Skip to Content

Dropzone : Reviews

Reviews for: Atlanta Skydiving Center - (Visit this link)
Average Rating = 3.64/5 Average Rating : 3.64/5

Dropzone Summary | Reviews

Comments:  Show | Hide

> >|


Review Summary:


Average Rating : Average Rating = 3.64/5
Total Reviews: 70

> Write a Review

Show: Sort:
Display:
100% Times: 11 Times: 11 Times: 5 Times: 8 Times: 35
80%
60%
40%
20%
0%
Times  11 11 5 8 35
Rating  1 2 3 4 5



A place to do tandems but not for fun jumpers especially if you want to sting a friends tandem


Atlanta Skydiving Center Rated 3 by: Johnnyblaze161 on 2011-09-18

Pros: Official Airport, AC packing area, quick turn arounds, choose your own music for your tandem video
Cons: Tandem factory, poor customer service, not for fun jumpers

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
So I visited Skydive Georgia or the Atlanta Skydive Center this weekend. It is a tandem factory, they issue no helmets or jumpsuits to there tandem students. Poor briefing before and after the jumps.

Fun jumpers beware save your money and go to another drop zone. Very few fun jumpers, small King Air planes, so if you plan to do solos you'll be fine but good luck doing more than a 3 way. The staff was nice to the license skydivers and most customers but those with valid complaints were cast off as if they were lepers.

If you want to sting a tandem be prepared to have a D license. All in all i have visited much better drop zones both for the tandems and fun jumpers.

(Review ID:6773)


No reason to stop here.


Atlanta Skydiving Center Rated 2 by: bqmassey on 2011-05-15

Pros: Some of the fun jumpers are cool
Cons: Dangerous landing area, unfriendly staff, shady business practices

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
Atlanta Skydiving Center recently changed to Skydive Georgia, probably to try to shake off the terrible reputation they have. It's the same bad dropzone.

I hate to leave a bad DZ review. Typically if I don't have something good to say about a place I'll just keep my mouth shut, but this place deserves the negative review.

The only good thing about this place is that there are a few cool fun jumpers that hang out there.

If you stop here for a tandem, your experience will vary. A lot of the tandems get processed like customers at a McDonald's drive through. Their goal is to get you through as fast as possible. Some of the instructors and videographers put more effort into it than the others, but it's clear that the culture there is move you through to get to the next money-making opportunity.

The landing area is small, sloped, and surrounded by trees. This is a dangerous combination.

If all of that isn't enough, the business practices involved with this DZ are downright wrong. They're heavily involved with Skyride, which is a very immoral and nearly criminal organization. It's a scam targeted at people new to the sport (tandems).

Make sure that if you're shopping around for a place to do a tandem, you ask what altitude is included. Most places with a turbine aircraft only give quotes for full altitude (usually between 13,500 and 15,000). Skydive Georgia (Atlanta Skydiving Center) will typically quote you for a lower skydive (less freefall time, less fun). They do this so that their price SOUNDS competitive on the phone. If you don't ask, they won't tell you that they're not giving you a full-altitude jump. When you show up, they'll try to get you to pay extra money to go up to the same altitude that the other places go to.

There is absolutely no reason to jump at SG/ASC when Skydive the Farm (one of the highest rated DZs in the country) is only a few miles away. Do yourself a favor. If you're considering jumping checkout either "Skydive The Farm" if you're on the west side of Atlanta, or "Skydive Monroe" if you're on the east.

(Review ID:6401)


Better than the reviews


Atlanta Skydiving Center Rated 5 by: hle6510 on 2011-03-20

Pros: Lots of experience instructors/jumpmasters
Cons: None

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
I’m sure some of you have read some bad reviews of this location on this and other websites, but let me do my best to set the record straight being new to skydiving myself. This location (493 Airport Rd, Cedartown, GA) is owned by Atlanta Skydiving Company and after doing some jumps towards my Accelerated Free Fall (AFF) certification, I can say it’s better than the reviews.

Yes, at one point back in 2000-2003ish, the service was bad, but that was under SkyRide.com. Speaking of SkyRide.com, they are only a booking service company who also owns ThrillPlanet.com. The jumpmasters/instructors at this location are aware of the bad reviews when it was owned by the old company, and really have done a great job turning it around. I’m actually going back there to do my level 3 and 4 AFF jumps. Yesterday, I was able to do my level 2 AFF jump knowing they have around 70 tandems to do for that day. Hope this helps…

(Review ID:6275)


I'll try my best never to go back towards this area


Atlanta Skydiving Center Rated 1 by: marcantonio152 on 2011-01-31

Pros: Quick turnarounds, Sleeping Area, Big Hangar, Restaurant
Cons: Liars, Scumbags, Unethical treatment, Bad business practices

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
The review right before mine ("The staff lied to us") is just a typical day for these guys. On top of their nasty business practices, these guys own websites like "SkydiveMobile.com" and "SkydiveAuburn.com" and if you call the number on their websites, they will tell you that the closest (and "only reputable dropzone") in the area is in Cedartown, GA. I called them pretending to be an anonymous guy wanting to make a tandem and asked them if there were any closer dropzones or even any other dropzones in my area (Mobile, AL) that weren't owned by their company and they specifically told me NO, there were not. There are 7 dropzones closer to me than this dropzone. As an upjumper I know of them all.
Furthermore, they try and take your credit card info and charge you for the jump before they even tell you where the dropzone is. After they've charged you, no refunds just rainchecks, they'll tell you that you've got to drive 8 hours from Mobile, AL to this place.

I visited this place to do a couple of jumps with a friend of mine who did AFF there. Their landing area is horrible - completely surrounded by trees and buildings. Turbulence and crap is disgusting and I almost want to measure it to see if they are allowed to use it for students under the USPA regs because it's so small. The 3 times I've been there I saw 7 people land in a tree - one of them was a C license holder (the rest students.)

Ask any skydiver who knows a bit about this dropzone (especially the stories of them getting kicked out of USPA and the lawsuit that they started to force their way back in) and you'll hear a nasty hatred. No one should ever go to this dropzone except maybe to leave a flaming brown paper bag on their doorstep or throw some eggs at the hangar.

I will give them this: their onsite staff is friendly and I haven't heard of anything unsafe there other than drunk jumps. Their business practices and the fact that their first concern is TANDEMS TANDEMS TANDEMS (for MONEY MONEY MONEY) will keep me away for good, though. When my friend came to me after AFF, the first thing we went over was a landing pattern at the dropzone. She had never even heard of a landing pattern or other simple things that are in the AFF course. I don't know what these guys are teaching from, but I wouldn't want to learn there.

Don't go here, and if you came from here, go somewhere else and pray that you're not too permanently screwed up from them.

(Review ID:6208)


The staff lied to us


Atlanta Skydiving Center Rated 1 by: Saleemah on 2010-04-04

Pros: Easy to book
Cons: We never jumped!

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
I went with my friend to celebrate my birthday. We paid $279 for a tandem jump, videotape and to go to 14,000 feet. I drove two hours to arrive for a 1pm appt. Around 4pm the clerk told us not to leave for more than 15 min because we would be called soon. Around 6pm I checked in with the ASC staff because the sun was setting and I was assured that we would jump and that sunset jumps were the best. At 7pm, our names finally appeared on the list to jump. At 7:30 ASC staff said that we couldn't jump because the sun was setting. I was crushed. This was my birthday gift, I'd driven two hours and waited for six plus hours. We drove two hours home. It was horrible. The staff were indifferent about it and offered a raincheck. I'm not inclined to go through this miserable experience again. I can't believe we didn't jump and they didn't have a better response. In addition, there were folks (individuals, couples and groups) that arrived after us but jumped before us. They offered us a raincheck but I'm not likely to drive four hours round trip to wait for hours and then be told I can't jump. They knew or should have know that sunset (a quick internet search will tell you the exact time that the sun will set) was approaching planned for it! ASC should have done more to get the jumps in on time, train staff to let people know that they may not jump and have a more professional response to these matters. I am out $279, a full day wasted and no jump. I've been wanting to jump for years. I can't beleive that it didn't happen. Mostly, I'm just really dissapointed.
(Review ID:5642)


Awesome all-around dropzone... all because of the people!


Atlanta Skydiving Center Rated 5 by: SuprGeek on 2009-10-22

Pros: Great people!
Cons: Gets busy on the weekends with the tandems. Do your AFF's during the week

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
I just finished my AFF at ASC this week! On to the rest of the A-License... and I feel totally prepared for that and 100% confident of the support I'm gonna get from these great people.

Admittedly, it took a while for me to get through the 7 jumps because I was mostly trying on the weekends, and as anyone local to this DZ would know, the weather lately has NOT been conducive for skydiving. I will say that if I had simply picked a couple of perfect weather weekdays up front and gone for it, it would have been a totally different story and I'd have been done in a couple or three days. Now, on to the the DZ...

The first jump course was professionally done and was entertaining (Fast Eddie!) and all of the subsequent jumps were coached incredibly tight (Johan, Junior, Val, Sarah) and with lots of attention to detail. They paced the instruction right along with me, as much as I could take, and I had a perfect progression. Lots of extra experience was gained along the way, with long casual sit downs in between loads on spotting, packing, gear selection, and even on 'site culture' :) All in all, a GREAT AFF experience, from the course to graduation. I'm so so super ready for what's to come. Johan, you rock as an instructor, thanks man.

The equipment selection is top notch, lots of different rigs always available for you to check out and try. I flew a little bit of everything with lots of guidance from the instructors on what to look for and expect as I experimented. And you should see those packers go... They're machines! Underappreciated machines to boot, y'all don't forget to thank 'em at the end of the day!

The facility is really nice too... all carpeted, kept neat and clean, most everything you could need and a 1 minute walk to the plane. Haven't checked out the bunkhouse, and I wish it had a bit more of a camping area, I'd spend weekends there. Admittedly it is an airport, so maybe that explains it :)

I should also mention this, although it's a bit of an outside perspective. I spent a lot of time sitting around on AFF weather hold and got to see a lot of tandem folks come and go. It's always the same thing... come in a little nervous, then leave after a great time laughing their heads off talking loudly about who they're bringing back next time. They show them a good time, make it interesting, treat them right, and never let down on the details. It's good to see.

You know what? The manifest chicks are underappreciated too. They work their asses off under some tough conditions. Well run manifest office, good job ladies. Prices are good too, although the only comparison I've done are internet prices. They're in line with the rest of the area and no shenanigans observed ;)

All glowing aside, come check them out. You won't be disappointed. The people make this place.

-Jeffrey



(Review ID:5439)


ASC is the dropzone I got my AFF certification


Atlanta Skydiving Center Rated 5 by: GaVak on 2009-07-04

Pros: Great staff, excellent plane, AC packing, 14K feet every lift!
Cons: Very busy some weekends with Tandems

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
I have had a wonderful experience with ASC as my dropzone. I had limited experience in the skydiving world with a few static lines and free falls over the early 2000's (RBC - Walterboro). It had been 5 years since my last jump, and I didn't get much more than canopy ride experience. (They didn't teach setting up your own landing pattern, and talked me down every jump.)

I decided it was time to become serious with the sport, and now that I live in Atlanta, I chose ASC to take the AFF course. I'm very pleased I did so. My journey started off with a very comprehensive ground class with 'Fast' Eddie. Once the class was over, I had to wait for my turn to go up. (It was a pretty busy Saturday.) I was studying the mock up picture of the DZ and asked the closest person how a person determines a landing pattern (we had covered the basics in the class). To tell the truth, I was a little nervous about that part as in my experiences at Walterboro they talked me to the ground (even telling me when to flare every time). Turns out the person I asked was the man in charge of the coaching service at ASC (Lance). He launched into an impromptu lesson in landing patters, wind drag, etc. He showed me where playgrounds would be at the different points at the airport depending on landing target and the wind speed. I felt immensely more confident after that little class, and it did much to quell the one voice of resignation in my head on the whole jump process.

Next thing I knew, it was my turn to go up. I was assigned to two jumpmasters (Thad and JJ) who went over the flow of the skydive with me a few times before getting me suited up for the jump. Up we went, out the door, and the sensory overload kicked in. It was the same feeling of being black-out drunk: I can only recall flashes of about 10 seconds of the free fall, my arch was crap, and I wasn’t able to touch the pilot chute! Thad ended up pulling for me at just above six grand. Then came the canopy ride, which based on my previous experience was breeze (pun intended). I followed Lance’s guidelines for setting up my landing pattern; to my surprise I didn’t get any more over the radio than "doing great". I flared a little low, had a rough PLF, and it was over.

Ready to give it another go, I went back to manifest and was set up to go after about two hours. (This time I was with Frank and JJ.) Since I had to do more this jump, my brain was overloaded before I even made it out of the door. I had the same effect of sensory overload, and if anything my arch was worse this time. Frank gave me the 'straighten your legs' sign twice, and even though I thought I was doing so they still flapped uselessly behind me. Again, I was aware of only about 10 seconds of the jump, and was so unstable near the end Thad pulled for me again (at 6500). I soloed my landing again, this time flaring high (over compensated), and had another PLF landing; thankfully less rough that the first one.

On the review of the jump we went over my complete lack of awareness and disorientation during the jump. Frank was very honest with me about the jump, and told me that I couldn't pass to AFF3 until I was able to get my awareness and Arch under control. I was very disheartened at my progress; it's frustrating to know what you need to do but your brain shuts down on you. I skipped coming back the next weekend so my brain could process the experience and I could work on being aware of what occurred during the skydive.. In part, to also convince myself I could do this sport.

I came back on a Saturday, with a monkey of performance anxiety on my back. Woody and Frank were my jump masters for this route. Woody picked up on my nerves, and spent most of the prep and time on the plane telling me to breathe and to relax. It helped! This time out the plane I was simply amazed at how aware I was. It was like someone flipped a switch and I was AWARE. I once was blind and now could see indeed. I took care of my leg problems, and did my turns properly. I even pulled my pilot chute first try after wave-off! Landing went great. Thrilled by the success, I got on the very next load, this time with Thad. It was a perfect free fall. I was amazed at how my body seemed to automatically correct my heading to focus on Thad (who wasn’t docked the whole jump due to a fast exit).

Most of my down time was spent asking questions of the jump/tandem masters and the packing staff. They are ALL very helpful and giving with information on the sport… and patient too, I ask a lot of questions. =-)

I spent the night at the drop zone over the weekend; they have great facilities (bunks, showers) for jumpers bunking over (at no charge!). Weekend life at a DZ is interesting indeed; they should make a reality show for it.

The rest of my AFF's went much the same. Weather prevented me from getting my AFF7 on Sunday, so I came back the next Tuesday. The wind was too gusty for students, so I hung out with the staff and decided to sign up for a packing class with Sarah. She took her time to show the how to properly prepare and pack a rig; though I’m not quite yet brave enough to pack one to jump, I feel I can do so and have it open properly (hopefully not too rough). I camped out in the bunk house again and got on the first load of the day. It was my AFF7 (Graduation Jump) with Frank. I was a little nervous; what if I had forgotten that awareness I had found over the weekend? Frank was very good at calming my nerves: This was my skydive; he was just there to watch. I also felt I had more to prove in this jump; he had seen my utter failure of a jump on AFF2. I did a forward flip out of the plane and got stable quickly. I did a left 360, then a right 360, ending it focused on Frank. I did a back flip, and focused on him again. He made the sign to arch a little harder (so we were at the same level), then waved me towards him. I can’t tell you exactly how I did it, as it seems like the body figures out how to move even if the brain isn’t actively thinking about it, but I glided up and stopped right in front of him. We docked arms, and then he did the coolest thing that had happened to me in the air yet. I saw both his feet go straight down, and the next thing I knew he flipped me right over the back of his head!!! It was awesome. I got stable and oriented on him again. He signed for me to track away and pull; I did so, and had my second stand up landing at the dropzone. It was a PERFECT skydive for me, and one hell of a graduation from the AFF program. On the ground, Frank gave me accolades for my Skydive, and said my tracking was excellent for the first time I had ever done it.

In total, I’ve had a wonderful experience with ASC and would recommend it to any new or experienced jumper.

Thanks to Frank, Jimmy, Thad, JJ, Fast Eddie, Woody, Kate, Sarah, Katie, Nick, Aaron, Ashton, Tyler, Kenny, Lance, Katie, JR, V, Ted, PJ, Alisha, and everyone else at ASC.

Dennis

(Review ID:5221)


Scenic, fun, busy, and accessible DZ


Atlanta Skydiving Center Rated 5 by: SlipstreamBRO on 2009-06-29

Pros: Good staff, fun atmosphere, and a nice facility
Cons: Having to leave

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
I went down for my first jump a couple of months ago with a buddy of mine. At first we felt completely out of place, but by the end of the jump we felt like it was a place we could come back to and be received warmly.

So, I took my AFF course there and have continued to jump there with the people that I can now call my friends. Currently I am taking an A License progression that is being developed by the coaches/staff and it has been extremely rewarding. The coaches are patient, positive, and will work with you one on one as much as you like. There is no reason to look for another DZ to learn from if you are from TN, AL, & GA. They are a 1-stop shop that will accommodate all your needs.

I look forward to becoming a better jumper with all their knowledge, expertise, and friendship.

(Review ID:5207)


Very welcoming and helpful enviorment


Atlanta Skydiving Center Rated 5 by: acw1011 on 2009-03-17

Pros: The atmosphere
Cons: three hours from my house

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
I did my AFF there and felt welcome and comfortable from the moment I walked in. The general atmosphere is very laid back yet professional. The staff are extremely experienced and always willing to answer any questions and give coaching. The packing area is carpeted and huge and being right next to the airport is great for back to back loads if you want to get in as many jumps as possible. There are many types of jumpers there from RW to freefly who are also asking people to join in on their jumps so you wont have to worry about just having to make solo jumps when you first come. I have brought a couple friends out for tandems and they had a blast also. I've visited a couple DZ's and am happy to call ASC my home dropzone. I would recommend ASC to anyone wanting to have a great time!!
(Review ID:5026)


Great vibe for years now


Atlanta Skydiving Center Rated 5 by: howtosee on 2009-03-16

Pros: Located at the Airport
Cons: Runs out of beer early in Saturday nights

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
Love love love this dropzone.
Years of good times in a completely climate controlled facility.
Hope everyone gives it a try.

(Review ID:5024)


fun and safe


Atlanta Skydiving Center Rated 5 by: fincher on 2009-03-16

Pros: its awesome
Cons: none worth mentioning

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
I would recommend this DZ. It is as good and safe as any other DZ in georgia. The review before this one is obviously not someone making a first jump. They know way to much about skydiving and is obviously someone that works at a competing DZ and has a beef with the people at ASC. I'm sure its something stupid. THere is a intense rivalry between two local DZ's. I'm sure this is the motivation for that review. Its true that kritter might try to remove all the water from the pond with his body. But unfortuneatly at the other DZ they use another method for removing water. Its called the displacement method. They displace the water with dead bodies of students that they neglegently drowned while they were drunk partying. Its a fun DZ also and they skydive safe enough. But if you plan to stay the night I would take a life preserver and use the buddy system. On the bright side they refunded the dead guy his money but unfortuneatly they couldnt refund him his future.
(Review ID:5023)


Fun and diverse with a splash of humor!


Atlanta Skydiving Center Rated 5 by: CCTR1 on 2009-03-16

Pros: Nice building, nice deck, nice packing area
Cons: No jacuzzi on the deck

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
I have made several jumps at this DZ and never had any problems with the place. The crowd at the dz is from all over the world and offers great advice from years of epierence and high jump numbers. The dz offers a variety of aircraft, bunk house, showers and only about an hour from Hartsfield international airport.
(Review ID:5022)


best DZ period


Atlanta Skydiving Center Rated 5 by: mmamojo on 2009-03-16

Pros: they are totally professional and go out of their way to making every jump a great jump
Cons: none

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
ASC offers everything! and I do mean everything! expect the best people, gear, rigs, planes, pilots, and reception. ASC has a great vibe and frienly enviroment!

you wont have to settle for anything less than perfection!!

(Review ID:5020)


ASC ROCKS


Atlanta Skydiving Center Rated 5 by: jesusthehippie on 2009-03-13

Pros: staff gear aircraft vibe
Cons: none

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
Been on the DZ scene all my life this place rocks.

Over 15 brand new SIGMA TANDEM RIGS,,
10 + new student rigs all cypress equiped.

Just walk in the gear room it will blind you!

Full staff experts in all diciplines of skydiving.

What else can I say,, Ive seen em all,,
WHEN ITS REAL YOU FEEL IT!

PAUL SILVIA

(Review ID:5017)


Real Good Vibes


Atlanta Skydiving Center Rated 5 by: skyditch1 on 2009-03-13

Pros: The great real people no phonys
Cons: Dropzone.com misimformation

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
Best vibe in GA PERIOD!No phonys no skygods, just a professionally run DZ.

Ive been at this for 25 years and haven't
jumped with a better crowd period.


JUSTIN P SILVIA D15898
FIRST JUMP 6/17/1984

(Review ID:5016)


Great dropzone, tons of rigs which makes downsizing possible for learning students, and friendly sta


Atlanta Skydiving Center Rated 5 by: lit4288 on 2009-03-12

Pros: great skydivers always willing to give advice to new jumpers, you really get the feeling when you're there that they car
Cons: There's this guy there, Lance, he keeps trying to get me drunk and touch me in private places....

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
I made my first jump here at ASC, and I wouldn't want to go anywhere else. Since the first day I was here, almost two years ago, everyone treated me with respect and in a very amicable way. They all wanted to help me advance in the sport in any way that they could, and were always more than happy to give advice, and praise when I did something well, which is very important to a new student's confidence in themselves in such a different sport than most. I had to take 8 months off during my first year of college, but when I came back, they all remembered me, even my name, and were more than happy to help get me current again and continue my learning of the sport. Today, I am almost at 100 jumps and enjoying the sport more than ever. If it weren't for the guidance and care of the instructors here, I would probably not have gotten back into the sport which I now love so much. As far as tandems go, I've never personally made one, but watching them do their jobs, they are nothing less than professional. A few of the instructors have over 10,000 jumps, and the confidence that this instills in the tandem students is more than visible to the naked eye. I don't see how you could have a bad experience at this dropzone (bar injuries, which is part of the sport) and if you did, I'm truly sorry, but give us another shot, I guarantee you that you won't be disappointed, anyone can have a bad day, just because they are some of the best instructors around doesn't make them perfect. Bottom line, ASC is the place to make a skydive, whether you are making your first jump, either tandem or AFF, or are an experienced jumper looking for an awesome place to jump.
(Review ID:5013)


Go anywhere but here


Atlanta Skydiving Center Rated 1 by: chivalae on 2009-03-10

Pros: None
Cons: Complete lack of customer service

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
I made my first jump at ASC and everying went well up until it was time to jump. It was my birthday and this was my present from my girlfriend, she also paid for my first jump to be videoed, this is where things went wrong. My videographer (kritter) decided to swoop the pond instead of landing and filming the rest of my jump, instead he almost got killed becuase he can't swoop, other jump masters at ASC were talking about how unsafe he was. I didn't get my video because the camera equipment got soaked when he tried to remove the water from the pond with his body. This was a complete lack of professionalism. I talked to the manager tyler who couldn't have cared less. they called me 2 days later to say they had salvaged my video but did not want to give a partial refund enev though I didn't have a complete video. They felt the full price ws warranted for a little more than half of what they promised. Safety? forget it the landing pattern was a joke people were landing from all different directions and almost on top of each other, as I was standing outside with a jumpmaster going over my jump plan a landing skydiver came right at us just so he could high five the jump master. After I finished my class for AFF I waited as load after load after load of tandem jumpers were loaded ahead of us, clearly ASC is only interested in a quick buck from tandem jumpers and cares nothing for new jumpers looking for their A license. Most of the jumpmasters and others there were nice and pleasant but it was the manager tyler, kritter, and the office staff that made me decide to take my business elsewhere.BE YE WARNED these people will rip you off and could get you hurt or killed.
(Review ID:5009)


ASC


Atlanta Skydiving Center Rated 5 by: Mannella on 2009-02-03

Pros: Kritter, and everyone else there who keeps teaching me
Cons: 3 Hours from my house!

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
From the moment I walked through the doors I have been treated with the upmost respect. I was, and am sincerely impressed with the professionalism of Kritter (my AFF instructor) as well as with the rest of the staff. The manager is very reasonable, take for instance when I failed one of my levels they wanted to get me back up in the air as fast as possible without going over the financial aspect. They cater to inexperienced personnel such as me, which takes great patience and character. I even stayed there 4 nights to get my first jump and didn’t have a problem with anyone, they even went over how to rig, and whenever I asked a question they were more than happy to answerer it without making me regret asking it, no question was stupid there! I would recommend this place to anyone.
(Review ID:4967)


Amazing DZ


Atlanta Skydiving Center Rated 5 by: Sandmunky on 2008-08-27

Pros: Great atmosphere, excelent instructors
Cons: No refunds, just given DZ credit

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
I started my AFFs right off with no Tandem and these guys looked out for me through and through. Fast Eddy gives an awesome AFF Class and everyone is more than willing to give you some pointers. I did my class and first jump one weekend but was unable to jump again due to weather, but came back the next week and did the jump (They don't just keep your money, it stays on the books) plus another. I like the fact that its a fairly small and rough landing area because this is perfect to learn on in my opinion. We went to go for my 2nd jump but they wouldn't let me because we forgot the radio, I was bummed a bit but this just goes to show that they are all about safety even though they thought I would be fine landing on my own. It gets REALLY busy on weekends but they have wireless internet and a bigscreen TV for while you are waiting. Hit it up on a weekday and its smooth sailing with very little wait. Unfortunately I had to leave due to the fact that I work in Iraq but I will be returning in October and driving out there to finish my AFFs.
(Review ID:4743)


Better than I could have ever expected


Atlanta Skydiving Center Rated 5 by: Araq on 2008-05-26

Pros: Staff is great
Cons: you might spend some time waiting, but it is worth it.

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
The only con is not really a con, they are busy because they are good. Make sure you have the whole day to spend with them (bring a book). Everyone is nice and helpful. I went for my first time and now it is time to sell the boat and golf clubs, have something better to do on weekends. I will use them for my training because of the attention to detail and the customer that they provide.
(Review ID:4533)


Read the reviews and experienced for myself


Atlanta Skydiving Center Rated 5 by: woady on 2008-04-09

Pros: Friendly staff, good location, large facility
Cons: The dang weather.

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
I really researched different DZ's in the area and despite a few experienced jumpers complaints I felt like I needed to find out for myself. ASC seemed well put together and organized. The staff was very friendly and informative (talked to me on the phone for about 10 minutes while I drilled them with questions). Other places seemed eager to answer a couple questions and get off the phone so I went with ASC.

The day we were suppose to go there was bad weather so we rescheduled for a few days later. We did go a couple days later to the DZ and weather was still bad, but enjoyed the company of the people and staff. Two days later I called the DZ on a moments notice to jump and within the hour I was on a plane.

I paid the extra $10 to go to 14 (which I watched the ALT to make sure we did and we jumped @ 14). Some jumpers said they didn't get to 14 and got excuses. I never had a problem with that. It was my first jump and of course, I got the video (and I look like a complete goober but that's not hard :) They rushed to make my video and I had it in my hands in about 5 minutes. I really couldn't be happier. Granted, I did jump on a weekday on the last group out, but they were still helpful and friendly.

The facility was walking distance to the runway and very convenient.

Overall, the facility, crew, environment, and experience were great. I would definitely recommend it and Preacher Man's Baby Jesus Burgers (and I asked, its not make from ground up baby Jesus although if it was I'm sure it'd be Kosher). Only bad factor was the weather which bummed us for a few days but I'm sure it was the same everywhere else.

Any questions or concerns feel free to hit me up.

Woady

(Review ID:4449)


More of a Tandem dz


Atlanta Skydiving Center Rated 2 by: ltdodge on 2007-10-25

Pros: Great Packing area
Cons: Deceptive

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
Was in town to visit my family for a few days. I had never visited ASC but I had heard mixed things about them but I decided to give them a try. I was very impressed with the packing area, aircon and plenty of space. Bought 1 ticket to 14.5, only they don't go to 14.5, more like 11. This really made me angry. I asked them about this and they said that it was because they are in the Hartsfield traffic pattern, except I have asked friends of mine who are airline pilots as well as private pilots, both of who tell me that it is not. It made me angry but I can get over that. When I got home I started digging into asc on the internet and found out that they have hundreds of complaints lodged, have been kicked out of the USPA and a news station in Atlanta even did an investigative report on them.
The physical aspects of ASC are great and people are friendly, but it is run very poorly. I can not in good conscience recomend this DZ to anybody. Hopefully new management can change that.

(Review ID:4211)


A Drop Zone in the Atlanta Area


Atlanta Skydiving Center Rated 3 by: SpacemanSpiff on 2007-09-30

Pros: Nice facility located on airport property
Cons: More of a tandem friendly DZ

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Location
My wife and I were in the Atlanta area for work and brought along our rigs this past week. We jumped at a few local DZs and found this one to be our least favorite.

The attitude at ASC was geared more to catering the tandems. I've read a lot of reviews and opinions about this DZ and their marketing/business plan, but I wanted to give the place a fair shot myself. Unfortunately I'd have to agree with a number of people about this place, and I really didn't have a whole lot of time there to peal back the onion skin.

The sub-staff (video guys and instructors) were very friendly though. I actually elevated my overall score on ASC based on their interest in the up-jumper crowd.

The landing area was a bit hectic, as people were and landing in multiple directions (not just the swoopers). All in all I would not be surprised if there was an incident in the landing area at some point.

They do have a nice building with a/c in the packing area. And there is a super nice guy that cooks up food that is convenient to buy on-site.

If your in the area visiting, I'd advise checking out a few of the surrounding DZs first. You'll be happier for it.

(Review ID:4163)


Amazing vibe, super-friendly staff and excellent facilities


Atlanta Skydiving Center Rated 5 by: dereknagel on 2007-09-25

Pros: Great location, fantastic staff, very professional!
Cons: ?

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
I attended the Good Vibes Boogie last March and was one of the organizers of the model/video shoots. As busy as we were that whole weekend, the staff at ASC were very accommodating and I got to do my first jump!! Thanks Tyler, you rock!!

All of the people hanging out were cool as hell and I made alot of friends that I still keep in touch with.

(Review ID:4152)


cokeberry1 should check his facts!


Atlanta Skydiving Center Rated 4 by: KennethPugh on 2007-09-14

Pros: Large plane thats always flying
Cons: Tandem students can often sit for awhile due to the number of tandems to staff

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
Hey guys its Kenneth Pugh and unlike the guy below all my contact info is in my profile so if you dont like what i have to say shoot me an email. First Nobody sold this guy accident insurance, t shirt most likely although he got to choose from 10 different styles. Second the waiver he is referring to is the relative workshop waiver which every tandem in the country has to to watch and sign before jumping a sigma system (this dangerous dropzone owns 13 sigmas). And his reference to the tandem student that was dropped just so happened to be dropped by the country's best rigger at another Atlanta dropzone. And its obvious this poster is not an experienced jumper because of his comment on the hook turn fatality, experienced jumper fatality s such as that are not a reflection of the dropzones safety not to mention your referring to our lost friends! In a nutshell before anyone takes dingleberry1's advice check the facts ask around, any self respecting jumper will be honest about a dropzones safety no matter where they are from.
(Review ID:4132)


Giving these people our business kills our sport.


Atlanta Skydiving Center Rated 1 by: bsbooker on 2007-09-14

Pros: Air conditioned packing area
Cons: Where do I begin?

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
If you are an experienced jumper, than it's a great place to jump. Most of the people are nice and the facilities are decent, not if you are a student..Two girls work manifest - the one is nice and the other on many occasions offers tandem students "extra altitude" for $10. When one student accepted and walked away and I called her out on it, she just started laughing. Almost every load exits below 12,000' because the dz is right in the flight path of Hartsfield-Jackson International in Atlanta. This isn't the dz's or the pilot's fault, but it seems sneaky and shady to offer this to a tandem student, who doesn't read an altimeter, and who almost always accepts. One of my friends had an appointment with Hans at The Farm(2 miles away) to make his first tandem jump. Seeing ASC's sign on Highway 278 reading "Skydive-turn here," he did so. When he asked manifest for Hans, they told him that Hans has gone to lunch, but go ahead and sign this wavier, and we'll get you geared up.

If you jump there, work there, or even recommend it, you are taking away from our sport. Skydive The Farm is 2 miles away. DZOs Hans and Sandy Pulsen are two of the nicest people I've ever met. Plus the best rigger in the nation, Mike Gruwell, is on site for all your rigging needs. It is a safe place to swoop, because the jumpers have strict rules when it comes to landing patters. Unlike at ASC, everybody sticks to them. For more in depth info about ASC's nasty trail of deception check out www.funjumper.com/skyride

(Review ID:4131)


Go somewhere else


Atlanta Skydiving Center Rated 1 by: cokeberry1 on 2007-09-08

Pros: At the Airport
Cons: Everything else

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
I decided to give ASC a second try a few weeks ago after my first trip there which did not end well. They sell tickets to 14.5 but they jump at 11k, thats the first problem. Second if something happens where you cant go up you don't get your money back, even if it is something thats their fault. Be very wary of this place, it is well known in the skydiving community as one of the worst.
(Review ID:4123)


Ripoff


Atlanta Skydiving Center Rated 1 by: mccallj on 2007-07-18

Pros: Great Aircraft,
Cons: Deceptive practices

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
I went to ASC for my first tandem jump. Jumped had a great time, however I waited for 8 hours. They gave the "weather hold" excuse, which is a legitimate excuse sometimes except the skies were completely clear for over half of this 8 hour period. About 8 other tandem jumpers came and left in that time, without a refund of their money. I paid for "extra altitude", 14.5k feet, but got thrown out with everyone else... at 11k. If I had known that they and their parent company both owned by the same guys had been investigated twice by a fox5 news out of Atlanta for deceptive business practices I would looked for different dropzones.
As for the landing area, I know lots of people who have sustained major bone breaks in their rocky sink hole ridden landing area which happens to be more of a slope, and the swoop pond is more like a swoop puddle. Save yourself the time and frustration and look elsewhere.

(Review ID:4003)


A home away from home, complete with friends and family.


Atlanta Skydiving Center Rated 5 by: mwaller on 2007-02-13

Pros: Great Staff, incredibly friendly, a great atmosphere!
Cons: Alternate Landing Area

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
The Atlanta Skydiving Center (ASC) is a great place for experienced jumpers and for those who are just beginning their experience with the skydiving sport. I made 15 jumps during this trip and someone from the ASC staff was there after every one asking how everything went. Even though they had a number of Tandem students the staff always had a smile and I felt welcomed to be there.

There are actually 3 of us who made the trip down from Ohio and want to make this an annual trip to ASC to escape the weird Ohio weather.

Thanks ASC!!!

The Ohio Guys, Michael, Daniel, and Harry.

(Review ID:3688)


Go check it out for yourself


Atlanta Skydiving Center Rated 5 by: marknsanchez on 2006-12-05

Pros: Great Staff, Great Facilities, Great Aircraft, Great Atmosphere
Cons: Nothing...perhaps a full service bar is in order

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
I know that ASC has been under the gun in the past because of some questionable business practices...that was then, this is now…get over it and move on. After leaving the active duty Air Force, I moved to Atlanta in November 05 and decided to get my AFF done. I researched other DZ’s in the area and decided on ASC simply because they had the most competitive price…bar-none. That also goes for tandem prices by the way. I couldn’t have made a better decision. I received top-notch instruction in every aspect…pre-jump and post-jump briefs…briefs after hours over a couple beers…simply excellent. As for sky-gods as somebody previously stated…I think you are bit mixed up, or maybe just intimated...may I suggest growing a sack? Yes, the dropzone is full of well-experienced, some professionally-rated skydivers but that in no way is apparent in their attitude. I never received the impression that anyone was better than me, or anyone else. On the contrary, everyone was willing to give advice and instruction if one was inquisitive enough. After AFF, I received awesome coaching, sometimes at no cost, from extremely talented individuals in belly and eventually freefly.
As for safety…the entire staff takes the safety of every individual skydiver (tandem, AFF and fun-jumper alike) as their #1 priority. If you are waiting around a while because they say the weather is not safe to jump, then you can rest assured that you will have operational arms and legs after you do your jump…plain and simple. Waiting is apart of skydiving…we all find it frustrating. Someone previous mentioned fatalities as an indicator of the DZ’s safety…I would suggest that person go and investigate those fatalities on this very website and find that the DZ was at no fault. There is only so much a DZ can do in the avenue of safety…it all our responsibility.
The fact that ASC is a busy dropzone on the weekends, especially in the summer months, is only a testament to how great a dropzone it absolutely is. The manifest runs like a well-oiled machine…you jump, get packed, get on the next load with ease. In spite of so many tandems, the manifest still makes the effort to look after their fun-jumpers and manages to fit them in a load even in the busiest of conditions. I’ve been living in England for the past 4 months and have jumped at various dropzones, to include Skydive Empuriabrava in Spain, arguably the best DZ in Europe. The ASC manifest, staff in general, aircraft, and facilities are of pristine quality. Quite frankly, I feel ASC is an amazing dropzone with an over abundance of highly motivated and talented skydivers who have managed to put the past behind them and continue to move forward professionally. It is easy to lash out at the best and try to discredit them and attack their integrity. What is not easy is to go through extreme hardship, rely on the friends around you, move on and continue to be the best at what you do and not lash back. That is the true definition of one’s character. I guess in laymen terms, don’t hate the playa, hate the game folks.

Can’t wait to come home and jump at ASC

(Review ID:3575)


Go to The Farm, or better yet Skydive Arizona


Atlanta Skydiving Center Rated 3 by: thafli on 2006-09-12

Pros: Cool fun jumpers, excellent rigging, great coaching, air conditioned packing and sleeping area
Cons: unethical business practices and too many sky gods

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
Peeps need to drop the attitudes around the DZ and quit running off fun jumpers. They leave a bad taste in your mouth. The DZ needs to organize some better boogies for the amount of money they rip off. I've even seen tandems come in from all over the country, never get to do their tandem, and never get their money back. All done intentionally by the DZ. I'm goin to the Farm and if you're smart, you will too (or better yet, Skydive Arizona).
(Review ID:3396)


My experiences at ASC so far.


Atlanta Skydiving Center Rated 5 by: Clark7766 on 2006-09-04

Pros: Instructors are the best!
Cons: Small landing area

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
The only thing I can say that might be negative is the landing area is small and sometimes has a high amount of incoming traffic. But there's plenty of grass on the north side of the runway as well that can be used as an alternative landing area.

I went straight into AFF, no tandem, and the price on the package deal I got was less than the other 2 schools that are near by.

The main plane they use is the Otter, sometimes the King Air. Either plane is fine by me. And the pilot is a skydiver himself so the drops are on the money.

I've read a lot of crap about ASC that I just haven't seen personally myself.

I've been at ASC every weekend since July 7th except 2. Completed my AFF in 9 jumps and stood my landing on my 1st solo jump yesterday.

I jumped with a total of 5 different instructors during my AFF. Everyone of them are very professional and have spent extra time with me on exits, postion, flight patterns, landings, etc... I definitely get my money's worth everytime I go to ASC

As far as the management goes. Hey everyone I know has a bad day or makes a mistake at work. And sometimes they might be short an employee or two as well. When you get 70 people trying to do tandems and you throw in a few AFF students and some fun jumpers it can get hectic. Add a weather hold or two and it can turn into pure madness. I would rather wait out the weather than jump if it isn't safe. I have actaully seen a group of jumpers go up from another school when no one should have been in the air. At ASC if it isn't safe you're not going up period. That's just part of skydiving.

And when it comes to safety I have never heard safety preached anywhere as much as it is at ASC.

The staff there does everything possible to make things go as smooth as they can. If you continue to go to ASC you'll end up on a first name basis with everyone and some pretty cool friendships will develop as well.

If you go to ASC's web site you don't see any bad mouthing of their competitors. But go to a competitors web site and you just might see them bad mouthing ASC. That in of itself should tell you something about ASC being a class act.

Go to this url for Skydive Alabama
http://www.skydiveal.com/

These folks have a java based pop up window that pops up on their main page telling you about how bad ASC is. They're so concerned with ASC that instead of using their web site to entice you to come to their dropzone the first thing you see is how much they dislike their competitor. Makes we want to business with them, not. Also they are located in Cullman, AL. I live in Alabama and Cullman is not known for the intelligence of their residents.

And Skydive Smoky Mountains

http://www.skydivesmokymountains.com/

dedicates the 2nd paragraph on the main page of their website to badmouthing ASC as well. Their tandem price is higher than ASC as well.

I have my own business and I don't worry about my competitors. Won't even talk about them casually. Apparently ASC has taken that same policy, good for them! Definitely a class act operation.








(Review ID:3378)


tired, hungry and waiting...


Atlanta Skydiving Center Rated 2 by: cwill12 on 2006-08-12

Pros: great tandem masters, video, convenient to Atlanta
Cons: long wait times, no food, deceptive pricing, no tandem instruction

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
Once I finally got in the air, my experience was fantastic. I had my first tandem jump from 16,000 ft, and it was the most exciting 6 minutes of my life! The tandem master and videographer were fabulous, very professional, put me at ease, and provided me with memories (and a video souvenir) to last a lifetime.

The BAD side: ASC gave me a reservation time of 11:15. I rushed the 1.25 hours from ATL without breakfast or even coffee, afraid of being late and either missing some very important instruction or being charged for a late or no show fee. To my surprise, I had an hour of paperwork to fill out, then another three plus hours to sit around and WAIT. I asked the mgmt countless times when they anticipated I would be called, whether I had time to go get food, etc. They kept saying either they didn't know, or it would be 20 minutes. Finally, there was a weather delay and they told us we had enough time to drive the 7 miles to the nearest sandwich shop and back. Just as we arrived there, they called to say we were up and so we rushed back w/out any food. Then I was even more surprised that my tandem jump went off with little more than about a 2 minute briefing on what was going to happen. I've heard of other DZs providing at least 1-2 hours of instruction and safety briefing for tandem jumps. This didn't instill much faith in the process. Fortunately, it went off without a hitch (though I was so dizzy and lightheaded from not eating all day long, that I was too weak to help control the chute when my TM offered the pulls to me). But what if it didn't? What if something happened to my TM and I had to deploy the chute and land myself? I wouldn't have the FIRST idea what to do. NOT GOOD, and NOT SAFE!!

As for deceptive charges, we were told that they wouldn't refund our money if the weather prevented us from jumping (they will offer a rain check, but what if you're just visiting and won't be able to get back?). THEN they add a 5% surcharge for using a credit card, which they conveniently failed to tell me when I was grilling them about the pricing details the previous day, and of course now you're at least a 30 min drive from the nearest ATM, so you have no choice but to pay it. When I complained about the 4 hour wait (what's the point of the reservation?), they told me the res time was just the time for you to show up and get your name on the list. They know exactly how many people are ahead of you. They know how many people are going on the plane (THE plane. Only one plane). They know how long the plane takes to go up and come back. So why is it that they can't tell you roughly how much longer you're going to have to wait to go? What's the point of keeping us there, bored, tired and starving? And when I complained about this, their answer was that it's always busier on the weekends, and I should come during the week. Sure, take a day off work, no problem. Whatever.

They claim that they use such ultra safe equipment that they can take people heavier than the recommended 225 pounds, but I think that's a deceptive statement and to me it says they're blatantly flaunting safety regulations. Also not good. They've had a few fatalities in the last few years, so obviously, they're not quite as safe as they claim to be. And that should be your biggest concern when selecting your DZ.

(Review ID:3330)


Great DZ with some great staff


Atlanta Skydiving Center Rated 4 by: peenut557 on 2006-06-30

Pros: Awesome staff and facilities and big on safety
Cons: Weather and disorganized management

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
I finished up my AFF at this DZ and have started regularly jumping here. The staff are seriously amazing, especially AFF jumpmasters. On several occasions, I had staff stay late to give me some additional pointers. The ground instructor is an extremely qualified and great guy. As a student, the DZ does push you a little more, I think. I found myself flustered on a few dives when I was rushed out and taught 2 new maneuvers in less than a minute. But the staff was always there to help me out with something I was having difficulty with.

There are some drawbacks. I've often been unable to dive due to high winds. Additionally, the landing area is quite small and landing off zone is frequent. I actually preferred this landing area as a student. If you can learn to land safely in a difficult landing area, you should definitely be able to handle landing in a larger area. I found this to be an asset for a student to learn more difficult landing patterns early.

Things do get a bit chaotic at times at this DZ. Sometimes I think they take on more than they can handle, but they pull it off. This makes the DZ look a bit disorganized, but if you go out late in the afternoon when things are settling down the staff are very laid back and they'll give you lots of individual attention if you ask for it.

All in all, I'm glad I chose this DZ for my AFF and I highly recommend it to others.

(Review ID:3217)


Been there every weekend for 3 weeks!


Atlanta Skydiving Center Rated 5 by: tattooo on 2006-06-14

Pros: Everything about the place....Good people!
Cons: Nothing at all.

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
Great place to go skydiving. Although I haven't been anywhere else I feel perfectly safe there and it's just as good during the night as it is in the daytime. I didn't start with tandem I went straight for the AFF course I finished in 2 weeks (4 days total). I didn't repeat any levels because I had great instructors that take time explaining from the ground all the way untill jump time. I have no complaints at all. AWESOME CASA BOOGIE and the food hit the spot THANKS SCOTTY!
(Review ID:3168)


a great place to jump


Atlanta Skydiving Center Rated 5 by: sarahh on 2006-05-22

Pros: helpful friendly staff,
Cons: could spend entire savings jumping here

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
I heard about this DZ from a friend who totally reccomended ASC, and i called and asked about staying on for an extended jumping holiday from Australia. I found Tyler, the DZ manager, and BJ, manifest lady, to be friendly and helpful and they gave me all the information i asked for.

When I arrived at Hartsfield, i called the DZ to let them know i was here, and the best way to get to the DZ. They sent someone out immediately to pick me up (which was AWESOME, because after about 20 hours on a plane i was ready to cry or scream at someone)

i have been here for 2 weeks so far, and despite the standard weather holds for most dropzones, have done a few jumps, been to some GREAT places around cedartown, hiram and Atlanta, and have been engulfed by a brand new family.

the Staff have been looking after me, picking me up after a very bad decision i made with my landing pattern, laughing at my accent (which i heartily return, y'all) and giving me great advice with regard to my skydiving skills.

I have 3 months in the states, and i'll be visiting other places while i'm here. The staff and fun jumpers have already organised lifts to and from the airport, and great weekday activities in between.

I've been to 3 DZ's in the states, but i think that ASC will always be my "home" DZ, whenever i'm in America
thanks guys, you rock.

(Review ID:3088)


Left for Greener Pastures


Atlanta Skydiving Center Rated 1 by: chutingstar on 2006-01-03

Pros: Lots of students
Cons: Treatment of students

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
Try Skydive The Farm instead.
(Review ID:1294)


Had a great time and made new friends. I'll go again!


Atlanta Skydiving Center Rated 5 by: Marines42 on 2005-08-03

Pros: Everyone was great and laid back.
Cons: The weather wasn't the greatest when I went.

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
I bought tandem jumps for my girlfriend and myself for her birthday. We had a 1:15 appointment but the weather put us back until 6. No problems as there were couches, TV, a nice deck, food fresh off the grill, equipment to check out, and a variety of cool guys willing to tell me about different gear and how they got started. Pricy on the multi-media but it was excellently done. Thanks to all the guys and gals there for showing us a good time. I'll definitely be back.
(Review ID:2468)


Great staff, excellent facility with good food, showers, etc.


Atlanta Skydiving Center Rated 5 by: tonyhhisc on 2005-08-01

Pros: Friendly Staff, Excellent Equipment, Great Facility
Cons: Very Busy

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
This was my first jump as a Tandem student. A group of five of us jumped Sunday (7/31/05). The staff did very well in calming us down, it was a very friendly and laid-back atmosphere which really made you feel comfortable. Being a heavier guy at 275 lbs... I know I was a little more nervous than the rest of my group but my instructor had no fear. It was the greatest thrill ever and I can't thank Mike S. enough for jumping with me, I think he enjoyed the challenge, haha. The only cons with this place is that we had to wait around so long for the weather to clear up. That's not their fault, but it made the rest of the day a "rush" to get everyone out, which took away from the quality. But who cares, I jumped out of a F'n airplane and lived. WOOOHOOO!! By the way, the food is great. I forget the name of the cook, but he is a great guy. I would recommend ASC to everyone, but try to find a nice clear day and reserve EARLY in the morning.


(Review ID:2459)


Stay away


Atlanta Skydiving Center Rated 2 by: bct110 on 2005-07-25

Pros: Great Facilities and Plane, Quality Rental Gear
Cons: Small landing area, 5% charge for credit cards, deceptive business practices

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
I have changed my perception of this place completely in the last yr. Last time I was there I saw them psyching up tandem students saying "are you ready to skydive!" then taking their money... when it had been raining straight for 3 days and the forcast was just as bleak for the next 2. They were just on a slight weather hold (something not mentioned until AFTER they had your money) Of course no refunds is a strict policy. This is only the tip of the iceberg for how low ASC will stoop to scam your money. I won't post them here, but I'm sure you can find the stories in DZ.com somewhere. The sad thing is most non-skydivers don't even know they are getting screwed. Another thing I saw that turned me away from this place was that they advertised one price on the webiste then charged me more when I got there... claiming not to know anything about the website claim. My recommendation is to boycott this place, skyride and all DZs that do business with them. It is sad that a DZ with such great facilities could have a closet overflowing with heinous skeletons. The problem is the more skeletons they try to cram in there, the harder it is to keep the door closed...
(Review ID:1362)


good people, good vibe, fun place to jump


Atlanta Skydiving Center Rated 5 by: skyburner1 on 2005-06-10

Pros: large airconditioned packing area
Cons: not the best landing area in the world

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
Me and my buddy stopped in on a Sunday, passing through, and did several jumps. The staff was friendly and helpful and the spots were right on. There were alot of tamdems but it didn't affect our funjumping at all. I must say that ASC has a female staff that is very easy on the eyes....oh yea and they are nice to talk to also...There was a good fun vibe and we were very glad that we stopped in for the day. The landing area is not as flat as I'm use to (in IL) but I had no trouble landing where I wanted to. Excellent facilities with lots of couches, TVs, and did I mention the female staff...
(Review ID:2338)


My home away from home


Atlanta Skydiving Center Rated 5 by: BDashe on 2005-05-27

Pros: Great staff, awesome location, immaculate equipment
Cons: slightly sketchy landing area, lots of tandems

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
I drive 3.5 hours to get to this DZ as often as I can (which is about every other week) even though there are a couple within an hour of where I live. My first visit I had a wopping 1 tandem jump and my first AFF under my belt. My first time at ASC, I walked in about as new as you can be- very nervous and intimidated by the experience level of the staff. The wind shut everyone down by 2PM, by 2:30 I was out to lunch with some of my instructors. I spent the rest of the day and most of the night with a bunch of the staff. They were all extremely friendly and welcoming. Basically the staff is about as good as you can find anywhere. They have some of the best swoopers in the country as well. The twin otter runs 95% of the time, people actually complain when the king air runs which is beyond me, a king air is a bentley compared to cessnas. There are a lot of tandems, but it doesnt matter much because the otter fills loads of 23 and is still comfortable. On nice days they get 15+ loads easily when running just one of their planes with no back to backs, this means 15 or more jumps in a day is VERY doable, the only restriction is the wallet. The LZ is kind of small for the amount of jumpers, it does have trees around it, but it is very manageable. If AFF 1's can land there daily with a load of 23, anyone can. The equipment is in perfect condition whether it is the rental stuff, the multitude of planes, or the packing room(s). The climate controlled packing area is awesome. In regards to the negative reviews I've seen, most of the people have other area home DZs (even if they claim to be from elsewhere, check their profiles) that get chewed up by ASC. That safety post is bogus, everytime i've jumped there I usually get two gear checks from the staff without even saying anything, and always by someone behind me in the plane. This may be because I am a regular, but it's been like that from day one for me there. Aside from that, if you want/need a gear check, all you have to do is ask! AND, I always here the clacking of sealtbelts coming undone at 1000' ALWAYS. The negative vibe that has been described I have never personally experienced. The place is BUSY, there are a lot of jumpers there all day every day which may be part of the reason, because the staff can't physically pamper 50 upjumpers and X number of tandems students all day long, but they try their hardest. Since day one I have always gotten personal attention from the staff, and I always go there by myself, not many people where I live are skydivers. They are always welcoming to tandem students, show them a great time as well as the family members that come to watch the exciting first jump! If you watch a video, you know and can easily tell they make the tandem student feel great and accepted to the community, even though they are just along for the ride. If you have any social skills whatsoever or a passion for jumping, you'll fit right in. My best friends in the skydiving community are the ASC staff, and they always watch out for me, and we have some seriously great times after the beer light is on. Everytime I go I am greeted with smiles and usually crash on a couch or in the bunkhouse for FREE. The first time I was ever there, they were upset that I wasn't staying at the DZ, and spending more money by putting myself up at a motel, since then I'll never miss a night at ASC! They are real cool and real open to everyone. Now that I have more experience, I've been to several other DZs that were not nearly as professional, fun, experienced and welcoming as ASC is. I would recommend this place to anyone and everyone. This place is loaded: landing area next to the packing room, runway next to the packing room, swoop pond, observation deck, quality eqiupment and staff, the list goes on. And by the way, the riggers/rigging loft are absolutely top notch and extremely experienced, they have recorded an enormous number of saves. TWO THUMBS UP ASC, CANT WAIT TO BLOW THE REST OF MY CASH WITH YOU GUYS, SEE YOU IN AUGUST!!!!!
(Review ID:2132)


Your money will be better spent somewhere else!


Atlanta Skydiving Center Rated 2 by: mbskies on 2005-05-25

Pros: Aircraft, location
Cons: STAFF, BUSINESS PRACTICES

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
I bought skydiving for myself (this was my second time, so I had another dz to compare) and my husband as a birthday present to him. When we arrived at the dropzone at our 1:00 check-in time, nobody gave us any instruction or barely even spoke to us. We kept getting bumped off our loads, and we still sitting there at 6:30 that evening. We eventually had to leave, with no apology and no refund. So, I rescheduled our jump (major inconvienence) and my husband got food poisoning. I called to reschedule and the only way they would reschedule was to charge me a $75 cancellation fee per person (in addition to the nearly $450 I had already paid!) Please note this situation wouldn't have even existed if they were better organized and let us jump on our first trip there. I ended up having to find someone else to go that day so that I would get an extra charge! When we got there, we were told we would be in the same plane, but at last minute I was bumped off (AGAIN), so we had to go separately. Then, my tandem master tells me he "has somewhere to be" so he hopes I don't mind if we come down quickly. We were the last off the plane and one of the first to land. We landed so hard (which I understand sometimes cannot be avoided) that I scraped the skin off my legs and I was so disoriented and naseous I couldn't even stand! I heard him tell some guy to unhook me and by the time I got my bearings- he was nowhere to be found. Not one person spoke to me or asked how my skydive went. I just got up off the field, and went to my car. I ended up puking the whole way home and couldn't even drive. This was not my first time (and won't be my last), and my previous experience was nothing like this! The staff were extremely rude when you asked them a question, did not seem to really care about your experience, and thier business practices are shady at best! I would not recommend this place!
(Review ID:2292)


Tried to scam me...


Atlanta Skydiving Center Rated 2 by: mww115 on 2005-04-23

Pros: Looked like good aircraft
Cons: Staff

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
So I'm on leave from Germany and a buddy of mine, we'll call Billy, says meet me at this DZ. I wind up here. I ask if this is The Farm. I must have looked like a tandem student or out of towner cause I got, "Yeah". So I tell her I'm an up jumper and show my card and reserve repack and ask if anyone has seen Billy (last name). "I'm sure he's around". Problem was I hadn't seen him and no one was up yet, so I figured I'd call. "Can I borrow the phone," I ask. "Sure, it's over there." Courtesy phone's broke. She tried to fix it but seemed inept.
I went back to the main road/ Cowboys, and asked for directions to the OTHER skydiving place off Grady Rd. They hooked me up. I made two jumps with Billy at the Farm before leaving for Hartsfield (where security was convince my pin-cutter was a blasting cap; different story) and flying back to Germany.

Worst staff I've seen at a DZ. Aircraft looked good (from afar)

(Review ID:2224)


Safety Conscious


Atlanta Skydiving Center Rated 2 by: monte on 2005-03-31

Pros: Aircraft
Cons: Safety, Attitude

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
Other reviews have already addressed the issue of friendliness at this DZ, so I won't beat the dead horse. What put me off so much about this place was the lack of concern with safety. I went to ASC with around 50 jumps and an A licence. I was given some advice on the landing area (or lack there-of) from the staff, which was appreciated. However, once being manifested and heading towards the aircraft, no one on the load asked for or offered a gear check. Once in the plane, no one wore seat belts except for the pilot. I asked, but no one could even find one for me to put on and it was clear that some of the jumpers found this kind of concern humorous. This attitude is not acceptable in our sport; friendliness is based on personality and can be overlooked, but attention to the safety of all skydivers is essential to keeping low numbers of injuries and fatalities.
(Review ID:2182)


none


Atlanta Skydiving Center Rated 2 by: midnightrider on 2005-02-11

Pros: most of the staff are cool
Cons: tandem factory, 4million websites, bad vibes, shady business practices

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
i would totally cancel this review because of bad experiences i've had and im sure if you were to jump in cedartown you already know about it anyways so i dont need to repeat whats already been said
(Review ID:1636)


Wonderful HOME DZ


Atlanta Skydiving Center Rated 5 by: tmaricle55 on 2004-09-09

Pros: EVERYTHING...
Cons: NONE...

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
Thanks for being a great home DZ... STU, MIKE and JIM your the best. Thanks for a wonderful skydiving experience and getting me hooked! Thanks again!
(Review ID:1797)


Don't bother visiting ASC


Atlanta Skydiving Center Rated 1 by: Vallerina on 2004-08-18

Pros: Otter
Cons: People, landing area

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
Maybe I'm just too used to dzs being open and friendly, but after visiting Atlanta Skydiving Center for a little over half an hour, I decided not to give them any of my money. I walked around the whole time scoping out the landing area, loading area, trying to get a feel for the place. I'd smile and nod my head as people walked past, but no one did the same in return. Not a single person there even smiled back! If they had been tremendously busy with tons of stuff going on, I could understand. They had many people sitting around, and they were only flying the Cessna.

I'm okay with a less-than exciting crowd; however, this dz had nothing to offer. The landing area sucked. Hills, trees, buildings...I'm not sure if there were many outs, since no one told me if there were. They have an Otter, but weren't flying it on a nearly perfect day (50 degrees is not too cold.) Unfriendly dz with not much to offer....next time, I will head to one of the many other dzs in the Atlanta area.

(Review ID:691)


the best of all time


Atlanta Skydiving Center Rated 5 by: freefallmama1 on 2004-07-14

Pros: The Best Ever
Cons: none

I would most definately recommend this drop zone. I had never jumped before and didnt know the first thing about it or anyone who did, I just saw the one day and wanted to try it out. When I went in everyone was so nice as soon as I walked through the door people started talking to me. After my first jump I was hooked. Then I found out I was going to have a baby so I had to stop jumping but I loved it so much! A job was available and I took it. Now I have been here a year and I love it. Everyone is just as nice now as they were before and every one loves my kids and my kids love them. So for one if you have kids it is a great place to come and bring your children. And if you are learning they have the best staff to work with you, they are so patient.

I can't start to thank them enough for the experience that I have had there.

(Review ID:1641)


Best weekend of my life


Atlanta Skydiving Center Rated 5 by: Awarzone on 2004-06-14

Pros: Nice Packing area (Hot Packing Chicks/AC/carpet)
Cons: Credit card fee

I went with a friend and started jumping on Friday afternoon and stayed through Sunday. We got a total of 21 jumps and had great food a great time and slept in the bunkhouse (on a bed and everything) for free. Kevin, Nate and Rick were great, even did some jumps with us for RW ding anything from 3 to 5 ways with video (just for fun). Nate helped me learn how to swoop and all of the drop zone staff were really friendly and helpful. I loved it!
(Review ID:1579)
> >|

Write your own Review