Skip to Content

Dropzone : Reviews

Reviews for: Skydive San Diego - (Visit this link)
Average Rating = 4.14/5 Average Rating : 4.14/5

Dropzone Summary | Reviews

Comments:  Show | Hide

> >|


Review Summary:


Average Rating : Average Rating = 4.14/5
Total Reviews: 49

> Write a Review

Show: Sort:
Display:
100% Times: 4 Times: 3 Times: 4 Times: 9 Times: 29
80%
60%
40%
20%
0%
Times  4 3 4 9 29
Rating  1 2 3 4 5



Great little big DZ


Skydive San Diego Rated 5 by: NickyCal on 2014-01-21

Pros: Well organized, friendly manifest and front desk staff, easy gear rental process (with large selection), large coaching
Cons: Very definite division between the working jumpers and the fun jumpers (though maybe this is normal at a larger DZ)

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
I visited Skydive San Diego two times while home for the holidays this year. I am a student jumper from a tiny DZ in the Midwest, so this was my first time at a large DZ. I had 13 jumps when I arrived and wanted to cross off some more of my license requirements. I contacted them in advance because I was no longer current (our jump season having ended at beginning of November) and was able to talk to DZO Blake about where I was in my progression and how to go about getting some jumps in at SDSD while I was home.

Upon my arrival, everything was very professional and smooth. They are set up for tandems and fun jumpers both, so have a nice big area for filling out that first time paperwork, and then off to the front desk where they checked my log book, took my USPA card, and got me set up with a coach for my recurrency jump. The staff was very friendly and happy to answer any/all of my newbie questions. Always with a smile and lots of enthusiasm. I loved Sarah working the manifest window and calling out all sorts of fun load number rhymes. There was a happy atmosphere all around, right from check in, which makes a huge difference to the nervous first time jumper or new-to-the-DZ student.

I worked with two different coaches on that first day and both were very competent, friendly, and professional. They were happy to work with me on those license requirements that still needed learning and we signed off everything that I'd hoped to. The only down side to coming on a busy day is that you do have to wait a bit for a coach, since it tends to also be the coaches who handle tandems and video. If you were to come on a non-holiday weekday, you'd probably have your pick.

Gear rental was a simple process and very well organized. The gear was all in good condition and even as a student flying something brand new, I found it comfortable. For smaller gals, the rigs that they have are all quite large, so that was the only less than perfect part of the gear rental equation, but I was still able (just!) to reach my pilot chute handle, so it was all good.

Load organizing is quick and efficient, and they seem to always have plenty of space for fun jumpers along with the tandems. The planes are comfortable and get you up to 13,000 in less than 15 minutes. When doing solo jumps, I found the other fun jumpers to be friendly and ready with a word of advice, encouragement, or a smile for the student. They still had their cliques, for sure, but that's to be expected when you're an unfamiliar face on the scene. Any question that I asked was answered with a smile and my fellow fun jumpers helped to organize my position in the load to keep me safe and out of traffic both in free fall and under canopy.

I didn't have my own rig there, but the packing areas were numerous, shaded, and all on soft mats. Weather tends to be pretty consistent (sunshine!) with a nice light wind from the west, so there aren't many days that you'd be weathered out. And views from altitude are simply SPECTACULAR. The Pacific, downtown San Diego, the lake, the mountains. You have to avoid getting caught up in the view and keep an eye on that alti!

(Review ID:8345)


AFF for the not so talented flyer...


Skydive San Diego Rated 5 by: CaptnCrunch on 2013-10-30

Pros: Weather, friendly FrontDesk and Manifest, Instructors
Cons: Nope

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
Started my AFF in August and besides having the luck of getting injured during my first jump, I can only speak positive about this DZ.
The Staff (specifically Sarah and the Girls at the Check In) are extremely friendly, even when the weekends are busy.

The Instructors I had (Tom, Alex and JT to just name a view) are EAGER to make you succeed and help wherever and however they can, once you built a rapport with them , they will be helping even if they don't do your jump, I am now at the Point to get my A-License, I would call myself not a most talented flyer and had many moments where I was about to stop - they always "picked me up" and got me back into the game - looking forward to be back in August.

The DZ Manager Blake runs a good and very safe operation, he seems to be personally very involved and will call people out that do stupid things - it is great to see someone to be that involved in his DZ.

Packers are also nice - overall I would recommend this DZ to anyone who is getting into the Sport, the Weather , the Winds and the whole Dropzone seems to be the perfect match for someone who likes a safe and easy setup !

(Review ID:8269)


Skydive San Diego ROCKS


Skydive San Diego Rated 5 by: Stuntman1 on 2012-12-11

Pros: Friendly, awesome scenery, great load organizing
Cons: Couple skygods that werent very good flyers

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
Read some military guys review on skydive San Diego and felt I needed to write a review. I have been jumping for 6 years, teach AFF and I am an avid BASE jumper.
I spent the last few days in California and had one of my best experiences showing up to a new drop zone. I recieved an open welcome, great briefing on the drop zone and handed a cold beer right after last load.

(Review ID:7752)


Good place if you are a local, bad for out of towners


Skydive San Diego Rated 2 by: Richard55 on 2012-12-10

Pros: Amazing scenery, weather and location
Cons: front desk service, attitude of instructors

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
Let me just give you a quick overview of myself. 5 year skydiver primarily military free fall. Over 200 jumps. I have jumped at many different drop zones all over the country. Never have I encountered such a lack of professionalism. I hate to call someone out but if there is no accountability, then there can be no correction of shortfalls. The young lady Candace at the drop zone was by far, the worst Manifest/customer service rep for a drop zone I have encountered. Here is my story.

Like I said, I have over 200 jumps, a majority are military freefall, so I never needed to upgrade my A-license to a C... until now.

My best friend and I were down in San Diego for a work trip. I was not planning on jumping while I was there initially. When my best friend decided to get his A-lic while down there I decided to go with him to get some jumping in and get my C-lic as I am now no longer just a military jumper. So I went with him as he was already most of the way through his program at SSD.

I completely agree with USPA recommendations for flying cameras, currency etc. Thats not where my issue comes up. My issue comes up with being told verbatim: "Just because you have an A-license, doesn't mean you know how to skydive." This was in the first 5 minutes of me being through the door. Now, my plan was to get current and knock my c-license knocked out while I was there. For this girl to talk to me like that was appalling. Like I said, when I show up to a drop zone I expect to go through a certain amount of vetting to make sure I am who I say I am. I did not have my logbook on me and was not in currency anyways, so I had zero issues with doing a currency dive. I knocked that out and received my logbooks via FEDEX the next day.

The next time we showed up to jump not TWO days later, this girl treated us like she had never seen us before, and was just as rude to us as days earlier. I knocked out my C-lic test and check dives and expedited my card from USPA. We continued to jump for the next week and a half. The other girls at the front desk Heather, Lindsay were more than helpful and actually very impressive. More so, since we then knew who to deal with and who NOT to. Im not saying she is worthless, Im just saying she shouldn't be working with people as customer service or manifest. If my best friend hadn't been striving to get his A-lic signed off, I would have turned around and walked right out as soon as she started in with the attitude. I can only hope management is made aware of what obviously all of the staff admittedly knows about her conduct and personal character.

Now, aside from her. The dropzone is absolutely gorgeous, probably THE most scenic and breathtaking sunset spots to skydive in the US. The weather was rocking and we were only weathered out two days out of two weeks for weather. Coming from the Pacific Northwest, I would take them odds any day.

(Review ID:7749)


Decent DZ


Skydive San Diego Rated 3 by: j-bosely on 2012-11-05

Pros: Awesome DZ, Big landing area, Multiple Loads, Great pilots
Cons: Front desk, specifically Candice (Manifest)

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
If your going to skydive San Diego and you are an out of town jumper, beware! Specifically Candice who usually runs manifest but also works the front desk. She puts my ratings for friendliness down to a 1! Bi-polar doesnt begin to describe how this person treats people she doesnt recognize. Over a three week period I shelled out around 2g's to jump with them showing my face during the week but still got the treatment as if I had just kicked her favorite animal. The other front desk girls Lindsey, Heather were awesome. And most of the instructors were friendly, but still a couple guys had the "I got a thousands of jumps attitude" If you visit this DZ you will be able to spot these instructors right away. If it wasnt for Candice running manifest with her "good and bad days attitude" towards friendly paying customers then I would have definately gave this review a 4-5 for professionalism and vibe and an overall 5 for the DZ. So to break it down if she hadnt been there this place would be awesome! Good luck Alan "Buzz" Fink on National Director!
(Review ID:7699)


Great DZ, wonderful people, great view


Skydive San Diego Rated 4 by: emmett751 on 2012-06-17

Pros: People, weather, planes, gear, instructors, staff.
Cons: Porta Potties, long waits (sometimes)

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
I did my first ever skydive, AFF, and got my A-license here at SSD. The staff is awsome, even after completing my A the instructors are more than willing to help you out with whatever you need (tips tricks, they even let me try some of their gear). The planes are good clean and are safe, the dz is very well maintained and very professional. The weather almost always cooperates, but it all depends on the time of year, wind is usually very consistent and generally mild. Overall i love this place the people and the flying. Blue Skies see you up there.
(Review ID:7330)


Potentially great DZ ruined by management


Skydive San Diego Rated 2 by: shattenjager on 2011-06-11

Pros: Beautiful scenery, close to San Diego, good rental rigs, Prices
Cons: Some meathead instructors, bad front desk service.

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
I did my first AFF jumps back in 2005-6, so I can only talk for that period, I have no idea how it is now.

My bad experience was with a very rude instructor, a guy who used to jump with short camo pants, don't know the name, before to send me to the plane, he got pissed because I didn't do a safety check to my rig(never instructed on how to do it) and I still remember that he opened the main closing loop grunting something about who the F*** packed that rig, of course I had a very tight line twist malfunction, 8 times.
Anyway that was my bad experience, so I gave up on skydiving for years before to go back and complete it in another DZ.
I definitely want to try to go back with my A license and see what's going on.

(Review ID:6485)


Beautiful DZ / Complete Gear Shop Onsite!


Skydive San Diego Rated 5 by: CACUtah on 2011-01-08

Pros: Maintained Landing Area
Cons: None

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
Being a new A license can be a bit overwhelming when visiting a new dropzone. Upon arrival at Sky Dive San Diego (Mid week.) I was promptly directed to a very serious but friendly dropzone orientation and safety briefing. The staff was patient and friendly. I was traveling by myself to the dropzone, but had no problem meeting new people to jump with. My A license was completed at Skydive Utah. I have also visited Sky Dive Elsinore. I certainly would like to return to Skydive San Diego regularly. It is a safe, fun environment with a friendly experienced staff. I would highly recommend them to anyone.
(Review ID:6176)


When visiting San Diego, this is a really convenient place to spend a day!


Skydive San Diego Rated 4 by: flyingmontana on 2010-12-06

Pros: No hassle, nice weather, friendly jumpers
Cons: port-a-potties

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
I was just here for a day and had a really good experience. Almost everyone was very friendly, there were no hassles and it was very easy to manifest. It has a very small-dz feel. They charge $25 per jump ticket, but pack jobs are cheap--just $5. The port-a-potties are a downside, for sure.
I enjoyed the view from altitude--interesting to see the cars lined up at the Mexican border from up high! Beautiful view of the ocean. There aren't many good places to land if you land off, but there should be no reason to land off--the airport is so easy to see, and the pilot spots by GPS...I had no problem at all landing on target, and I am a fairly new jumper.
There are a lot of holes in the ground on the landing area, like gopher holes or something...watch out, I wouldn't want to land with a foot in one of them!
Extremely convenient to the city--just a short drive!

(Review ID:6135)


Great DZ


Skydive San Diego Rated 5 by: jclalor on 2010-01-05

Pros: Staff, AC, vibes
Cons: Santa ana winds

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
Made 4 jumps and loved the place. Great otter, easy manifest, 79 degrees in the dead of winter, and very friendly staff. The only con was waiting for the winds to change for a couple hours each day.
(Review ID:5530)
> >|

Write your own Review