Skip to Content

Dropzone : Reviews

Reviews for: CSC - Chicagoland Skydiving Center - (Visit this link)
Average Rating = 4.88/5 Average Rating : 4.88/5

Dropzone Summary | Reviews

Comments:  Show | Hide

> >|


Review Summary:


Average Rating : Average Rating = 4.88/5
Total Reviews: 125

> Write a Review

Show: Sort:
Display:
100% Times: 2 Times: 1 Times: 0 Times: 4 Times: 118
80%
60%
40%
20%
0%
Times  2 1 0 4 118
Rating  1 2 3 4 5



You won't be disappointed! Caters to Fun Jumpers & Tandems!


CSC - Chicagoland Skydiving Center Rated 5 by: ztfdrake61 on 2018-05-29

Pros: Great atmosphere, good vibes, excellent AFF program, top notch facilities, friendly staff and jumpers, excellent restaur
Cons: Limited RV spots due to popularity

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
I first came to CSC in 2015 for a tandem with friends and loved the facility so much we booked again for that summer.

Fast forward to April 2018 and I decided to go through AFF to get my A license. Carlos Ortiz & Mike Klashna were excellent instructors! I blazed through AFF and had my A license in a little over 6 days on the drop zone. I have since been fun jumping as work allows and am up to 48 jumps.

Facility: Super clean and well maintained. I have stayed in the team rooms multiple times over the last month and they are always clean with fresh linens. The (4) shower rooms are also large and nicer than most 5 star hotels offer. The Flight Deck restaurant on site has fantastic food! There are RV spots when available and always room for camping.

Hangar: They have two large packing areas, rubber mats, and ample weights to hold down your rig. There are multiple viewing TV's for GoPro's and manifest screens spread throughout the hangar. The beer fridge is usually well stocked for after jumping as well!

Landing areas: There are three large main landing areas along with ample outs in case of a bad spot or other issues. The areas are kept well groomed and soft grass abounds. They have staff on site watching for off landings and will send a buggy or car to pick up any jumper who lands off.

Staff: The staff working the front desk and manifest has always been helpful. All of the instructors are super helpful and more than willing to help a new jumper or experienced jumper alike. I gathered countless tips from Jo and all the other great people on site. The DZO, Doug, is easily approachable and a lover of the sport.

Rigging: The onsite master rigger Andi is great at what she does and can answer any questions with gear you have. The turn around time on reserve repacks is also good. There are multiple packers available every day of operations. All you need do is flag one down and ask for a pack job. Pack tickets are available through manifest.

Aircraft: They are currently only operating a Cessna C-208B Super Grand Caravan daily but bring in other aircraft for events. This supervan holds 18 jumpers and will fly with 8 fun jumpers or more. They will also fly if there are any tandems as well. There is a large community of fun jumpers on site all season long, so loads turn quickly all day.

Gear Shop: The Rock Sky Market is a fully stocked gear shop. They carry all the main brands and a lot of smaller specialty items as well.

Overall: High quality drop zone that I would recommend to anyone looking for a great place to jump, whether it's your first tandem or your new home drop zone for the season. Blue Skies Everyone!

(Review ID:9498)


Great dropzone but pack yourself


CSC - Chicagoland Skydiving Center Rated 2 by: alptraumhavok on 2016-09-16

Pros: Great Planes, Great Facilites
Cons: Packers not very nice

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
This is an awesome dropzone! Great staff, loft and planes! Jumpers are super friendly! The packers are rude and will skip over you to pack other jumpers gear and I'm not sure why, maybe a super secret tip program that I don't know about yet. Anyway I love jumping here but think the pro packers suck by playing favorites and there are no regular canopy classes only third party trainers that teach groups versus 1 on 1 like I got at Perris.
(Review ID:9163)


1st stop on my trip


CSC - Chicagoland Skydiving Center Rated 5 by: liloz on 2016-06-18

Pros: Well Everything Thing
Cons: None that I experienced

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
I am on a now 7000 plus mile trip on a motorcycle and CSC was my first stop. From start to finish my experience could not have been better. Even with the clouds setting in we had a good time. My plan was to make one jump at each DZ and move on. This place was so amazing I ended up making 3 jumps and really thought I could end my trip right were it started. Amazing staff from manifest to experienced jumpers. Thank you all so much for making the start of my trip so amazing. I will be back no doubt!
(Review ID:9068)


Awesome Place


CSC - Chicagoland Skydiving Center Rated 5 by: Mar2813 on 2014-04-23

Pros: All Pros
Cons: No Cons

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
Awesome place, I got my A license here. Money well spent, this facility is the safest and most professional that I have ever seen. Plus they have a really good restaurant attached called the Flight Deck Bar and Grill. I definitely recommend if you pick any skydiving place in the Midwest this one should be your pick.
(Review ID:8428)


First skydive but because of my experience at CSC, it definitely will not be my last!


CSC - Chicagoland Skydiving Center Rated 5 by: HollyAnn06 on 2013-06-24

Pros: Everything down to every last detail was amazing!
Cons: NA

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
I have never been skydiving before but it has been on my bucket list for quite some time now. So when Charity Skydive offered a free skydive for raising funds for the National Breast Cancer Foundations, I jumped all over it. Why not ¡§jump out of a perfectly good airplane¡¨ for such a great cause?!?! I am glad I did because it was the best experience I have ever had. From the time I walked in the door at Chicagoland Skydiving Center, I witnessed excellence customer service! The facility was immaculate along with their staff. My instructor (Buzz) that I did a tandem jump with was really nice and explained everything to me, making my jump more enjoyable. I also purchased a video and photos considering this was my first jump and I wanted to remember that day forever and I am glad I did because the video and photos were amazing thanks to my camera guy Chris. Once I got to the ground I enjoyed their amazing food and beer. My overall experience at CSC was so great that I plan on making my second jump this August. I recommend all to try skydiving and do it at CSC!! ƒº
(Review ID:8000)


Awesome Experience!


CSC - Chicagoland Skydiving Center Rated 5 by: ashlarson05 on 2013-05-15

Pros: Staff, Facility, Scenery, Food, Everything
Cons: None

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
The staff at CSC is extremely friendly and knowledgeable. The facility was great with a really good bar and grill to hang out in before and after the jump. My tandem instructor Paul was a great coach and my camera guy did an awesome job with my photos and video (worth the price and then some!). Definitely check this place out whether you're a first-timer or an experienced thrill seeker.
(Review ID:7916)


Awesome DZ


CSC - Chicagoland Skydiving Center Rated 5 by: SkydiverShawn on 2013-03-16

Pros: Greatest ride(s) in the business
Cons: None

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
I first jumped at CSC last summer and was completely impressed to say the least.

As soon as I arrived I was welcomed by the staff and after completing paperwork and gear checks I was personally taken to mainfest where I was introduced to the manifest staff and given a thorough briefing of the DZ and landing area.

As a low numbers jumper and not there with friends I was introduced to Rich Madsen, who was doing low numbers load organizing that day. What a treat! Rich was amazing and an awesome guy to jump with. In all we did six jumps and I did one solo, all in just a few hours!

This is a full service DZ with everything that a skydiver could want. Doug Smith and his staff are top notch and they have created a spectacular place to jump and hang out.

(Review ID:7831)


Wonderful place to jump!


CSC - Chicagoland Skydiving Center Rated 5 by: sunshine on 2013-03-16

Pros: Best showers of any dz
Cons: None i can think of

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
CSC is a fantastic dropzone! The facilities are amazing. They have a huge packing area, super clean bathrooms, and an on-site restaurant with terrific food! The staff is friendly and so are the jumpers.

They have discounted jump days on Wednesdays, and the rigging loft is run by a highly skilled rigger.

Just come here and check it out for yourself.

(Review ID:7830)


Proud to call CSC my home DZ!


CSC - Chicagoland Skydiving Center Rated 5 by: Darn0k on 2013-02-13

Pros: Clean and well-maintained aircraft, Clean and high-quality facilities, Friendly and accessible staff, High focus on safe
Cons: It's the mid-west, so the weather is iffy, but that's not this drop-zone's fault; however, throughout mid-season the wea

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
I made my first AFF-Solo jump here and continued my training in fall of 2011. I couldn't wait so I followed my AFF instructor to Florida over the winter to finish my A-License and came back in the spring to get my jump on! And, OH WHAT FUN I HAD!!! I learned so much throughout the 2012 season, through courses, camps, wind-hold chats, bon-fire chats, boogies, trips to the local Mexican resturant, Dinner at the on-the-DZ-resturant/bar called the Flight Deck Bar and Grill ... there is no wonder why I call this place my home DZ. And, did I mention the showers? They are so spacious and clean; always having lots of hot water. The music is always playing, the packing area is always clean, the manifest is always friendly and accommodating. The only thing that would make this place better is if I owned a better trailer in the on-site RV park so that I could live on the DZ and work from my RV using the super fast WiFi internet access available to all guests. If you are visiting, they have FREE camping for tent campers and reasonable fees for the RV park slots/hookups or, if you prefer, there are hotels/motels in nearby Rochelle where you can obtain "Skydiver Discounts" for rooms. Come and see why I just love this place!
(Review ID:7806)


Fantastic Experience


CSC - Chicagoland Skydiving Center Rated 5 by: brettski74 on 2012-09-14

Pros: Great Team Training DZ, Great People
Cons: None that we noticed

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
We recently arranged a 4-day training camp for my 8-way team at CSC. After initially trying to organize the camp at a different DZ and getting nowhere, CSC stepped up on very short notice, helping us with last-minute accommodation arrangements and stellar support from the dropzone. The Twin Otter was excellent and turned frequently to get all our training jumps in. The packers were efficient. The landing area is large and obstruction free. The facilities were great, not to mention shiny and new. The staff were extremely easy to work with and eager to please. There are very few dropzones where I've had as positive an experience as we had with CSC and I would highly recommend it to fun jumpers and teams alike.
(Review ID:7615)
> >|

Write your own Review