Skip to Content

Dropzone : Reviews

Reviews for: Pacific Skydiving Center - (Visit this link)
Average Rating = 3.94/5 Average Rating : 3.94/5

Dropzone Summary | Reviews

Comments:  Show | Hide

> >|


Review Summary:


Average Rating : Average Rating = 3.94/5
Total Reviews: 32

> Write a Review

Show: Sort:
Display:
100% Times: 4 Times: 2 Times: 1 Times: 10 Times: 15
80%
60%
40%
20%
0%
Times  4 2 1 10 15
Rating  1 2 3 4 5



Glad I chose Pacific


Pacific Skydiving Center Rated 3 by: missjennshaw on 2017-01-19

Pros: views, views and more views, plenty of loads in a day, altitude
Cons: major tourist attraction

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
I had my first jump ever with Pacific -- a long awaited dream come true to jump in paradise. The crew at Pacific was great, all things considered. With it being such a tourist destination and attraction, I think they have their hands full with non-english speakers and true one-timers from around the world, so it feels a little like an in/out factory where I anticipate other DZ to feel a little more familial and willing to help someone join the sport. Of the two places in all of Hawai'i, I can't compare, but I'm certainly glad I chose them.
(Review ID:9219)


1st skydiving experience


Pacific Skydiving Center Rated 2 by: Barbiemedic529 on 2017-01-14

Pros: The view
Cons: Customer service, professionalism and attitude

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
I have never felt so disappointed in an experience. This was my first time ever skydiving and I was so excited to capture the whole thing! My instructor literally put me in an harness and then sat down on his phone while
Everyone else for pictures taken pre jump! I blew this off and thought it would get better. In his defense he did take some aerial shots but none prior or after and no where did he get the cool shots that showed all the beautiful ocean I was falling over top off. When we sat down to look at the pictures I was so mortified, the pictures he did take were half assed and horrible. My first jump was not even documented to where I could look back and have awesome memories. The manager pretended to care in a very patronizing way and then told me I had to pay anyways because it's in a contract. I literally walked away so upset. I don't think anyone should here. This was such horrible customer experience. I would go somewhere else that will make sure you make amazing memories. Customer service is key and this place is all about the money.

(Review ID:9217)


Only fun-jump option in HI, worth the trip


Pacific Skydiving Center Rated 4 by: fredmm on 2016-12-13

Pros: Scenery, good people
Cons: Waits, packing mat

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
I'd heard mixed things about Pacific, but ended up with a great experience. They are admittedly tandem focused, but I got 3 jumps in, and could have made 4 or 5 if I had packed a bit faster and stayed a bit later. I don't know what the norm is, but we even got a full funjumper load up. Get there early - before sunrise early. Good people, relaxed vibe. It's a bit of a drive, but the scenery is great. Facilities are decent, though packing mats were a bit damp, particularly early in the day.
(Review ID:9208)


Sad little Tandem factory!!!! Don't waste your time


Pacific Skydiving Center Rated 1 by: g00nbAg on 2015-07-01

Pros: Can't say... Location maybe?
Cons: Bad vibe, dropzone staff all miserable

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
It's very funny that I've logged on to leave a review about this DZ and seen someone below has left a review almost identical to what I'm about to write!

I came to Hawaii on vacation and brought my current log books, licence, worldwide comprehensive insurance papers. Emailed and called the dropzone a couple of weeks before arriving in Hawaii and was told they accept fun jumpers and have equipment rental.
I was staying on Maui island and had to fly over to Oahu island to visit the DZ, dragging my wife along with me because she knows how much I love the sport.

When we arrived I was greeted by numerous staff that didn't know what was going on and were only concerned with the bus loads of tandems arriving at the DZ by the minute.

After been given the run around for about 30 minutes I was told by a moody instructor I can't jump.

I was very disappointed, so I spoke to the DZ owner/manager and he has got to be the biggest asshole I've ever met in my life, very rude and dismissive little old man. He gave me hope that I would be allowed to jump, made me sit around waiting for 2 hours till the DZ got a little less busy with tandems, then changed his mind and told me no!

Almost everyone at this dropzone was moody and I can't understand why??? The location is so amazingly beautiful and I can only imagine how stunning it would look up at 14k ft.
I've never been to a DZ and seen so many negative faces!

(Review ID:8808)


Awesome Group Drop Zone


Pacific Skydiving Center Rated 5 by: jack1984 on 2015-05-29

Pros: Great Staff and Vibe
Cons: no cons

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
I am active duty military and have been for 13 years. I set up a group of 89 service members to jump over 24 hours. The drop zone made it simple and had transportation in the requested location at the requested time and all the staff was very friendly and the drop zone had a great vibe. Everyone that was there was open to all the Newbie skydiving questions and was all smiles and laughs and good times. I highly recommend this drop zone if jumping in Hawaii.
(Review ID:8783)


thankful to jump


Pacific Skydiving Center Rated 4 by: Jumpmaster173D on 2014-11-13

Pros: Great veiw, nice pilot, allows solo jumpers
Cons: Cost $25 if you go or not,

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
Found only one regular that when he talked to me I didn't feel like a burden for being there. Very nice desk crew. Dz is small so be good under canopy. Overall if the "jumping employees" would have been more friendly and personable this place would blow skydiver Hawaii out of the water.
(Review ID:8692)


Licensed jumper lied to


Pacific Skydiving Center Rated 1 by: bcmoore80 on 2013-12-30

Pros: none
Cons: liars and crooks

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
Called weeks ahead to confirm that I could do a recurrancy jump, arrived with license and log book and told no. Decided to do a tandem with my friends, guaranteed to 14k. Bullshit, after I had sat there for almost 3 hours they announced no 14k due to weather, what a load of shit! People who arrived on the shuttle got to jump before us, their organization is horrible and the staff are unfriendly.
(Review ID:8315)


One of the Best Experiences Ever!


Pacific Skydiving Center Rated 5 by: ChuanShi on 2013-06-07

Pros: Professional and Very Knowledgeable Staff; Incredibly Fun; Absolutely Gorgeous Views; Top Priority: Safety; Life-Changin
Cons: Very Popular - Which Makes for Some Big Crowds at Times.

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
My sister and brother-in-law came to visit me and wanted to go skydiving, and we chose Pacific Skydiving due to their perfect safety record, "ultimate tandem" option, and the price (most bang for your buck). I also brought along one of my friends, making us a group of four. It was an absolutely amazing experience for all of us, and I ended up getting sucked right into this incredible sport. Even my sister, who was initially terrified, ended up having an amazing experience thanks to the top-level professionalism demonstrated by the tandem masters.

I ended up going back shortly thereafter and signed up for AFF. Because a short ground school course and two TAFF (tandem) jumps are required prior to taking the first-jump course and starting the classic AFF instruction (something I really liked because of how it gives the students a jump start on AFF and greatly enhances overall safety), I had the opportunity to meet and jump with two more members of the staff who were both outstanding: I found them to be very professional, knowledgeable, fun, and encouraging. Unlike some people who say that they find some DZs to be stand-offish, I found everyone at Pacific Skydiving to be positive and accepting - they certainly welcomed, embraced, and helped me any way they could right from the beginning, and I am most appreciative of this genuine Aloha.

The impression I received from everyone there was that they truly love the sport and art of skydiving, had a sincere desire to introduce others to skydiving by giving them a very positive experience that they will always remember, and that they are sincerely genuine: keep it real and be cool with them, and you will get all that and more in return. They are no-nonsense when it comes to safety, which (of course) is absolutely essential and should definitely be expected. I particularly liked how everyone was looking out for each other - something that became apparent very early on. The combination of great personality and professionalism made the whole experience one of the best ever.

It should be noted that Pacific Skydiving is very popular, and that a lot of tourists like to go there - after all, skydiving over Hawaii is very unique. With this comes some big crowds and some relatively long waits - not all the time, but definitely at certain times. We planned accordingly and ended up not having to wait at all; we showed up, were given a safety briefing, filled out paperwork, were hooked up with gear, and were soon in awe of the spectacular scenery 14,000 feet above Oahu. I did notice, however, that some people (all tourists so far as I could tell) expected just to show up with crappy attitudes and be treated like royalty. In all honesty, this was about the only negative thing that I encountered, and it was no fault of the DZ. In fact, I was pretty impressed by the level of patience demonstrated by the staff in these trying situations. So while my respect for the staff increased as a result, I was a bit disappointed that some customers had to bring the vibe down for the whole place with their disrespect. My advice is to plan wisely, show up early, and try to embrace every moment that you're there by reminding yourself that this is a very unique adventure that you are about to embark upon. If this is done, I don't think it's a too much of a stretch to say that you are very likely to have a life-changing experience.

(Review ID:7960)


Would definitely jump again!


Pacific Skydiving Center Rated 5 by: blueblur on 2012-07-12

Pros: Good people, great value and amazing location!
Cons: Too damn far away!

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
Jumped 11/14/2012 (two weeks before the last review...) This was my second tandem and my wife's first (she's hooked now, I already was...). We had great tandem instructors, mine was a tall lanky guy with over 10k jumps and he was only 34! Good ground schooling and facilities (not high level big-city stuff, it's Hawaii, if you aren't familiar with the local living style, this fit in). We did some pretty good maneuvers in the air, head down flying and some flips and spins. Unlike the previous reviewer, my tandem guy offered and really tried to talk me into starting my A license with them! Told me I could get through ground school in half a day. Only reason I passed was I had an appointment to spend a grand on a tattoo two days later. I had none of the attitude or issues previously mentioned!

All in all, a great experience and I will definitely be jumping solo there after my A is done!

(Review ID:7437)


Misinformation


Pacific Skydiving Center Rated 1 by: akmadbrad on 2011-11-26

Pros: None
Cons: Many

  Professionalism
  Vibe
I showed up Monday morning at 0720. At 0740 people stared rolling in and I checked in. I told the dispatcher of my intent and she called over the head instructor. I told him of my intent to train for an "A" license and he told me that it wasn't going to happen. My reply was "What?" He said that they don't train people passing through from the mainland. I told him that I had been planning training here for 5 months and after 2 emails and two phone calls; it would have been nice to mention that. Especially since I just traveled 2,500 miles from Alaska and spent $5,000 to be standing here talking. Every communication from Pacific was "Just show up". He said that they don't even jump with license holders who are not current to bring then to currency. I asked to get ground school and the answer was "NO". I started to argue, but I could see that this was a lose-lose situation. 1.) I would lose the argument or 2.) I would win the argument with the dude that was going to fling me out of an airplane out 14,000 feet. Option 2 made me feel a little queasy...I went back to my condo. Their website says they train AFF which is almost fraudulent. If it had said they only train Hawaiians... I would have gone would have gone elsewhere.

Edit Remove

(Review ID:6930)
> >|

Write your own Review