Skip to Content

Dropzone : Reviews

Reviews for: Skydive Headcorn - (Visit this link)
Average Rating = 2.93/5 Average Rating : 2.93/5

Dropzone Summary | Reviews

Comments:  Show | Hide

> >|


Review Summary:


Average Rating : Average Rating = 2.93/5
Total Reviews: 46

> Write a Review

Show: Sort:
Display:
100% Times: 12 Times: 8 Times: 4 Times: 15 Times: 7
80%
60%
40%
20%
0%
Times  12 8 4 15 7
Rating  1 2 3 4 5



Nice Dropzone Very Professional


Skydive Headcorn Rated 4 by: MattyJam on 2014-11-10

Pros: Nice location, very scenic views, professional training
Cons: Lack of weather updates

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
I came here a few months ago for a charity Tandem. It was great! The training was professional and well explained. There was a very bossy woman which others appeared to have mentioned she seemed quite rude. Only one aircraft which had a 30 minute turn around. I got my call to get ready, put on my jumpsuit, harness etc then got told the weather was bad and waited about 5 hours for us to go up. Though there was only 2 weather updates in this time and some of the time the weather cleared up but still apparently not good enough. There was a bit of a sense of "they're only tandems" type attitude. Nice cafe though! My instructor was Clem, funny guy with some unique jokes. Let me control the parachute for a while which was fun, I didn't know it was allowed! I'm thinking of doing AFF here, the students who were doing it who I spoke to said it was brilliant and I watched a few students getting trained. Overall pretty good experience though have nothing to compare it to!
(Review ID:8680)


Friendly relaxed DZ


Skydive Headcorn Rated 4 by: wodybode on 2014-06-10

Pros: Friendly, relaxed, good facilities.
Cons: Not the fastest turnaround of aircraft.

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
I jumped here for two days whilst in the area as a low experience (135 jumps) jumper and found it a relaxed and friendly DZ. Paperwork checked and logged onto the manifest system followed by a DZ brief and kit check was done smoothly. A little bit of waiting around for slots but was made to feel welcome and was given help and advice when asked for. Bunkhouse facilities were good I thought and there are also plans to refurbish them. There is a large and easy PLA with an accuracy target and a swoop strip. Post jumping there is a pub on site too.
(Review ID:8511)


A professional drop zone appropriate for all skydivers


Skydive Headcorn Rated 5 by: Aarondouglass on 2014-05-26

Pros: Professional, safety driven staff with a fun and friendly attitude
Cons: Would like to see some different food on offer in the cafe!

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
I just completed level 8 of the AFF course at headcorn. Woohoo! :) my brother also trained at headcorn and has now completed 270 jumps. He loved it at headcorn and it started him off on the career of a lifetime! I'd recommend it to anyone looking to train to skydive. There's a really good crowd of staff and fun jumpers. If you're going to headcorn to do a tandem skydive I have one thing to say. the guys are doing their best to get you up in the air, trust them to do their job and wait your turn. They want you to jump just as much as you do!! And... it is always, always worth the wait.
(Review ID:8494)


Has parachutes, planes & gravity. win win win


Skydive Headcorn Rated 5 by: lukejordan on 2014-05-26

Pros: The instructors, airfield & general vibe, Proximity to Lions & Tigers.
Cons: no magical control over weather! costs money! Proximity to lions & Tigers!

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
I've started the static line course at Headcorn, some jumps in now and loving it.
I was pretty nervous turning up for training, a group of people I didn't know and the imminent threat of being thrown out of a plane.
The training day was long, and a bit dull, and I left muttering "look,locate,cut-away,reserve,arch" but it was well organised and we had Clem as our instructor who made sure the cutaway drills had sunk in and we knew what to do when we were in the air.
Jump day had great weather, there was lots of waiting around still due to Heathrow, clouds, birds of some description etc.
Everyone was friendly and answered questions however you did get the impression that everyone there was very "cool" and all students/tandems were definitely not "cool", for anyone who has found the place to have bad customer service this is probably your problem. Be cooler. Apparently you are "Cool" once you've spent a minute having a six point 4 way with a midget.
Seriously though, as a way of getting into this sport Headcorn seems perfect, safety is clearly their main priority, kit always seems well packed and good condition and the reserve chutes work reassuringly well if needed!
I'm doing the static line course, I have to admit I will probably change to AFF course. Unless you are a secret skydiving ninja it will probably be the quickest cheapest route to A license.

(Review ID:8490)


Disappointing, high prices, dull vibe, no customer services, grumpy leadership, bad organisation.


Skydive Headcorn Rated 3 by: Skullface1 on 2014-03-31

Pros: Good Instructors - Del, Simon, Yanis, Peter Sizer
Cons: Ridiculous prices, stupidly long waits, BAD customer services, Jane hopkins (Managing Director), the organisation day.

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
Hi,

We have just had our first mayor experience with the headcorn skydiving club. We chose the static line parachute course. We are both very disappointed with how this place is run. We are very easy going people and we don't need 5 star service, just a fair and decent service.

So where shall we begin.....

Firstly, arranging the training, booking, etc. took our money without any problems. When we tried to call to ask some questions, we got a moody lady, who was quite rude, abrupt, obnoxious and a bit patronising. It turns out this was Jane Hopkins the MD. (We've never jumped out of a plane before Jane, and spending over 500 for us to both do it, obviously we had a few simple questions. Rudeness was not needed!!)

We did our training, which we felt was very good. The next day went to do the jump. First names on the board. Arrived at 08:30 when they said to arrive. Waited til 09:30 before anyone even showed up!! Then waited all day, only to be told weather conditions where to bad to jump that day. Fair enough, british weather hey.

So we went back 2 weeks later, 1h30mins drive each way, 4 kids on board with us, my mum so that the kids could be watched while we went up and picnic food for all of us because the cafe there is completely overpriced, small meals, food isn't even decent. Just a rip off. Made it even worse that the 2 ladies behind the counter where just moody and had no customer services!!! So we finally arrived at 10:00am. Got told we were late so would have to wait for our revision training and that could be anytime in the day!!! Fair enough. Ended up waiting til around 4pm before we jumped. Funny that we couldn't do our revision training, which took all of 10 minutes, even though loads of staff where sat around chatting and doing loads of jumps thereselves!!! Staff never came over to let us know what was going on. We had to find them to ask what was going on. When we did, we felt like they were just annoyed by our questions and recieved obnoxious, patronising answers!!!

The vibe seems to be carried on from the top leaders of the centre down. Jane hopkins is not a very happy person. Didn't seem happy to help. No customer services at all!! Other staff seem to adapt the same abrupt attitude when she was around as well!! We felt that this creates and continues to create a dull vibe at the centre. We kept feeling like we where just an annoyance to the main staff.

The tannoy system that they use to let customers know what is going on, is very quiet and doesn't cover the whole of the skydiving areas. How are you meant to know what is going on if you can't hear it.

Finally the most positive things about this place are just a few of the instructors and some of the other skydivers who where there or on our course!! The four instructor that really played a positive part in our experience at headcorn where Del (good sense of humour, good bloke), Simon (new instructor, very good guy), Yanis (had a lot of good chats with him) and Peter (saw us out the plane and made us feel safe beforehand).

It's a shame that this place is run like this. It has some good potential, nice location, interesting history, but the way it is run, the prices, the attitude of the higher staff, the organisation and the moody vibe REALLY lets this place down. No need to keep people waiting this long or treating like this. A bit of politeness and patience would go a very long way at this place!!!

Finally, have to say that Del's jokes gave us a few good laughs.

(Review ID:8398)


Ruined experience


Skydive Headcorn Rated 2 by: PearlP on 2014-03-23

Pros: The instructors are brilliant
Cons: Lack of management

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
So we all head off in 3 cars to watch my Daughter do a tandem skydive for Help 4 Heroes. Arriving after my Daughter had been for her briefing , everyone waited in the overpriced canteen, the girls behind the counter need some customer service skills and they really need to reduce the prices. 7 hours & well over 100 ( spent in canteen on food for the children & drinks, 9 of us made the journey but only the children ate)we finally got to see the event. At no point did anyone give any information without us going to look for them. The tv boards could & should give better information & to be honest we were all ( including my Daughter) a little deflated by the time it all happened. I can honestly say that I would not recommend this venue, the management & canteen staff need to shape up & recognise that people who are doing this for charity have choices & will choose to go elsewhere. Having said that I would recommend the instructors who were marvellous & recognised how special it was for those taking part.
(Review ID:8388)


325, 4 months later and still nothing


Skydive Headcorn Rated 1 by: execdetailing on 2012-11-29

Pros: The Grass
Cons: Manager, Waiting, Over Priced Cafe

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
SHOCKING! RUBBISH!!Booked this in for the 6th August 2012, Waited ALL day, don't even try say first come first serve as I was the first person in your office, From my judgement the people whom purchase the 150 DVD got first priority! 4pm came and still waiting like a div. NO ONE came and spoke to us so me and the others waiting like lemons had to approach a member of staff and ask what was happening. Was told the weather was to bad to jump.Fair point as safety is paramount. So after spending a whole day with the family which included 2 kids under 5 spending money in the well over priced cafe I got the option to re book at the next available date. 24th November, Weather was bad so I called the centre at 08:00 no answer, Ok I'll wait till after 09:00 again no answer! left 3 messages for Jane the director/manager to call back. No response. Calling all this week and called numerous times today, yep you guessed it, No answer! Emailed, No answer. OK, these must be closed down? Called the Headcorn Areodrome who confirmed that they was in and that they are alive. So obviously ignoring my calls. Called Virgin who again tried to call them whilst I was on hold and yep, they to got no answer. Looks like once they have redeemed your voucher for 325.00 they don't give a.... Please don't waste your time and money on these lot. Not the first bad review either by the looks of things. Don't go down the same route guys. Stay well away!!!
(Review ID:7733)


Great time


Skydive Headcorn Rated 5 by: pugwash42 on 2012-09-10

Pros: Convienient and friendly
Cons: booking agents

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
Completely different experience to other review, in spite of the booking agent giving me the wrong information, and giving the skydive centre even less, the lady manager promised to sort it all out whilst we had our briefing, and she duly did and we jumped and had a great time. Thanks to all the staff and jumpers.
(Review ID:7606)


The Manager here is a disgrace!


Skydive Headcorn Rated 2 by: chloegoodhew on 2012-08-29

Pros: the hungarian instructor
Cons: The service

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
I brought a tandem jump for us both as a special birthday present for my husband.

After visiting the place once we were not able to jump because of the bad weather which was fair enough We were told we had 6 months to complete another one and that in the weekdays they are quiet so we would be able to phone up that day if the weather is nice to arrange to come down. All good so far.

Unfortunately ,the day after my father in law was diagnosed with cancer and later on passed away. Not being a priority of ours we didn't think to re schedule our jump until 5 months after. When we phoned up to book our preferred date (about 2 weeks later) we were told that they were full up and we would have to pay another 100 to jump after our 6 months were up.

I explain the situation to the manager, I asked her if she could be sympathetic to the situation and to imagine how someone might not prioritize arranging a sky jump just after there father had passed away, or even they would not even feel like doing a sky jump.

She replied " I did a sky dive 2 days after my father passed away, as that would have been what he wanted, you have had 5 months to re schedule". I was so shocked and hurt by this reply I didn't know what to say!

I also asked her about the misleading information that they are quiet in the weekdays and she said "yes we are in March". this was not the information we were given (she didn't care).
She was very un polite in explaining all of this and at no point did she apologise or try to understand, they way she dealt with me was unbelievable.

By reading the other reviews I don't know how the people here still have their jobs, they are losing customer and I would never go back or recommend as the MANAGER IS A DISGRACE AND EXTREMELY RUDE.

(Review ID:7580)


Thanks Headcorn


Skydive Headcorn Rated 4 by: Nevige on 2011-05-15

Pros: Very friendly, Nice landing area, Good Scenery, Good canteen and packing area
Cons: None

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
Went to Headcorn as its my local DZ and been going to Spain to jump the last couple of months. I did not expect the welcome I got there it was great I got four jumps in on Saturday and could have done more and that was with a lot of cloudcover delaying jumps. Thanks to Chris for the DZ brief, julie for sorting my admin and Dell for packing for me. I will def be jumping at Headcorn again very friendly jumpers. Blue Skies
(Review ID:6399)
> >|

Write your own Review