Skip to Content

Dropzone : Reviews

Reviews for: Skydive Temple - (Visit this link)
Average Rating = 4.80/5 Average Rating : 4.80/5

Dropzone Summary | Reviews

Comments:  Show | Hide

> >|


Review Summary:


Average Rating : Average Rating = 4.80/5
Total Reviews: 40

> Write a Review

Show: Sort:
Display:
100% Times: 0 Times: 1 Times: 2 Times: 1 Times: 36
80%
60%
40%
20%
0%
Times  0 1 2 1 36
Rating  1 2 3 4 5



Good Place


Skydive Temple Rated 4 by: RushB on 2014-08-22

Pros: Friendliness, everyone knows each other, great instructors/staph
Cons: Grass runway

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
I learned to jump here. I have jumped at Spaceland Rosharon, Sd Dallas, SD San Marcos, SD Chicago, and many others. Most DZ's put tandems out at 10,500 then licensed skydivers go higher and make another jump run for safety. It's to allow the tandem passengers to land before fun jumpers. Bonfire builds comraderie and allows friends to mingle and have a couple beers. I still jump at SDT a few times each year. Good place with good people.
(Review ID:8628)


There are better places


Skydive Temple Rated 2 by: txjumper1983 on 2013-09-25

Pros: Free Beer
Cons: Altitude for Tandems

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
First of all, tandems only go up to about 10,000ft here. Most dropzones take tandems up to 13,000ft or 14,000ft. It saves money to put the tandems out lower because it uses less fuel. It would be fine if they passed the savings on to the tandem students, but they don't. Tandems here cost about the same as they do most other places and your free fall time is almost cut in half. I think they're banking on the fact that the whole experience is a blur for most tandem students and they don't know the difference. Second, I've seen them put students up in higher winds with more gusts than they're supposed to. According to USPA, students are limited to 14mph winds or less. I haven't seen anyone get hurt yet but the rules are there for a reason and I won't be surprised if it happens. The free beer is nice but overall I wouldn't recommend this dropzone.
(Review ID:8216)


Dope as f- best skydive center in Texas


Skydive Temple Rated 5 by: chillwill on 2013-09-15

Pros: Great environment and people and easy landing area
Cons: none

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
Best DZ in Texas been to San Marcos and Spaceland but go to Temple because it is my favorite. Nicest and most safety oriented staff and free Shiner on tap when you are done jumping. Hopefully they get another PAC but even without it they are the best DZ in texas hands down; thanks to DZO Mark Pollack
(Review ID:8195)


Mid-size(I think) DZ, right off I-35 with air conditioned pack room/bunk house, snack bar, and chill


Skydive Temple Rated 5 by: joelgibson on 2013-07-24

Pros: Highly competent staff, free beer, friendly people, right off the highway
Cons: none

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
Not much experience jumping anywhere else, but I've had an absolutely amazing time doing a tandem and completing AFF at Skydive Temple.

The instructors are great, and everyone put up with my 700 questions every time I got stuck on the ground due to wind.

I've heard people call the DZ small, but it's perfectly adequate for me and the dozen or so other neophytes I've seen guiding in canopies like nervous children.

The real sell is the community feel which doesn't do a single thing to diminish the ever present emphasis on safety.

(Review ID:8065)


Super friendly staff, amazing experience


Skydive Temple Rated 5 by: sydneyowen on 2011-03-12

Pros: Proximity to Austin, amazing staff, Shiner on tap, family-type atmosphere
Cons: Can't think of any

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
I did a tandem at Temple when I was in town for SXSW last year, went home (CSC) and got my license. This year I brought a handful of people two days in a row to do tandems. Mark was awesome in helping us get everything coordinated and we had a seamless experience for a bunch of first time jumpers who were in town for SXSW Interactive.

Phil jumped with most of my friends and he was the perfect balance of professional, friendly and welcoming. I know two of my friends that jumped mentioned they're interested in doing AFF in the future, and I have no doubt that Phil, Wendy and Mark have a role in their positive experience, beyond the skydive itself.

For funjumpers, this is a smaller DZ, but they have great planes. CSC leases out their PAC 750XL from November-April, and from April-November they have a Grand Caravan.

Friendly vibe, definitely made me feel welcome and possibly transformed two tandems into future AFF students. I can't wait to come back next year and bring more people out to introduce them to our sport!

(Review ID:6263)


Safe, Friendly DZ. Coaching and helpful hints from staff.


Skydive Temple Rated 5 by: dnorris on 2011-02-11

Pros: Friendly, Safe, and Big Landing Area
Cons: A bit of a drive from my house.

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
All around nice DZ to plan a day out. The plane is fast, and pilots are friendly.
Coaching and LO available. Clean indoor packing area, covered porches all over with seating to get out of the sun on warm days.

(Review ID:6229)


Skydive Temple is great


Skydive Temple Rated 5 by: skypharr on 2011-01-25

Pros: The people
Cons: none

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
Skydive Temple is a fantastic place for any jumper! The first time jumpers is welcomed and given every opportunity to have a safe, fun filled, first adventure. Mid level jumpers are encouraged, coached, instructed and cared for because the are the future of the sport. Even us old time skydivers can have a fantastic time. It may not be the biggest drop zone in Texas but it is certainly the friendliest!

(Review ID:6203)


This DZ has evertything you need to start or continue your skydiving experiences


Skydive Temple Rated 5 by: actionjdj on 2011-01-24

Pros: Convenient location, experienced & friendly staff, minimal wait time due to PAC-750 aircraft, safety is their priority,
Cons: Closed on Tuesdays

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
I have made 7 of my 9 AFF jumps at Skydive Temple located in Salado, TX. I feel very secure and safe while jumping at this DZ. The staff are very experienced and knowledgeable with safety as their #1 priority! The gear, aircraft, equipment & facilities are top-knotch! I enjoy hanging out (no pun intended) at Skydive Temple (Salado). I encourage all 1st timers and/or experienced jumpers to to start and continue skydiving at Skydive Temple in Salado.
JJ

(Review ID:6200)


Very clean and well organized dropzone in between Austin and Temple right off of I35


Skydive Temple Rated 5 by: subject21 on 2010-12-17

Pros: Staff, location, PAC-750, Clean, Weather, Friendly, Organizing, ect... ect... ect....
Cons: None

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
World class staff with great organizing. Incredibly clean, comfortable, and fast PAC-750. Very talented fun jumpers with no cliques. A true family feel to the entire place and an all around class act!
(Review ID:6141)


great place to learn


Skydive Temple Rated 5 by: topdogs1963 on 2010-05-11

Pros: great people VERY clean, friendly
Cons: cant find any

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
I have made some jumps back in 1981...and have always wanted to go back to it. The years past, and as much as ive talked about it, I was to busy with life. This year i promised myself i would come back and do the A.F.F. course. My goal was to TRUELY learn how to skydive...not what i did in the airforce.

I visited 2 drop zones, skydive dallas and skydive Temple. I dont mean to bash dallas but as nice as the dallas dz is...I felt like I was cattle. Just another body with a pocket of cash. They seem to cater to the ((buck list)) people. Many come there to jump one time in thier lives...then thats it. WHICH IS FINE !...but half my class was there to become skydivers. Hope im explaining this right, i wanted them to TEACH ME not just get the jump over with, heres your video...bye.

So i called skydive Temple i explained what happened at dallas and they invited me in. The difference was night and day. I cant tell you how great the people are...and that they WANT to teach you! They have a instructor there named Wendy who is incredible in the sport. And always willing to help...shes Big on saftey...fun...and teaching you how to skydive with out the ego Ive seen at dallas. All the instructors there are great.

Now Im on my way to get my licence and i picked the perfect DZ!...How much trust do I have in them ?? I gave my son a tandem jump for his 16th b-day.

Ive learned Its the people who make the drop zone..so when your tired of being looked at like a pay check...or like a head of cattle...and dont want all the ego,,and feel like LEARNING.... skydive at temple...

(Review ID:5695)
> >|

Write your own Review