Skip to Content

Dropzone : Reviews

Reviews for: Skydive Mesquite - (Visit this link)
Average Rating = 4.73/5 Average Rating : 4.73/5

Dropzone Summary | Reviews

Comments:  Show | Hide

> >|


Review Summary:


Average Rating : Average Rating = 4.73/5
Total Reviews: 33

> Write a Review

Show: Sort:
Display:
100% Times: 0 Times: 0 Times: 1 Times: 7 Times: 25
80%
60%
40%
20%
0%
Times  0 0 1 7 25
Rating  1 2 3 4 5



Best dropzone in Vegas area for all you fun jumpers out there!


Skydive Mesquite Rated 5 by: AlexDias on 2012-02-04

Pros: AWESOME vibe, A true fun jumper's dropzone, great weather
Cons: Caravan is out so jumping from a 206

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
I have had the chance to visit four awesome dropzones so far and this one really is too. Got the privilege to be driven from Vegas to Mesquite by two locals, met tons of new very friendly skydivers and did my first jump in the US (yeah don't worry i brought beers along...)!
If you're looking for a very good time to jump or even just hang out with fellow skydivers, in a place where it's never about the profit but just about the fun... Skydive Mesquite is the only place available in the Las Vegas area!
Will definitely come back if I'm visiting again.

(Review ID:7007)


a true fun jumper dropzone, fun and challenging


Skydive Mesquite Rated 5 by: mrfalconfixer on 2011-04-14

Pros: fun jumper DZ close to Vegas
Cons: tight landing area

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
Fun Jumper friendly and close to Vegas. The Caravan is there for about 6 months out of the year and you always get good alt to dance with the sky! Good vibe and the DZO still love the sport!
(Review ID:6338)


A great place for fun jumpers


Skydive Mesquite Rated 5 by: PirateDiver on 2011-04-13

Pros: Friendly, fun-jumper oriented, close to Vegas
Cons: Fairly tight landing area, hot in the summer

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
I jump at Mesquite pretty regularly and really like the fun-jumper friendly atmosphere. The DZO loves the sport and cares about the jumpers and it really shows. There's a great crowd of regular local jumpers. Mesquite has a caravan part of the year: the large loads, good altitudes and quick turn times are really nice. The landing area is on the airport on top of a mesa and can be a little tight. Summers are hot, but hey...it's the desert. If you're in the Vegas area it's definitely worth stopping by for a jump or two!
(Review ID:6330)


Amazing


Skydive Mesquite Rated 5 by: RWood on 2011-04-11

Pros: Everything about it....
Cons: It may be a bit of a drive to get there... but worth it!

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
I highly recommend Skydive Mesquite. People are great to work with. The view is amazing. I will go again and again and again!
(Review ID:6323)


The best DZ


Skydive Mesquite Rated 5 by: kristenskydiver on 2011-04-08

Pros: Great People, Knowledgeable Staff, Fun Jumps!
Cons: Too hot in the summer, Long drive

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
I love skydive mesquite! It's a little bit of a drive but SO worth it! I love my skydiving family =) Thanks for everything, Brad!
(Review ID:6313)


Love this DZ


Skydive Mesquite Rated 5 by: emilyfish on 2011-01-31

Pros: People are great, awesome for fun jumpers and tandems alike
Cons: Caravan is leaving :( and very hot hangar during the summer

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
I love Mesquite! I live in Vegas and happily travel the extra distance to jump here over the other vegas dropzones. The staff are helpful and happy and its a good vibe all around. Thanks Brad!
(Review ID:6211)


Great place to jump!


Skydive Mesquite Rated 5 by: trig78 on 2010-05-03

Pros: Instructors, friendly jumpers...
Cons: N/A

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
I went to Vegas on a vacation and as all normal people that go there I checked where to jump ;) After seeing all the reviews on dz.com and elsewhere the choice where to go was easy. I'm student jumper and I wanted to complete the jumps for the license. Brad and Joe are great instructors, Fonz other jumpers are helpful and friendly. It gets very busy on jump days, lots of tandems, lots of local jumpers and few tourist jumpers such as myself. I loved it there and I hope I'll jump there again.
(Review ID:5685)


great D Z


Skydive Mesquite Rated 5 by: vortexr1 on 2009-11-15

Pros: views, instructors, people and all around great people.
Cons: summer heat

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
Just out of Aff training...I have to say I'm glad I chose mesquite to become a skydiver..Brad,Joe,Fonz and all the rest are amazing. .They don't mess around with sacrificeing safety or teaching the wrong stuff.I'm working on my 13th jump and feel that I have been given all the tools necessary to become a skydiver. And pull out of any situation that's thrown at me..Ive already had 2 line twists and a weird landing. Thanks to Brad and Joe I have remembered my training And did great under those situations..

THANKS Mesquite. ...Highly recommended. ....

(Review ID:5475)


Best DZ in Nevada!


Skydive Mesquite Rated 5 by: dounglomchan on 2009-06-01

Pros: Knowledgeable Staff, Friendly, Hometown Feel, Great Place to Learn Skydiving
Cons: Hangar gets a little hot in the Summer, Landing area is smaller than other DZ's

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
Let me start this by addressing the very minor cons to this DZ. The hangar is hot yes. But you will get over it! You are normally having such a great conversation or learning from Brad, Joe, Colin, Tommy or Alex that you aren't focused on the heat. Secondly, if you learn to land in Mesquite you can land at any DZ. That isn't to say that landing in Mesquite is all that difficult. Heck I learned how to do it!

Other than those two issues, this DZ has to be considered among the best in the western United States.

For a little background on myself, my girlfriend and I wanted to learn how to skydive so we looked up some reviews on this website and let me tell you what; The reviews on here were spot on!

We did one tandem in Las Vegas (waste of time & money) and then to learn how to skydive we came up to Mesquite. If you are looking for a Disneyland ride where you aren't in control of anything stay down in Las Vegas. If you want to learn how to skydive come up to Skydive Mesquite.

Even if you only want to do a tandem jump, I highly recommend coming up to Mesquite. Brad or Joe will be more than happy to take care of you and between the two of them they have close to 10,000 jumps combined. You will not find that kind of experience or knowledge at any of the DZ's in or around the Las Vegas area. Not only that, but these two men are willing to share all of their skydiving experiences to anyone that wants to learn.

In addition to this, most of the DZ's in Las Vegas use a hand held video camera for your skydiving video. Skydive Mesquite has a professional cameraman (you rock Alex and Colin) jump with you so you see all of your free fall and not just your face as you accelerate to over 120mph! Not only is the video better but it is cheaper than the video at the DZ's in Las Vegas by about $40.

That has to be the best thing about this DZ. You never feel like just another "credit card" when you come up here. There were many days when Brad wouldn't let us jump on AFF because of the winds. He could have easily sent people up in the plane but instead he sacrifices his own income to ensure everyone's safety!

Okay so I'm getting off track. I have just completed my AFF course in about 1 1/2 months and have made three fun jumps since then. The course was fantastic, amazing and worth every penny. The time and effort that is spent with each student is truly amazing. You recieve a comprehensive brief before each skydive you make in the AFF course. After your jump you will receive another brief about your performance in the air and how you can improve your skydiving. Brad and Joe never let you rest on your laurels. They are constantly providing you with constructive criticism which only makes you a better skydiver in the end.

This is my first introduction to the wonderful sport of skydiving and I feel so lucky that I was able to land in this DZ (a little pun intended) Whether you want to come up and do one tandem or you want to learn how to become a skydiver I guarantee you that there is no better/safer place to learn than right here.

Once again, I cannot stress this enough; if you want to learn how to skydive in Nevada there is no better place to go than Skydive Mesquite.

And one more thing, get ready to buy some beer if you lose your ripcord!

(Review ID:5147)


A terriffic DZ with a small, hometown vibe, and a world class dzo


Skydive Mesquite Rated 5 by: dzromeo on 2009-04-13

Pros: DZO, Atmosphere, Comforting, Home town feel
Cons: Tight landing area, temperature in the summer, only a 182 for a few weeks of the summer

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
In and around the city of Las Vegas, one would think that all the dropzones would be hopping places to be. In truth, there is only ONE dropzone that takes care of fun jumpers, and that's Skydive Mesquite.

Whether you're there for VRW, or sport accuracy, Wingsuiting or CRW, the DZ staff has a member that is experienced in your chosen discipline.

As for Tandem students looking for a good time, you won't find a more experienced, knowledgable staff anywhere in Nevada. One of Skydive Mesquite's tandem masters was recently the featured instructor of the month in Parachutist magazine. The drop zone makes sure that everyone who comes for their first jump has the time of their lives.

The DZ gets quite warm in the summer, and can be uncomfortable at times when you're not at altitude. During most of the year, they fly a Grand Caravan bringing loads to 13,500 AGL, but for several weeks in the summer they only fly a 182.

Perhaps the most valuable attribute of the DZ though, is the owner. Brad Jesse is a veteran skydiver with a heart of gold and a brain rivalled by the library of congress. He cares much, much more about how much fun everyone is having, than how much money he's making. Last weekend, he sent the Caravan up with only 7 fun jumpers in it, just so we could get a sunset ride in. He is a veteran of competition, having competed in USPA nationals in 4way FS events. He gives of himself and jumps often, and his love for the sport really shows through in the management of the DZ.

If in Vegas, I can honestly say don't waste time going to another DZ... You'll be happy you picked this one.

(Review ID:5060)
> >|

Write your own Review