Skip to Content

Dropzone : Reviews

Reviews for: Skydive City - Z-Hills - (Visit this link) popular
Average Rating = 4.74/5 Average Rating : 4.74/5

Dropzone Summary | Reviews

Comments:  Show | Hide

> >|


Review Summary:


Average Rating : Average Rating = 4.74/5
Total Reviews: 92

> Write a Review

Show: Sort:
Display:
100% Times: 2 Times: 0 Times: 2 Times: 12 Times: 76
80%
60%
40%
20%
0%
Times  2 0 2 12 76
Rating  1 2 3 4 5



Super Friendly and Great Place for all skydiving!


Skydive City - Z-Hills Rated 5 by: CCGV19 on 2014-02-12

Pros: 4 Twin Otters, Staff, Training, lots of FUN
Cons: none

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
So I have been all over the place for Skydiving! I have jumped all around New York and Upstate New York, South Carolina, North Carolina, Texas, Hawaii, Florida and the Keys, Alaska, Cananda, and Califorina.

Zhills has it all! They Welcome everyone and safety is big. They also are available for teaching. I live in Upstate New York and escape to Florida when the weather at home is too cold and snowy for jumping. I came down for a Boggie and then canceled my flights home because I had so much fun. I have been down 3 times this winter and also stopped at other dropzones in FL including Sebastian, JUMP Florida, Skydive Lake Whales, DeLand. Zhills is my favorite DZ because of such a great mix of people, vibe, aircraft, organizing, training, swoop pond ( I don't swoop yet but its fun to watch ). I did my water training here as well as my Flight 1 and 2 Canopy courses and B License requirements. Made my first Night jumps, Free Fly's, head-down flying, big-ways, and more importantly made lots of friends that I keep in touch with even though I am back in Buffalo.

The name say it all it truly is a "Skydive City" Zhills has great riggers, packers, staff to teach Tandems, AFF, Coaching, Advanced progression, Free Flying, Wingsuiting, and even obtain all or any ratings through Bram and his staff at Skydive Ratings which is on Site at Zhills.

(Review ID:8369)


The friendliest dz I' have been.


Skydive City - Z-Hills Rated 5 by: flyngrudy18 on 2013-12-20

Pros: Friendliness, planes, swoop pound, facilities.
Cons: Food service is limited, very hot and humid summer time.

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
When I' say the friendliest dz I've been we have to consider that I' was lucky to travel all around the USA and Italy, visiting the local dz and my home dz is Skydive Sebastian which is famous to be friendly, but, Z-Hills take the friendliness to the next level.
I' was there in may, a nice sunny and hot weekend and was simply nice.
The first jump was an 8-way - 4 points worth for my C Licence, than we had hoola-hoop jump, some 4 way and a little free-fly, than I' become a Muff Brother, a local tradition, which has a long history.
I' met a woman, which I' cannot remember her name, which look at me, wearing my Tonfly jumpsuit and another guy, and she took us head-down with her, what can I' say more?
Technically speaking, they run an Otter in summer, and up to 3 planes in cold season,
they have good packers, gear store, rigging service, swoop pound and a good bar to have a beer after jumping.
The only cons is the limited food service and the high humidity during the summer.
I' do raccomand it? YES>

(Review ID:8311)


Amazing place for experienced and New


Skydive City - Z-Hills Rated 5 by: Wakeb0rd on 2013-11-24

Pros: Awesome A++, Swoop Pond, Large landing area, Friendly
Cons: None

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
If you are looking to progress in the sport and are looking for a friendly fun environment then you have found the spot. Z-hills has everything you need to have a great time.
(Review ID:8303)


Average


Skydive City - Z-Hills Rated 4 by: fireflyer1988 on 2013-11-12

Pros: Great location, Lots of outs, Experienced and friendly organizers
Cons: Cliquish, Camera step on otter

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
Upon arrival, I was greeted professionally and given a tour and dropzone briefing. But being a visiting skydiver, only a few people were willing to talk to me, even just to make friendly conversation (but I've learned that is to be expected from dropzones that have been around for a long time). The organizers were more friendly and made sure I had people to jump with. My jumps required me to be out on the camera step on the otter, and not realizing that the step was angled toward the ground, I actually slipped off the step and fell before the rest of my group were able to set up in the door. On the other hand, they have great restroom/shower/laundry facilities that they keep clean and well-stocked as well as a pro shop. Elly (with the rating school) was very informative and answered my questions about taking some upcoming courses. There is plenty of room to set up a tent or bring an RV. All-in-all a good experience, other than the cliques and camera step.
(Review ID:8289)


Spacious dropzone, with all belts and whistles


Skydive City - Z-Hills Rated 5 by: ricardop0318 on 2013-07-28

Pros: Master riggers, packers, low prices all available
Cons: None that I recall

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
The best drop-zone I have jumped yet. Friendly and professional staff members. The place has literally all you need, nice cover areas for personal packing, plenty of packers, bar, a cafeteria, multiple bathroom facilities with showers, lodging/trailer area for rent, master riggers on staff (Sally and Peter Paragone Rigging), nicer training classrooms, food court area, swoop pond, Cesnas, twin-otters, in conclusion, it has all you need in a drop-zone. I highly recommended it, and I have yet jumped in a better drop-zone.
(Review ID:8071)


Great winter DZ


Skydive City - Z-Hills Rated 4 by: katzas on 2013-04-24

Pros: Great weather, excellent aircraft, good rental gear, great on site trailer rentals
Cons: Skygods--well, at least one

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
Hadn't jumped in a long time and wanted to see if I still had it. Stopped in at DeLand--got some negative vibes so drove to Zhills. Much better.
However, great skydivers don't necessarily make great instructors. However, that said, lots of great folks there---well equipped gear store, good fast type food and cold beer in the bar. Rental gear was in great shape and the packers are first rate guys who know their business. Oh, btw, I still do have "it". TK manages a tight ship very well and I felt welcome. I will go back soon.

(Review ID:7878)


Awesome!


Skydive City - Z-Hills Rated 5 by: Choppy on 2012-11-07

Pros: Everything
Cons: 40 Minute Drive From Where I live

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
Love this place. Everyone, and I mean everyone, is super professional. Manifest is efficient, instructors/coaches are some of the best in the world, packing is awesome and fast, food is GREAT, facilities are old school with a cool vibe. You cannot go wrong with this place. Just bring a good attitude and a desire to jump!
(Review ID:7703)


great dropzone even for beginners


Skydive City - Z-Hills Rated 5 by: accur8shot on 2012-02-07

Pros: fast turnaround on loads, safety first
Cons: can't really think of any

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
I took a few days away from the (semi) cold North to try to get some jumps in Florida. Decided on Z-hills as my first stop. Very laid back atmosphere, nice sprawling airport, easy to locate LZ, good coaching, friendly people, nice pro shop, fast turnarounds on loads - no waiting...what more can you ask for? The rest of the weekend was a washout as far as weather goes, but I had a great day at Z-hills and would recommend it to anyone.
(Review ID:7011)


Great place to visit and get a specialty type of coaching


Skydive City - Z-Hills Rated 4 by: xojennett on 2011-12-12

Pros: Lots of people to jump with, lots of big planes
Cons: Cliques (even among the staff), highly experienced sometimes useless staff

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
I am so happy I came to Zhills from a smaller, crappier dz. The attitude of the business is definitely out to make a buck, which is fine, but not at the cost of safety. Nothing like looking down under canopy, to see the landing pattern and seeing a spider web. The average fun jumper is friendly and nice, once you ask around. The load organizers are awesome about matching people up and about giving little tricks to make you better.

Some of the staff is really great (about 5%), the rest will either ignore you or treat you like shit. No dz is perfect, but this is a great dz to just "get away" to from your home dz.

(Review ID:6950)


Plenty of planes and amazing parties


Skydive City - Z-Hills Rated 5 by: sydneyowen on 2011-10-20

Pros: Amazing Christmas/New Years boogie
Cons: Wish I lived closer!

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
I went to ZHills for the Christmas/New Years boogie last year and it was an absolute blast. Multiple Otters and the SkyVan turning, helicopter jumps, a gigantic landing area - it was quite the change from my home DZ.

The setup is great, the facilities are awesome, camping is free, fireworks, great bar, the food is amazing and two words for you: Pirate Ship. You have to see it to believe it.

If you can only take one trip down south this winter, check out the Christmas/New Years boogie at Zhills. You'll have a great time, pinky swear.

(Review ID:6863)
> >|

Write your own Review