Skip to Content

Dropzone : Reviews

Reviews for: Skydive Mesquite - (Visit this link)
Average Rating = 4.74/5 Average Rating : 4.74/5

Dropzone Summary | Reviews

Comments:  Show | Hide

> >|


Review Summary:


Average Rating : Average Rating = 4.74/5
Total Reviews: 35

> Write a Review

Show: Sort:
Display:
100% Times: 0 Times: 0 Times: 1 Times: 7 Times: 27
80%
60%
40%
20%
0%
Times  0 0 1 7 27
Rating  1 2 3 4 5



Best people/ vibe you can ask for


Skydive Mesquite Rated 5 by: Jkssler on 2014-05-11

Pros: Great vibe, Never any dropzone drama, great DZO
Cons: Only a Cessna in the summer, lack of student rigs

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
I started coming to skydive Mesquite last June when I moved to Las Vegas. I came from a few home dropzones that always seemed to be teeming with the drama that seems pretty standard at most dropzones once you've been going long enough (staff and DZO don't get along, fun jumpers have cliques, etc.). I'd say one of Mesquites greatest qualities as a home dropzone is that is has none of that garbage. Brad is an awesome DZO, and pretty much everyone who goes there on a regular basis are friends. It's a place where you could easily show up alone, and find a load to join in about 5 minutes for almost any skill level you are looking for (unless you are looking for very advanced 4 way, i guess).

As far as I can tell there are only 3 cons. First, they only have a cessna from May until about October. During the winter months they get a caravan, but during the summer you would be hard pressed to get more than 4 jumps in a day. As the dropzone needs to pay its bills, tandems will usually take priority (which takes at least 2 of the 4 seats), though Brad will do his best to squeeze in some fun jumper loads if possible.

Second, the DZ often won't make it until sunset due to winds that pop up at about 2 pm (common in the summer) or lack of fun jumpers to fill slots. If you are really trying to pound out a bunch of jumps and get numbers up, you might be better served driving out to LA to Perris or Elsinore.

Finally, there usually seem to be more students or people with gear then gear to go around. I know this is also relatively common, but some of my friends without rigs have been there all day and only gotten 1 or 2 jumps in. If you have it, make sure your bring your own gear! If you don't, get some!

On the whole, if you are in the Vegas or St. George area and looking for a dropzone with a great vibe Mesquite is your best bet. Definitely my favorite home dropzone so far in terms of people/ Vibe.

(Review ID:8457)


Great instruction and good value!


Skydive Mesquite Rated 5 by: Magnus2014 on 2014-05-03

Pros: Competent, serviceminded and dedicated instructors
Cons: Only one student chute

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
In a jungle of companys offering the AFF course, Skydive Mesquite stood out as a honest company that seemed more focused on paying forward the passion for skydiving than beeing just profit driven.

Brad and Rocco were competent and dedicated instructorers that followed me through the course and got me up and flying the skies in no time.

I have already recommended Skydive Mesquite to others.

(Review ID:8443)


Best dropzone in Vegas area for all you fun jumpers out there!


Skydive Mesquite Rated 5 by: AlexDias on 2012-02-04

Pros: AWESOME vibe, A true fun jumper's dropzone, great weather
Cons: Caravan is out so jumping from a 206

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
I have had the chance to visit four awesome dropzones so far and this one really is too. Got the privilege to be driven from Vegas to Mesquite by two locals, met tons of new very friendly skydivers and did my first jump in the US (yeah don't worry i brought beers along...)!
If you're looking for a very good time to jump or even just hang out with fellow skydivers, in a place where it's never about the profit but just about the fun... Skydive Mesquite is the only place available in the Las Vegas area!
Will definitely come back if I'm visiting again.

(Review ID:7007)


a true fun jumper dropzone, fun and challenging


Skydive Mesquite Rated 5 by: mrfalconfixer on 2011-04-14

Pros: fun jumper DZ close to Vegas
Cons: tight landing area

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
Fun Jumper friendly and close to Vegas. The Caravan is there for about 6 months out of the year and you always get good alt to dance with the sky! Good vibe and the DZO still love the sport!
(Review ID:6338)


A great place for fun jumpers


Skydive Mesquite Rated 5 by: PirateDiver on 2011-04-13

Pros: Friendly, fun-jumper oriented, close to Vegas
Cons: Fairly tight landing area, hot in the summer

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
I jump at Mesquite pretty regularly and really like the fun-jumper friendly atmosphere. The DZO loves the sport and cares about the jumpers and it really shows. There's a great crowd of regular local jumpers. Mesquite has a caravan part of the year: the large loads, good altitudes and quick turn times are really nice. The landing area is on the airport on top of a mesa and can be a little tight. Summers are hot, but hey...it's the desert. If you're in the Vegas area it's definitely worth stopping by for a jump or two!
(Review ID:6330)


Amazing


Skydive Mesquite Rated 5 by: RWood on 2011-04-11

Pros: Everything about it....
Cons: It may be a bit of a drive to get there... but worth it!

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
I highly recommend Skydive Mesquite. People are great to work with. The view is amazing. I will go again and again and again!
(Review ID:6323)


The best DZ


Skydive Mesquite Rated 5 by: kristenskydiver on 2011-04-08

Pros: Great People, Knowledgeable Staff, Fun Jumps!
Cons: Too hot in the summer, Long drive

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
I love skydive mesquite! It's a little bit of a drive but SO worth it! I love my skydiving family =) Thanks for everything, Brad!
(Review ID:6313)


Love this DZ


Skydive Mesquite Rated 5 by: emilyfish on 2011-01-31

Pros: People are great, awesome for fun jumpers and tandems alike
Cons: Caravan is leaving :( and very hot hangar during the summer

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
I love Mesquite! I live in Vegas and happily travel the extra distance to jump here over the other vegas dropzones. The staff are helpful and happy and its a good vibe all around. Thanks Brad!
(Review ID:6211)


Great place to jump!


Skydive Mesquite Rated 5 by: trig78 on 2010-05-03

Pros: Instructors, friendly jumpers...
Cons: N/A

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
I went to Vegas on a vacation and as all normal people that go there I checked where to jump ;) After seeing all the reviews on dz.com and elsewhere the choice where to go was easy. I'm student jumper and I wanted to complete the jumps for the license. Brad and Joe are great instructors, Fonz other jumpers are helpful and friendly. It gets very busy on jump days, lots of tandems, lots of local jumpers and few tourist jumpers such as myself. I loved it there and I hope I'll jump there again.
(Review ID:5685)


great D Z


Skydive Mesquite Rated 5 by: vortexr1 on 2009-11-15

Pros: views, instructors, people and all around great people.
Cons: summer heat

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
Just out of Aff training...I have to say I'm glad I chose mesquite to become a skydiver..Brad,Joe,Fonz and all the rest are amazing. .They don't mess around with sacrificeing safety or teaching the wrong stuff.I'm working on my 13th jump and feel that I have been given all the tools necessary to become a skydiver. And pull out of any situation that's thrown at me..Ive already had 2 line twists and a weird landing. Thanks to Brad and Joe I have remembered my training And did great under those situations..

THANKS Mesquite. ...Highly recommended. ....

(Review ID:5475)
> >|

Write your own Review