Skip to Content

Dropzone : Reviews

Reviews for: Florida Skydiving Center/Skydive Lake Wales - (Visit this link) popular
Average Rating = 4.14/5 Average Rating : 4.14/5

Dropzone Summary | Reviews

Comments:  Show | Hide

> >|


Review Summary:


Average Rating : Average Rating = 4.14/5
Total Reviews: 36

> Write a Review

Show: Sort:
Display:
100% Times: 6 Times: 1 Times: 0 Times: 4 Times: 25
80%
60%
40%
20%
0%
Times  6 1 0 4 25
Rating  1 2 3 4 5



Must see central Florida Dropzone


Florida Skydiving Center/Skydive Lake Wales Rated 5 by: flychick89 on 2013-11-20

Pros: Quick, clean aircraft, mostly clean facilities, friendly and knowledgable staff
Cons: Showers were ok

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
This place is awesome! A friend and myself both had the pleasure of jumping tandem with Pip, who was phenomenal. He eased the fears and provided a sense of comedy and passion for the sport that you don't see every day. The process was fairly quick, and everyone was extremely nice and made small talk to pass the time. I would recommend this place to anyone looking for a tandem, as well as those looking to make a number of fun jumps. There are frequent Groupon deals, which makes it a great value for the size of the aircraft you jump from!
(Review ID:8298)


A perfect mix, good facilties and very friendly.


Florida Skydiving Center/Skydive Lake Wales Rated 4 by: flyngrudy18 on 2013-02-22

Pros: Very friendly, good planes, excellent packers.
Cons: No food and bar facilities.

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
I' have been there only one day, I' made 3 jumps.
You can feel the friendly and relaxing atmosphere as soon to walk in, from the manifest, manager and jumpers.

Once I' was on plane, climbing at altitude I' realized why the call it Lake Wales: there are a lot of water pond everywhere.

The landing area is good, the packer they working very good.

The only downside is the fact there's no food and beverage facilities on place.

(Review ID:7812)


Great atmosphere for all experience levels!


Florida Skydiving Center/Skydive Lake Wales Rated 5 by: hmatousek on 2012-12-27

Pros: Great landing area, perfect for newer jumpers
Cons: None

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
I have been jumping at this dz for the past 5 years. It changed ownership in 2009 to a not so fun jumper friendly dzo. In 2011 that changed and Lake Wales is back! There is a great vibe on the dz for everyone. If you are coming to Florida for a winter break this is a great place to visit. There is a bunkhouse on the property if you need a place to stay and a campground if you travel with your home. The dz is adding new amenities as it grows so call if your questions are specific.
(Review ID:7762)


No Pressure place to jump


Florida Skydiving Center/Skydive Lake Wales Rated 5 by: fly4jumps on 2012-12-16

Pros: Facilities, Airplanes, HUGE Landing Area
Cons: No ATM onsite

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
Very accommodating dropzone for fun jumpers... Can't beat $21 to 14,000 anywhere in the area IF you remember to bring cash with you! I've even witnessed them add a few minutes to the call for people packing to get on loads.. The say they'll fly anytime a group wants to come out with a minimum of 8 jumpers on the Twin Otter (they have 2 of them). Didn't see many tandem students when I was there... the priority is clearly us.
(Review ID:7754)


Great place to jump!


Florida Skydiving Center/Skydive Lake Wales Rated 5 by: xojennett on 2011-12-12

Pros: Everything!!
Cons: Sometimes planes and number of people

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
I've been out to Lake Wales a few times, and I've always had a good time. They bring out helicopters, etc. for boogies. The people are really friendly and nice, and always up for fun.
(Review ID:6951)


Will definitely go back


Florida Skydiving Center/Skydive Lake Wales Rated 5 by: devildog on 2011-10-27

Pros: Great experience all round
Cons: Could use more grub, but has places local near by

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
I never went prior to the new management, but a buddy of mine from highschool who lives in Orlando and I decided to meet up at LW and give it a go to see how it was run now. Loads were fast to get on, staff very friendly, and people were there organizing. Plenty of outs if needed, and the view in the sky was great. Other than maybe wanting to buy food on the premises, not sure what else one would really want.
(Review ID:6882)


Grand Re-opening


Florida Skydiving Center/Skydive Lake Wales Rated 5 by: pa.flyguy on 2011-07-02

Pros: Great Staff and helpful jumpers
Cons: None

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
I have never been to the Lake Wales location. I heard the old management had a bad reputation... something about Tandem issues. Anyway, I was fortunate enough to be on the first load of the Grand Re-Opening today. Bill, the owner, was very approachable as well as his staff. As a new jumper I like to watch jumpers and staff pack canopies to learn different techniques. Neither had an issue with me "Looking over their shoulder" and in fact, stopped for a moment to show me important points which I appreciated. Good luck to Bill and his staff. A new DZ in Central Florida and new faces that make this social sport so important and special to me.
(Review ID:6546)


Do Not Jump Here!


Florida Skydiving Center/Skydive Lake Wales Rated 1 by: nathanz on 2010-06-14

Pros: some jump instructors seemed nice
Cons: absolutely terrible customer service

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
Do not go here! My family (6 of us) made reservations for our first ever jumps 2 months in advance. we told to show up before 9am. we showed up at 8:30 am filled out our waivers and waited. There was one other group that got there right after us and filled out their waivers just ahead of us. We ended up waiting 6 hours to go up!! We constantly asked them what was happening and were continually told that one jump expert called out sick and we'd be on the next plane up. Group after group showed up after us and went up ahead of us. Some appeared to be friends of someone that worked there. Some seemed to be a little more pushy than us. 3 groups showed up for the 2 pm reservation and went up ahead of us. After finally went up at 3pm we asked them to explain themselves. They told us we were sent up in the order that we arrived. We pointed out we had arrived first. They corrected themselves and said they did in the order the waivers were handed in. We handed in our waivers a close second. Way ahead of anyone else including those that didn't show up till 2pm obviously!! We stopped questioning as we obviously just being fed lines of BS. As they saw we were unhappy, they told us that they emailed us and told us it might take 5 hours. We never got an email of any kind from them. And it took 6 hours! We wasted and entire day on this. We should have gone somewhere else where we could have had a great and pleasant experience. Instead of this place that doesn't care about their customers once they've collected their money. DO NOT GO HERE!! find another spot. there are plenty in florida.
(Review ID:5771)


Not the best people


Florida Skydiving Center/Skydive Lake Wales Rated 1 by: jmohamed1 on 2010-04-04

Pros: Great View of The area
Cons: Non friendly services

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
There are some people there that are great, such as the jumpmasters and the packers. The new owners from the past year just attempt to be nice, but fail miserably at it. Do not jump here, as the people who do run the facilities are unkind
(Review ID:5640)


Great experience for 1st tandem-Just DON'T go here.


Florida Skydiving Center/Skydive Lake Wales Rated 2 by: FLTed on 2010-03-17

Pros: Staff very concerned with YOUR safety.
Cons: Owners need a customer service class

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
This company, and especially Patty, needs to learn about RESERVATIONS. When you call on the phone it sounds like YOUR appointment is for 10 AM. When you arrive everyone scheduled that day was also told 10 AM. We arrived first, but another group signed their paperwork without reading it so they got called first. Another group that filled out paper work AFTER our group went ahead of our group. Then weather, high winds, cancelled the rest of the day. We were told to come back at 7:30 the next day (after I told an instructor that I would just cancel my credit card if we were not able to go this weekend). We were the only ones to go Sunday morning. We waited over 4 HOURS for the videos to be handed out. Funny thing, I was the main one complaining to Patty and my video got "messed up" - it was only a partial with very few pictures. Word of warning - get everything this place tells you in WRITING/REPLY EMAIL - do not rely on verbal promises. In summary - we waited over 10 hours, spread across two days for a 30 minute (FANTASTIC) experience. BTW the safety concerns demonstrated by the staff seemed to be A PLUS. Signed - Ted from Florida.
(Review ID:5622)
> >|

Write your own Review