Skip to Content

Dropzone : Reviews

Reviews for: Pacific Skydiving Center - (Visit this link)
Average Rating = 4.03/5 Average Rating : 4.03/5

Dropzone Summary | Reviews

Comments:  Show | Hide

> >|


Review Summary:


Average Rating : Average Rating = 4.03/5
Total Reviews: 29

> Write a Review

Show: Sort:
Display:
100% Times: 4 Times: 1 Times: 0 Times: 9 Times: 15
80%
60%
40%
20%
0%
Times  4 1 0 9 15
Rating  1 2 3 4 5



Sad little Tandem factory!!!! Don't waste your time


Pacific Skydiving Center Rated 1 by: g00nbAg on 2015-07-01

Pros: Can't say... Location maybe?
Cons: Bad vibe, dropzone staff all miserable

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
It's very funny that I've logged on to leave a review about this DZ and seen someone below has left a review almost identical to what I'm about to write!

I came to Hawaii on vacation and brought my current log books, licence, worldwide comprehensive insurance papers. Emailed and called the dropzone a couple of weeks before arriving in Hawaii and was told they accept fun jumpers and have equipment rental.
I was staying on Maui island and had to fly over to Oahu island to visit the DZ, dragging my wife along with me because she knows how much I love the sport.

When we arrived I was greeted by numerous staff that didn't know what was going on and were only concerned with the bus loads of tandems arriving at the DZ by the minute.

After been given the run around for about 30 minutes I was told by a moody instructor I can't jump.

I was very disappointed, so I spoke to the DZ owner/manager and he has got to be the biggest asshole I've ever met in my life, very rude and dismissive little old man. He gave me hope that I would be allowed to jump, made me sit around waiting for 2 hours till the DZ got a little less busy with tandems, then changed his mind and told me no!

Almost everyone at this dropzone was moody and I can't understand why??? The location is so amazingly beautiful and I can only imagine how stunning it would look up at 14k ft.
I've never been to a DZ and seen so many negative faces!

(Review ID:8808)


Awesome Group Drop Zone


Pacific Skydiving Center Rated 5 by: jack1984 on 2015-05-29

Pros: Great Staff and Vibe
Cons: no cons

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
I am active duty military and have been for 13 years. I set up a group of 89 service members to jump over 24 hours. The drop zone made it simple and had transportation in the requested location at the requested time and all the staff was very friendly and the drop zone had a great vibe. Everyone that was there was open to all the Newbie skydiving questions and was all smiles and laughs and good times. I highly recommend this drop zone if jumping in Hawaii.
(Review ID:8783)


thankful to jump


Pacific Skydiving Center Rated 4 by: Jumpmaster173D on 2014-11-13

Pros: Great veiw, nice pilot, allows solo jumpers
Cons: Cost $25 if you go or not,

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
Found only one regular that when he talked to me I didn't feel like a burden for being there. Very nice desk crew. Dz is small so be good under canopy. Overall if the "jumping employees" would have been more friendly and personable this place would blow skydiver Hawaii out of the water.
(Review ID:8692)


Licensed jumper lied to


Pacific Skydiving Center Rated 1 by: bcmoore80 on 2013-12-30

Pros: none
Cons: liars and crooks

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
Called weeks ahead to confirm that I could do a recurrancy jump, arrived with license and log book and told no. Decided to do a tandem with my friends, guaranteed to 14k. Bullshit, after I had sat there for almost 3 hours they announced no 14k due to weather, what a load of shit! People who arrived on the shuttle got to jump before us, their organization is horrible and the staff are unfriendly.
(Review ID:8315)


One of the Best Experiences Ever!


Pacific Skydiving Center Rated 5 by: ChuanShi on 2013-06-07

Pros: Professional and Very Knowledgeable Staff; Incredibly Fun; Absolutely Gorgeous Views; Top Priority: Safety; Life-Changin
Cons: Very Popular - Which Makes for Some Big Crowds at Times.

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
My sister and brother-in-law came to visit me and wanted to go skydiving, and we chose Pacific Skydiving due to their perfect safety record, "ultimate tandem" option, and the price (most bang for your buck). I also brought along one of my friends, making us a group of four. It was an absolutely amazing experience for all of us, and I ended up getting sucked right into this incredible sport. Even my sister, who was initially terrified, ended up having an amazing experience thanks to the top-level professionalism demonstrated by the tandem masters.

I ended up going back shortly thereafter and signed up for AFF. Because a short ground school course and two TAFF (tandem) jumps are required prior to taking the first-jump course and starting the classic AFF instruction (something I really liked because of how it gives the students a jump start on AFF and greatly enhances overall safety), I had the opportunity to meet and jump with two more members of the staff who were both outstanding: I found them to be very professional, knowledgeable, fun, and encouraging. Unlike some people who say that they find some DZs to be stand-offish, I found everyone at Pacific Skydiving to be positive and accepting - they certainly welcomed, embraced, and helped me any way they could right from the beginning, and I am most appreciative of this genuine Aloha.

The impression I received from everyone there was that they truly love the sport and art of skydiving, had a sincere desire to introduce others to skydiving by giving them a very positive experience that they will always remember, and that they are sincerely genuine: keep it real and be cool with them, and you will get all that and more in return. They are no-nonsense when it comes to safety, which (of course) is absolutely essential and should definitely be expected. I particularly liked how everyone was looking out for each other - something that became apparent very early on. The combination of great personality and professionalism made the whole experience one of the best ever.

It should be noted that Pacific Skydiving is very popular, and that a lot of tourists like to go there - after all, skydiving over Hawaii is very unique. With this comes some big crowds and some relatively long waits - not all the time, but definitely at certain times. We planned accordingly and ended up not having to wait at all; we showed up, were given a safety briefing, filled out paperwork, were hooked up with gear, and were soon in awe of the spectacular scenery 14,000 feet above Oahu. I did notice, however, that some people (all tourists so far as I could tell) expected just to show up with crappy attitudes and be treated like royalty. In all honesty, this was about the only negative thing that I encountered, and it was no fault of the DZ. In fact, I was pretty impressed by the level of patience demonstrated by the staff in these trying situations. So while my respect for the staff increased as a result, I was a bit disappointed that some customers had to bring the vibe down for the whole place with their disrespect. My advice is to plan wisely, show up early, and try to embrace every moment that you're there by reminding yourself that this is a very unique adventure that you are about to embark upon. If this is done, I don't think it's a too much of a stretch to say that you are very likely to have a life-changing experience.

(Review ID:7960)


Would definitely jump again!


Pacific Skydiving Center Rated 5 by: blueblur on 2012-07-12

Pros: Good people, great value and amazing location!
Cons: Too damn far away!

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
Jumped 11/14/2012 (two weeks before the last review...) This was my second tandem and my wife's first (she's hooked now, I already was...). We had great tandem instructors, mine was a tall lanky guy with over 10k jumps and he was only 34! Good ground schooling and facilities (not high level big-city stuff, it's Hawaii, if you aren't familiar with the local living style, this fit in). We did some pretty good maneuvers in the air, head down flying and some flips and spins. Unlike the previous reviewer, my tandem guy offered and really tried to talk me into starting my A license with them! Told me I could get through ground school in half a day. Only reason I passed was I had an appointment to spend a grand on a tattoo two days later. I had none of the attitude or issues previously mentioned!

All in all, a great experience and I will definitely be jumping solo there after my A is done!

(Review ID:7437)


Misinformation


Pacific Skydiving Center Rated 1 by: akmadbrad on 2011-11-26

Pros: None
Cons: Many

  Professionalism
  Vibe
I showed up Monday morning at 0720. At 0740 people stared rolling in and I checked in. I told the dispatcher of my intent and she called over the head instructor. I told him of my intent to train for an "A" license and he told me that it wasn't going to happen. My reply was "What?" He said that they don't train people passing through from the mainland. I told him that I had been planning training here for 5 months and after 2 emails and two phone calls; it would have been nice to mention that. Especially since I just traveled 2,500 miles from Alaska and spent $5,000 to be standing here talking. Every communication from Pacific was "Just show up". He said that they don't even jump with license holders who are not current to bring then to currency. I asked to get ground school and the answer was "NO". I started to argue, but I could see that this was a lose-lose situation. 1.) I would lose the argument or 2.) I would win the argument with the dude that was going to fling me out of an airplane out 14,000 feet. Option 2 made me feel a little queasy...I went back to my condo. Their website says they train AFF which is almost fraudulent. If it had said they only train Hawaiians... I would have gone would have gone elsewhere.

Edit Remove

(Review ID:6930)


Great DZ in Hawaii


Pacific Skydiving Center Rated 4 by: Luke.s.Campbell on 2010-02-21

Pros: Great View of Hawaii, Superb Aircraft
Cons: Hours of operation (due to weather)

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
I visited Hawaii on vacation and had the opportunity to get a few jumps in. I called both dropzones only one picked up the phone... Pacific Skydiving Center.

Great DZ, full of fun-jumpers and lots of loads. The only downside is that it closes early like 1 or 2 PM due to the winds picking up daily around that time. Now this was in January, I can't attest to the other times of the year.

I had a good time, gear rentals were a little steep but oh well.

The PAC-750EX carries up to 20 jumpers and load turnaround times are about 15 minutes, so you're only limited by how fast you can pack.

(Review ID:5590)


Ouch--all I wanted was info


Pacific Skydiving Center Rated 2 by: inextremis on 2009-06-21

Pros: Location
Cons: Management

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
Just called this DZ and talked to an absolute jerk. Annoying know it all with a heavy accent, kept interrupting me. I'm in no hurry to jump at this DZ.
(Review ID:5190)


My first jump (tandem) -- awesome experience all around


Pacific Skydiving Center Rated 5 by: genomancer on 2009-06-19

Pros: Awesome product, friendly and competant staff
Cons: Wait times, small loads, a bit expensive (esp for photos/video)

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
This was my first time jumping, but (no surprise) won't be my last... when I'm back in Hawaii I'll definitely jump again with these guys.

The view was incredible (go figure, it's Hawaii), and even though we could only get 3 people up at a time it was a good social group bonding experience.

The management were extremely friendly and helpful, helping us out with lost items and accomodating our group reservation for eight. They talk up their product a lot, but they delivered... no one in our group was disappointed at all (not even the person who decided not to go up at the last minute... they weren't pushy).


You could tell the tandem jumpers are a bit jaded about the parade of tourists like me, but they hide it reasonably well behind an acceptable level of friendly demeanor. They don't push the tips too hard, but the extra $20-30 on top of the already substantial fee does sting a bit. Not that it's expensive for what you get... I looked around the internet before we chose a DZ and their prices seem to be very competitive for the quality of the jump... but it's still a couple of notes when you're all said and done.

They let you pay afterwards, which shows faith that you'll enjoy the ride (and in part so that you'll tip more/upgrade to video as well... but again, they were friendly and upfront about it.

Apparently they have an A+ safety record, although I have to take Guy's word for it (I asked and he said you can look up injury reports in the industry magazine? I don't know if they're available online).


Advice for first timers, convention groups, etc. looking to jump in Honolulu:

* Bring your own drinks/food and something to do while waiting to go up. We borrowed a football to toss around in the gorgeous sun.

* Get your group properly for early in the AM. Guy was really good about waiting while we roused our missing members from another hotel, but it was still embaressing. The earlier you leave, the faster you jump.

* Get a group of 8-10 and book online.

* Plan on paying for the photo/video package unless you're on a really tight budget. They do good lens work and the souvenir is awesome.. we had two guys audible to the combo package after the fact.

* Jump at Pacific. All said, they provided an incredible experience, well worth the money.

(Review ID:5184)
> >|

Write your own Review