Skip to Content

Dropzone : Reviews

Reviews for: Skydive Lillo, Madrid, Spain Swoop Pond - (Visit this link)
Average Rating = 4.11/5 Average Rating : 4.11/5

Dropzone Summary | Reviews

Comments:  Show | Hide

> >|


Review Summary:


Average Rating : Average Rating = 4.11/5
Total Reviews: 45

> Write a Review

Show: Sort:
Display:
100% Times: 6 Times: 2 Times: 3 Times: 4 Times: 30
80%
60%
40%
20%
0%
Times  6 2 3 4 30
Rating  1 2 3 4 5



lack of professionalism is down right dangerous, and there is a gross disregard for USPA regs.


Skydive Lillo, Madrid, Spain Swoop Pond Rated 2 by: brinary01 on 2011-07-31

Pros: Good aircraft and decent facilities.
Cons: The vibe and lack of professionalism almost made me leave the sport.

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
As no one has made a review of Lillo in a while seems like a good time to do it. I think it is important to keep the reviews on this one current, because as with any poorly run organization turnover is high, and things tend the change quite a lot. What is more, most of the reviews here are from our Jr. brother and though valuable I think the opinion of someone who has a few more destinations under there belt is important.

Location: like most DZs this one is out there. It is in the middle of a desert in central Spain about and hour and a half from Madrid by car. Car is the only good way to go. Bus is possible but cumbersome when you are carrying all your gear. That said once you are there you are pretty much set there are some good staff that will help out with getting around.

Facilities: Though there is everything you may need, not much better than a well-established club. With that there is a good packing area, grass landing area if you have 100+ jumps and decent aircraft.

-Student and low number jumpers beware. Gear rental is expensive, the highest I have seen in fact and €25 a jump, and the student landing area can be pretty nasty in places.

-Take food with you unless you want to pay your first borne to the gypsies that run the bar.


Staff: There are some awesome folks working at this dropzone. Unfortunately this is the minority and there is a lot “Big fish” in this little pond. I have never seen student have such a hard time getting help, unless they are willing to pay a lot of money, and the mentality “you are old enough get out of the house” is used far to often with AFF Students.

People: I love all of the fun Jumpers at this DZ but they have their circle and just because you are a skydiver it is not enough. Expect a really strange vibe, nothing to worry about if you are going with a group of friends but if you are flying solo I recommend making your way to Skydive Spain in Sevilla, or Empuriabrava north of Barcalona, in fact I live in Madrid and that is what I do.

Summary if you are paying all the money to come to Spain for a skydiving holiday it is the same or less money to go to Empuriabrava, or Sevilla. Note on that more experienced jumpers may prefer Empuria in the summer, and check the event for Skydive Spain in the winter there is always something scheduled. And the do Skysaver days search the website. Less experienced jumpers may prefer Skydive Spain as they tend to have more friendly winds for the novice jumper.

Tandems beware!!! Many of the tandem instructors here do not have a current and proper flight physical as required by the equipment manufacturer and the USPA. I have even seen one go down and be carried away in an ambulance for kidney problems right before getting on a load with a passenger. Many of the Camera flyers are not very good or even do not meet the minimal requirements for flying video with tandems. This is your big moment do not accept less. Look at Skydive Spain, Empuria, or Skytime Castellon.

(Review ID:6645)


Fantastic place to make good, flying friends


Skydive Lillo, Madrid, Spain Swoop Pond Rated 5 by: javiaven on 2010-10-27

Pros: Many
Cons: The bar and town

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
Down at the bottom I'm leaving my previous review, written a month after my AFF, so you can all see what I wrote back then. Of course, everything seemed cool when you were a young, unexperienced newbie!

Now, almost a year after starting, and having jumped in Castellon, Sevilla, Evora and the Vector Festival in Prostejov, I think I am a bit more experienced to write again.

I have to disagree with Brian (you know I love you, man!) There are things that have been done wrong with you and other jumpers, and definitely that is a point of improvement. (I know for a fact that these kind of things are not exclusive to Lillo, though).
As Brian says, Lillo is not an awesome, party-ridden town, and Madrid is a 55-60 minute drive away. The DZ bar is not definitely the best -here I'm being extremely generous-, and its prices are too high for such a small town.
The fun jumper community is definitely quite tight, and it might seem a bit tough to get in. However, after 3 weeks there, I did make a huge bunch of friends who I consider family, now. It really is a fine group of people. They are a very tightly knit group of friends, but they all met jumping. So it's not that you can't meet anyone!
I have jumped the rental gear there quite extensively (way too much for my liking, but it took me forever to get my rig!) I've been jumping a fairly new Mirage G4, with an as well fairly new Spectra. You won't get a Micron and a Velo 67 for rent, but definitely it is not bad rental gear. And after renting in all the other DZs, this is the one with most rigs and canopy sizes.
I'm not a tandem expert, but listening to everyone here, and talking to the jumpers at the DZ, Brian's comment about them is way off-track. The guys have hundreds-thousands of tandem jumps, and they take it extremely seriously.
The cameras... Man, I really don't understand you, Brian. Saying those things is downright false, and you are playing with their livelihood. You will find some are better than others (obviously), but they all work very professionaly and do a great job.

After a year, you see things that are not so awesome as you thought when you were a newbie; you wish there were other things you have seen in other DZs; you miss some things and you would change others. But, in the end, I stand by my previous words: Lillo is a great place to make friends and enjoy a great time skydiving.

______________________________________

Although I'm pretty new, I can definitely say this place has an awesome vibe. Everyone has a great time always, with tons of people staying overnight either camping or sharing rooms in town during the weekends. The staff is superb, the assortment of rental gear extense, the coaches extremely well prepared (be it free fly, canopy, atmo, relative...)
All in all, a great place to go!

(Review ID:6083)


F´´n loved it


Skydive Lillo, Madrid, Spain Swoop Pond Rated 1 by: cdhezel on 2009-10-30

Pros: staff, vibe, Dz
Cons: town and around

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
Thanks Guys and Gals at Lillo, Jason´sorry I scare you mate but thats just how it is, Deano, mate you still sound and look like my engineer but He is OK too, Ed, thanks for the coaching amigo, I´ll remember to grab my balls every time I flare now, Stephen and all the others ....many thanks, and when you least expect it I´ll be back to bug ya.... oh yaeh the review, if you want a simply cool Dz, no BS, no ego inflated sky gods, no warm beer just a great vibe... (shit this hype must be worth at least 4 jump tickets worth)
chris

(Review ID:5457)


Professional, friendly, helpful


Skydive Lillo, Madrid, Spain Swoop Pond Rated 4 by: BigGuy on 2009-07-25

Pros: Very very friendly
Cons: Isolated

  Professionalism
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
Just got back from my 3rd trip to Lillo, now planning the next.The planning is made all the easier by the excellent office staff who will happily book hotels etc for you. Replies to emails were very fast indeed

I agree with many of the comments in previous reviews but on balance my skdiving buddy and I both love this place. We are inexperienced jumpers with 80 & 100 jumps now. We went there to learn.

We made a point of getting to know the staff and it paid huge dividends. There was always a willing answer to our questions.

The 100+ landing area is small and has only 2 approaches, but hey, if you don't like crosswind landings there is plenty of room on the other landing area.

The cafe is back up and running but closed on Mondays, which is a bit of disappointment, it wouldn't be rocket science to keep it open. I understand though that it is outside the control of the DZ.

So far we haven't encountered much poor weather, a previous commentator is spot on, this is rural Spain, there in nothing to amuse you locally, Madrid and Toledo are an hours drive. Latinos, on the roundabout near the DZ has an menu in English and serves a reasonable selection of things to go with the fries!

If you're looking for hectic nightlife to go with your jumping, give Lillo a miss.

If you're looking for a professional, helpful DZ with excellent (but a bit pricey) rental gear and adequate places to chill out in the evening, give it a try.

(Review ID:5281)


Excellent DZ for all levels of experience


Skydive Lillo, Madrid, Spain Swoop Pond Rated 5 by: Dave_RMC on 2009-05-06

Pros: Good Landing with plenty of safe alternative PLA's, Friendly and Helpfull Staff and General all round good facilities
Cons: A little on the remote side, Expensive jump ticket

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
Firstly I would like to make it clear that im relativley new to SD and only have experience of 3 DZ in different countries. At fist before arriving at Lillo I was a little unsure of what to expect after reading what at first I perceived to be mixed reviews on this site. On arrival we were met warmly by the manifest (Kathi) who instantly recognised us as brits as we were the only 2 guys on the DZ in shorts. We quickly got our selves sorted and my friend who was cracking his AFF there got straight on with ground school. As the weather was just closing in I took the opportunity to experience the 12,000ft Bar. An excellent facility that accomodated our every need from having a beer or 12 or just simply feeding us through out the week. The DZ bar is a very comfortable setting where if your not jumping you can chill out in there and get to know the 2 crazy bar staff Lourdes and Julie or sit there and mingle with many other like minded patrons and watch the many tandem videos that happen throughout the week. Rob and I went out there camping (much to the horror of the locals because it did get a little more than chilly at night) which we found was very comfortable setting and a stones throw from the bar. We quickly got aquainted with our neighbours, Carl and Tracy who live and work at the DZ who could do nothing but help us out the entire week be it either lending us Duvet (seriously it got cold), showing us around the town or even throwing a BBQ during the week where many drunken dissorderly acts did occur. The remainder of the week was a very pleasant experience where I found that all the staff present where incredibly helpfull be it tips for freefall or a hand packing. I would definitely reccomend going to Lillo not matter what your experience level just be prepared to have a beer or 2 in the evening.

A big thank you to all the staff at Lillo and look forward to returning in the future

(Review ID:5087)


Good but there are better options.


Skydive Lillo, Madrid, Spain Swoop Pond Rated 3 by: jamieG on 2008-09-23

Pros: 2 Aircraft
Cons: Poor Location, Nothing else to do , Misleading website

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
Reading through the reviews it appears a tale of two cities with some very positive and some very negative. My own experience is mixed. I have been to 4 drop zones now in total so that is my experience to which I am comparing.
The drop zone was very quiet when I was there (July) closing early one of the days. I did get enough jumps done but this meant there was never a great feel to the place. In addition I didn’t need to know about the drop zone politics.
The main landing area is small ( an early review is generous ) and there are some obstacles in the student one which are not clear (edited in website photos) but on the whole adequate. The Cafeteria and pool have been closed for some time and it doesn’t appear they will open again due to legal issues with the airfield and local town hall. There is the sum total of 2 cafes/ bars (and one expensive hotel) in the local village so your options are limited here when you do walk what is about a mile into the village. This element of the facilities combined with the local town is probably the worst feature and was a real drag on my experience as there is NOTHING to do on the days where the weather isn’t good to jump. The website gives a different impression and talks about possibilities to go into Madrid but realistically it is about an hour and a half (assuming you forked for a rental car which I didn’t). I was there to skydive and not get langers yes… but thought there would be more of an atmosphere in the evenings instead of mind numbing boredom.

Otherwise the drop zone is as you would expect there are 2 planes ( Porter is fast the caravan struggles a bit ) there with good packing facilities and the packers for my rented equipment were good but the prices advertised don’t include things like goggles and altimeter which drive up the rental prices even further. Once there were enough people to fill the load loads got in the air quickly, being in a group is an advantage here as you can get more jumps. I completed 21 jumps in 6 days including some FS coaching; I would have liked to do more. The coaches are very good although make sure that the one you want is onsite the dates you intend to book. I was disappointed to find the canopy coach was away for the summer in competitions.

The staff were helpful but all in all I am disappointed with my trip, from the website I expected a buzzing dz and unless part of a group from Nethers, my home DZ I will try somewhere different next time.

(Review ID:4793)


Perfect place to learn skydiving


Skydive Lillo, Madrid, Spain Swoop Pond Rated 5 by: godfried on 2008-08-23

Pros: Professional & friendly staff
Cons: Desolate location in the middle of nowhere

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
I can't imagine any other place more suitable to learn skydiving than Skydive Lillo. At Skydive Lillo, it's all about professionalism and from my experience they care even more about you than at some other (non-)commercial dropzones. I was especially impressed by my instructor Marcus Laser.

(Review ID:4725)


Perfect DZ for a weekend visit from the UK


Skydive Lillo, Madrid, Spain Swoop Pond Rated 5 by: mark_r on 2008-05-07

Pros: Very friendly, chilled vibe but professionally run, more reliable weather than Empruria
Cons: Definitely not the place for nightlife or gourmet food.

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
Just back from my first visit to Lillo and I had a great time. All the staff are incredibly friendly but the place is also very professionally run. Decent planes(Porter and Grand Caravan), good landing area, nice inclusive atmosphere regardless of experience level. Only an hour from Madrid, so for me just about perfect for a long weekend away from the UK to rack up lots of jumps. Downsides? Bit of a slow Spanish start in the morning, but then again they do continue jumping till dusk. No night life to speak of and very limited eating out options in Lillo and nearby Villacanas, but if like me you are happy with a few beers and some basic food after a day's brilliant jumping, Lillo comes highly recommended. I will definitely be going back.

(Review ID:4500)


Handy location less then an hour from Madrid


Skydive Lillo, Madrid, Spain Swoop Pond Rated 5 by: MrBluesky on 2008-01-09

Pros: Excellent training and professional staff, plus a very friendly atmosphere
Cons: None

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
This is where I became a qualified skydiver and have returned 4 times in 2007. And will keep returning in the future.
(Review ID:4302)


Can't wait to go back!


Skydive Lillo, Madrid, Spain Swoop Pond Rated 5 by: pevvers on 2007-12-31

Pros: Great people, great planes, soft ground!
Cons: Gear rental prices are quite steep

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
Wow, reading the reviews from last year was like someone criticising me! Things must have really changed as I thought the place was absolutely fantastic. I took my AFF level 1 in Chatteris on the 16th of December, and as I didn't want to be at home for Christmas I decided that I would take a little trip over there. I will honestly say that I have never felt so welcome in a place in my life, and compared to the dusty crappy freezing cold AFF room at Chatteris, their school rooms are lovely! A/C and heating, computers set up to do their e-logbooks after each jump, just a proper set-up teaching room. The instructors are top-notch too, at one point I stalled on level 5 for quite a while, all my fault though, and I would have got peeved off at me a long time before that, but they stuck by me and I finally managed to get it! Huge grin from Rory my instructor as he was filming me being completely stable for the first time, a great feeling...

The bar has just reopened, after some legal ranglings have been going on, so that was good, the pool is empty at the mo, but seeing as it doesn't get over about 15 degrees celcius at the moment, who wants a swim anyway! With respect to refunds, I didn't really have any worries, as if I didn't jump my tickets I'd be back quite soon anyway, as I loved it. Even on Christmas Eve they had a little (well, not that little) knees up in the bar for all the people who were away from their families at Christmas, would you get that sort of thought from other DZ's? I doubt it...

I managed to fit in a ground school refresher, 11 AFF jumps, and 15 solos in the space of Monday to Sunday, although the last 15 were done in the last 3 days, including a glorious sunset load. Just beautiful. And the student area has such a nice softness that it doesn't matter how you land, which is good as my flaring accuracy leaves a little to be desired sometimes, I have had some funky landings I can tell you, but I've always walked away!

The only bad thing I can say about it is the gear rental does bump the price of a jump ticket quite high, but if you've got your own kit then there's not to worry about!

Can't wait to go back, even looking at Easyjet prices for the start of Feb!

Just try the place, and if you think it sucks then go to Ocana. There's word about that they'll be opening a subsidiary DZ in Portugal soon as well, so I may have a wander over there too, but not until I get another couple of days jumping in Lillo first!

Thanks to all, Marcus, Kathi, Rory, Jason, Vinni, Mikey, Rory, Joachim, Danny, Ianoa, Edu and all the pilots, packers and people who I never found out their names, but know their faces! Can't wait to see you all again.

(Review ID:4286)
> >|

Write your own Review