel welcome.


Air Capital Drop Zone Rated 5 by: sputnik74 on 2006-10-01

Pros: Great people, friendly atmosphere, safety oriented.
Cons: None

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
I was recently in Wichita for work and called ahead to see about jumping while in town. When I showed up at the DZ I was immediately welcomed by everyone (staff members and local fun-jumpers alike) and they all went way out of their way to make sure that I felt like part of the group.

My home DZ is in Colorado so on the first load when I made a comment about it being a little harder to get oriented in Kansas without the Rocky Mountains to use as a reference point everyone on the load pointed out features for me to use to make sure I would have no problem honing in on the landing area once under canopy. This was one example among many of the general attitude of the people at "AC/DZ".

If and when work brings me back to Wichita, you can bet I will be back to jump with the fine people at Air Capital Drop Zone.

(Review ID:3446)


A Drop Zone that's perfect for beginners, as well as experienced jumpers!


Air Capital Drop Zone Rated 5 by: LittleB on 2006-05-27

Pros: Awesome people, great location, extensive knowledge
Cons: None!

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
I recently got a "wild hair" and decided it was time to skydive. After some research, I came across Air Capital Drop Zone. I can now say I am HOOKED!
The day I showed up for my first jump (tandem), I was welcomed with "open arms." Everyone there was more than willing to answer any questions I had. They made sure I felt comfortable with what I was doing. They are very big on safety, which gave me more confidence. Mark and Martin worked with me for my first jump, covering all aspects, from gearing up to the landing. They didn't portray the "big city" attitude, and treat me like just another dollar, but they treated me like one of their own. You can tell they honestly care about your safety, and they want you to have a good time.
The atmosphere at ACDZ is very comfortable. I usually am kind of shy about asking questions that I may think are dumb, but the instructors and other experienced jumpers don't look at it that way. They are more than willing to answer ANY question you have, and don't laugh at you if the question may seem insignificant. They "took me under their wing" and treated me like a kid sister.
My experience at ACDZ was beyond words. I haven't been to other Drop Zones, but after going to Air Capital Drop Zone, I don't want to go anywhere else!

Brenda

(Review ID:3107)


a real "home" DZ


Air Capital Drop Zone Rated 5 by: meekerseeker on 2005-12-19

Pros: friendly & fun
Cons: can't think of any

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
DZO Martin Myrtle is a great skydiver with a knack for business, and the atmosphere he propagates reminds me of jumping "how it used to be" but with all the advances of good technology & safety.

This DZ has
-good professionalism, very helpful
-family friendly
-a well maintained, high performing Cessna 182
-plenty of packing in the hangar, lots of landing area
-good location, very close to amenities (Wichita)

ACDZ is our "sister" DZ of sorts (I'm the little sister, Martin's the big brother). In an industry usually replete with cliques and competition, ACDZ continues to show how cooperation, education & information add immensely to everyone's enjoyment and safety. In September 2005, ACDZ hosted the first Annual All Kansas Cessna Boogie, bringing in all the dropzones in Kansas in cooperation for fun and sharing.

Jen Sharp, Skydive Kansas DZO

(Review ID:2760)


An excellent facility with exceptional staff serving a variety of student and non-student needs.


Air Capital Drop Zone Rated 5 by: gstukey on 2005-09-25

Pros: Excellent Staff, Great Location, and Lots of Services
Cons: None that come to mind!

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
With just beginning in this sport, I researched various facilites in search of what opportunities I was looking for in a DZ. ACDZ treats everyone like family, and being a student, I wasn't quite sure if I would fit in or not. I quickly discovered that regardless of your experience level, the staff and members treat you as one of their own--ever willing to answer questions, offer advice, or share their own experiences.
The staff at ACDZ make each person a safety priority, and I can honestly say that while under their instruction, I feel as safe as being in my mama's arms. I truly feel welcome at ACDZ and look forward to building upon the friendships I have made thus far and in sharing my experiences with others.

(Review ID:2617)


One of the "Best" drop zones in Kansas


Air Capital Drop Zone Rated 5 by: wsinsel on 2005-04-25

Pros: The people, the airport owners, and the location
Cons: none

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
A warm and friendly atmosphere with qualified instructors and coaches, a safe, well maintained aircraft and a short 15 minute drive all combine to make this one of the best DZ's in Kansas. The new runway and other improvements to the airport also insure the long term viability of ACDZ. Riggers, mechanics and pilots on site are second to none. Only minutes away from a city full of restaurants and services, it the most convenient DZ in Kansas. It makes no sense to drive a longer distance and receive less for your skydiving dollar. It's a great place for your kids too. Even the family dog is welcome. No drugs, no drunks, and no egos. Come join the family and the fun at Kansas' only family DZ. See why it's the real deal.
(Review ID:1588)


Air Capital Drop Zone!


Air Capital Drop Zone Rated 4 by: skydived19006 on 2004-11-17

Pros: Great people, facilities, and aircraft
Cons: A bit "tandem heavy", few free flyers

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
I may be a bit biased in my review of Air Capital Drop Zone (I’m the owner). But, I think you will not find a friendlier DZ anywhere. Our regular jumpers over the last few years have gravited to belly to earth RW, but free flyers can generally find a “buddy”. You will feel right at home half an hour after you arrive!
Also, you won’t find a DZ with a better maintained and staffed fleet of aircraft (one Cessna 182). Our 182 has a new upgraded engine (2009), Texas Skyways O-520U/TS (that means more power!) and a very cool (sexy) Hartzell three blade prop. N8882X now has winter climb times of 13 minutes to 10k, we’ll see what she does in the heat this summer. We can now easily make in excess of 20 loads a day (7 +/- are generally tandem loads). AC DZ will employ only highly skilled Commercial pilots trained for skydiving operations, and never shortcuts maintenance! This may not be a big deal to a lot of skydivers, but the biggest risk you will take in skydiving is often in the ride to altitude.
We also happen to be the closest Drop Zone to Wichita. From Kellogg and I-135 it’s only about a 15 minute drive. During Daylight Savings time we are open on Wednesday evenings form 4:00 to dark (subject to pilot availability). We generally have time to fly 8 loads on a Wednesday evening.

Good times, sweet skydives!
“We’re in the people please’n business!”
Martin

(Review ID:1287)


The Best DZ in KS!


Air Capital Drop Zone Rated 5 by: DrunkMonkey on 2004-05-06

Pros: Great People, Fast Plane, Sweet Jumps!
Cons: KS Weather

I'm sorry to have to leave my home DZ this coming July.

ACDZ is by far the best DZ in Kansas. The people are friendly and always willing to teach/coach you: Willie and Phil for RW, Tracy, Troy, & Russel for Freefly.

The location is perfect, nice and close to Metro Wichita.

The Pilots are first rate; most are also CFIs. Safety is paramount. One of our pilots is also our mechanic--88X is the best maintainted jumpship in KS.

There are no cliques here. Everyone is welcome, no matter their jump preference or views on anything. All are immediately part of the "family."

The TV's on for the Football games, and we've got Papa John's on Speed dial.

ACDZ is, in my humble opinion, the only smart choice when spending your precious skydive dollar.

-Neil Poston
C-33161

(Review ID:1514)


For many of us, ACDZ is our home away from home.


Air Capital Drop Zone Rated 5 by: d27524 on 2004-01-22

Pros: Friendly people, excellent safety record, great website
Cons: None

We come for the jumps, but stay because of the people.

Air Capital Drop Zone is my second home. The jumpers, pilots, and staff treat each other like family and look out for each other both in the air and on the ground, giving ACDZ its stellar safety record and comfortable atmosphere.

ACDZ's pilots are incredibly well trained making them trustworthy and reliable. They're also jumpers, which shows the high confidence they have in each other's skills.

The staff at ACDZ is the most caring I've ever encountered. I took the student course from DZO/Instructor, Martin, and did my first student jump under the jumpermastering of ACDZ staff member and rigger, Mark. These guys comforted and calmed me. But more importantly, they taught me the significance of using good judgment to make levelheaded decisions and stay safe in this sport. Their teachings were reinforced by fellow jumpers who also used common sense and caring to make jumping safe and enjoyable. This tradition still exists today. These values are still in place and still being passed from jumper to jumper.

It is because of all of these things that Air Capital Drop Zone has developed a great reputation. There are people who live closer to other drop zones, but come to ACDZ for a better experience.

At Air Capital Drop Zone you get much more that your money's worth.

Blue Skies
Meagan

(Review ID:1316)

Write your own Review